WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Michael Bay Says "Transformers 2" Was a Mess

Posted: January 15th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Michael Bay Says "Transformers 2" Was a MessSubmit Comment
In an interview with LA Times, Michael Bay finally admitted that "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" was terrible and claims to have learned from his mistakes.

"It was kind of a mess. It failed in some key ways. I learned from it," said Bay. "And now with this third movie we're going back to basics and I absolutely believe this is going to be a much better film than the second one. I'm trying to make up for ['Transformers 2']. I think we have something to prove with this third one."

He went on to explain what exactly went wrong. "The big thing was the writers strike. We had three weeks to get our story and we were going into the movie without a script. It's tough to do that. It was too big of a movie," the director explained. "There were too many endings or too many things that felt like endings. There was so much animation too, and we ran out of time. It felt like we were writing the script in the edit room, trying to put together a story."

Bay is happy that "Transformers 2" ended up being the third highest-earning film of the year and is shocked that the franchise is doing so well. "The term I used at the time was 'stupid idea'," he said about when Steven Spielberg approached him to direct the first film back in 2005. But after learning of the characters and the mythology, Bay began to warm up to the idea.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
johnny_boy writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 6:56:42 AM

It takes a big man to admit that. If he wants to be even bigger than that, he should admit he's a hack and quit directing while he's ahead
rocketman writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 6:58:35 AM

Suck my meaty fat c*ck you f*ckpig.
Start again with a director who would make a TRUE Trannies film.
boogiel writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 7:23:49 AM

Wow, it took this long for him to finally realize that transformers 2 was a mess. What a dumbass. I think megan fox was right for callinghim as hitler reincarnated.
YoungChris writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 7:40:29 AM

I just don't give a f*ck ..I like Transformer 2
struck21 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 8:23:07 AM

Two HUGE failures in last Transformers movie, actually in both.

1) Megan Fox- where she may be hot, she is equally as untalented. She can't act, do porn and save us the bad films you are gonna make.

2) Micheal Bay can't direct- He just puts loud noises and pretty colors in his movies. Sadly, this seems to be what people want anymore, make a movie with a great story and great acting, and no one goes.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 9:42:01 AM

Really? You think?
teuperman writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 10:10:03 AM

@ young chris I liked it to as far as struck21 megan fox in a porn sounds awesome!!! But i do like pretty colors lol
xtlhogciao writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 10:42:25 AM

If you only had three weeks to get a story and you basically went into it without a script, why the hell was it 2 1/2 hours long? That's a BS excuse.
This seems to be the new strategy for crap directors nowadays. Acknowledge that your last piece of work was trash, and then promise that the next project will be better. Well let's hope it's better than Revenge of the Fallen. That shouldn't be so hard.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 10:59:47 AM

Have you died yet from autoerotic asphyxiation yet, Michael, while being found with a syringe full of heroin sticking out of a collapsed vein in your arm, all the while grasping the soiled and blood stained toilet seat of the men's room at a prominently seedy gay bar in the underbelly side of an Orange County city yet, being assraped by your transsexual love " LaQuanda ", dressed to the nines in cheap lingerie, all the while having greying, sagging hair on her hormone induced tits and sweating on you profusely, her stench from her cigarette smoking breath just enveloping you in a cloud of your own failure ?

If not, shut the f*ck up, f*cknut.
Syman404 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 1:53:07 PM

I like a few movies by him. The Island and Bad Boys II were fun movies to watch!
jdl107 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 2:40:38 PM

Three weeks huh? Wow whats with this three weeks sh*t. Thats the new excuse for a movie to be sh*tty these days.

The three weeks phenomena.
rabid writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:08:34 PM

It was a huge mess. But then part 1 was nearly perfect.
I'll give part 3 a chance. It couldn't get any worse than the last one, and everything I see about it so far looks very promising.
Man in Black writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:14:09 PM

Well if thats the new cop out for why some thing sucked and / or failed , the writers strike really ? How about it was ill conceived and even more ill executed.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:17:12 PM

Clever guy, but I doubt he thought to make this apology on his own. More like he was told, or the siggestion was made, by studio suits worried about BO revenue on TF3.

But it might work. I mean, you apologize and admit your mistakes regarding the second film in order to get people willing to take a chance on the third.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:17:57 PM

"Start again with a director who would make a TRUE Trannies film."

The last true TF film was waaaaaay back in 1986. What a great year.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:20:24 PM

"But then part 1 was nearly perfect."

You're obviously NOT a Transformer fan, Rabid, if you thought the silly, juvenile junk of the worst film made a 'perfect' film.

So, please, take it from a lifetime TF fan that the first film was pure trash.

Only difference between 1 and 2 was that 2 made more sense.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:20:38 PM

I mean 1 made more sense....
Man in Black writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:20:41 PM

Why did Heroes get canceled ? " O the writers strike " why does channing tatum take it in the ass " O the writers strike " why has kevin smith not been able to direct a decent movie in ages " O the writers strike " why hasnt uwe boll sucked on the business end of a shot gun yet? YOU GUESSED IT ! WRITERS STRIKE !
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:21:23 PM

Hasbro needs to fund a G1 TF series like the GI JOE Resolute webisodes.
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:43:52 PM

He made $60mil on T2. Like he gives a sh*t.
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:56:35 PM

You really wanna know the problem with this movie? Here's everything: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JEdZ-yjxHLI
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 4:07:00 PM

lol... good post. Almost 4mil views... amazing.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 4:27:53 PM

"He made $60mil on T2. Like he gives a sh*t."

You're right, Ranger. He doesn't give a sh*t, he sells sh*t, in the form of films.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 4:32:31 PM

That was hilariously awesome Codeman. Thanks.
Rambo writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 4:44:03 PM

Sure,he can admit it now after cashing out millions of dollars for all life time golden pass to 'f*ck a supermodel' service.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:32:45 PM

Michael Bay: transform and f*ck off!
rabid writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:51:36 PM

What the hell was wrong with Transformers 1? It had all the neccessary elements and looked amazing. The story and casting were great. I had no complaints.
Let me guess, you were one of the people feeling butthert because a 20ft Megatron didn't transform into a handheld pistol?
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 6:50:24 PM

I wouldn't have expected Megs to transform into a gun. That's just silly.

The entire film was jusy underwhelming, and juvenile. It was written by two guys that I can imagine swapping fart jokes or spending their afternoon watching Beavis and Butthead.

It was a terribly wasted premise. The robots looked like sh*t, Fox was enormously unnecessary, the script was replete with terrible jokes that were entirely out of character and disbelieveable, BB was a f*cking sports car, even though his charater always revolved around being small and weak, which is why he took to Spike and other humans, and the film was nothing but one idiotic explosion and car commercial.

Overall, it was lowbrow fodder, even by the original cartoon standards, and the cartoons were considerably more serious than the Bay film, so that tells you something.

Instead of another Alien, or Aliens, we got a big budget Power Ranger film with terrible designs, sex and atrocious shots, and a script written for mentally unstable ten year old boys suffering a mild case of Asperger's Syndrome.

The entire film was JUNK.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 6:51:35 PM

It was a guilty pleasure for most people not a fan of the original toys, and an insult to those that were or are fans of the original toys and cartoon.
FBO writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 8:27:29 PM

I am with rabid on this one, i really liked the first one. The second one, we can all agree, sucked major che. IMO there are only two major ''blockbusters'' in recent history that sucked worse than Transformers 2: All Robots go to Heaven, X-Men 3 & Spiderman 3.
Burdman writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 11:10:39 AM

like the second TF soooo much moe than the first mostly because now if the third sucks too maybe Michael Bay will realize that south park was right his plans are not ideas there special effects. The same can be said for his movies and most likely his penis.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 5:54:31 PM

"It failed in some key ways."

key ways? KEY WAYS? nothing about that movie was better then the sh*t i took this morning.

.... that being said, i have high hopes for the third film, it looks pretty good ... so far.
RoadDogXVIII writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 11:46:53 PM

You know what, I can never understand this whole fiasco. Alot of people hated Michael Bay originally, and when this Megan Fox stuff happened in August/September, we're supposed to feel bad for him? Really? Does anyone remember how bad "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" was? Megan says the same sh*t we all do about Michael on a daily basis, and now he's Francis Ford Coppola.

And I love how dropping Megan from the franchise was almost like finding a cure for cancer (metaphorically). But is everything okay with the world with the Jonas Brothers and Justin Bieber more popular and douchey than ever? Is everything okay with Miley Cyrus getting away with everything, including smoking salvia? Is everything okay now that famewhores like Kim Kardashian and the Jersey Shore guidos are spokepeople for teenagers?

Sorry for bringing a dark cloud to this fun discussion, but I'd rather take a million Megan Foxes than just one shot of Kardashian's fake boobs or one of Justin Beiber's gay-ass songs. If anything, I'm counting the days until we get an adaptation of "Tranformers: War for Cybertron" coming out where we can see the Autobots and Decepticons the way they were supposed to.

This coming from someone who was and is a fan of the first "Transformers".

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved