WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

7 Films Remain in Race for Best Visual Effects Oscar

Posted: January 6th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
7 Films Remain in Race for Best Visual Effects OscarSubmit Comment
About a month ago, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences unveiled its list of fifteen films that were competing to get nominated in the Best Visual Effects category of the 83rd Academy Awards.

The list has now been trimmed to seven films, cutting "The Chronicles of Narnia 3," "Clash of the Titans," "The Last Airbender," "Percy Jackson and the Olympians," "Prince of Persia," "Shutter Island," "Sorcerer's Apprentice," and "Unstoppable."

Check out the seven remaining contenders below, which will be trimmed yet again to five films that will go on to compete for the Oscar. The 83rd Academy Awards nominations will be announced on January 25th at 8:30am EST.

Films are listed in alphabetical order:

* Alice in Wonderland

* Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1

* Hereafter

* Inception

* Iron Man 2

* Scott Pilgrim vs. the World

* TRON: Legacy


Source: Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 7:16:11 AM

My money goes to Inception
sc_kg writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 7:20:06 AM

TRON: Legacy!
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:00:46 AM

Tron all the way man....it so deserves it
trailertrash writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:07:27 AM

I watched Scott Pilgrim vs. the World last night.

Thought is was only ok (a little disappointed in truth), Kieran Culkin was very good though.

Inception impressed me the most effects wise out of those movies last year.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:51:02 AM

I would say...

1- Inception.
2- TRON:LEGACY (eventhough I havn't seen it).
3- Scott Pilgrim.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 9:49:15 AM

Dave-thats my list too.
Trailer-it was decent, but all the emo kids were talking about how awesome it was.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 10:15:51 AM

I can just agree with Dave and Chad, my list is also Inception, TRON and Scott.

Inception's effects never looked to CGI-y, but altogether believable.
I have not seen TRON yet, but if the movie is anything like its trailer (and from what I've heard, it is) it deserves the spot.
Scott's effects never tries to pass as real world, it's just a silly movie, but it fits so well with the story (and it looks good too), so I give it a pass.

Iron Man didn't present anything new, Harry Potter seems to think that all you need is dark stuff, Alice does not look as good as people said and I haven't seen Hereafter.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 10:36:28 AM

@Freudian_Nightmare

Than you for stating that, agree with you wholeheartedly.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 1:12:39 PM

Inception or Tron
sc_kg writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 1:42:15 PM

"Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1" doesn't deserve to be on that list.
"Alice in Wonderland" should be honored, but more for the set design or costumes than Visual Effects.
It's a shame that "Prince of Persia" dropped out so quickly. It didn't add anything new, but it combined very well the work of the stunts with special effects.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 1:42:40 PM

Harry Potter 7 always deserves an Oscar nomination in that department obviously. Inception and Iron Man 2 are the other two I'd vote for along with TRON: Legacy and Scott Pilgrim Vs. the World. These movies deserve them the most. Why these films are competing for the REMAINING spots I don't know. I mean Sorcerer's Apprentice was pretty good and so was Last Airbender but Last Airbender suffered here and there. So six movies here stick out for me overall with Sorcerer's Apprentice BEING THE REMAINING contender.
shayhiri writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 3:32:33 PM

Hahahhahahah!

"Prince of Persia"
"Clash of the Titans" and
"The Last Airbender"

were the only movies that had ANY noteworthy visual effects. AND they cut them?!!

Why don't they just name Twilight or Potter the best movie ever and be done with it??
HideousSecretion writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 6:49:12 PM

Which special effects did I notice the least? Give it to that one.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:18:00 PM

Inception? It'll probably win on popularity, but aside from kicking the photorealism up a notch and borrowing from the Matrix, I'm not sure it deserves to win over Tron, though I suspect it will.

The rest have ZERO chance to win anything.

For them, I'll quote John Mason from the Bay film 'The Rock':

"Losers always whine about doing their best. Winners go home and f*ck the prom queen."
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:19:33 PM

In this case, the 'winner' would be Che's dad, and the prom queen would be Che himself.
yeLLowfLaSh writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 9:27:44 PM

@shayhiri

Dude you are the worst lurker I've ever seen. Those movies were 1) quite bad and 2) had pitiful visual effects. wake up peter pan no one likes you here.

The top two contenders are TRON and Inception. And Honestly if you haven't seen both you can't really pick a winner. Saying inception should win because you saw the trailer to TRON is asinine. The visual effects were amazing. yes the story was so so but this is the oscar for best visual effects not screenplay.
SaulSilver writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 12:18:13 AM

Make mine Scott Pilgrim vs The World. Was like nothing ever seen before, unlike everything else on this list. Of course, there's no way in hell it actually wins, so WTF does it matter what I think?
Rambo writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 4:44:17 AM

After watching 'Tron Legacy' I have to go with 'Inception'.the 3D in tron was disappointing and the effects were repetitive and dull
Wallace writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 10:22:39 AM

Inception. There is no scene you actually see that it's CGI, although this is not the only criteria for the visual effects oscar.
Jonathan3 writes:
on February 19th, 2011 at 11:03:43 PM

Iknow

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved