WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Mortal Kombat" Web Series in the Works

Posted: January 16th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Mortal Kombat" Web Series in the WorksSubmit Comment
Back in June, fight choreographer Larnell Stovall (The Other Guys, Jarhead) and director Kevin Tancharoen (Fame) unveiled an eight-minute video that was used to sell Warner Bros on their vision for a new "Mortal Kombat" film.

Apparently the studio didn't see potential in it, but Bloody-Disgusting has now learned that Tancharoen is planning a ten-episode web series that will based on the popular "Mortal Kombat" franchise. No word on when it will be released.

The original video features Michael Jai White (The Dark Knight, Spawn) as Jacks, who is trying to convince Scorpion into entering a fighting tournament in order to kill Reptile, Baraka and many other criminals. Watch it below.

"Mortal Kombat" Short:


Source: Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 6:28:26 AM

I actually that this look somewhat ok. It's hard to make this premise to be really good, but it seems better than any other fighting I've seen.
pikeman1 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 6:31:11 AM

too bad, i think with the storyline of Mortal Kombat series they can make a decent action movie
wonderBOY writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 6:33:23 AM

better than nothing
jigsaw23 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 7:54:01 AM

what wonderboy said
MattMiller2501 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 8:10:30 AM

Woot for Matt Mullins as Johnny Cage. :D
rocketman writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 8:35:09 AM

Looks better than the films.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 9:50:28 AM

So much for a reboot.
Bunny X writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 10:11:07 AM

Of all the crap that studious took on over the last few years and they passed on this?
Seriously?? Season of The Witch was made and this wasn't??
Phil writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 10:39:10 AM

What's up with killing Cage all the time?
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 11:12:07 AM

As long as they continue to look this way, I'll be tuned in to watch them.
struck21 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 11:15:35 AM

I loved that video when I saw it a while back. I was hoping they would pick it up, would of made a great movie.
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 11:15:56 AM

@Bunny X - I agree. With all of the sh*t that the studios put out every year -- ahem, Season of the Witch -- I don't understand how this gets passed on. But maybe it was better off this way -- Tancharoen can just shoot it how he sees fit.
-Chewy- writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 11:54:39 AM

The footage is actually good......considering the budget and all.

We need a new mortal kombat film......with the ORIGINAL SONG.

Still one of the best movie theme ever !
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 12:14:23 PM

^amen to that
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 12:42:25 PM

^^ double Amen to that. I was in Tae Kwon Do and that was our theme for demos or when we were sparring I'm tournaments. You wanna get jacked? Smack someone around to the mortal kombat theme. I nearly finished him.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 1:29:36 PM

Warner Brothers f*ck yourself all you give a sh*t is big mainstream movies that sell like the hangover,matrix,superman(f*cking bombed)

Mortal Kombat and Goemon have so far been the best video game adaptations so far except for MK2 that was pure sh*t.

Guess Martial arts movies are not popular in the US unless is some gay sh*t like Never back down,or Fighting with Channing Gaytum
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 3:01:41 PM

Bandolero-preach on lol. I pro kickbox and and i love my martial arts movies, but the only good ones come from asia anymore
VDODSON writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 3:11:42 PM

That Rebirth trailer is sick, loved the guys take on the Mortal Kombat franchise. Cant wait for this series.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 3:35:35 PM

Jesus. Must be a male teenage thing.

The games sucked, and both movies sucked really hard. Like if you enjoy watching really bad acting with mediocre martial arts, all around a lame story, then MK is just the thing for you.

And now a web series. What a waste of money.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 4:42:45 PM

yes the ones from asia have been the best ones.
I have about 200+ martial arts movies in my youtube account check them out for some awesome hand to hand combat and swords and pole fighting
http://www.youtube.com/user/maskedavenger999
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:16:27 PM

Now why CAN'T Red Hour make something this gutbustingly funny ?

Oh, that's right.

Ben Stiller owns it...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:17:42 PM

minkowski writes: on January 16th, 2011 at 3:35:35 PM

Jesus. Must be a male teenage thing.

The games sucked, and both movies sucked really hard. Like if you enjoy watching really bad acting with mediocre martial arts, all around a lame story, then MK is just the thing for you.

And now a web series. What a waste of money.

@minkowski

Just like Che's attempted abortion.
masht7 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:20:22 PM

Where is that prick, MortalCombAtFTW? He was fun to hang sh*t on.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:20:24 PM

harlequin ichthyosis

http://antihumanos.files.wordpress.com/2010/05/harlequin-ichthyosis.jpg

well, there goes dinner...
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:23:28 PM

"Just like Che's attempted abortion"

...of his daughter-sister.

(see my post above).
bandolero999 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:29:34 PM

well in other gay news the Green Hornet didnt bomb and it made 34mil so expect a sequel or even a franchise.

So Mortal Kombat has less of a chance now of being made,so we'll have to see seth rogen trying to kick peoples ass
encoreyourface writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:51:38 PM

no! you cannot do a live-action MK, it will never work! a cgi series would be fine, but not live-action, they can't seem to do it without looking ridiculous.
Carl Erik Rinsch writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 9:18:30 AM

This is one movie Im really waitin to see

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved