WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Studio Wants Charlize Theron in "Alien" Prequel, Ridley Scott Doesn't

Posted: January 11th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Studio Wants Charlize Theron in "Alien" Prequel, Ridley Scott DoesnSubmit Comment
Ridley Scott has already expressed interest in casting "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" actress Noomi Rapace in his upcoming "Alien" prequel, but 20th Century Fox is not happy with that choice and would like to cast the more popular Charlize Theron.

Theron was recently offered the chance to star in Clint Eastwood's J. Edgar Hoover biopic that already has Leonardo DiCaprio on board. The actress passed and Fox is now pressuring her to take the lead role in the "Alien" prequel.

The studio is worried that Scott is considering too many little-known actors and actresses for such a big-budget film, and is now rewriting the script to make the lead role much larger and befitting for Theron or at least someone of her stature.

The plan is to hand the new version of the script to Theron sometime this week. Stay tuned.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
AYT BALL writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 7:06:40 AM

Yeah, whats an Alien movie without huge stars?.........ITS AN ALIEN MOVIE! never needed stars before and dont need them now.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 7:17:48 AM

When Weaver is gone, they can cast pretty much anyone and still keep the interest. And, honestly, I think people will be more interested in seeing Noomi than Theron. And Avatar didn't exactly swim in real moviestars and it turned out somewhat ok for the studio.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 7:38:29 AM

Cinemaisdead wants Charlize Theron in penis prec*m, Steven Hawking Doesn't |
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 8:23:11 AM

I think Charlize Theron is hot and all but she doesn't belong in this movie
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 8:28:05 AM

this movie needs a tough woman... this movie
needs... MICHELLE RODRIGUEZ
in black tank top ofcourse
bill the butcher writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 8:30:18 AM

sigourney weaver was hard as nails as ripley
look at GIRL DRAGON TATTOO
noomi rapace can play f*cking tough like no other actress working today cast her
cast her now :)
Rambo writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:16:50 AM

I have to agree with Ridley on this one.
Monash writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:07:44 AM

Whats the point of bringing back Ridley Scott if you aren't going to give him complete control?
Preditorian writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:22:03 AM

Hm how many times you think Fox will do this before they realize that they are fu*king up the movies with there jacked up input. You think they would have learned from the countless others... Wolverine anyone?
side_effects writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:24:48 AM

Fox can go f**k itself.

Sam Worthington wasn't a big star when he was cast in Avatar.
pikeman1 writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:42:10 AM

^ and now Sam Worthington is still not a big star
Farradin writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 11:04:54 AM

Fox should stop making films. This is near r*tarded. You don't need to be a person of average intelligence to see that the 'unknown' was the main character in Alien and that's why it worked.

From the point that the captain, and other most famous actor at the time's characters die the whole film is of a less than formulaic nature.

If you want to make that same film that you've been making for the last 2 years and 1% success rate might I add be my guest.

If Ridley leaves the project I won't see this, don't see this going anywhere good or making them any money so by all means Fox use your formula that doesn't work!
Burt_Reynolds writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 11:10:58 AM

when will these c*nts learn!
ShizPaf writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 1:52:30 PM

Im sooo glad to know that scripts are being rewritten due to placement of "star power" and not well written for a thing most of us are interested in- a friggin story.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 2:19:52 PM

Get Rosanne Barr.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 2:54:22 PM

Id like my alien to burst thru Charlize's chest!!
darkraven28 writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 3:44:31 PM

Hell, just split the difference and hire both for roles. Alien had Sigourney and Veronica Cartwright. Aliens had Sigourney and that Ferro chick, Newt, and Jeanette Goldstein. ALien 3 had Sigourney and no one else female. And Alien Resurrection had Sigourney and Winona. You CAN have more than one woman in a film like this. It's proven. Although frankly I side with Ridley here because he wants an actress without a lot of baggage who you can be surprised by. But still, so far, I don't think this film will happen. Fox is too f*cking RETARDED for it to do so.
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 5:06:43 PM

Let's see, do you trust the man that directed Blade Runner and Gladiator, or do you trust the studio that's hand f*cked every single film it's ever produced?

Gee, tough f*cking call.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 5:57:45 PM

AYT BALL-i agree.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 7:11:20 PM

Ridley Scott has already expressed interest in casting "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" actress Noomi Rapace in his upcoming "Alien" prequel, but 20th Century Fox is not happy with that choice and would like to cast the more popular Charlize Theron.

This is interesting, if I may .... when the first Alien came out in 1979, with Yaphet Kotto (who makes some of these black action actors look like kids playing in a playground, based on his past work), John Hurt, Harry Dean Stanton (Fact : Every movie that Harry Dean Stanton has ever been in has been an interesting or cult status film.), Sigourney Weaver, Veronica Cartwright, Tom Skerritt, Ian Holm and Sigourney Weaver, they were pretty fresh cut actors ... some not really breakout stars and some unknown (the only other movie that really showed Tom Skerritt's natural laid back charisma and versatility at that time was Robert Altman's M*A*S*H ... but now they are big name stars that are (A) bankable and (B) easily versatile, despite the script they are given (ex : Skerritt did pretty well in developing his character in the lowly-critiqued Whiteout).

But Ridley has a point with Charlize Theron.

She can act. It is easy to point out how well she did in Monster, playing against type and again with Northern Country. But she's easily an A-class, B+ class star. She would overshine the Aliens in this movie and to pick unknowns would work better.

I mean, FOX had the chance to make a decent Wolverine : Origins, an origin story based on a character that was not only iconic, but was already designed to be known in popular culture with a completely developed mythos and backstory.

Fool us once, shame on us. Fool us twice, shame on FOX.
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 7:25:42 PM

I'd like to contrast Max's loquaciousness with my laconic reply:

Whiteout sucked.
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 7:33:38 PM

After Whiteout, I would hope someone would draw and quarter Dominic Sena.

And to think they (Rucka) ripped off William Dietrich's Dark Winter, a great book by the way, to make that crap.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 7:35:48 PM

minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 7:25:42 PM
I'd like to contrast Max's loquaciousness with my laconic reply:

Whiteout sucked.

@mink

Thanks for saying what I was treading too lightly on to say :)

It was ... *whistle* ... let's just say I got through 1/4 of the story and had to put it away.

Wow.

Even Kate Beckinsale's nude shower scene couldn't save that sh*tfest.
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 8:12:01 PM

At least you missed the entirely pointlss scenes where she gets frostbite and loses a few fingers.

Skerritt performs the amputation, and without much prep either, while Beckinsdale acts like she's getting a bad shot for TB.

Yeah, I know frostbitten digits have no feeling, but it was just a casual rendition of an unnecessary story event.

The thing is, the movie had no real tension, and I knew from the very beginning Skerritt's character was the bad guy.

I was expecting a nailbiter, something even Mindhunters was able to supply, and as a fan of Dark Winter, I had higher hopes, especially considering the talent Sena usually employs when crafting his films.

It was just a middling exercise on what kind of graphic novels to avoid for filmatic adapatation, and how not to adapt GNs to the big screen; I imagine Whiteout was better, much better, on paper.
telur writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:34:47 PM

Are BITCHHUNTER, minkowski, and Max Rockatansky Junior the same person? They always submit comment repeatedly

telur writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:41:34 PM

I Wants Whoopy Goldberg or Zhang Zi Yi in "Alien" Prequel, Ridley Scott Doesn't


so no big deal.........
telur writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:42:41 PM

why WP's comment doesn't have edit button?
Aaron writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:10:27 PM

You'd think after all of these years that studios would learn that f*cking with Ridley Scott's movies rarely ends well for anyone. Is there a director who's directors cuts more consistently improve upon theatrical releases?

hrmph.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:47:34 PM

telur writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:34:47 PM
Are BITCHHUNTER, minkowski, and Max Rockatansky Junior the same person? They always submit comment repeatedly

telur writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:41:34 PM
I Wants Whoopy Goldberg or Zhang Zi Yi in "Alien" Prequel, Ridley Scott Doesn't


so no big deal.........


telur writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 9:42:41 PM
why WP's comment doesn't have edit button?

" I am he as you are he as you are me and we are all together. " - John Lennon, The Walrus

Pot, are you calling me, Mr. Kettle, Mr. Black ?

If so, you're Mr. Pink,

Goo Goo G'Joob.
darkraven28 writes:
on January 13th, 2011 at 2:33:29 AM

OR, why not just secretly film a test with Noomi Rapace doing a very key scene from the script and show it to Fox execs? That's how Cameron swayed them on Worthington for Avatar. And I say secretly because they clearly won't let you do it, Mr. Scott. And just pay her out of your own pocket because you clearly have money. And if you hire Charlize, just don't hire her for the lead. The lead should be a surprise, just like Sigourney Weaver was.
puputkantor writes:
on May 19th, 2016 at 10:45:48 PM

It’s really a nice and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you simply shared this useful information with us. Obat Tradisional Asam Urat Yang Ampuh

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved