WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Shane Black to Direct Live-Action "Death Note" Film

Posted: January 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Shane Black to Direct Live-Action "Death Note" FilmSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has hired Shane Black (Kiss Kiss Bang Bang) to direct a live-action adaptation of the Japanese manga series "Death Note." The script is being written by Anthony Bagarozzi and Charles Mondry (Doc Savage).

"Death Note" revolves around Light, a bright student who stumbles across a mystical notebook that has the power to kill any person whose name he writes in it. Light decides to launch a secret crusade to rid the streets of criminals. Soon, he finds himself pursued by a famous FBI criminal profiler known only by the alias L.

"Death Note" is wildly popular in Japan and has been turned into live-action and animated films, an animated TV series, novels and video games.

"It's my favorite manga, I was just struck by its unique and brilliant sensibility," said Black. "What we want to do is take it back to that manga, and make it closer to what is so complex and truthful about the spirituality of the story, versus taking the concept and trying to copy it as an American thriller."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 8:40:42 PM

Oh. He's DIRECTING. Nevermind.

Had he said he was going to WRITE a movie and have someone COMPETENT do the directing, I would be on board, but we all remember what happened when pensmen Goyer sat his sights on the dorectorial chair with Blade 3.

But let me suggest instead that they adapt a better anime than Death Note. Trigun or Bebop would be superior material, but we also know the adaptation would stink worse than Street Fighter: The Legend Chun Li or that DragginBalls abomination that resulted in the premature suicide of several teenagers and a dozen unmarried men.
RickPeters writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 8:59:07 PM

But he did a solid job directing Kiss Kiss Bang Bang. Which is of course, only one movie though.

Although I hate manga and anime so this thing doesn't even interest me, so whatever.
koul writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 9:03:29 PM

already seen the japanese live actions films and the anime.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 9:10:07 PM

@minkowski

Just thank your lucky stars that this isn't the greenlight of a live-action Akira with Zac Effron
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 9:16:38 PM

i like Shane Black but would have been better if he wrote it too, the Japanese Live action film was pretty good, could be a good or really really bad, Channing Tatum anyone, he could be Kira's first victim.
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 9:39:48 PM

Death note was good but not the best to go with before they break into this Manga to live action trip Hollywood is going to go on soon
Mudders writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 10:51:59 PM

this will end up just like "hawkins" a pile of steamy entrails
jdl107 writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 1:43:02 AM

I hate to sound like this kind've guy but... The guy who wrote MILK is gonna handle this?...

f*ckin' a.
Mister Leary writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 2:54:58 AM

@Mink

Obviously Cowboy Bebop is the one anime that is begging to made into a live action film. However, everyone knows that a studio will do a horrible job casting it and will kill the personality the show had.
Rodan writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 3:54:40 AM

@jdl107, everyone is fluent in sarcasm here so I can't really tell if you are serious, but Shane Black and Dustin Lance Black are not the same person. The former brought us the Lethal Weapon franchise, The Last Boy Scout, Kiss Kiss Bang Bang, etc. The latter is gay and wrote a script about a gay guy.
Detrimental writes:
on January 14th, 2011 at 3:26:56 PM

3 Live Action Japanese films, all good (especially the third IMO), yet adaptations as well. I'm seeing it either way because I love the series manga/anime's kinda my "thing." Most of other person's "things" would be related to breathing in comparison to my obses- way of life.

Enough of my tangent, the point is this movie is doomed to lack a movie length's extent in matching to the original story. Adaptations are just that.

And I swear to Zod, if I see a white L and/or Kira, there will be hell to pay. Cry racist. It doesn't make me any less wrong.

P.S. Just use the same L . . . he speaks English ffs. Don't ruin this for me.
Detrimental writes:
on January 15th, 2011 at 11:33:29 AM

P.S.S. Death Note is the only movie that'll generate enough of a cult interest off the bat due to the single emo kids who once fluttered for Twilight movies but now face its imminent conclusion.

Trigun & C. Bebop are good...but it'd take an original story to grasp a concept for them. Death Note pretty much plays out the same (excluding the only other option even remotely resembling an alternate ending in the 2nd live action movie).
seveltoto writes:
on November 7th, 2017 at 8:54:40 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved