WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hollywood Agent Says "Green Lantern" is Terrible

Posted: January 17th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hollywood Agent Says "Green Lantern" is TerribleSubmit Comment
NY magazine wrote an article about how Blake Lively is becoming a big star in Hollywood, mentioning that Warner Bros gave her the leading female role in "Green Lantern" after her amazing audition for "The Town."

The magazine went to an unnamed Hollywood manager to find out what insiders are saying about the actress and in the process learned that "Green Lantern" is being considered a disaster around town.

The manager mentioned that Lively has nothing to worry about despite the fact that "Green Lantern" may be a flop since "it's been a troubled production."

An agent then added: "Even though 'Green Lantern' is supposed to be terrible, it doesn't mean it's not going to do extremely well and enhance her foreign value. 'Clash of the Titans' was horrendous, but it didnít slow down Sam Worthington any."

Click here to read more about "Green Lantern."

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 50 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 8:42:59 PM

I really doubt that
Ranger writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 8:52:17 PM

Next to Iron Man, GL is about my fav. character.

Either way this will suck less than Lohan on a casting couch.
otis writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 8:52:32 PM

I don't. This spelled disaster from the poster.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 9:06:03 PM

If it's an consolation to her, I'd still f*ck her
rabid writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 9:10:02 PM

I tend not to believe anonymous sources. Smells like a stiff load of bullsh*t to me.
Sinestro writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 9:11:05 PM

This is what I don't understand, the GL comics have reached their ultimate peak. They have never before been this good. You can literally grab any single story arc written by Geoff Johns in the past six years and you can make a pretty damn good, or at least, a damn badass action movie. Yet, here I am looking at this trailer, which is akin to, well, this looks worse than any GL comic I remember reading. Hal Jordan just doesn't feel like Hal Jordan. Why couldn't they take a more serious tone? After seeing Reynolds in Buried I was holding out hope for this film, then I saw that ridiculous trailer, and it looks awful. It doesn't know whether it wants to be a lazy action movie, or an ineffectual comedy. And that is just sad. :(
filmgeek73 writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 9:14:13 PM

Most Hollywood Agents don't know what they're talking about but this does look more "Rise of the Silver Surfer" and "The Phantom" than it should. Hopefully it's a surprise success because Van Wilder is good actor.
Sinestro writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 9:14:18 PM

Oh and that suit looks like sh*t. CGI mask bullsh*t! Why couldn't they just go with something black with green highlights, some Tron-ish looking sh*t even, would have been better than this. Just have the cool looking GL symbol hologram protruding from their chest, that would have been sick. But nope, we get this dumb, photoshop'd mask and this inside-out looking toxic green leotard.
Ranger writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 9:29:01 PM

@Sinestro - you think this GL may look bad?

I'm older... and (decades... ugh!) ago, you should see what I had to endure. TV's versions of Spiderman and Captain America (real versions... not animated). And you have no doubt seen Superman 3 and 4. For a comic collector at the time, I was happy Hollywood was picking up superheros... but SADLY disappointed when they didn't take them seriously. I mean the Batman movie of '66 was SUPPOSED to be campy. It works. It's a classic. The rest I listed above (and many more) were such sh*t... it was unbelievable.
Ranger writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 9:33:09 PM

Anyone else see the animated Avengers (not the Ultimate stuff out not)... the old stuff? So bad and cheap. You know how Iron Man got into his armor? The entire back of the suit slid open like a door on Star Trek and he stepped in it. How f*cking lazy is that?!

The Ultimate Avengers and that teen Iron Man stuff on now I like a lot. We hope The Avengers movie turns out that well... fighting a global threat.
Sinestro writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 9:37:17 PM

No, man, I understand. But I guess during those days, making a semi-serious comic book film would have been a laughable concept. But comic book movies are the craze now-a-days, and while there are a whole lot of sh*tty movies, there are also some really good ones. And since DC/WB have so far put so much stock behind GL, to the point where he headlined their latest and biggest crossover event (Blackest Night), and the fact that they are trying to put more focus on their DC movies, you'd figure they would try to make a GL movie that, at least, tries to get the character right. This film simply looks lazy. The acting, the make up, the special effects, the action set pieces, etc--everything looks pretty lazy. And it's not like the comics are following suit, they are pretty good, as I hope you'll agree. It just bothers me is all, as my name will indicate, I'm sort of a fan. lol
hoohoo3000 writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 9:49:50 PM

The dialogue in the trailer sounds terrible. I would agree that hollywood managers sometimes don't know anything but I'm sensing a bad script.

PS. The Phantom is great camp and action. Lasers, Pirates, Wolves, and reanimating skeletons? Yes please
Anung_un_rama writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 9:52:36 PM

well nothing can be worst then Skyline but then again this does not look good
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 10:01:37 PM

'Clash of the Titans' was horrendous, but it didnít slow down Sam Worthington any." hahahaha it didn't slow down what? a race for the Oscar or a golden globe hahahhahah for best FAGGOT category come wp people he sucks balls big time on clash of the gaytans what that hell! he is the reason why that movie suck like baby sh*t!!!!
Phil writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 10:02:37 PM

Obviously you haven't seen splice.
rabid writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 10:02:41 PM

Skyline was decent. Too bad it didn't get remotely interesting until the very end.

Sinestro, you can't just skip over 50 years of character history and go to the brand new stuff. Those Geoff Johns stories are fantastic but only because they're immersed in a half century of GL myth. Origin films always work out of a corner. To make a successful superhero series, you have to get the basics out of the way.
But I wouldn't down this GL origin story just yet. If it's anything like the post-crisis retelling, then everything you love about the character will be there.

I don't see any reason to think the film will blow... not yet anyway. The trailer looked really promising.
rabid writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 10:03:43 PM

btw, Geoff Johns touch is on this film. He was behind the concept of Parallax as a parasite.
Sinestro writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 10:17:35 PM

We're gonna have to disagree on that, Rabid. But I get where you are coming from. But even during the Silver Age, GL wasn't really taking a very comedic tone. And I hope something of Johns is on this film, I'll like to trust Guggenheim but all he says sounds like canned praise from a guy who has to say nice things. And I wish Cambell had take the same tone he used with Bond in CR. Hal is more like Bond than Van Wilder. But, yea, we'll see. I'll just remain very cautious about getting hyped about this movie.
shayhiri writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 10:18:31 PM

Hahahhahahah, I knew it, long before I saw that joke of a trailer.
Ranger writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 10:22:58 PM

@Sinestro - yep... you're a fan too for sure. I agree. One would think DC would make the kick-ass effort it needs so Batman isn't their only big star. And with all the movies Marvel is cranking out (good and bad) DC really needs to make a good showing with GL. They really need more comic fans doing this stuff, and leave the interfering bean counters to the accounting.
telur writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 10:29:32 PM

well, at least Green Lantern's trailer is terrible

far from expected
boogiel writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 10:49:48 PM

An agent then added: "Even though 'Green Lantern' is supposed to be terrible, it doesn't mean it's not going to do extremely well and enhance her foreign value. 'Clash of the Titans' was horrendous, but it didnít slow down Sam Worthington any."

Couldn't agree more than that. As long as the movie generates a load amount of profit..Those hollywood execs wouldn't give a rat's ass.
boogiel writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 10:50:50 PM

...about it. Damn! where's edit button when you need it?
velocityknown writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 11:11:21 PM

Hey I just heard that The Green Lantern is fantastic.

See? My story has as much legitimacy as this one.
rabid writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 11:15:53 PM

Silver Age Green Lantern was a total jokester. Hal didn't really get serious until the mid-80s when people started dropping dead around him.
technoreaper writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 11:20:35 PM

I thought Iron Man looked horrible from the trailer. We'll have to wait until the Green Lantern movie comes out to pass judgment. Marvel's first few movies were good, but they've been getting worse after their acquisition by Disney.
jigsaw23 writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 11:56:32 PM

flop my ass, and f*ck that dude and come on one guy says it is terrible
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 2:41:39 AM

I'm going with velocity's review.
Sinestro writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 2:48:43 AM

Hal has a light-hearted side, I suppose, and I don't mind that, it's just from what I've seen, all the jokes fall flat. I don't think Iron Man is as strangely funny and comical as Downey plays him, but at least, he makes it funny. "Let's get this pants off and fly some planes!" That was just dumb as sh*t.

But I'll stop, I don't want to come off as some kinda contrarian psycho. I just think they could have done better.

I've been wrong before, when I saw a special 10 minute spot WB showed for Batman Begins back when they still had a channel, I was very skeptical. And I ended up loving Begins. So, here's to hoping I'm terribly wrong.

I do wish they had kept the Superman cameo. They could have just had Hal walking with the other rookies being shown around by Killowog, and somewhere in the distance Hal could have looked at Superman (or just his back, to not have any casting issues) speaking with Salaak and/or Ganthet.
trailertrash writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 3:14:02 AM

f*ck those Strause brothers...

Skyline That was one bad movie.

I have a little respect for them because they financed the movie themselves, but they are terrible film makers IMO and they should just stick to creating effetcs for others.
trailertrash writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 3:18:45 AM

Ranger-

You didn't like the Nicholas Hammond "Amazing Spiderman" show, i use to love that as a kid , That said i have not seen it for about 20 years lol
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 3:21:38 AM

And maybe one should have a sex change so they'll each have a date Friday nights (like Larry and Andy).
trailertrash writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 3:24:37 AM

I wouldn't put it past them !!
trailertrash writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 3:25:28 AM

Thats a 4 some you could do without seeing ..
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 4:04:31 AM

Well, let me say that I'm not an avid comic book fan so I don't really know as much detail about some characters as some of you guys on here...but...the trailer for "Green Lantern" looked ok to me, not brilliant but ok, I did see the cartoon of the "Green Lantern" that was about how he got his ring, I liked it, so if the movie is anything like the cartoon, the film should be ok.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 6:29:11 AM

This film had so much potential but all of the trailers look like sh*t. I'm trying to hold my judgement off until I see it but its getting really hard to ignore the rumors or what I see.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 7:22:58 AM

Hollywood Agent Says "Green Lantern" is Terrible ... thank you again, Captain Obvious.

This looks like a large neon-glowing turd pizza, much like Green Hornet was a mug-filled, neon glowing turdshake, with a side douchebaggery.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 7:24:51 AM

Ranger writes: on January 17th, 2011 at 8:52:17 PM

Next to Iron Man, GL is about my fav. character.

Either way this will suck less than Lohan on a casting couch.

@Ranger

... but I'll agree with Ranger.

It does suck less than Lindsay off her dad's c*ck during family reunions .... and her uncle's c*ck ... and her grandfather's c*ck ... and her nephew's c*ck ....
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 7:27:02 AM

Ranger writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 9:29:01 PM
@Sinestro - you think this GL may look bad?

I'm older... and (decades... ugh!) ago, you should see what I had to endure. TV's versions of Spiderman and Captain America (real versions... not animated). And you have no doubt seen Superman 3 and 4. For a comic collector at the time, I was happy Hollywood was picking up superheros... but SADLY disappointed when they didn't take them seriously. I mean the Batman movie of '66 was SUPPOSED to be campy. It works. It's a classic. The rest I listed above (and many more) were such sh*t... it was unbelievable.


@Ranger

I still bust a gut laughing at the thought of Spiderman in red longjohns throwing heavy ship rope around like webbing and Captain America with a motorcycle helmet ....

Ha!

To quote the current Captain America (from a recent comic-book based bomb of last year) :

" Good times! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 7:28:02 AM

rabid writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 10:02:41 PM
Skyline was decent. Too bad it didn't get remotely interesting until the very end.

Sinestro, you can't just skip over 50 years of character history and go to the brand new stuff. Those Geoff Johns stories are fantastic but only because they're immersed in a half century of GL myth. Origin films always work out of a corner. To make a successful superhero series, you have to get the basics out of the way.
But I wouldn't down this GL origin story just yet. If it's anything like the post-crisis retelling, then everything you love about the character will be there.

I don't see any reason to think the film will blow... not yet anyway. The trailer looked really promising.

@rabid

... God, your jaw must ache ... Breath mint ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 7:28:48 AM


@rabid

Remember, swallow, don't spit.

It's just polite.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 7:30:16 AM


Ranger writes: on January 18th, 2011 at 3:21:38 AM

And maybe one should have a sex change so they'll each have a date Friday nights (like Larry and Andy).


@Ranger

Plus, when they commit "brotherly love", it'll take a whole new meaning.
markoz writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 9:00:06 AM

For all as we know this could be someone from other company(Marvel) trying to discredit Green Lantern because of some other film that is coming out at the same time(Captain America)
Rambo writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 9:53:13 AM

it will make money for sure but I'm afraid it's gonna suck judging from the trailer
billofill writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 10:08:27 AM

To the guy who said Geof Johns touch is on this, I'd hope so he was the on set expert and they were reading Secret Origins and stuff. This all being said It could go either way Cop Out was supposed to be a good script too then they handed it off to that cast and director, but that sounds like more science fiction than GL.
TRUEMAN writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 10:09:10 AM

Hollywood Agent Says "Green Lantern" is Terrible

and the reason is RYAN GAYNOLDS yeah sure!
reaper113 writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 12:09:35 PM

I don't need a Hollywood agent's opinion to realize that this movie will be total garbage. All I needed to know was that Ryan Renolds was cast as the lead.
Farradin writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 2:12:10 PM

The next (unrushed) trailer should be a better indication than an anonymous source who may only have seen that terrible trailer that we all saw!
Bunny X writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 3:25:09 PM

It's like I've been saying, let the guys at DC Animation get a shot at the live action stuff. They know so well how to take a story or even multiple stories and chop it into a VERY good animated movie. Granted, animation gives them a ton of leeway that live action just doesn't but they don't use that as a crutch. They constantly deliver great writing, great voice acting (Andrea Romano has a golden ear for the right voices) and great overall premise. Bruce Timm is a damn genius when it comes to the content. Let him helm something. I mean damn, he's only been getting the DC Universe content right for almost 20 years since the Batman Animated series. For cripes sake, he made the Wonder Woman animated film pretty f'ing fantastic. that alone should get him a nod.
Bigcheese writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 4:46:55 PM

The only way this will be sh*t is because of Blake Lively.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved