WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Did You Confuse "Green Lantern" with "Green Hornet"?

Posted: January 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Did You Confuse "Green Lantern" with "Green Hornet"?Submit Comment
LA Times is reporting that Sony Pictures was originally planning to release "The Green Hornet" in March of 2011, just in time for spring break. But when Warner Bros learned of this, it fought really hard to make sure that the movie is released much earlier. The reason: the studio was worried that movie-goers would confuse "The Green Hornet" with "Green Lantern," which is set for a June release.

As a result, Warners took their case to the MPAA, claiming that releasing two movies in the same genre with similar titles three months apart could be damaging due to consumer confusion.

MPAA agreed and forced Sony to create a five-month span between "The Green Hornet" and "Green Lantern." This is why "The Green Hornet" was released in January, one of the worst months for movies.

Question: Did you ever confuse "The Green Hornet" with "Green Lantern"?

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
JonDrama writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 9:10:05 PM

Like confusing Seth Rogen with Ryan Reynolds.. Not likely
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 9:15:28 PM

Did You Confuse "Green Lantern" with "Green Hornet"?
You're asking me did I get one stupid, confused piece of sh*t confused with another stupid, confused piece of sh*t ?

One insults Asian Americans and the other insults comic-book geek boys.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 9:20:39 PM

They both got one thing in common they will bomb really bad along with the gay spiderman,thor,capt america.

The only superhero franchise I have faith in is the xmen movie cause the director knows his sh*t and kickass was surprisingly great
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 9:21:57 PM

I get them mixed up all the time because 'Lantern' and 'Hornet' almost rhyme... almost.
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 9:22:42 PM

Sure glad these are coming out when The Green Mile came out... or I'd be really f*cked!
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 9:23:17 PM

And don't even get me started on Soylent Green!
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 9:24:14 PM

EDIT: Sure glad these areN'T coming out...
dorkus1226 writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 9:27:40 PM

it's pretty simple. ryan reynolds is one f*ckable man. seth rogan? not so much...
telur writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 10:00:34 PM

I am confuse where Green Arrow then? In September?
Whitta writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 11:13:23 PM

What, no one wanted the Blue Hornet?! RACIST!!
WV-Films writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 11:34:21 PM

Sony must envy WB....
Rodan writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 12:05:17 AM

Someone recently quoted Carlin, and I will reuse it: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

So no, I would not confuse the two, but at this point I wouldn't doubt that some of my fellow Americans are incapable of seeing the difference. I honestly would not be surprised if people got them confused, watched the movie, and still did not realize they saw the other movie.

I can't begin to imagine the sh*tstorm that erupted when we've had movies like "Star Trek", "Star Wars", "Star Kid", etc.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 12:15:41 AM

Nicely said Rodan.

At first read through of the story I thought "no, nobody is that stupid" but as I have worked at a cinema for many years I can safely say "yes, some people would get confused"
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 12:16:57 AM

I think the more important question is do the readers of WP sometimes, and by sometimes I mean quite often, and by quite often I mean all the time; confuse the writing staff at WP for retards...I think so
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 12:26:16 AM

f*ck The Green Hornet and f*ck you Seth Rogen!! Green Lantern will be sweet to watch, take notes Rogen, that's the type of movie YOU WILL NEVER BE IN!!!
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 1:29:16 AM

'I honestly would not be surprised if people got them confused, watched the movie, and still did not realize they saw the other movie.' --- those people should just be put down.

Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 1:30:46 AM

Both green-titles movies. Both played by Vancouver-born leads. There... that's the similarity.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 1:51:03 AM

Hornets are YELLOW NOT GREEN
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 2:07:29 AM

lol... good point. Generally so is the light from lanterns.

f*ck you Hollywood... f*ck YOU!!!

telur writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 2:22:39 AM

As a result, Warners took their case to the MPAA, claiming that releasing two movies in the same genre with similar titles three months apart could be damaging due to consumer confusion.

---> Lantern scared to Hornet
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 2:28:46 AM

Watched Green Lantern last night it was sh*t,

Has Reynolds put on some weight ....
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 2:29:59 AM

Oh wait .....
Ranger writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 2:42:56 AM

lol.
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 2:45:35 AM

Sometimes i confuse the pink hole and the brown one .......

Or do I !!!
jigsaw23 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 6:10:44 AM

wtf only retarts did
rocketman writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 12:54:17 PM

@Trailer lol, literary f*cking beat me to it...ace
bspence writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 2:40:01 PM

i love how so many people think these things are going to flop. theres no way they will regardless if anybody here likes them or no.

green hornet. yeah possibly.

but green lantern, thor, captain america, spiderman, etc.
like it or not they are going to dominate at the box office and will all have sequels.

spiderman already has 3 planned.

cap and thor both will go into the avengers 1 and 2. as well as possibly shield, and also have sequels of their own.

and green lantern also already has 3 planned.

the only big budget superhero film i see possibly, not bombing, but not doing as well as "expected" (though that maybe not the right word, at least for WP users) is xmen first class. and obviously green hornet and ghost rider 2.

xmen first class has potential. but its just that there hasnt been a ton of photos released and its about what 6 and a half months from release and theres not even a teaser yet? granit cap is the same way but theres been several more photos showing off some of the costumes. xfc hasnt shown what the standout characters like beast, mystique, sebastain, the professor, magneto, etc. will look like. we've seen white queen in normal (not diamond) form and thats about it as far as things like that goes.

i hear people just around, both friends and strangers talking about green lantern, dark knight rises, superman reboot, spiderman reboot, thor, captain america, etc. but ive never really heard anything about xmen.

ive heard about deadpool, wolverine 2, and even xmen 4. but almost nothing about first class.
Man in Black writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:38:28 PM

NO because i am literate and understand you can not spell Lantern from Hornet .
nope.com writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:41:10 PM

if you're a f*cking retard who reads twilight and loves watching Transformers then yes it is confusing
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:49:09 PM

NO, I didn't confuse them because I'm not a moron, but considering the lack of quality from the Green Hornet, I think it's a moot point.
minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:52:17 PM

"Hornets are YELLOW NOT GREEN"

Yes, that's why they titled the film GREEN Hornet, featureing a green hornet, rather than just HORNET but still featuring a green hornet.

Jesus.

"NO because i am literate and understand you can not spell Lantern from Hornet ."

You presume to think that peope stupid enough to confuse Hornet with Lantern can spell.
charmed23 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 7:35:43 PM

yup, a bunch of my friends did, and still do
gotsghostrider writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 8:38:46 PM

No I'm not an idiot..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved