WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Johnny Knoxville and Andy Samberg in "The Three Stooges"?

Posted: January 7th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Johnny Knoxville and Andy Samberg in "The Three Stooges"?Submit Comment
At one point, Sean Penn, Jim Carrey and Benicio Del Toro were attached to star in "The Three Stooges" movie, directed by the Farrelly brothers (Dumb and Dumber). 20th Century Fox has since picked up the property and is planning to begin production in March.

Now comes word that Johnny Knoxville ("Jackass"), Andy Samberg ("Saturday Night Live") and Australian comic Shane Jacobson are on the shortlist to play Moe, Larry and Curley, respectively.

In addition to directing, Peter and Bobby Farrelly also wrote the script. The plan is to divide the PG-rated film into three, 27-minute segments driven by physical comedy.

Click here to read more about "The Three Stooges."

Source: The Wrap


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 9:12:37 AM

May as well get Steve o and Bam if it's all about physical comedy.
sc_kg writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 9:13:08 AM

It rarely is a good idea to divide movie into 3 separate stories.
trailertrash writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 9:16:10 AM

The can shove stuff up their asses and call it The Three Stool(ges)
trailertrash writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 9:19:13 AM

sc_kg -

Can work well sometimes though like Pulp Fiction for instance and the old Amicus Horror movies were better in 3 or 4 stories also.
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 10:38:44 AM

I think Niro as curly
Hoffman as Moe
and Lloyd as Larry

would be a much better cast for this soon to be major flop
ShizPaf writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 10:43:51 AM

I wouldn't go see this movie for educatin or enlightenment so watchin J Knox get kicked in the balls for a couple hours will do fine.
rabid writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 12:00:05 PM

sounds (and looks) like a closer fit than the previou 3 actors. I'm not sure that classic 3 Stooges will keep a modern audience entertained, but i'm sure they'll class it up with sh*t and masturbation jokes.
batdump writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 2:27:24 PM

I like samberg but he may be a bit over the top for this, Knoxville isnt much for acting... hopefully they dont screw this up... I was more interested when Carrey was attached.
happileperkon writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 2:36:06 PM

i love the original stooges. i think rebooting them is a god awful idea!
LanceGill writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 5:09:44 PM

Samburg & Knoxville are perfect for these roles. I would have never have thought to place them in it though. Genius. Also, Films that are split up like that, if done right, can be amazing. It's good for main streams film to branch out in their structuring of films. If presented in the same fashion as the tv show It'll work.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 6:05:57 PM

When was Andy Samberg ever funny ?
batdump writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 6:22:05 PM

Hot Rod is a guilty pleasure. no sexual insults please. and cloudy with a chance of meatballs. but I like over the top random humor so his comedy works for me. plus I love the lonely island... except that new song they recently put out
rabid writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 6:25:21 PM

When is Samburg not funny?
He cracks me up every time
trailertrash writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 6:28:03 PM

Just dont think you can re-create a classic act like the 3 Stooges.

They are like Laurel and Hardy, Harold Lloyd, Buster Keaton and Abbott and Costello, Classic entertainers in the original sense of the word.

And they should be left in Hollywood's distinguished History IMO.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 7:11:37 PM

No, really ...

When was he funny ?

I guess I must've missed it.
xtlhogciao writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 7:15:39 PM

I don't care who's acting in it. It'll be awful.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 7:39:15 PM

Andy looks like he could deep throat ... I'm just saying
thomas deadison writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 9:39:52 PM

I don't find Samberg funny at all. Maybe it's a generational thing. Bill Hader has to be the only funny guy on SNL right now.

Also, this movie... just... kill it. Don't let it happen.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 10:49:16 PM

Weren't the Jackass Crew the real-life Stooges already ?
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 10:49:47 PM

Iggy Pop is more of a Stooge that these two douchebags
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 10:51:00 PM

@Max

You have a point. Andy looks like he just sucked off Lorne Michaels in that photo.

"Tastes like Canadian Bacon", swears Samberg, as heard by TMZ.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 10:54:49 PM

This is as good an idea as the Wayans Brothers doing Animal Crackers or A Night at the Opera.

I hope you enjoy my sarcasm, Farrelly Brothers.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 10:55:48 PM

They already tried to update an old time comedy team and it failed miserably :

Amos & Andrew, starring Nicolas Cage & Samuel L Jackson
rabid writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 11:11:25 PM

Amos and Andy was a lot more obscure to that generation than 3 Stooges. The Stooges were syndicated on tv for half a century on several networks. Most everyone over the age of 25 knows who they are.
It's the whole reason they're making it. It comes with a fanbase that spans 4 generations. That means much less work to fill those seats and earn the budget back. Easy money, which is all Hollywood seems to be interested in right now.
whoever writes:
on January 9th, 2011 at 4:48:58 AM

I hope Shane Jacobson get the part, Kenny is still an awesome Aussie film!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved