WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Cameron Says Sequels and "Battleship" are Ridiculous

Posted: January 8th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Cameron Says Sequels and "Battleship" are RidiculousSubmit Comment
James Cameron has directed two installments in the "Terminator" franchise and is now planning to turn "Avatar" into a trilogy. But he still feels that the only reason sequels exist is because Hollywood is out of ideas and is forced to re-use the same characters and storylines.

"We have a story crisis," he said (translated). "Now they want to make the 'Battleship' game into a film. This is pure desperation. Everyone in Hollywood knows how important it is that a film is a brand before it hit theaters. If a brand has been around, 'Harry Potter' for example, or 'Spider-Man,' you are light years ahead. And there lies the problem. Because unfortunately these franchises are become more ridiculous. 'Battleship.' This degrades the cinema."

Cameron went on to say that the only reason Warner Bros split the last "Harry Potter" book into two films is because the studio knew it would be able to make more money. He called the move "excessive." Cameron, meanwhile, released "Avatar" in theaters twice, created two separate DVD/Blu-ray editions of the film and is now converting "Titanic" to 3D.

Source: Spiegel


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 62 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
MattMiller2501 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 12:24:05 AM

Overrated c*nt.
FBO writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 12:31:49 AM

i would yave been impressed if he had said this six years ago, but fans have been saying these thongs for a while now, so it makes it seem like he's only saying this to be popular
bandolero999 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 12:49:47 AM

bandolero says that avatar and titanic were ridiculous and also to release avatar back on the theater for about 10 minutes of footage so the nerds can watch it again is retarded.

since you say hollywood is unoriginal DO NOT MAKE MORE AVATAR movies with your new bitch sam the c*nt worthington
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 12:50:14 AM

Does he actually listen to himself when he speaks?

Guess I just asked a rhetorical question.
TeemSelami writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 12:56:07 AM

not to mention that faggoty titanic tv special
Cobbolmen writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 1:14:38 AM

f*cking *sshole
Man in Black writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 1:24:52 AM

Wow , why isnt he a politician ? he is working on his bullsh*t artist degree .
darkraven28 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 2:43:10 AM

In other words, it's bad when everybody else does it, but it's fine when Jim does it. Cuz Jimmy needs cash. WHY, after two films which made over 3 billion in profits he needs cash, I don't know. But again, I'm a fan of your work, Mr. Cameron, but you're still kind of a d*ck.
funseeker writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 3:31:22 AM

Man knows what he is talking about. He made sequels and recycled ideas into career, plus some sequels are still to come. So true what he said, but I guess he doesn't have a mirror.
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:09:13 AM

'...he still feels that the only reason sequels exist is because Hollywood is out of ideas...'

'...went on to say that the only reason Warner Bros split the last "Harry Potter" book into two films is because the studio knew it would be able to make more money.'

Jesus H... my friend's CAT has figured this out James... thx. for playing!!!

Rambo writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:09:57 AM

Avatar was Ridiculous
darkraven28 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:18:18 AM

Not to mention a little film called Aliens. Ya made 2 sequels yourself, Cameron! Maybe it's time to not add yet another annoying soundbite to your list just because someone asks you yet another dumb question with a mic stuck in your face!
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:27:20 AM

titanic...thats all.f*ck off cameron,you are not worth capital letters...whats your next big idea for a movie? TWO f*ckING SEQUELS,cliche ripoffs of Pocohontis and vietnam/battle of endor...start making films for the people who made you what you are not grandmas(titanic) and benders(avatar)
trailertrash writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:28:52 AM

Benders lol , not heard that term in a while..
trailertrash writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:37:57 AM

Ranger -

The Pussies in Jims Life have always been that bit smarter than him.
trailertrash writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:40:25 AM

Just waiting for him to announce the release of the Na'vi cut collection of his back catalog.
trailertrash writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:43:40 AM

^^ in 3D
Damon242 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:49:28 AM

Regardless of what he's doing, himself, he is right.

Hollywood is getting desperate.

trailertrash writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:50:43 AM

wow someones on the edit button quick this morning WP
Damon242 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 4:53:10 AM

@rocketman "cliche ripoffs of Pocohontis and vietnam/battle of endor"

ok...

for starters, how did he rip off Vietnam? And how do you ripoff an historical conflict anyway?

and "cliche rippoffs"?

so he's ripping off of a cliche, like Pocahontas, you say? ...When you write it like that; what does that even mean?
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 5:04:12 AM

'Na'vi cut'... no Che... tt didn't mean they'd be circ*mcised... so relax!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 5:12:06 AM

So basically he's saying what people has been saying for years now? Well, goooood for him.
I try really hard not to dislike Cameron, because I know he's a competent film-maker, but he's making it really hard.
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 5:34:20 AM

I've spoken well of Avatar on here (for effects, not the un-original storyline)... I like JC's work, and the box office speaks for itself.

But what's next on his agenda? Telling us water is wet and the sky is blue?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 5:38:10 AM

THE SKY IS BLUE!!!!

Please don't tell me Santa and the Easter Bunny aren't real.... :(
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 5:43:04 AM

Ummm... Dave...

trailertrash writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 5:43:14 AM

Jim hasn't made that decision on santa yet dave

Ranger - Agree Jim's last 2 films have been his weakest IMO but effects wise that raised the standards for everyone (which is a good thing).

But his earlier films Terminator to True Lies are some of all time favourites.
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 5:43:34 AM

http://www.neilsnotes.com/index.php?page=15&catid=46&sku=E-CD00412
trailertrash writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 5:45:36 AM

*my Favs :)
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 5:46:05 AM

@tt - same. I'm old school... for the FIRST 'Terminator' has always been my fav.

Same as Aliens, and True Lies...

'Let's face it... if they took care of business... I'd be out of business!'

http://johnnyvengeance.net/wp-content/uploads/2009/07/03240-3-300x162.jpg
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 6:10:41 AM

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 6:19:49 AM

With on the point about his last two movies, generally bad but technically brilliant.

His favs of mine.

T2 & Aliens
pH0u57 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 6:42:47 AM

Biggest. Douche. Ever.
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 7:02:19 AM

@Damon,means its been done to death.Unoriginal.Seems to me like hes throwing stones in glass houses.Hes no better than the folk he slates.that clear it up?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 7:21:47 AM

The only time James Cameron's mouth is worth opening is when he's sticking his tongue up Katheryn Bigleow's c*nt.

James, you f*cking hypocritical bullsh*t. Aliens ? T2 (Terminator 2) ?

Shut your f*cking trap.
rocketman writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 7:32:25 AM

What max said^
Whitta writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 7:47:41 AM

Cameron is a c*nt and needs to just f*ck off. Avatar was sh*thouse. Come back in another 10 years when you've got something 'then-fresh' you f*ckhead.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 8:16:19 AM

Hey I love the guy and all, but this is pretty hypocritical coming from a guy who made his debut with Piranha Part Two: The Spawning. By my count JC has made 3 sequels and is working on 2 more. I just hope all this dissing and bitching about a lack of narrative ideas inspires him to do better with his own storylines.
Aingx writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 8:33:19 AM

Hypocritical D-bag...
Sinestro writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 8:51:00 AM

So, he's a c*nt and a hypocrite, then? hmm.
Sinestro writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 8:52:50 AM

Oh and the funny thing is that "Holly is running out of ideas" is EXACTLY what his long-winded, self indulging, unoriginal 3-D smurf soft core porn sh*t of a movie made me think!
huh? writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 9:18:14 AM

Let's face it. Everyone deserves to hear this sh*t after spending money to watch Titanic.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 9:45:04 AM

GOD has spoken. Jim why dont you try coming up with your own original story instead of wasting your time with bs like this.
rabid writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 11:14:16 AM

He may be an overrated c*nt, but he speaks the truth.
happileperkon writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 12:52:12 PM

this is coming from a man whos story from "avatar" is the EXACT same story as "dances with wolves" and "last samurai". even he is reusing old ideas.
sri_91 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 1:17:33 PM

"no sequels, sequels are ridiculous"

^ Comin from a guy whose done 3 and itching to do 2 more sequels on avatard which was a f*cking sh*tstorm and one of the worst movies of the f*cking year!
f*ck odd douchebag c*nt!
Dark writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 2:21:38 PM

f*cking hypocrite!
trailertrash writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 2:55:37 PM

Ranger - lol

"Oh God, no, please don't kill me. I'm not a spy. I'm nothing. I'm navel lint! I have to lie to women to get laid, and I don't score much. I got a little d*ck, it's pathetic!"

James was writting from the heart and experience with that line !! lol
Ranger writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 3:25:26 PM

lol... excellent (and accurate) quote.

I suppose many of us would have less of a problem if James was directing his comments towards himself, outright admitting that he (his sequels) are the very things he's commenting about. Although... Aliens, and The T2 I'm very glad he did. Maybe he just had a mic thrown in his face and instead of going down on it, he chose to rattle off a few words.

I'm still a fan of his work... just his comments sometimes... oi. Guess he's human too.
darthraige writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 3:55:13 PM

He's such a male c*nt.
Hollywood1086 writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 5:22:24 PM

omg he is the biggest hypocrite in hollywood. ragging on others for being greedy? oh PLEASE. he milked the avatar cow for all it was worth with the aforementioned TWO theatrical releases and TWO dvd releases and now the 3-d titanic. what an *sshole. someone, please punch him in the face so he stops talking.
Kill-the-director writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 7:27:01 PM

I like your movie cameron (baring the overated avatar) but i'm disliking him as a person more and more each time i read an interview that he's done. Hopefully one day his head can come out of the ass its in.
HideousSecretion writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 11:41:39 PM

Says the man who ripped off Dances with Wolves, Pocahontas and the Smurfs for his sh*t movie. And yes, Avatar was sh*t movie. And hey Jim you d*ckless wonder the ending of Abyss still makes no sense *sshole.
Ranger writes:
on January 9th, 2011 at 2:05:34 AM

@darth - lol.

@Hollywood re: your avatar = BA=BOING!
bill the butcher writes:
on January 9th, 2011 at 4:42:32 AM

he put AVATAR back in cinemas because alice in wonderland was in 3D and he felt that lost money for avatar because the 3D screens used for alice could have been full of people who wanted to watch his ''masterpiece''

james cameron go f*ck yourself
netslums writes:
on January 9th, 2011 at 6:47:37 AM

A little off topic...but i think it would be humorous if Jimmy ripped Avatar 2's story off of The Lion King. Think about it, the 2 Navis (forget their names) that fall in love in the first movie can have a baby...they can then hold that baby atop some giant tree branch at Home Tree (pride rock)...and then Sam Worthlesston can die like Mufasa...and so on. I would be surprised if Jimmy didn't go this route.
AYT BALL writes:
on January 9th, 2011 at 2:23:51 PM

usually defend cameron and remember the classics he gave us (Aliens, Terminator, Piranha 2 etc) but in this case i cant, thats a dipsh*t thing to say Mr Cameron when your movie has been milking the public more than any film in history! i mean come on! look at yourself before you take the piss out of others, having a pop at Battleship as an idea is fair enough but Peter Berg is directing, and to be honest his movies look alot better than Camerons for the past 10 years, mainly thanks to a little thing called script!
billofill writes:
on January 9th, 2011 at 10:44:25 PM

You made ALIENS and TERMINATOR 2 you ignorant f*ck, Oh and Harry Potter 7 is too much story for one f*cking movie the book is as bigger than the L A Phone book.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 7:00:38 AM

I hope James Cameron gets cancer of the eye and has to suffer the same amount of retinal pain that i have endured watching Avatar (or like rocketman says Pocahontis in 3D). There was no originality in Avatar, the Navi were just a blue group of africans, they even looked and acted like an african tribe so in humanising the characters its an easy way for us to feel for them. District 9 on the other hand made the characters as ugly and non human as possible and still managed to make me give more of a sh*t than those oversized smurfs. Avatar was an average film with above average cgi and below average acting and dialog. It's a sad day when james cameron thinks he's the jesus of films... i personally think he needs a new style crusifixion. CINEMA IS DEAD!!
TimTimMcgumis writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 10:23:08 AM

f*ck i hate this guy. I mean, he's right, but still a huge douchebag hypocrit holier then though egomaniac
bspence writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 1:04:38 PM

i really f*cking hate this stupid over rated ignorant hypacritical c*nt!
MontoyaWA writes:
on January 10th, 2011 at 1:07:53 PM

"Hey, kettle! Your black..."
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 11th, 2011 at 10:41:22 PM

rabid writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 11:14:16 AM

He may be an overrated c*nt, but he speaks the truth.


@rabid

When your finished polishing his testicled with your tongue, Mr. Cameron would like for you to swallow his spunk refuse ...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved