WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"James Bond 23" Announces Director and Release Date

Posted: January 11th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"James Bond 23" Announces Director and Release DateSubmit Comment
MGM and EON Productions have announced that the 23rd installment in the "James Bond" franchise is now moving forward and has been scheduled to hit theaters on November 9th, 2012.

The new movie has been written by Neal Purvis, Robert Wade and John Logan. It is set to go into production at the end of this year. And it has been confirmed that Sam Mendes (Road to Perdition, American Beauty) will be directing and Daniel Craig will return to star.

Now that MGM is out of bankruptcy, several studios have been courting the company to release their movies. Sony and Paramount are vying to get their hands on "James Bond 23." Paramount is actually to secure and overall distribution deal with MGM.

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 58 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
blahbla writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:15:01 PM

2 years late..better then never
RickPeters writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:15:48 PM

Excellent news. I was afraid Craig would go the route of Timothy Dalton.

Hopefully, the new one can improve on Quantum of Solace (which wasn't a total trainwreck, but definitelly a disappointment).
telur writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:25:05 PM

good news because daniel craig not getting younger like brad pitt
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:29:32 PM

After Quantum Of Solace ... God, what a wanker of a title ... they better have a nice, rock-em, sock-em comeback of a movie to sizzle the screen .... otherwise all you get is Moonwanker or License to Bore ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:31:12 PM

telur writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:25:05 PM
good news because daniel craig not getting younger like brad pitt

@telur

To be fair, you didn't see Roger Moore's man tits in the early 80s ?

Or Sean's bad Bond toupee in Never Say Never Again ?
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:34:07 PM

Well now that MGM is mobile again...

RE-MAKE ROBOCOP!!!!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:35:10 PM

RickPeters writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:15:48 PM
Excellent news. I was afraid Craig would go the route of Timothy Dalton.

Hopefully, the new one can improve on Quantum of Solace (which wasn't a total trainwreck, but definitelly a disappointment).

@ Richard_Pietor

Noone wants to go that route. Not even poor Tim.

Watching him portray Bond was like a constipation getting slowly desolved onscreen to a full blown case on cinematic diarrhea.

The only part of Quantum of Solace that was even amusing was when Strawberry Hills (that's what they should've called her .... or Strawberry Patch) ... was lacquered in oil like they did with gold in the movie Goldmember. That way, when Bond bumf*cked her, he wouldn't need any lube or KY to just slide on in ... he already had unleaded to do the trick.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:35:58 PM

They should've renamed that second Craig movie Quite Alot Of Nonsense
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:36:37 PM

" It's Bland ... James Bland. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:38:04 PM

Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:34:07 PM
Well now that MGM is mobile again...

RE-MAKE ROBOCOP!!!!!


@Ranger

If they do, don't forget to get Peter Weller his Geritol.

And anti-arthritis pills.

And hell, an acting coach .... God, he's gone rusty.
boogiel writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:38:18 PM

Finally. I would like to see how sam mendes' work on Bond Movie, and Sam, bring us the usual gunbarrel sequence.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:39:17 PM


I bet Weller's puckered more than a trumpet to get some of the sh*thole parts he's getting lately .....

and Nancy Allen ? Boob job. DEFINITELY a boob job.
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:40:41 PM

Time to reboot this abortive franchise.

And get rid of Craig. His lack of charm, along with lack of personality and appeal, drags the films down.

One of the reasons QoS sucked was, by the very nature of these later Bond incarnations, the action has to compensate for Craig, and in QoS, the compensation just wasn't enough.

Both Craig Bond films bore me very much.
rabid writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:45:02 PM

Good news that they're finally filming another.
Bad news that they're keeping Daniel Craig. The guy's a great action star, but he's the worst James Bond since George Lazenby wore a skirt.
Mister Leary writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:53:04 PM

whatever happened to the Bond character being charismatic
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:54:27 PM

Craig is actually my second favorite Bond behind Connery of course. I'm happy to see the franchise is back on track, but what I really want MGM to do is let Aranofsky get cracking on that Robocop remake.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:59:46 PM

@Max - re: 'Geritol' and 'anti-arthritis pills.' --- you've just listed a day in my life.

Thx. for tearing that bandage off my hairy arm!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:08:36 PM

rabid writes: on January 11th, 2011 at 9:45:02 PM

Good news that they're finally filming another.

Bad news that they're keeping Daniel Craig. The guy's a great action star, but he's the worst James Bond since George Lazenby wore a skirt.

@rabid

I debate that, good sir.

Sir Timothy Dalton did his best active post Bond, when they surgically removed that stick cemented up his puckered arse.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:10:13 PM

^^

And I kept waiting for Roger Moore to walk out, trousers down, to face Octop*ssy with a killer condom Q had designed in the lab to penetrate her defenses.

" Man down, M! Man down! "
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:10:33 PM

TT cracked the news a while ago lol. Just glad it's back on track. I just wanna know what the story is?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:12:19 PM

Ranger writes: on January 11th, 2011 at 9:59:46 PM

@Max - re: 'Geritol' and 'anti-arthritis pills.' --- you've just listed a day in my life.

Thx. for tearing that bandage off my hairy arm!

@Ranger

Thyme heals all wounds ...

Speaking of an open wound ... whatever happened to Peter Weller ? He looks like a stroke victim, post therapy ... or Kirk Douglas, post stroke.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:13:53 PM

Wow...

I too liked Craig, 2nd. only to Connery (always #1). George Lazenby 3rd.

And I'm one of the few that thought QoS was OK. Sure Bland was off-mission. He got dirty and personal... and that's all it was about... revenge. I'm OK with that (for 1 movie in what... 23(ish)?).

Is Lohan dead yet?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:21:09 PM

minkowski writes: on January 11th, 2011 at 9:40:41 PM

Time to reboot this abortive franchise.

And get rid of Craig. His lack of charm, along with lack of personality and appeal, drags the films down.

One of the reasons QoS sucked was, by the very nature of these later Bond incarnations, the action has to compensate for Craig, and in QoS, the compensation just wasn't enough.

Both Craig Bond films bore me very much.

@minkowski

Okay, I'm not much of a Bond afficinado, but from what I have been told by the press release, Casino Royale was based more on the gritty, not so subtle and suave James Bond that Ian Fleming created in his books post his years with Naval Intelligence ... so the similarities with Jason Bourne (who was filmed before Casino Royale) were very similar in tone only because of the way Fleming described Bond.

So in action, it was up there in physical action with some of the early films. The one I'm thinking most of is Dr. No or maybe From Russia with Love.

But I can't disagree with you on Craig and his charm. He comes off very stiff and odd.

The second movie was a bad idea from the start and the execution came off worse. It made View to a Kill or even Moonraker look better than it did.

But Craig's under contract. Until they find someone more 'charismatic' to portray a British Intelligence Agent (Michael Sheen or Ewan McGregor come to mind), then we are stuck with Craig ....
jdl107 writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:22:29 PM

Eh, Quantum of Solace was alright. That beginning scene as f*cking crazy. Casino Royale had it's moments, the beginning chase was definately somewhat memorable, but that movie was a little boring. Hard to compare though since one was slow, and the other was really fast-paced.

Thing I didn't like about QoS was they made Bond look like some murderous *sshole. Like a Jason Bourne jacked up on PcP.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:23:14 PM

Ranger writes: on January 11th, 2011 at 10:13:53 PM

Wow...

I too liked Craig, 2nd. only to Connery (always #1). George Lazenby 3rd.

And I'm one of the few that thought QoS was OK. Sure Bland was off-mission. He got dirty and personal... and that's all it was about... revenge. I'm OK with that (for 1 movie in what... 23(ish)?).

Is Lohan dead yet?


@Ranger

Not yet.

But it'll be soon, I can feel it in my bowels. Or maybe that's just a constipated colon.

Either way .... "c*nt" .... my one word elegy for her is ready to go.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:24:49 PM

Ranger-I didnt think it was that bad either. I think of it as an add on to Casino Royale, not really a sequel but an add on.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:32:08 PM

jdl107 writes: on January 11th, 2011 at 10:22:29 PM

Eh, Quantum of Solace was alright. That beginning scene as f*cking crazy. Casino Royale had it's moments, the beginning chase was definately somewhat memorable, but that movie was a little boring. Hard to compare though since one was slow, and the other was really fast-paced.

Thing I didn't like about QoS was they made Bond look like some murderous *sshole. Like a Jason Bourne jacked up on PcP.

@jdl107

The problem with James Bond is his relevency to the culture around him.

I mean, you get a group of kids to watch movies in the 70s and 80s (or even the 90s) and the action scenes, yeah, they were like the Mercedes Benz of action scenes (compared to other action movies out on the market at the same time) in regards to the big, monumentally spectacular and well shot action scenes that had been planned out for months in advance.

The women ? Well, the Bond women of past movies were legendary. Second only to Playboy playmates.

The quips ? Quirky, funny .... a few clunkers now and then. But Bond became an icon..

What has happened since then and now ?

The relevency of James Bond.

I hate to say this, but James Bond, for lack of a better term, is a relic.

Sure, he has blockbuster movies every year that MGM was cranking them out.

But he doesn't fit into the current, modern world of international spy dramas.

At least not in the last three.

With Pierce's departure, they tortured Bond at the beginning of Die Another Day. They gave him two villians, one looking to melt the polar ice caps and drown the world and the other looking for revenge for his brother and having diamonds wedged in his face with a bad mishap with Bond.

And with the last two movies ? Well, they rebooted Bond to be Bourne 2.0.

I hate to say it, but even if they bring in Q (my guess would be Nick Frost or Rhyn Ifans as Q ... hell, even Simon Pegg) ... it'll still not do as well as they would like.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:43:13 PM

Bland... Just Bland (there's a SNL skit waiting to be written).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:50:30 PM

Ranger writes: on January 11th, 2011 at 10:43:13 PM

Bland... Just Bland (there's a SNL skit waiting to be written).


@Ranger

Knowing that knobslobberer Andy Samberg, he'll probably make an SNL Digital sh*t out of it.

He is to comedy what syphillis is to venereal disease.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:54:53 PM

lol.
Rodan writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:58:10 PM

I liked where they were going with the series after Craig came on board. I prefer the gritty action scenes to the slick, never-got-blood-on-my-awesome-tuxedo ones. Quantum of Solace wasn't that great but the opening was really cool. I have to say, their picks for directing are kinda strange. Marc Forster just didn't have the experience to do Bond. Mendes is an amazing director, so I feel more confident with him at the helm. But it's still somewhat different than his previous projects. Let's just get this thing going.

@Ranger, you mean they still haven't cancelled that show? I remember back when it was funny. Wait, no I don't. I had to expose myself to good SNL with DVDs and online videos.
Rodan writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:59:17 PM

EDIT: I think experience was the wrong word. I mean to say Forster just hadn't had experience doing action movies (that I know of).
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 11:12:39 PM

The thing with Craig as Bond is that in the Ian Flemings novels he's a cold blooded killer not the suave super spy we all know him as. They were trying to return him to his roots.
Ari Gold writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 11:47:33 PM

Daniel Craig is a pimp!

http://blog.photoshelter.com/daniel-craig-mustache-photobomb-25738-1255557452-5.jpg
Rodan writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 12:39:33 AM

Ari. That was gold haha.
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 2:27:19 AM

@Rodan - no argument here. SNL has sucked the hind tit for... gee... about 2 decades now!

@BadChad - agreed. Gritty Bond over suave Bond is the way to go!

@Ari - lol.
trailertrash writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 2:51:58 AM

Finally some good news......

I don't think they will ever recapture the days of Connery and Moore (and George i didn't mind OHMSS ) playing 007.

No more cold war so we don't really have the big bad villain to fight anymore.

There are so many other characters in the cinema now, so many different action or Superhero's for the public to love, Bond has become just another movie franchise.

Still, It feels right there will be a Bond film coming soon.

They did say "James Bond Will Return" :)

trailertrash writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 2:55:18 AM

Bad- Thanks Bro, UK gets the Bond news 1st lol

Ari- lol, I hope he was doing a rent one get one free deal....

Rambo writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 3:08:51 AM

Sam Mendes is a strange choice imo.However,if they succeed in writing a proper script like 'casino royal' he might pull it off,If not,I'm afraid we're back into 'quantum of solace' crap zone and maybe even worse.
trailertrash writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 3:21:12 AM

I think Sam will do a good job with this, I would have liked to have seen Martin Campbell come back to direct again, But maybe next time out.

Guy Hamilton was a bit left field when he took on Goldfinger, but he made one of the best Bond movies out of the whole series.

As you said Rambo needs a soild story to go with all the action and lets have a real Super Villain this time and a Jaws type super henchman as well...
Rambo writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 3:26:26 AM

Christoph Waltz would make an excellent villain
trailertrash writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 3:29:52 AM

Ranger- You didn't like Moore as Bond ?

For me:
1# Moore a close call with sean...
2# Connery
3# Craig
4# Brosnan
5# Dalton
trailertrash writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 3:37:00 AM

He would Rambo and Javier Bardem but they are a little like the last couple of Villains.

Or go old skool with someone like Jeff Bridges or De Niro.

Don't think he would do it but Daniel Day Lewis would be a great Bond Bad Guy IMO...
Rambo writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 3:37:31 AM

@trailer

wow,that would be my exact list as well.

gotta say 'never say never again' is one of my fav,great bond girls,ridiculous lines by Connery and Klaus Maria Brandauer has to be one of the best villains ever.
trailertrash writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 3:53:05 AM

Klaus Maria Brandauer he was a little crazy and he had that giant spit kiss with Kim Basinger lol

Connery and Moore went head to head that year at the boxoffice both playing James Bond , Moore won with Octop*ssy.

And Never Say Never Again gave us Johnny English (thanks) lol
Rambo writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 3:56:08 AM

great lines in this scene:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DdHXieSmS9s
trailertrash writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 4:04:41 AM

lol, nice ....

Barbara Carrera the dirtiest bond girl ever.
Rambo writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 4:09:03 AM

And I personally think 'Octop*ssy' is the best bond movie ever.call me crazy but thats my opinion.
trailertrash writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 4:21:19 AM

I like Octop*ssy as well.

Moore always had a good time with Bond where as Connery was more of the tough guy with the wit.

Dalton once said one half of the world likes Connery and the half likes Moore, i can't win.

My favorite Bond movie is For Your Eyes Only which funny enough Moore had a harder edge to his Bond in that film.
Rambo writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 4:41:01 AM

All moore bond films were good except 'a view to a kill'-that was horrible and easily one of the worst bond films ever.'on her majesty secret service' has to be THE worst of them all.
pH0u57 writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 5:31:08 AM

sooo... what about the blu-rays?
trailertrash writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 5:53:31 AM

Rambo -

I didn't mind OHMSS, It was a tough job replacing Sean but i thought George Lazenby did an ok job and maybe he would have grown in to the character with another movie, Bad advice and negative press stories killed it for him.

It did need a little more action IMO

Telly Savalas was a good Blofled as well i thought and Diana Rigg is always watchable and the film had a good ending.
trailertrash writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 6:05:50 AM

pH0u57 - Blu Rays will be out with the release of the new Bond film i bet.
rabid writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 1:00:27 PM

In America, we make fun of Lazenby's Bond for wearing a kilt... or "pretty nancy dress" as we call it.
trailertrash writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 3:55:06 PM

I don't blame you guys for that and he had the name Hilary to go with that Kilt/dress lol
vwkombi writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 5:53:31 PM

Or, instead of watching this sh*thouse new Bond franchise, i could simply rewatch The Bourne Identity.
clydefamous writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 7:25:07 PM

Gotta say, thats some kickass news.
Aingx writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 2:57:28 PM

Hells yes! Sam Mendes!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved