WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tyler Perry Dominates NAACP Awards

Posted: January 12th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tyler Perry Dominates NAACP AwardsSubmit Comment
I'm not sure what the point of the NAACP Image Awards is. Tyler Perry received nineteen nominations for his "For Colored Girls" and "Why Did I Get Married Too?" films, plus a few more mentions for his "House of Payne" and "Meet the Browns" TV shows.

NAACP is known for supporting the black community, but Justin Timberlake and Zoe Saldana were also nominated. Why did the organization choose those two actors and not Colin Firth, Christian Bale, Natalie Portman, and plenty of other actors who are being recognized by all other award shows?

So if NAACP is open to nominating people of all color, why is Tyler Perry and actors in his films dominating the awards show? And is "Just Wright" really so good that it may win in the Best Picture category?

Here are the nominees in the film categories:

Best Motion Picture:
* For Colored Girls
* Just Wright
* The Book of Eli
* The Kids Are All Right
* Tyler Perry's Why Did I Get Married Too?

Best Actor in a Motion Picture:
* Anthony Mackie (Night Catches Us)
* Common (Just Wright)
* Denzel Washington (The Book of Eli)
* Jaden Smith (The Karate Kid)
* Morgan Freeman (Red)

Best Actress in a Motion Picture:
* Halle Berry (Frankie and Alice)
* Janet Jackson (Tyler Perry's Why Did I Get Married Too?)
* Kerry Washington (Night Catches Us)
* Queen Latifah (Just Wright)
* Zoe Saldana (The Losers)

Best Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture:
* Don Cheadle (Brooklyn's Finest)
* Idris Elba (Takers)
* Justin Timberlake (The Social Network)
* Michael Ealy (For Colored Girls)
* Samuel L. Jackson (Mother and Child)

Best Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture:
* Anika Noni Rose (For Colored Girls)
* Kimberly Elise (For Colored Girls)
* Phylicia Rashad (For Colored Girls)
* Jill Scott (Tyler Perry's Why Did I Get Married Too?)
* Whoopi Goldberg (For Colored Girls)

Best Independent Motion Picture:
* Conviction
* Frankie and Alice
* La Mission
* Mother and Child
* Night Catches Us

Best Foreign Motion Picture:
* A Barefoot Dream
* Biutiful
* Four Lions
* Mother
* Outside the Law

Best Documentary (Theatrical or Television):
* For Love of Liberty: The Story of America's Black Patriots
* Hugh Hefner: Playboy, Activist and Rebel
* If God is Willing and the Creek Don't Rise
* Waiting for "Superman"
* William Kunstler: Disturbing the Universe

Best Writing in a Motion Picture (Theatrical or Television):
* Frankie and Alice
* Brooklyn's Finest
* Just Wright
* Mother and Child
* Tyler Perry's Why Did I Get Married Too?

Best Directing in a Motion Picture (Theatrical or Television):
* Geoffrey Sax (Frankie and Alice)
* George Tillman, Jr. (Faster)
* Tanya Hamilton (Night Catches Us)
* The Hughes Brothers (The Book of Eli)
* Tyler Perry (For Colored Girls)

Source: NAACP


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 9:48:24 PM

A black man at the forefront of a black-oriented group's film nominations? The hell you say!

Probably the most racist thing I've seen in ages. But hey.
Michael Corleone writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 10:40:37 PM

Did this site really just bitch about Collin Firth, Christian Bale, and Natalie Portman not being nominated for a NAACP Award? The reason Zoe Saldana was nominated is because well she is considered black. Yes she may not be prdominatley black she is still BLACK. Not to mention that 99.9% of the roles she play is an African American woman. Now Justin Timberlake however is somewhat of a mystery. But his nomination can be somewhat understood because his fan demographic over the past few years have been majority black. Not to mention that his producer is Timberland and most of his music is considered to be soul R&B rather than Pop music. Now to Tyler Perry, he is an African American filmaker and if you did not know there are not many of them at all in Hollywood, sadly. So it would make much sense for him to have a monopoly in this award show. Although Im not a huge Tyler Perry fan there is not much you can do with the limited amount of black actors or filmakers who actually suceed in Holywood.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 10:41:47 PM

I still want Jake Gyllenall as The Black Panther. Hows that for racism
gunner writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 10:47:44 PM

BET wasn't enough for these people? If some whites pull this trick. They will f*cking lose their mind like when someone steal their KFC bucket. These people are more racist then any other race. Jake Gyllenall for The Black Panther.
boogiel writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 10:49:06 PM

"NAACP is known for supporting the black community, but Justin Timberlake and Zoe Saldana were also nominated. Why did the organization choose those two actors and not Colin Firth, Christian Bale, Natalie Portman, and plenty of other actors who are being recognized by all other award shows?"


The answer is simple. They aren't black enough.
Michael Corleone writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 10:58:06 PM

@ gunner
Really "those people"? You dont get out much do you. I dont see whats the damn bitching about the NAACP award is all about. Yeah African Americans have BET but what about all the other 899 channels on my Cable box. Real juvenile comment my friend.
wonderBOY writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 11:01:01 PM

Best Motion Picture:
Tyler Perry's Why Did I Get Married Too?

This is a sad day for all black people and anyone who has seen a movie
Ari Gold writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 12:06:13 AM

Jake Gyllenhaal for Black Panther! nice..
and Nathan Jones for Luke Cage
Ben Affleck for Blade remake.
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 12:27:43 AM

Micheal Clarke Duncan to play JFK!!!!!!
Man in Black writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 1:40:21 AM

Any one else feel as though the NAACP should change there acronym no NAAAA ( scubs episode IK ) and @ WP really yet another race thread .... do you enjoy instigating this ? Was there no Twatlite news ? O and the 3 crackers ( i can say that im white ) were not nominated cause of there skin color yet gave great performances , didnt MLK say " I have a dream that my four little children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character." hey NAACP good job spiting on his legacy.
Man in Black writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 1:41:49 AM

http://thinkexist.com/martin_luther_king_jr._quotes/


TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 2:07:14 AM

"A black man at the forefront of a black-oriented group's film nominations? The hell you say!

Probably the most racist thing I've seen in ages. But hey."

When is this n*gger gonna die already, isn't his slave master on the search for him...how them cotton fields gonna get picked god dangit

@mink

No it's not...that is
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 2:12:25 AM

That's it! I'm starting a petition...let's get the Academy Awards for whites only
JohnZee writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 2:13:46 AM

The organization has "Advancement of Colored People" in its name. Their intentionally pumping a particular ethnic group, as they are a support group for a particular group of American citizens.

Sadly I think that Tyler Perry has grabbed too much of the benefits of the black community. Although seen it, there was a ton of hype for that "For Colored Girls". And time and time again a lot of the reviews I read made a point of saying that Tyler Perry was the one that fell short with that movie.

Not the actors.

Certainly not the story.

But Tyler Perry.

And another director, even another African American director would have probably done better.

But you know WP, if you are going to try to start some sort of race conflict with the users, I'm surprised you didn't post an article about Armond White's completely off the wall review of Black Swan.

http://www.nypress.com/article-21905-black-sheep-vs-black-swan.html

And when I say "completely off the wall" it is my opinion, and I am sure that there are some users on here that will agree with the majority of the things that White says.
JohnZee writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 2:15:14 AM

Lamenting no edit button a bit.

I haven't seen "For Colored Girls" yet.
Rambo writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 2:33:30 AM

where is the 'fastest death of a black man in a movie' category?
Ranger writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 2:34:47 AM

Seriously...

It goes back to...

What a sh*t-storm would arise were there to be an all-white awards ceremony. And before someone comes back saying there is already one, and it's call The Oscar. You should just get down... SMILE... AND F*CKING BLOOOOWWWW ME!!!!!
Devil writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 3:07:52 AM

Eminem is the only white boi they will ever like. I still love you black people.
trailertrash writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 3:20:40 AM

What is a Tyler Perry .....
trailertrash writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 3:22:41 AM

LOL @ the Best Actor in a Motion Picture Nominees ...
trailertrash writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 3:48:16 AM

Morgan Freeman is the man, But best actor for RED, Really !!

His part would struggle to make best supporting actor, it was more of a cameo.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 10:15:23 AM

Man, I'm hoping when he goes up to accept his award that he's dressed like Madea.

That way, when I'm laughing, they won't accuse me of just hating his movies.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 10:16:36 AM

NAACP is known for supporting the black community, but Justin Timberlake and Zoe Saldana were also nominated. Why did the organization choose those two actors and not Colin Firth, Christian Bale, Natalie Portman, and plenty of other actors who are being recognized by all other award shows?

Because Justin acts more like a wigga than the rest of them.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 10:17:42 AM

So if NAACP is open to nominating people of all color, why is Tyler Perry and actors in his films dominating the awards show? And is "Just Wright" really so good that it may win in the Best Picture category?

Really ?!? You're really asking that question ?!?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 10:19:34 AM

I hope Jaden wins Best Actor. That way I can say this award show is the biggest load of sh*t since the MTV Movie Awards and the MTV Music Awards ....

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved