WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ben Affleck's List of Favorite Heist Films

Posted: January 6th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ben AffleckSubmit Comment
Ben Affleck doesn't deny that "Heat" was one of his inspirations for "The Town." And now that Affleck's film is set to hit stores on December 17th, The Daily Beast wanted to know what other heist films the director/actor considers his favorite.

Here is the full list along with Affleck's comments:

1. The Friends of Eddie Coyle: It's an exceptional film. It's not sexed up, it's not glam. You feel like these are real guys, who really are doing this. And the stakes feel kind of dangerous and real in a sort of slightly scary, upsetting way.

2. Rififi: There's an incredible sequence in "Rififi" where there's no sound during the robbery. It's just magnificent.

3. Heat: When I was interviewing people in prison they referenced "Heat." And when I was interviewing the FBI, they referenced "Heat." [It] is the one movie that's cited as the real thing by people who really do that stuff.

4. Inception: It's the perfect example of story driving the visuals.

5. Ocean's Eleven: That's the perfect example of a movie that's smart and still fun. You really are having a good time and rooting for these guys, and I think it spawned a whole sub-genre of movies afterward.

6. The Bank Job: It feels gritty and real, but also, it's also sexy and fun. It was a sense of discovery about England and this era and the sense that they got it right.

7. The Usual Suspects: It was the first modern movie that had that incredible twist. That reveal at the end of the movie that was done so expertly, where they threaded it, and you thought you were watching one movie, and at the very end, you realized you were watching a completely different movie. It was magnificent.

8. The Killing: It never felt like a movie, it always felt like you were watching something real, a documentary about it. And I think that is the best feeling you can get.

9. Reservoir Dogs: You never saw much of the robbery itself. And it was just incredible writing. You realized you didnít need to see guys with explosives, hanging from wires, to feel the tension.

10. Snatch: I think Brad Pitt is as good in "Snatch" as anyone's been in anything. It's a cool, fun, energetic, gripping movie to watch. And it's got a great title.

11. Point Break: It had this really creative, interesting, visual way that these robberies would happen, that didn't undermine the film's sense of realism.

Source: The Daily Beast


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 7:16:11 AM

Gee's Another list, Hollywood folk sure do love a list

Must say I like most of the movies on this particular list though...
trailertrash writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 7:18:41 AM

Steve McQueens The Getaway should be on here IMO also.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 7:20:58 AM

Not bad did Ben Affleck suddenly get possessed by this articulate, deep thinking director of films i thought he was full retard? Maybe he did write more than 3 words for Good Will Hunting. I wouldn't say snatch is a heist film though.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 7:35:40 AM


You know, he had me going ... " Ben's a pretty good eye for crime, which explains The Town " ... uhp!

Then he said Point Blank, which he says "didn't undermine the sense of realism" ...

c'mon Ben ... you just love watchin' Johnny Utah bust some surfer punks ... tard.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 7:45:44 AM

@CinemaisDead

Part heist (re: Snatch)

The actual stealing of the diamond from the Jewish diamond merchants at the beginning of the movie was the heist. The rest of it was just about trying to steal the diamond away from the courier and main robber (Benecio Del Toro) and the recipient Avi (Dennis Farina)


trailertrash writes: on January 6th, 2011 at 7:18:41 AM

Steve McQueens The Getaway should be on here IMO also.

@trailertrash

Hell yeah. Peckinpah designed that movie with great pacing and a slow burn that delivered at the end.

I would've even have suggested Confidence with Edward Burns and Dustin Hoffman.

Rocknrolla was somewhat of a heist film (the stealing a painting by the English mob/property magnates coked out/punkstar son, given to the English mob/property magnate as a bargaining chip by the Russian land magnate for 'luck').

and Edwin S Porter's The Great Train Robbery (1903)
elrei writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 7:50:58 AM

I haven't seen the first two... gonna check them later. Everybody loves a good heist movie
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 7:58:50 AM

Yeah fair point i suppose but on that basis toy story 2 is a heist film so why isn't taht work of art on the list lol
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:12:49 AM

Cinemaisdead writes: on January 6th, 2011 at 7:58:50 AM

Yeah fair point i suppose but on that basis toy story 2 is a heist film so why isn't taht work of art on the list lol

@Cinemaisdead

Could be that Ben forgot to highlight that in his "Book Of Heist Flicks", before he drove off to the interview ... and underline it with a crayon.
trailertrash writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:19:28 AM

Max-

It was a great movie and Peckinpah really got the best out of McQueen, They had made Junior Bonner together earlier that year which really wasn't that great.

And it Has had a lot of influence on many Robbery/Action films since.

Need to see RocknRolla again didn't like it that much 1st time round.

Sean Connery and Donald Sutherland in The First Great Train Robbery is also a film i like alot too.
velocityknown writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:30:58 AM

My only complaints are that The Bank Job and Reservoir Dogs should be higher.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:37:00 AM

@max lol is that after or before matt damons wiped his ass and changed his dirty nappys
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:58:53 AM

I'm ok with his list, got some good movies on there.
I did'nt like "Rock-n-Rolla" walked out of that 20mins in, would have been sooner but just started eating my popcorn.
trailertrash writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 9:42:26 AM

On your own that time then dave lol
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 9:48:41 AM

i thought rock n rolla was quite good considering my high expectations. It wasn't on the same level as lock stock but i like the fact he done it a bit differently
trailertrash writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 9:51:27 AM

Have to give a mention The Italian Job (Michael Caine)looks a little dated now, But still a fun movie to watch.
trailertrash writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 9:56:30 AM

Cinema -

Like i said will have to watch it again (has a great cast).

Lock Stock and Snatch were so good and Revolver was so bad, I guess RockNRolla is bang in the middle of those films.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 10:05:17 AM

@trailer

touche there my friend...lol

As soon as I heard Mark Strong and Tom Wilkinson speak I ahd to leave...and even a blowjob would'nt have made me stay any longer.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 10:08:09 AM

trailer

Right about "Italian Job" and there is only one.
sri_91 writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 10:27:05 AM

gud list but how the flying f*ck is bank job (though i loved it) better than snatch, res dogs and usual suspects ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 11:29:59 AM

DaveThePhotoGuy writes: on January 6th, 2011 at 10:08:09 AM
trailer

Right about "Italian Job" and there is only one.

@DaveThePhotoGuy

Right on.

No matter what Marky Mark " Say hello to my mom's vagina for me. " Wahlberg says.

Notice how when they remake a Michael Caine film it kinda is piss poor ?

The Italian Job remake = average

Alfie remake = sucks

Get Carter remake = sucks donkey c*ck

Sleuth remake = sucks donkey c*ck, swallow animal jizm, asks for more ... just like Che
trailertrash writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 4:42:01 PM

Agree Max.

Haven't we got a Swarm Remake on the way as well.

Watched "With Out A Clue" not so long back and that is a very underrated Sherlock Holmes Film, Ben Kingsley as watson was good in that also.
happileperkon writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 7:29:54 PM

the only thing this list is missing is the italian job.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:02:05 PM

Some others to consider:

Asphalt Jungle, Thief, Thomas Crown, Heist, Die Hard (sort of, but from the opposite side), Inside Man, Quick Change, Sexy Beast, Dog Day Afternoon, hell...Swordfish, Three Kings, Dead Presidents, The Score, Gone in Seconds, Matchstick Men, Catch Me If You Can...
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:03:36 PM

"the only thing this list is missing is the italian job."

Yeah, but the original only.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:05:32 PM

How to Steal A Million, the Lavender Hill Mob, Nine Queens...
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:09:04 PM

The Hard Word, Bottle Rocket, Ronin, Confidence, Entrapment, Reach-Around Che, The Real McCoy
happileperkon writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:44:30 PM

i like the remake of italian job better personally. i have nothing against the original though
masht7 writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:54:05 PM

I've never liked 'The Italion Job' (I'm talking about the remake, I've never seen the Michael Caine one). Affleck has some good films on that list, 'Ocean's Eleven', 'Heat', 'The Bank Job' and 'The Usual Suspects'. I'm suprised he hadn't put 'Inside Man' on that list, thats one of the best Heist Films ever.
KingAdash writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 11:49:44 PM

The Hot Rock with Robert Redford is another good one, or even Dead Presidents.
SaulSilver writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 12:22:57 AM

Gotta echo other's sentiments here.....When the f*ck did Ben Affleck morph from a douchebag into this reasonably cool dude he's been the last few years? If you told me ten years ago that Ben Affleck would be one of my favorite actor/directors, I would've broke your f*cking nose.
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 4:42:09 AM

Ronin was fantastic.It has one of the most bad ass scenes in history in which deniro is going through an operation taking out a bullet.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 7:56:27 PM

I would say Blue Streak, but then I'm just being funny

... oh and What's The Worst That Can Happen ? (The only time Martin Lawrence has mugged in front of the camera that made me chuckle/guffaw and William Fitchner as a gay detective ? Genius.)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 7:57:29 PM

Hell, even Raiders of the Lost Ark has a heist in it, sort of (of the Ark of the Covenant by the Nazis).
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 7:58:50 PM

Kiss, Kiss, Bang, Bang is sort of a heist film too (in that Robert Downey Jr's thief is mistaken for an actor auditioning for a cop role).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved