WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Alien" Prequel Gets Title and Release Date

Posted: January 15th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Alien" Prequel Gets Title and Release DateSubmit Comment
20th Century Fox has announced that the new "Alien" prequel is called "Prometheus" and is scheduled to hit theaters on March 9th, 2012. And the biggest news is that director Ridley Scott was instructed to come up with any story he wants as long as it stays within what the "Alien" franchise already established.

There are five major roles in the movie. Noomi Rapace (The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo) has already been signed to star as scientist Elizabeth Shaw. Meanwhile, Angelina Jolie and Charlize Theron are in talks for the other big female role of Vickers.

Scott said: "While 'Alien' was indeed the jumping off point for this project, out of the creative process evolved a new, grand mythology and universe in which this original story takes place. The keen fan will recognize strands of Alien's DNA, but the ideas tackled in this film are unique, large and provocative."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rocketman writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 7:01:05 AM

Pumped.
Scott +Sci-fi = Baby batter eruption.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 9:37:54 AM

I'm surprsied it's not getting a summer release.
thomas deadison writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 10:07:38 AM

It's not an Alien sequel/prequel. It's evolved into something entirely new. It's an original story.

http://www.hitfix.com/blogs/motion-captured/posts/ridley-scott-returns-to-sf-with-original-film-prometheus-instead-of-alien-prequel

http://www.badassdigest.com/2011/01/14/amazing-the-alien-prequel-has-been-facehugged-and-chestbursted-by-a-whole-new-idea
thomas deadison writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 10:11:28 AM

Just look at that Ridley Scott quote there. That's what you should be reporting, Worst Previews. But the headline of this article wouldn't lead you to believe that. It's an exciting step in the right direction, and surprise that Fox is even rolling with it.
technoreaper writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 10:41:26 AM

Made by committee garbage, with Ridley Scott's name slapped on it.

This will suck, book it.
thomas deadison writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 1:49:53 PM

Actually I take it back. This could become an Alien film at the last minute. Like how Nottingham just became another Robin Hood movie.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:30:38 PM

"Made by committee garbage, with Ridley Scott's name slapped on it."

Bingo!

I think they just wanted Scotts participation so they could have SOMETHING to get Alien fans into the f*cking seats.

I'd rather watch Pandorum instead.

"I'm surprsied it's not getting a summer release."

It's not going to get a summer tentpole release because they have no faith, and if THEY have no faith then you can bet the best we will get is another watered down gore fest crapshoot like Alien Resurrection, or worse.
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:51:54 PM

Hopefully, this won't be as terribly unentertaining as 'Alien Vs. Predator'. I kinda liked the 'Predators' reboot, but the ending is one of those 'there might be a sequel, but most likely not' type deals. I hate that. I hope this one gives me a better look at fear of alien monsters.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 4:03:07 PM

An Alien film without Sigourney Weaver? Yeah, I can see that working. lol. But what's that you say, it's not a true prequel, instead more of a spinoff?

Well, then, I forsee a terrible failure ahead for the mad greenlighting fools at *gag* FOX.
Rambo writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 4:37:50 PM

Hmmm...there are 3 big questions imo:

1)Can Ridley Scott can pull it off?let's face it,his last projects were not something to remember..
2)Script.duh.
3)The casting.as someone mentioned the lack of sigourney weaver will be a big factor.I actually see Angelina Jolie as a good replacement having experience with masculine roles in previous movies.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 4:45:12 PM

Cameron, not Ridley, made Sigourney into the masculine Sarah Connor type, BTW, as she was just the marginal survivor from the first film's spaceship Nostromo, just as Connor was in Terminator.

I say this because it took a very talented man like Cameron to make it work; his depictions have been aped unsucessfully for nearly two decades, as in Resident Evil, much to our displeasure, as few films, if any really, have truly captured his vision of the masculine-feminine.
thomas deadison writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 4:51:22 PM

Right. You can't recreate the experience of ALIEN just as you can't recreate the experience of PREDATOR. The first film was a game-changer. You'd have completely different expectations watching it for the first time now than anyone had watching it when it was released. You didn't know who the protagonist was until maybe over halfway into it. There was no "Ripley" yet. Not until it became a multi-film franchise. The idea was simply, 'truck drivers' in space.
Rambo writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 4:51:36 PM

^yep,i consider 'Aliens' as the best cameron movie and one of the best movies of all time.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 4:57:49 PM

That and Terminator 2.
thomas deadison writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:00:27 PM

Best sequels for sure.
thomas deadison writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:03:16 PM

And by that I mean sequels that exceed the quality of the original films. Might be the two best examples.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:06:21 PM

Yeah, not the best films ever, but damned good sequels, and we all know how hard it is to make a good sequel, especially when the first film was better than average. Just ask Paul Anderson.

Cameron is one of the few that could do it because he always had vision, no matter what, and a drive to make something that met or exceeeded his high demands. That's artistry and what set him apart from the pack.

I guess that's why I really miss the guy. Well, him and Bill Watterson.
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:17:24 PM

Empire Strikes Back, Has got to be the best sequels i can think of.

It was better than the 1st and it didn't copy what had already happened in Star Wars it expanded on the story.

(how pissed off george must have been about that)

T2 and Aliens are 2 very good sequels also..
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:21:46 PM

Rocket-

I hope your right and he can make a movie that gets somewhere close to Bladerunner or Alien, I'm not sure about this though.

It has to be ready in 13 months and does Scott have the story read to go, or will they be making it up as they go along.

It's a worry IMO
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:29:49 PM

ESB. That's very true. The one GL film not directed by GL that was truly great. Pretty much sums up Lucas right there.

Others that I can think of, though not all true sequels IMO:

Xmen 2 to Xmen 1

Desperado to El Mariachi

SOTL to Manhunter

TDK to BB (I disagree)

Star Trek 2 to Star Trek 1

Superman II to Superman I

SM 2 to Sm 1

Roadwarrior to Mad Max

LOTR 2 to LOTR 1

And I believe IJ3 was the best of the franchise. Same for HellBoy 2.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:32:02 PM

I think people should worry that Ridley was dragged in and given such wwide latitude with the story. That tells me the studio is far more interested in a profitable film than coming up with something deserving to be made.
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:41:05 PM

You pretty much listed them all there mink

Godfather 2 was a good sequel, but not as good as the first.

But i did like Lethal Weapon 2 more than the first.
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:46:26 PM

I do wonder why Fox want to push a head with these Alien movies.

Since Aliens came out in 1986 and took around $150mil w/w, Only Alien Vs Predator has taken more than $60mil at the the US boxoffice.

What makes them think they can turn the series around now ?
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:48:36 PM

"But i did like Lethal Weapon 2 more than the first."

So did I until they replayed it over and over on TBS, until I couldn't stand watching it ever again. They just wore it out, but the fact I kept watching says a lot, I think.

I'm also in the minority that liked BTTF 2 more than the first.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:48:59 PM

Even though BTTF was pretty much a perfect film IMO.
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:57:04 PM

Yep i think i like Back to the future 2 as much as the first, which is the highest complement i can pay that movie.

I wore out the patsy kensit sex scene on Lethal Weapon 2...
rabid writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 6:11:24 PM

Are we going to have an entire film without humans?
In the original the humans have never met an alien species, and we've heard that this well tell the story of the space jockeys. They're not the most human looking creature around, so I get nervous at hints of casting fair-faced big-name actresses.
technoreaper writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 12:19:44 AM

Don't get your hopes up for this new Alien movie. Look at Fox's recent track record with sequels. It is AWFUL. This movie, as I've said before, is screaming MADE BY COMMITTEE. Here are the indicators: 1. Hire an edgy, up and coming actor(Noomi Rapace). 2. Hire a big name star that will be out of place in the movie but get butts in the seats(Theron or Jolie). 3. Hire a director with a reputation that is willing to sell his name to the highest bidder(Ridley Scott, Steven Spielberg is also guilty as charged).

The only good movie in any series is the original, people. After the first, the odds of the sequel being good are slim unless the original director is still attached. If a whole new director and team are making the movie, watch out!
Anung_un_rama writes:
on January 17th, 2011 at 10:53:10 PM

Sci-FI and Ridley f*cken Scott cant wait!
warlord writes:
on January 18th, 2011 at 10:28:30 AM

its no longer a prequel to alien but a stand a lone sci fi horror

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved