WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"True Grit" Beats "Season of the Witch" at Box Office

Posted: January 10th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"True Grit" Beats "Season of the Witch" at Box OfficeSubmit Comment
Coen brothers' "True Grit" landed in first place this weekend with another $15 million, despite being in theaters for three weeks now. The film has now grossed $110 million domestically on a $38 million budget. It is the highest-grossing Coen brothers movie and one of the highest-grossing Westerns of all time.

Speaking to Entertainment Weekly, Coens recently revealed their favorite Westerns. On that list are "Once Upon a Time in the West" (1968), "The Outlaw Josey Wales" (1976), "Greaser's Palace" (1972), "Doc" (1971), "The Life and Times of Judge Roy Bean" (1972).

While "True Grit" keeps rolling, "Little Fockers" is now being considered a success as well. The third installment in the "Meet the Parents" franchise has grossed $13.8 million this weekend, which was good enough for second place. It has now taken in $123 million domestically on a $100 million budget and is expected to cross the $300 million mark worldwide.

The one wide release of the weekend was Nicolas Cage's "Season of the Witch," which earned $10.7 million and landed in third place. The film cost $40 million to make, which would normally put it on a tough road to earn its money back. Relativity, however, says that it's doing well financially since 75% of the budget was covered by foreign pre-sales and tax. That's good to hear, since "Season of the Witch" has a 4% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Click here to read our "True Grit" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Gates writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 12:21:20 AM

"True Grit" Beats "Season of the Witch" at Box Office

You make it sound like there was a competition.
telur writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 2:33:27 AM

so on 3 years we will get True Grit: the sequel rise on cowboys or prequel or spin off
Rambo writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 2:39:04 AM

The Dude Abides
trailertrash writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 2:51:41 AM

Telur -

Rooster Cogburn and the Lady, Was the sequel to the Original True Grit.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 4:51:07 AM

So there are still some sane people out there.. there's still hope for the human race.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 7:59:08 AM

Glad to see a western doing good

Hope to see more come out

Thought the new True Grit was good

Quigly Down Under
Unforgiven
Pale Rider

Were some of my favorite westerns
trailertrash writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 8:43:01 AM

Agree Crazy, You can't beat a good western.

A few of my Fav's

The Dollar trilogy
Wild Bunch
Outlaw Josey Wales
Butch Cassidy and the sundance kid
The Magnificent Seven
Nevada Smith

And i'm looking forward to seeing True Grit when it finally comes out in the UK
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 9:37:09 AM

Thats not hard to do.
johnny_boy writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 9:38:23 AM

I had movie night at my house this weekend showing The Expendables and even that beat Season of the Witch.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 11:27:17 AM

Trailer

Didnt know you were from the UK

Always wanted to visit your country

That sucks you cant see True Grit yet

I thought you guys got the movies maybe a week after we did
batdump writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 2:15:57 PM

it looks really good, but movie prices are ridiculous... maybe i will gather the balls to go see it anyway. my manhood is being questioned
trailertrash writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 4:09:15 PM

Crazy-

We normally do get the films a week or two later, Unless they want to do a lot of TV and Radio promotion (oscars are coming) then sometime we have to wait for the cast,Director,Producers etc to come over, which is feb 11th !!!!

Yeah the UK is very nice (most of it lol), But the US is pretty damn cool also.
AYT BALL writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 5:36:01 PM

@ Trailer - Its a good movie mate, got it a little while back, well worth the cinema though, everyone plays their parts great too
AYT BALL writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 5:41:59 PM

@ Crazy and Trailer - Remember when i was a kid, it used to take about a year for the big movies to hit the cinemas over here after america, took 10 years for ET to come out on video too! pleased to say things have changed, we even manage to get some first (Taken), but yeah, usually about a week later for the big movies, i think its to try cut down on people downloading cough cough, but like you said TT if they want to do all that oscar push then we have to wait even longer....By the way, 127 hours was a great movie!
trailertrash writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 6:10:20 PM

AYT-

Good to hear , Looking forward to seeing True Grit, I Don't think anyone on here as said a bad word about it yet.

127 hrs hopefully will be watching that this weekend, Slumgdog apart Danny never let me down.

There did always seem to be about a 6 to 8 month gap between US and UK releases when i was a kid.

But the west end of London did seem to have them a little earlier. I remember watching Rocky 4 way before all me mates at school (so i spoiled the apollo death for everyone lol)

Downloading tut tut tut lol

AYT BALL writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 7:07:14 PM

@ Trailer - see i gotta say i like Slumdog, i mean no where near his best and had far too much cheese, but still enjoyed it, personally i was hoping for another 28 days later, think thats why alot of people felt let down.

and im one of the "good" downloaders, i toss aside the sh*t that hollywood throws at us, but when i stumble across something of quality i will part with my hard earned cash and buy the DVD/Blueray, usually for the big movies i try get to the cinema first though.

And as for spoiling Rocky 4!!! thats harsh.....altho i do have it beat, When Seven came out all my mates went to see it but i couldnt make it, so told no one to tell me anything, one of my mates at college said the ending was nuts, i threatened him not to tell me, about three hours later im sat drawing something and he comes over, stands there for a sec and says "its his wifes head" i ask what hes on about "its brad pitts wifes head in the box at the end"..........f*cker!! lol
trailertrash writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 3:08:17 AM

lol !!! Friends hey ......

I watched the 6th Sense at Down Town Disney Florida when it 1st came out, When i got back it wasn't out in the uk but the hype of the movie was in full swing.

I Can't tell you how many people ask me what the twist ending was or how many people i told !! lol

The thing with Slumdog i didn't see it until blu-ray after all the hype etc and just felt what was all the fuss about.

And i do hope he makes that 3rd 28 days later movie at some point 1st one was a classic.

I would also like to see him have a go at the next Bond movie as well..
AYT BALL writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 6:58:11 AM

lol your a bad man, but i did guess the Sixth Sense half way through.

Slumdog was way over hyped, saw the same thing with the first blair witch project, i got hold of that movie before it had credits on it or anything and was being bounced around the net as "real" footage, by the time it came out everyone had built it up so much that most of my mates thought it was sh*t.

Would love him to go back and do 28 months/years later, Bond could be interesting but i think hes at his best when he isnt held back by raitings. Still anything he does, i always give it a chance. Saw him on Top Gear a few weeks back, hes one of those few directors that just loves his job, its good to see.
trailertrash writes:
on January 12th, 2011 at 7:58:30 AM

Agree AYT

Top Gear was that the reasonably priced car, Damn missed that !!

He is one of those directors that can turn his hand to any genre.

Sunshine, Trainspotting, Shallow Grave and 28 days all good movies from different genres.

Like to see him have a go at some sort of Thriller in the style of the French Connection.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved