WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Superman's Mother Susannah York Dead at 72

Posted: January 16th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
SupermanSubmit Comment
British actress Susannah York, who earned a best supporting actress Oscar nomination for her role in the 1969 Sydney Pollack film "They Shoot Horses, Don't They?," passed away Friday from advanced bone marrow cancer. She was 72.

The stage, film and television actress was also a Cannes best actress winner for "Images," as well as an Emmy and Golden Globe nominee. Her best known film roles included "A Man for All Seasons," "The Maids," "Tom Jones," and "X, Y and Zee," opposite Elizabeth Taylor and Michael Caine. She played Superman's mother Lara in 1978's "Superman" and "Superman II" as well.

York's son told the Daily Mail: "Last Thursday, she had a scan and then the descent was fast. In the end, her death was painless and quick. She was a woman with grace and stature. Both my sister and I feel incredibly lucky to have her as a mother."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 6:14:24 AM

RIP Susannah York

A real loss...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 6:45:09 AM

RIP Susannah York

markoz writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 8:19:07 AM

RIP Susannah York
rocketman writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 8:33:24 AM

RIP
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 9:48:31 AM

RIP
Detrimental writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 11:36:14 AM

She's just in the Phantom Zone now.
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 2:22:16 PM

Yep. RIP.
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 2:44:57 PM

All those things I can do...
... all those powers...

And I couldn't even save her.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 3:30:50 PM

At least she wasn't killed by a horse named Kryptonite.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 3:41:25 PM

"She's just in the Phantom Zone now."

Hilarious!
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 4:47:36 PM

Of course, no disrespect to the dead intended. Not that she can hear me anyway

(I have to say that or people get their tightywhities in a wet wad)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:12:14 PM

Rest In Peace, Ms. York.

Now Superman's parents are truly dead.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:13:48 PM

Where's Margot ? Hiding behind the tombstone, of course. Ready to spring out and the give a pallbearers a fright.

And Shelley Duvall's got the getaway car running ....
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:41:47 PM

lol... I was going to mention Shelley when I saw you mentioned Margot.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:47:27 PM

She got a crystal coffin, I hear, a real Fortress of Solitude.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:49:16 PM

it's always sad when someone dies but honestly i had no idea who this was.

RIP anyway though.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:50:20 PM

"it's always sad when someone dies"

I doubt Hitler got a 21 gun salute...
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:50:31 PM

This may not be the time or place but...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mS3Etfhoqio

... funerals are a great place to pick up chicks.

And you can't have a FUNeral without a little FUN.
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:52:35 PM

@Mink - only 1 (to his temple).
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:54:27 PM

lol
encoreyourface writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 6:11:10 PM

mink-good point i suppose, there are a lot of *ssholes that deserve to die, but then again there are a lot of people who didn't do something so bad (except you know, the odd porn film here and there).
rabid writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 10:05:11 PM

She was awesome as Alice in They Shoot Horses. There's a scene where she just breaks down in anguish. Great actress. She was like a Goldie Hawn... that people took seriously.
rabid writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 10:07:06 PM

and a lifelong atheist activist too. i used to see her name in fundraisers in my AHA newsletters.
YoungChris writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 7:42:57 AM

R.I.P Seņora York. My condolences to her family. I know how they feel right now, I lost my little bro last month :/
Ranger writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 4:23:28 AM

My condolences YoungChris.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved