WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Coming in December
Oct 25th, 2014
New "Ant-Man" Set Photos are Possible Spoilers
Oct 25th, 2014
Disney's "John Carter" Actually Cost Over $300 Million to Make
Oct 25th, 2014
"Wonder Woman" Searching for Female Director
Oct 24th, 2014
"The Mummy" Reboot to Follow Navy SEAL in Iraq?
Oct 24th, 2014
Noomi Rapace Discusses "Prometheus 2" Storyline
Oct 24th, 2014
Christian Bale Confirmed For Steve Jobs Biopic, To Appear in Every Frame of the Film
Oct 24th, 2014
"Insidious Chapter 3" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer is Here!
Oct 23rd, 2014
"The Hobbit" Trilogy Becomes Most Expensive Production of All Time
Oct 23rd, 2014
Quicksilver to Return For "X-Men: Apocalypse" and Maybe Solo Film
Oct 23rd, 2014
Restricted Trailer For Mark Wahlberg's "The Gambler" Thriller
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Evangeline Lilly as Hope Pym on Marvel's "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 23rd, 2014
New Trailer for "The Woman in Black" Sequel
Oct 23rd, 2014
First Look at Johnny Depp as The Wolf in Disney's "Into the Woods"
Oct 23rd, 2014
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Joe Johnston Apologizes for "The Wolfman"

Posted: January 8th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Joe Johnston Apologizes for "The Wolfman"Submit Comment
Back in September, we spoke to director Mark Romanek (One Hour Photo), who said that he left "The Wolfman" after ten month of pre-production and three weeks before shooting. He was quickly replaced with Joe Johnston (Captain America) and the result was a disaster. The film grossed only $60 million domestically on a $150 million budget and trashed by critics.

Now in an interview with CBM, Johnston apologized for "The Wolfman" and promised that "Captain America" will be much better.

"I had three weeks of prep on 'Wolfman,' a ridiculously inadequate amount of time to try to bring together the fractured and scattered pieces of the production," he explained. "I had taken the job mostly because I had a cash flow problem, the only time in my career I've ever let finances enter into the decision process. Money is always the wrong reason for doing something that requires passionate devotion."

He continued: "The production was a leaky, rudderless ship in a perfect storm suffering from bad decisions, infighting, reluctance of the powers-that-be to take responsibility, and too many under-qualified cooks in the kitchen. I take full responsibility for 'The Wolfman' not working because it goes with the territory."

Johnston went on to say that his experience on "Captain America" was very different. "I had thirty weeks of prep on 'Captain America.' I have a small team of qualified, supportive, creative producers who are actually helping me achieve my vision of the film."

Click here to read our "The Wolfman" review.

Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
FBO writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 12:28:39 AM

bullsh*t, cap america is still going to suck.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 12:44:45 AM

Johnston went on to say that his experience on "Captain America" was very different. "I had thirty weeks of prep on 'Captain America.' I have a small team of qualified, supportive, creative producers who are actually helping me achieve my vision of the film."


It's not your vision you idiot, it's all there in the comics, so it is their vision you are creating.
I thought "The Wolfman" was ok, not brillaint but ok.

Just hope because he has more time on CA he doesn't f*ck it up!!
SaulSilver writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 12:56:28 AM

But it IS his vision though, despite there being tons of source material. You can't just directly adapt comic books Dave, that would turn out horrible. His vision comes into play Adapting the source material, and while I don't think he was the perfect choice...I also don't think he deserves all the sh*t he's getting until we know how it really turns out.
I still have confidence that the Cap film is going to be very good, mainly because of it's cast.
velocityknown writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 1:18:13 AM

Have to agree with @Saul here. Just because a source material exists doesn't mean someone can't have a vision for it. A director turns a screenplay into his vision (Edgar Wright did it with Scott Pilgrim, David Fincher did it with Aaron Sorkin's Social Network script).

This makes a lot of sense, coming into a big budget studio production like The Wolfman with three weeks of prep is astonishing. Frankly it makes the directorial credit just a formality, because then he didn't really do anything besides let the studio call him that. I have faith Capt America will turn out alright.
realgirl76 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 1:54:38 AM

Apology NOT accepted...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 2:04:11 AM

@saul

I knw it's his vision but not in the way he is thinking, you can't stray too far away from the source material with things like this, the fanboys will eat you alive.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 2:10:53 AM

Johnston is a very underrated filmmaker having made such great movies like The Rocketeer and October Sky. And f*cking fun flicks like Jurassic Park III and Jumanji.
darkraven28 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 2:38:36 AM

Well, that explains the lack of a making of on the dvd. Why is it that I always want a making of where people are screaming at each other? Like watching cars crash. I mean, how much fun would it have been to have an actual video of Bale going batsh*t while making Terminator Salvation? That'd be gold even though it's so long ago now.
trailertrash writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 2:39:25 AM

Jurassic Park 3 , Worst ending to a Hollywood Blockbuster EVER !!

I know they run out of money, but still that is no excuse for the way that movie just ended and as the Director he should take the blame.

Which shows a lack of style and panache on JJ part.

Still Wolfman was better than The Elm st remake.
Rambo writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 3:32:19 AM

apology accepted captain johnston...
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:20:57 AM

No problem with Johnston at all,Wolfy was a let down sure but how many other directors have perfect records? f*cking none,that includes Spielberg,Koppola etc...beside the guy designed BOBA FETT,as i said before thats a free pass as far as im concerned.
And The Rocketeer rocked!so sayeth Rocketman!
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:22:19 AM

@rocketman

I guess the fair thing is to wait for CA and see how it'll perform
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:22:37 AM

hahahahaha^^ leaky c*nt, lolz
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:36:18 AM

Joe Johnston's worst mistake was casting Mister Leary's mom in "Win a Date With Rob Schneider"





he should've cast Mister Leary himself

rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:36:22 AM

@BH yeah,im giving it a chance and going in with an open mind.
Damon242 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:55:30 AM

He might be bad, haven't seen enough of his work to tell.

But for any director, three weeks is a ridiculous ask.
pomme writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 5:43:21 AM

Johnson never was a good or even nice director so Captain is the next "clash of titans"(crap)
ozymandiass writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 6:52:24 AM

I now have more faith in Johnston. Having only 3 weeks of prep is the worst possible thing to happen to a director. Now weeks. Thats perfect. I hope Cap is a good movie. I have alot more faith it is now. And I feel like it will be. Why would he take this job if he didn't do it for the money? He must know he can pull it off.
ozymandiass writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 6:53:22 AM

I love this new censoring thing btw. f*ck ass c*ck sh*t p*ssy llamas d*ck
ozymandiass writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 6:55:00 AM

@ Rocketman. dude, are you Joe Johnston? lol
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 7:04:47 AM

Hahaha no,just don't see how hes any worse than the majority of hollywood directors..couse hes not perfect ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 7:24:16 AM

Joe, why didn't you apologize right after making The Wolfman ?

If not, can you now apologize for Captain America : The First Avenger, so you at least appear ahead of the curve, you f*cking hack.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 7:27:11 AM

Okay, so you may have had three weeks of production .....granted ... but I am f*cking wondering what happened during post ... was everyone just doing a collective circle jerk ? That movie was almost long in be presented to the public and finally released as Tron : Legacy.


Man, what a Johnston ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 7:30:02 AM

You had three weeks of prep on Wolfman and three weeks of prep on Captain America ... besides being broke the first time, how the f*ck is that different ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 7:31:49 AM

^ Oh, it's because the studio paid you enough to keep your hack-ish directoring going, while the audience had to suffer that atrocious movie.


Oh, and those producers ? They don't want you to f*ck up their movie, so yeah ... their gonna keep the leash tight, you f*cking hack.
LeeMaca writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 8:27:29 AM

I may have mentioned once or twice last year that I hate this guy.....once or twice
LeeMaca writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 8:31:04 AM

Also I think it shows total lack of respect when actors and directors come out and say sh*t like this
velocityknown writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 8:32:32 AM

@Max

I'm sorry but when you only have three weeks to come up with a shot list, meet and work with your DP, Cam Op, deal with producers, there's only so much you're going to be able to do in post. Going into a movie that big with that little preparation you're going to end up with a jumbled mess of shots and scenes. When it came down to editing, it was probably just a matter of trying to put the pieces together in the least atrocious way.

Now I'm not ready to crown Johnston the best director in Hollywood, BUT he has earned himself a little more credit now (or rather regained the credit that was taken away from him).
SACdaddy writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 8:33:21 AM

The more people see the Wolfman the more popular it becomes. It was just doomed at the BO because of all the bad production news and reshoots surrounding its release. The film was actually pretty entertaining (although not perfect by any means). I think people forgot that it was a horror movie and never took the time to compare it to most of the other recent horror releases. Its 10x better than any Saw film, Hostel, Elm St-Friday the 13th-Halloween-Texas Chainsaw remake, or Underworld crap thats stunk up the BO over the last 10 years. NO need to apologize JJ, you did the best you could with the cards you were dealt.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 9:45:53 AM

Apologize for CA right now whole your at it.
rabid writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 11:19:02 AM

The Wolfman wasn't terrible. I enjoyed it, though I thought the big plot twist was trite. I heard that test audiences made them refilm the ending and some of the chase scenes. Maybe next time he should skip the test audience and go with his gut.

Captain America will more than make up for all the dismay he's caused some people.
Dark writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 2:25:49 PM

I'm pretty sure he will ruin CA. Those pics of CA looks worse that GL trailer. Nah, thats an insult to GL. It looks worse than the f*cking power rangers. If you succeed to ruin this movie, expect some snipers.
DesignaCoda writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 3:41:28 PM

Excuses excuses
SaulSilver writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:04:38 PM

@Max...You said "You had three weeks of prep on Wolfman and three weeks of prep on Captain America ... besides being broke the first time, how the f*ck is that different ?"
It's different because he actually said THIRTY weeks for Cap. not Three. I think having 10x the prep time is exactly what Johnston meant by all this and why he thinks he can do better this time. I'm not trying to defend Johnston really...there's still a really good chance he could screw it up, just trying to remain cautiously optimistic.
rabid writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:04:50 PM

the pics of Captain America only look retarded because Captain America looks retarded.
Always has. Always will.
I've never seen a bad Joe Johnston film, so I really have no reason yet to assume it might suck. I actually think he's one of the best directors they could have chosen for this sort of project.
Dark writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 7:21:40 PM

@rabid

i was talking about the set pics of the movie. the pics of buncha robocop looking people on a motorbike. seriously that was f*cking ridiculous and Joe Johnston is a FAIL!
ruelane writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 7:47:36 PM

f*ck the critics, I thought the wolfman remake was a very good movie. Jo johnston you have nothing to apologize for. As for captain america, I just dont like the fact that chris evens is the star of the movie. They should of went with an a list actor
lostwarrior writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 10:17:47 PM

^^^^perhaps they should of gone with bradley cooper... And the wolfman was watchable at best. And regardless of time though, he is making excuses. as he even said it, he took the job for money. Which he even said is a no no, so I guess Joe learned a lesson, check your bank account balance before you order more blow and hookers...
HideousSecretion writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 11:43:49 PM

Wolfman was garbage, but I accept his apologies. I'd make a sh*t movie for money right now too. But I don't trust him with Captain America and will wait to rent. Sorry Joe. You've got to earn my trust back.
ProfMovies writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 11:53:44 PM

I thought THE WOLFMAN was really pretty good.

It's CAPT. AMERICA that looks like more of the same: Lame fan-boy, comic-book, super-hero, pud-pulling folderol.
rabid writes:
on January 9th, 2011 at 1:25:27 AM

Dark,
the robocop looking guys on motorcycles were Hydra. Their normal comic costumes look like this...
http://home.earthlink.net/~lsiuwai/images/captaina/hydra.jpg

I don't blame them for redesigning an armored Nazi version of the costume. Green tunics and red bug-eyes never did it for me.
minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2011 at 5:16:12 PM

You idiots, there's a difference between a VISION and a INTERPRETATION. And ehd din't write the screenplay, so it's REALLY not his vision, as he's just interpreting the script visually.
billofill writes:
on January 9th, 2011 at 8:47:28 PM

Xmen 3 is the same f*cking thing, Yeah its sh*t but im not going to blame Ratner he was a last minute gun for hire cause the Layer Cake Guy passed last minute. And now after that abortion of a film he's gonna try and right it? Good Luck Bro. So in closing the screen writers in Hollywood can be even bigger hacks than Ratner.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 5:59:19 PM

there is no need to apoligize, Wolfman was a very decent film.

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer

Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved