WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Powerful Trailer for "The Interrupters" Documentary

Posted: January 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Powerful Trailer for "The Interrupters" DocumentarySubmit Comment
One of the most important films of 2010 was "Waiting for Superman" that changed the way America looked at education. The message behind the film traveled not only across every network, but all the way to President Obama.

This year, "The Interrupters" has a good chance to become the most important film of 2011, focusing on the out-of-control violence that has spread across the country, including Chicago, where more citizens have died than American soldiers in Iraq and Afghanistan combined (during the same period).

Oscar-nominated director Steve James (Hoop Dreams) made "The Interrupters" over the course of one year and followed three "violence interrupters" as they attempt to intervene in disputes before they turn violent. The film will premiere at the Sundance Film Festival.

Trailer:

If you cannot see the player, click here.


Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 47 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Peter Parker writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 6:27:52 AM

I'm particularly curious to read what VDODSON, Jeff and Lawman think of this...
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 8:05:09 AM

The guy @ 2mins into it needs a hug, Che would give him that?
Odd writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 9:36:58 AM

Che would give him more then just a hug...the guy would probably never be seen again!
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 9:44:58 AM

Never seen or be scared so bad he turned white and no one would recognize him
SACdaddy writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 9:54:47 AM

I sometimes wonder what this country would be like if it paid as much attention and devoted as many resources to stopping the violence and educating the youth of its own peolpe as it does spreading "peace and democracy" throughout the world. Why are we building schools in Iraq and Afghanistan and closing them down in the US? Why are we so concerned about securing the streets of Kabul and not concerned with securing the streets of Chicago? We're flying billions of dollars to warzones overseas and not spending a dime on warzones in our own backyards. The US needs to get its priorities straight. This sh*t wouldn't fly in China :-)
Barney Stinson writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 10:03:50 AM

SACdaddy - All I've got to say is that you're a wise man.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 11:35:04 AM

thx man
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 12:01:53 PM

WOW!!
BigTate writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 12:34:31 PM

Do I have to say it? Nary a Caucasian in it. Yeah, I'm racist. Now prove me wrong.
Charlie9 writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 2:31:51 PM

Appropriate advertisement surrounding the trailer.

You can only hope films like this open ppl's eyes, the ppl that matter that is.
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 2:40:53 PM

Seems like that one guy flipped the bird to the wrong gang member.
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 2:41:32 PM

So this movie isn't endorsed by Chicago Tourism I gather?
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 2:50:19 PM

Among black people, violence has been an epidemic for decades. It's structurally ingrained by a culture of self-loathing, brought on by slavery, lack of civil rights, and white exploitation for politically purposes.

You have to address the problem culturally and personally. Telling people they shouldn't engage in crime and violence does nothing if they're unemployed, on drugs and full of rage.

Perhaps start by speaking out un-politically-correct about the causes, like white patronizing, liberal-reinforced attitudes of victimhood, and the general silence on the death of the black nuclear family.

The thing is, people expect blacks to fail, adn when they do, no one says speaks up because they're apathetic and cynical.

What's bad for black people is bad for America. So while I have my doubts these guys will have much of an impact, long-term, I say it's a good start. But it won't address the root problems, the problems people refuse to discuss openly.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 2:52:46 PM

"Why are we building schools in Iraq and Afghanistan and closing them down in the US? Why are we so concerned about securing the streets of Kabul and not concerned with securing the streets of Chicago?"

Uh, because black people aren't flying buildings into planes, bombing military installations and killiing Americans abroad.

Yet.

And America's school system is one of the most heavily funded in the word, per capita, and yet the failures persist. More money will do nothing.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 2:54:40 PM

"The US needs to get its priorities straight. This sh*t wouldn't fly in China :-)"

That's exactly right: China has no interest in spreading either democracy OR freedom because they have neither at home.

Really, Sac, spare us, or at least me, your platitudes and empty rhetoric.
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 3:01:57 PM

Well said Mink.

I watched a show on black culture in the hoods, oh... probably 15 years ago.

First: black people have to stop blaming others. Seriously. Whatever whitey has done to them is recorded history. If the argument is still whitey is keeping them down, where's THEIR accountability. Tell Denzel (no bigger fan of his than right here folks!), Halle (granted half-white) or Barack (granted half white) that whitey has kept them down. When does the blame cycle end, pull up the boot straps and get' er done.

They'd buy 2 liter bottles of booze in the convenience stores (cheap stuff). They called it liquid crack made by whitey so they'd shoot each other. Excuse me... if whitey had such a plan, producing a product that eliminates your buying public isn't a smart business plan.

Then there was the blacks ragging on blacks. If you were black-African black... you were rated lower that lighter blacks.

Some scenes in movies really stick with me. Like Denzel in Malcolm X... when he repeatedly went through that painful procedure to straighten his hair and asked: 'Does it look white?' Wow!

So whitey has been keeping the brothers down. Yeah... slavery (tell me about it... I had an uncle killed in a Japanese prison camp in WWII... deal with it!). Now there's reverse discrimination. Non-whites getting preferential treatment not because of job qualifications, but because of color. Granted whitey had it good. But is this a solution... OVER-compensating? So some black hate whitey eh? Do they go kill whitey? NO. They kill fellow black in their hood. So how is THAT getting back at the man?

John Lennon must be turning over in his grave. We won't be giving 'peace a chance' in my lifetime. Gene Roddenberry's Star Trek is more than a couple of centuries away, I'm pretty sure.

And Halle... if you're reading this and my words have made you wet... call me and I'll make you feel gooooooood!
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 3:04:06 PM

Why doesn't the US and other countries get out of a no-win scenario like Afghanistan (the Russians gained nothing there either) and Iraq (I know... power vacuum)... and help Katrina victims rebuild their homes? Put half a million military to work and they'd have it done in no time. The poor blacks of that area seem to have been forgotten (even by a half-black President).
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 3:26:08 PM

Ranger, when LA erupted in riots, do you know that black people immeditately started burning and destroying the government-funded housing they lived in, along with every Korean corner grocery store in a hundred mile radius?

People, and specifically black people, have NO respect for things they do not EARN. Like respect that isn't earned, or an education given ont he basis of skin color, home gifted aren't taken care of nor are they appreciated. You have to EARN something first.

And lets face it, the government already did plenty after Katrina. They gifted free rent for months for Katrina victims. Not to mention that many of the people made homeless left and never returned, and those that didn;t were virtually homeless BEFORE Katrina.

Besides, let LA pick up the tab. It was THEIR fault the lavies weren't repaired or reinforced, so why throw the mistakes of morons down in LA on the backs of the American taxpayer?
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 3:27:54 PM

"Put half a million military to work and they'd have it done in no time."

That's what FDR did during the Depression, and he only suceeded in stalling economic recovery by gifting jobs on the back of a very sick economy. While other nations were busy recovering, the US Depression lasted years longer than it should have, all because of FDR doing exactly what you're suggesting.

Now is just a bad time for work welfare, but if conditions were better, we wouldn't need government intervention.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 3:33:01 PM

"John Lennon must be turning over in his grave. We won't be giving 'peace a chance' in my lifetime. Gene Roddenberry's Star Trek is more than a couple of centuries away, I'm pretty sure."


Lennon was a hypocrit and prime example of how the 60s was staged. He sang about owning no possessions while he was happily worth millions. Should have given all his wealth to the poor instead. But the 'peace' he demanded wouldn't have been necessary if his ilk hadn't started a violent counterculture revolution, one that hasn't stopped yet.

As for Roddenberry, he was naive fool. Things always cost something, so someone has to pick up the tab somewhere. He combined British naval service into Socialism to present the world a future that'll never exist, because it can't exist.
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 3:58:34 PM

No argument on Lennon.

I don't know the Katrina situation that close. What you say makes sense (FDR situation I am more familiar with).

Same as our area. The Indian Tribes have been made MULTI-millionaires from mineral rights. They trash the homes governments build for them (I know... a friend of the family was one of the home builders). Yet they benefit from casino's etc. True story. One Indian (they prefer that term. 'Native' and 'Aboriginal' is a whitey thing) family called and complained about their pipes freezing during winter. They cut a hole in their bathroom wall so their cattle could drink water from their bathtub (I'm not sh*tting you!)... so winter would hit... tub would freeze. WTF?!?!?!?! Plus they'll spend months if not years tying up cities to put roadways (that would benefit their casinos, etc.), then renege on such agreements, etc. I had a meeting with a Tribal Chief to potentially build a data center on their land. I show up... he's in f*cking Arizona because the tribe is making his daughter a Princess. No apology... nothing. Next was a wind farm... f*ck I'll take them any more business!

RE: LA riots. Robin Williams goes on one of the last Johnny Carson hosted episodes. Robin's jokes... 'I wanted to bring you a VCR... but the stores didn't have any!' Priceless!

As for Roddenberry being naive. No doubt. But the success of that franchise has given a huge mass hope that their is hope. That we're not all destined for the ditch.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 4:16:08 PM

"As for Roddenberry being naive. No doubt. But the success of that franchise has given a huge mass hope that their is hope. That we're not all destined for the ditch."

The hope is through the promises of technology and science and through the possibilities of exploration.

The problem we have now is that the modern world is STAGNATING. The only hope is to venture outside the world into space for exansion, both physically and mentally, so Roddenberry got that right.

Look, I love much of Star Trek, especially TNG because it explored IDEAS, but much of what Gene thought about the future is simply fruitless wishful thinking.

You cannot usurp economic laws. People want things, and even if you have 'replicators', you still need energy.

People need jobs and work gives people meaning and pay for that work gives them satisfaction. Things for nothing gets old. People want to earn somethig not have it handed to them through a machine. Otherwise they're slaves to convenience.

And people will always want more than they are 'given'. That's human nature and all the space exploration and trips to Alpha Centauri will not change that.

The fact is, the hope Roddenberry promised has not come to pass because he lived in age when space exploration was actually occurring, because the US ahd to beat the USSR and vice versa, that impetus bwteen cometetive and highly adversarial opponents, but today we send probes to drill rocks on Mars. We haven't returned to the moon in a generation.

In Fight Club, Tyler tells Jack:

"Man, I see in fight club the strongest and smartest men who've ever lived. I see all this potential, and I see squandering. God damn it, an entire generation pumping gas, waiting tables; slaves with white collars. Advertising has us chasing cars and clothes, working jobs we hate so we can buy sh*t we don't need. We're the middle children of history, man. No purpose or place. We have no Great War. No Great Depression. Our Great War's a spiritual war... our Great Depression is our lives. We've all been raised on television to believe that one day we'd all be millionaires, and movie gods, and rock stars. But we won't. And we're slowly learning that fact. And we're very, very pissed off."

And he's right.

Men have nothing left but to work their damned dull jobs and make as much money as they can because it's all a man has left.

There's nothing left to conquer, nothing left to explore and there's really nothing new left to build.

As Fukuyama opined, history has ended. And yet, the future awaits, but the question lingers: when will it arrive?
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 4:24:19 PM

Our world was built on hard work... not technology, agreed.

I'll give you one example of how lazy people have gotten.

When Captain America was casting. There was an unknown out there posting YouTube videos of himself. Clearly a steroid junkie, but that's his business. People posted repeatedly under that video: 'This guy is great... what's his name?!' Every 3rd or 4th post would ask that.

His name was in the f*cking TITLE of the video. How lazy is that?! Use your SCROLL BUTTON DOUCHES!!!
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 4:32:07 PM

Our world was built on hard work, yes, through technology, from the days of simple agricultural irrigation and simple crossbreeding to buckminsterfullerene carbon nano-tube suspension bridge concepts.

And people are lazy, of course, because they no longer have to think. Thinking is HARD work for the lazy.

When you believe everything should come NOW and never a little later, when instant gratification is your god, along with WalMart and 8 dollar lattes at Starbucks, having to think, having to wait, having to actually do more than pull your pants over your expanding gut is just too much of a chore. IN fact it's downright exuasting.

And yes, Ranger, the people on YT are, without a doubt, the dumbest (because they are LAZY) strain of 'homo internetus' yet. Only a single dead bacillus is less capable of intelligent discourse or rational thought.

Thinking on YT? That's like asking a medical cadaver to do the tango.

In other words, laziness inherently and irrevocable and unavoidably breeds stupidity.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 4:38:46 PM

I do like though how every year we 'marketize' even so-called education doc*mentaries, in the same way we marketize car models.

It's like, oh look, it's the new 2011 Doc*mentary, with an expanded cup holder and an updated XMS satellite radio.

I mean, I feel like I'm watching car commercials where the guy driving the car is always black.

Is there NOTHING we won't commoditize in this nation?
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 5:10:58 PM

I hear ya.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DOWwPP6HFzQ
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 5:16:43 PM

"Why are we so concerned about securing the streets of Kabul and not concerned with securing the streets of Chicago?"

So what you're suggesting is a militarization of Chicago's streets?

Even though Chi-town has plenty of cops already, you can't have them everywhere unless you bring in the miliatry and declare martial law, which abrogates pretty much what the US Constitution allows.

Besides, you've problably missed this reality, but law enforcement is a state obligation, and not a FEDERAL one. You're advocating, foolishly, destroying the line between state law enforcement obligations and federal defnse of the nation at large.

In other words, the feds are responsible for national defense, not chasing down shoplifters andpurse snatchers.

Sure, the NG comes in during times of crisis, but that's an entirely different matter, and one could argue that even then the federal government is willfully overstepping it's Constitutional bounds. But we all agree that those circ*mstances require the NG be deployed so it's a good thing and we look the other way.

In short: asking the federal government to provoide local law enforcement is a TERRIBLE idea, not just politically but practically.

And Sac, not that you'll read this and perhaps challenge your own thoughts, but what you advocate isn't wise, it's the same self-destructive feel-good nonsense that's not only against the founding nature of this nation but what's, in part, leading to it's ruination.

Typical big-brother nanny-state uber-Federalist garbage you'd expect from someone that votes Democrat from cradle to grave.

So thanks but NO thanks.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 5:20:32 PM

"I hear ya.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DOWwPP6HFzQ"

Even though I KNEW from the video beginning that the scary guy-thing would pop up, it startled me regardless of my anticipation.

So you got me, Ranger. Good one.
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 5:24:57 PM

That fricken commercial STILL gets me!!!
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 5:27:43 PM

Nothing that you can do to prepare yourself works.

The ghoul is just suddenly there and you jump involuntarily and then you feel more shame than Che buying kneepads at Sports Authority.
trailertrash writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 5:33:27 PM

Interesting posts and views today guys ...

And f*ck that advert !!!

It's just like the head falling out the boat in Jaws you know it's coming , but it gets you every time.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 5:38:14 PM

Jaws? Isn't that the guys call Che during spring break?

Or do they call him BallsDeep instead?
secondbest writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 5:40:18 PM

People always talk about how violent Chicago is, but what they don't mention is that a majority of the violence they're talking about is in certain areas of the city. Not saying that the whole city isn't violent, but there's a huge difference between the amount of violence on North Side vs. the South Side vs. the West Side.
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 5:47:33 PM

Secondbest:

May I ask, who exactly lives in these certain violent areas? Jewish business men? Asian fruit vendors? Indian pawn shop owners?

Just askin', dog.
trailertrash writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 5:48:27 PM

BallsDeep (lol) in my ass i think his name is ..

or was it

One Slurp Che



minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 5:54:14 PM

Nay, they just call him Slurpie because he's cheap, offers a 'Big Gulp' and is always open, just like 7-11.
trailertrash writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 5:59:27 PM

And will eat more than one Wiener at a time..
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 6:03:51 PM

..and lots of mayonnaise to go with his wieners...
trailertrash writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 6:07:16 PM

Home-Man-Made Mayo your right ....
Ranger writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 6:15:04 PM

lol...
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 6:29:06 PM

I think you mean HomO-man-made, trailer.

and I hear Che likes a little cream cheese on his buns.
trailertrash writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 6:39:49 PM

Yes HomO silly me .... lol

And he likes nothing better than being woken up with a T-Bagging and little fellatio
minkowski writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 6:45:45 PM

Yeah, trailer, he's the only man alive that prefers waking up both wet and screaming.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 7:52:30 PM

All I have to ask is :

Where's all the boobies ?
reaper113 writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:44:18 PM

"I sometimes wonder what this country would be like if it paid as much attention and devoted as many resources to stopping the violence and educating the youth of its own peolpe as it does spreading "peace and democracy" throughout the world. Why are we building schools in Iraq and Afghanistan and closing them down in the US? Why are we so concerned about securing the streets of Kabul and not concerned with securing the streets of Chicago? We're flying billions of dollars to warzones overseas and not spending a dime on warzones in our own backyards."

Wow, that was incredibly well stated and completely true. I did not know we actually had such intelligent people on WP. Color me impressed.


minkowski writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 3:56:58 PM

^^and yet nothing he said was either credible or distantly true, just ignorant liberalized mouthbreathing.

You ma'am are just a f*cking imbecile. LOL.
maddasahatter writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 9:13:41 PM

Ranger writes:

One Indian (they prefer that term. 'Native' and 'Aboriginal' is a whitey thing)

WRONG! They prefer the term Cuuzin (Cousin) lulz.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved