WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steve Carell to Leave Before "The Office" Season Finale

Posted: January 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steve Carell to Leave Before "The Office" Season FinaleSubmit Comment
During an NBC party, "The Office" producer Paul Lieberstein (Toby Flenderson on the show) confirmed that Steve Carell will be leaving after this season, adding that his departure will actually happen before the season finale.

"Steve will have a number of episodes that dramatize and lead up to Steve leaving," he explained. "Then we'll continue on for about four more episodes, and the spring will prove to be not about an actor leaving, but what happens in an office when a manager leaves and the chaos ensues and people vie for the job and are uncertain about their future. It was about focusing the spring on the office and everybody else, and not just a character going. If the show was ending, it would be about that. But it's not."

Lieberstein added that some of the candidates to replace Michael Scott as the new boss are Darryl, Dwight and Andy. He said that Jim never worked well as the manager. The final pick will not be revealed until spring.

The show will also add new two regular cast-members next season and Todd Packer (David Koechner) will come off the road and take up his old desk.

Source: Collider, Hitfix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 17 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 9:19:33 PM

This show runs about 5 minutes late here before another show I want to watch comes on. So I've seen the last 5 mins. of a few of these episodes.

Question: is the rest of the show funny... because the last 5 minutes NEVER are. This is a comedy right?
Quatro writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 10:51:40 PM

It used to be hysterical Ranger...not so much anymore. Season 1 (although only 6 episodes) and Season 2 are honestly some of the funniest sh*t I have seen on tv. After that there are a lot of mediocre episodes and you can tell material is running thin as the show becomes longer.

Although the fact that Todd Packer is going to be a series regular could make the next season actually funny again. Whenever he has cameos he is hysterical.
Rodan writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 11:57:01 PM

@Ranger, I think they're great, but I couldn't dismiss the possibility that maybe they've just grown on me. It might still find it funny only because I've been watching it for so long.
Rodan writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 11:58:31 PM

But it is pretty clear the story ideas aren't as sharp. They're just running out of ideas.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 12:22:28 AM

Who cares I never watch it anyways
vaodsi writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 1:23:46 AM

I'm a huge office fan... the last few seasons have nto been as funny but they still make me laugh way more than anything else. The last five minutes are never the funniest parts.. so much of the show's humor is in the nuances of the characters. SOmething that might seem boring if only viewed at the end might be hysterical if viewed form the beginning. It's why the show has such a large cult following. It's full of inside jokes.

I'm not happy that carrell is leaving and i think packer will get obnoxious as a regular. He's funny in small doses. I was hoping they'd stop when carrell left... no such luck. They will probably run this show into the ground. it's already shown waning signs. Oh well. The first four seasons are gold.
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 1:36:11 AM

Thx. folks. I never watched it so I wasn't judging too harshly. 5 mins. isn't much to go on.
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 1:37:01 AM

And by comparison, MASH was never funnier than it was it's first 2, maybe 3 seasons.
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 2:57:03 AM

Ranger- The UK office is funnier IMO , But they only made around 12 episodes and a Christmas special.

Which means it never run out of steam like a lot of these shows do in the end.
velocityknown writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:09:24 AM

The Office was great in seasons 2 through 5. However, season 6-7, showrunners Greg Daniels and Michael Schur left to create the now far more hilarious, Parks and Recreation.

Paul Lieberstein (who plays Toby) took over and made the show as much of a mess as Toby's own life. The writer's seemingly forgot where the show was set, what made it funny, and who their characters were. Dwight lost complete and total touch with reality (along with most of the branch). Characters became caricatures. They were whatever the writers felt like having them be that week (alert, ignorant, mean, or sensitive). There were no stakes, they married and gave kids to Jim and Pam in one damn season. And now, they've basically run out of things to do.

If you compare the UK Office and the US Office (each at their peaks) I don't think there's any denying the US version trumped it. BUT since Ricky Gervais is a television genius, he wisely ended the series after 12 episodes and a Christmas special and left a good taste in peoples' mouths. The US version is leaving a bad, bad taste. I wish it weren't NBC's only hit right now, because then it might die with some dignity. However, I fear that we will live on with a shell of what the show used to be.
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:52:21 AM

velocity -

Must say i've not seen all of the American Office, But that show has had much greater sucess than the UK one, it's more of a cult show over here.

Ricky Knew he couldn't keep the show's quality at such a high level and he also really wanted to move on to BBC1 with the Extras (another great show), So he eneded it quick.

Which i think was the right thing to do, It didn't leave you thinking i wish they had stopped last season, really you wanted one more.

Which is why he did the christmas special for the fans and to have some closure on the show.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 5:53:30 AM

I like it when the end a show on high note and I think the series needs to end. It has been one of the funniest shows i have seen that has turn many bad days I have had right around. I hate to see michael go, and I hate to see the show go. However, they really are starting to reach their limit and need to start looking for closure.
pH0u57 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 7:05:54 AM

i think they're getting better with each season. but now, without carell, i'm really worried. and f*ck todd packer!
velocityknown writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 12:00:45 PM

@Trailer

And he ran Extras in the same manner, 12 episodes and a Christmas special. Brilliance once again. I wish Ricky had more of a showrunner role with the American Office. They might've stopped by now.
trailertrash writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 2:27:42 AM

I have a feeling he may return to Extras again one day.

He did get some great cameos on that show and a lot of stars from Hollywood wanted to be on it.

He just done a new show called an idiot abroad for Sky were he sent his friend all over the world and him and steve Merchant sat back in a studio and told his what to do, It was only ok at best though.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 3:45:27 AM

please god dont let my favorite show crash-and-burn like scrubs did! ill probably give it a chance if dwight is the boss (not darryl, hes funny in small increments), and koechner is hilarious but, hate to admit it, i still think they should just end it!
rabid writes:
on January 16th, 2011 at 12:35:14 PM

It's a brilliant program, but i don't know if it can sustain itself after Steve Carrell leaves. He's the comedic centerpoint of the show. There is noone on the show that can replace him. They should seriously cast outside for the new boss.

I'd almost rather see Toby flip out and bring a gun to work, hold everyone hostage and then burn the building down. That would be a great note to end it on.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved