WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Spartacus: Blood and Sand" Finds New Lead Actor

Posted: January 18th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Spartacus: Blood and Sand" Finds New Lead ActorSubmit Comment
Andy Whitfield was the lead in "Spartacus: Blood and Sand," but Starz was forced to replace him after the actor left the show due to health issues. The network has now announced that Australian actor Liam McIntyre (pictured) will step in for Whitfield, who has given his blessing.

"Since no one can really replace Andy, we realized that we should instead find an actor who can truly lead 'Spartacus' forward," said Starz's CEO Chris Albrecht. "It was important to us to have Andy endorse the idea of recasting this part, which he did in the same heroic manner that he has dealt with his whole ordeal. And that, coupled with our fortune in finding a young actor with the gladiator credentials and the acting ability of Liam, makes it easier for us to keep this hit franchise going."

McIntyre starred on such Australian series as "Neighbours" and "Rush." He also appeared in the HBO mini-series "The Pacific." He's currently in New Zealand getting himself into gladiator shape. Production on the series is slated to resume by spring of 2011.

Source: Starz


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 6:59:49 AM

Looks close to Whitfield!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 7:24:53 AM

This is actually a smart move. Either people like him and he can keep the franchise going with him looking like Whitfield already so the image stays alive or Whitfield gets better and they put him back in the role it will be like he never left. It's a genius strategy really. This makes sense to anyone? I feel like I might have jumbled that.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 7:54:16 AM

"Spartacus: Blood and Sand" Finds New Lead Actor ... sooooo .... will he have a life-threatening disease too ?

I mean, if you want consistency ...
ShizPaf writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 8:52:12 AM

I am glad they are trying to continue. Mr Whitfields performance was exceptional during the first run, allowing the other characters time enough to flesh out, become important. The secondary characters are now strong enough to support the change over. He will have to work his ass off though....
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 9:32:25 AM

getting himself into gladiator shape


does that include:

killing tigers with his bare hands
cage fighting with 12 spider monkeys
drinking the blood from a virgins Vag
waiting for his nightly hand shandy from the MJ bordello

I dont think so
mrstretch writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 9:46:08 AM

He looks like a holocaust survivor. Better get on some roids Liam.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 10:03:38 AM

Well he'll be good for a season worth of work before its taken off the air
batdump writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 11:23:13 AM

looks like he has been on christian bale's machinist diet. he better be doing a lot of work to get into gladiator shape...
ADTR918 writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 1:31:58 PM

I was ready to swear off this show when i learned Whitfield wasn't returning. But now thinking about it, I think this is a great move. Hopefully I'm not proven wrong.
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 2:49:00 PM

I have only seen a couple of episodes. Pretty amazing intense fighting scenes. The story is epic. I'll watch a few more and just may wait 'til this series is done its run and buy the box set.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 3:23:58 PM

@Ranger
I don't know Ranger. I think if you watch it all the way through you'd be addicted as I was. The first few were slow but really picked up once Spartacus got his footing as a gladiator. Now, I can't wait for the prequel and hope maybe Whitfield can come back later on.
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 3:36:28 PM

@Sleuth... I believe you. As I did The West Wing... and got hooked. I prefer (these days) to find a show I like (a lot)... let it have it's run... then just buy the box set. It saves me a LOT of time that way... lol. But the show does look incredible. Hard to believe they can crank out that kind of production on a weekly basis (fight scenes, effects and all).
tonguepunchingpussy writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 5:15:06 PM

@ Ranger, that's exactly what i do as well. I did that with Lost, waited till before the fifth season and watched the first four seasons in like 2 weeks. Going to do the same with Fringe, just hoping Fox doesn't sh*t on it to early.
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 6:11:45 PM

@tongue - it's a good plan alright. I learned that the hard (time-consuming) way with The West Wing. Watched it for 7 years, THEN bought all the seasons... and watched it again. I think I knocked off all 7 years in 2 months. You can really soak up the story then. My friend did that with Babylon 5 (which I state is still the best 5 season, 1-storyline, episodic show ever done... and set the stage for Galactica to do the same 5-yr, 1-story thing... albeit with a lame ending there).

Spartacus looks amazing. But I'm busy with other stuff so I'll bide my time, 'til it's box set time!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 6:36:43 PM

@Ranger
That method does work. And you know once they develop a system that's when it becomes like clockwork to make such high quality effects and stunts and performances. A well-oiled machine.
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 8:45:16 PM

Yep. Those fight scenes have to be brutal on the actors (show or not)... and the multiple takes required. I don't think staying in shape is hard on that show.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved