WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

No Plans for Batman/Superman Crossover Film

Posted: January 5th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
No Plans for Batman/Superman Crossover FilmSubmit Comment
Back in 2003, director Wolfgang Petersen (Perfect Storm) was set to helm "Batman vs Superman," with Christian Bale (The Dark Knight) attached to play Superman.

Petersen said that Warner Bros eventually decided to give Superman and Batman their own separate film and then later bring them together in one film.

STYD has now caught up with Charles Roven, who is producing both "The Dark Knight Rises" and the "Superman" reboot to find out if there are still talks about a "Batman vs Superman" film.

"No," he said. "That may be in somebody's mind, but right now Batman lives in his world and Superman lives in his world. Those stories are those stories and we haven't thought beyond each individual picture."

Source: STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 8:50:39 PM

Just give us a film please
masht7 writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 8:56:19 PM

Just please keep this in Development Hell, look at those other cross-overs; 'Freddy vs. Jason' = sh*t, 'King Kong vs. Godzilla' = sh*t, how can I forget 'Alien vs. Predator' = mega sh*tfest.
Dark writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 10:01:26 PM

lol! i bet it sucks to be a DC fan!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 10:07:33 PM

I really appreciate you regurgitating this rumor pap, Alex, because it just goes to prove how Hollywood works in churning the rumor mill like they do with the actor/actress lives in Hollywood, which is the adult equivalent of pregnancy rumors in high school about the head cheerleader (sorry for the Glee reference, but to be honest, that plot line has been out and about longer than Glee has) :

Batman & Superman aka World's Finest was on the greenlight after Batman Begins revived the Batman franchise after the Schumacher debacle (Batman and Robin, nipple lined suits included, is considered the WORST superhero/superheroine movie EVER made. And that says alot, when you see such diatribes as Judge Dredd, Howard the Duck, The Losers or even The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (and that's ... saying something (keeping my promise to Minkowski.) ... So imagine, dear reader, they were ready to go with this fanboy j*zzfest.

... Then along came Supeman Returns and Bryan Singer.

I admit. He did a great job with X-Men and X-Men Returns. He had shown with The Unusual Suspects that his strength, among other things, is handling ensemble pieces. But with Superman, it's not an ensemble piece. It's Superman, Lois and Lex. Everyone else are supporting characters (like Jimmy and Mr. White), but they are the equivalency of nice ficus in a business office in this movie. And Bryan didn't consider the possible backlash and ramifications that would happen in tweaking the Superman mythos, like when DC turned Superman into a man of lightning/electronic power in blue AND red, for a low period of the titles time.


Now I will also admit I saw it with my ex-girlfriend (because at the time, the only averagely worthy movie to watch was ironically, Clerks 2 and the donkey sucking off the fat gimp scene). But I should've had a gut feeling that it would sink the Bis-Clark, because I saw it with my last girlfriend, a hot piece of ass (French/Carribean) that could suck a cantelope through a crazy straw ... and now I'm single, angry at all women and pissed off that I paid for a movie that presented a few things about the Superman mythos that ****ed it up royally.

A. It was supposed to be a 'transitional' movie between Superman (Donner) and Superman II (Donner). When did Lois Lane (Margot Kidder) ever raise Clark's son, as Clark was fighting General Zod and his co-horts ?

B. Clark can lift an ISLAND made of Kryptonite, the very alien element that can kill him ?

C. Was Lex EVER a lead in a gay Broadway show ?


Okay, so the last point is a broad slam at Spacey's hammy performance that hammed up Lex much more than Hackman and his goofy sidekick, "Squeal Like A Pig, Boy" Ned Beatty (I don't count Miss Moneypenny, or whatever the hell Lex's cheap Jersey girlfriend/moll is) and his cheap-ass toupee (explained by the exposure to the radiation caused by being to close to the kryptonite.

And ... World's Finest got shelved. So this rumor is a moot point.

The only way it will ever get dusted off is only AFTER DC and Warner Brothers takes a look at the domestic and international take for a Superman revamp (hey, call it like it is) by Zack Snyder, written by David Goyer and produced by Christopher Nolan, Minkowski's favorite hack. Only after they look at that (and Green Lantern and whatever else they've got lined up in the gate) ... then you'll see a followup rumor headlined by Worst Previews saying " World's Finest Back Up and Running! " ... but these days, if it doesn't bring even 1/3rd of what it took to make it over the opening weekend, don't expect anything further till the ink is dry on the contracts and the cameras start rolling.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 10:17:52 PM

Definatly dont do this film
Monash writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 10:41:21 PM

With Christian Bale attached to play Superman?
is that a mistake by WP or just a really f*cked up idea?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 10:49:05 PM

BadChadB33 writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 10:17:52 PM
Definatly dont do this film

@BadChadB33

They probably won't. Not until they see what

(a) Green Lantern does. Since it's an origin story with a very simple premise, I'm expecting it will do moderate to strong at the box office. I could be wrong, but we will see. It already has toy marketing (as does *sigh* Thor. And the Thor action figures ? Someone in Taiwan is DEFINITELY getting screwed in sculpting the anatomy.)

(b) Zack Synder's Superman. Still to be determined, once post-production is finished in two-three years and after Sucker Punch shows if he can deliver asses to seats.

They certainly appeared to have enough faith in him to give him their other flagship character after his "faithful' adaptation of Watchmen. Of course, it's still a "follow the bouncing ball" thing if Zack is still going to be using the Superman : Birthright series as his jumping off point, but in all current circ*mstances, it appears that either using that one or Grant Morrison & Frank Quitely's All Star Superman appear to best bets on David Goyer's adaptation. DC's going to have to make sure they are on top of it, due to the lawsuit on ownership of the character, so I say, whatever will be, will be.

And even if Minkowski may dispute, despite Nolan's emotional isolationistic Batman Begins/ The Dark Knight duo (which it was, if you compare it to the charm and charisma Michael Keaton did bring to Bruce Wayne in the 80s), he knows how to deliver the story. He made people put asses in seats and he delivered the action that drives the vehicle, which is needed in a flagship project like Batman, Superman, X-Men or even Spiderman. So I'm willing to contend that not every Nolan film is perfect, but it could be worse. It could be X-Men United.

Kelsey Grammar (Frazier) as Hank McCoy ? ..... Gah. Salad and scrambled eggs up my esophagus and onto the linoleum.

But World's Finest is a potential development hell backburner, if you count dollars and cents. Batman ? He's good now. But the problem has been and will be Superman.

If they can get past that hurdle (which I strongly think they can't), then World's Finest is a shoo-in, marketing and advertising alone.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 10:51:30 PM


Monash writes: on January 5th, 2011 at 10:41:21 PM

With Christian Bale attached to play Superman?
is that a mistake by WP or just a really f*cked up idea?

@Monash

Probably a typo.

Unless Bale decides then to change characters.

Or maybe it was considered for Bale BEFORE The Dark Knight went into production.

Hard to say.


Names are attached all the time as potential role fillers until contracts are signed and production starts.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 11:25:56 PM

@Dark

I don't know if you're more of a fag or an idiot.

You support Tron: Legacy as a great movie and now you seem to be showing a clear preference for Marvel's terrible adaptations...just shut the f*ck up, christ you're annoying

And you're english is horrible, that's why foreigners piss me off so much...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 11:31:35 PM

It all comes down to money nowadays.

A box office bomb like Howard the Duck was (and not only was it a bomb, but it was a property owned by Disney that didn't have any superpowered leads AND was directed by George Lucas) wouldn't even see the light of day now. Which is a good thing, I suppose. But the possibility of a World's Finest movie is at best a rumor and that's all.

That's why there are no plans.

Because of the money draw.
Man in Black writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 11:34:48 PM

Lets see if i have this right , the billboard in I AM LEGEND was bullsh*t ? I feel robbed-cheated-shanghaied even . Does WB not enjoy truck loads of cash ? or are they afraid that fan boys have set the bar sooooooo high not even a hybrid clone of Nolan and Donner could meet their expectations ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 11:36:46 PM

Look at Iron Man ..... say what you want about the second, overfilled movie ... the first was solid from stem to stern and had Marvel thinking the next day, " Say, I think we have the potential to tie in movies and eventually produce and film the Avengers movie. " ... again a synergy and strategic plan by Marvel to do an X-Men style of movies with their other big-league team, only in reverse (i.e. instead of introducing individuals their own movies first, they introduced the X-Men after Xavier formed them).

They are basing the filming structure much like they do with comics.

The only flaw is in such things as changing actors in casting (i.e. Mark Ruffalo instead of Edward Norton and Don Cheadle instead of Terence Howard) ... you have to remain consistant to the character and that is difficult when each actor brings their 'interpretation' to that character.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 11:39:10 PM

World's Finest would have to look at the following :

A. Do we want Superman to be the Brandon Routh Superman ? Do we want him to be the Superman lead chosen by Warner Brothers (eventually) for the Zack Snyder interpretation ?

B. Do we want Batman to be Christian Bale ? What if he wants to do other projects ? Who do we cast then ? Someone from the A list or an unknown ?

Things like that.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 11:45:08 PM

Man in Black writes: on January 5th, 2011 at 11:34:48 PM

Lets see if i have this right , the billboard in I AM LEGEND was bullsh*t ? I feel robbed-cheated-shanghaied even . Does WB not enjoy truck loads of cash ? or are they afraid that fan boys have set the bar sooooooo high not even a hybrid clone of Nolan and Donner could meet their expectations ?

@Man in Black

Exactly! The fanbase has been pampered to EXPECT a solid storyline now because of the reponse to Dark Knight and Batman Begins. And they were underwhelmed by Bryan Singer's Superman Returns, no matter how much time and thought Bryan put in in directing the story.

It's a very high bar indeed. These are the big boys from the Justice League, not Guy Gardner and Blue Beetle.

Hell, Kingdom Come (the near the end of the DC Universe adaptation) set extremely high standards to what fanboys will buy and if DC, Marvel, whoever can't deliver the goods ....

well, you get Judge Dredd, a movie with all the best intentions, but once Sly took off the helmet, he no longer was Dredd. He was Sly and it was just another heavy handed film from Hollywood about a character Sly played, a hammy Armand Assante as his psychotic brother and a waste of a comical sidekick role given to Rob Schneider, which was one of the poorest performances I didn't even thought could ever exist in Hollywood history, but BOY was I wrong on that one.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 11:46:20 PM

Given for those who love Judge Dredd, to anyone who ever read the character, it was a purposeful piss on the shoes, slap in the face and f*ck up the ass (sorry again, Mink).
Man in Black writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 12:00:25 AM

Max writes : Given for those who love Judge Dredd, to anyone who ever read the character, it was a purposeful piss on the shoes, slap in the face and f*ck up the ass.

Ahhh yes the Hollywood hat trick.

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 12:12:06 AM

Man in Black writes: on January 6th, 2011 at 12:00:25 AM
Max writes : Given for those who love Judge Dredd, to anyone who ever read the character, it was a purposeful piss on the shoes, slap in the face and f*ck up the ass.

Ahhh yes the Hollywood hat trick.


@Man in Black

Bingo.

And if I was John Wagner, Carlos Ezquerra, Pat Mills and 2000 AD magazine, I would've more pissed off than a drunk Irish priest stuck in traffic on the way to pub for a pint after twelve back to back funerals ....
jetdog writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 2:57:33 AM

DC will always be behind Marvel until they figure out that all these characters exist in the same world.
Dark writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 3:38:57 AM

@TheHerpesOnRangersd*ck

Guess someone is butthurt. You f*cking need to STFU and die. I never supported Tron: Legacy and stop being such a f*cking d*ck rider you annoying faggot. Everyone's entitled to their own opinion. This will be my first and last reply to you because my time is too precious to be wasted on some pathetic internet tough guy but you will be there wasting your time over me writing another reply. You need to get a life but more than anything you need to get laid which won't happen in this life time for sure. Go jerk off to another DC comic book. Have a sad lonely day c*cksucker.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 4:10:26 AM

@Max

Superman Returns was supposed to take place after the second Donner film, not in between the first and second.

@Dark

Settle down fag, you're the only one getting upset here
AYT BALL writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 4:26:59 AM

@ Dark - now tell him your dads bigger than his!! He will sh*t himself!
AYT BALL writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 4:27:30 AM

oh and cross over, bad idea, two very different worlds, so no harm done
telur writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 5:43:47 AM

i heard james bond and jason bourne crossover
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 6:01:43 AM

POO ON A STICK AND THROW IT AGAINST THE WALL
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 6:47:45 AM

TheHerpesOnRangersd*ck writes: on January 6th, 2011 at 4:10:26 AM


@Max

Superman Returns was supposed to take place after the second Donner film, not in between the first and second.


@The HerpeseOnRangersd*ck

Thanks for the correction :)

Did a speedread of Superman 3 (where Clark reunites with Lana Lang and Richard Pryor humiliates his career) and 4 (where they introduce Nuclear Man, Clark refuses to sell the farmland and finds out Perry gets fired from the Daily Planet) .... still no record of Clark Kent-Lane Jr.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 6:52:02 AM

jetdog writes: on January 6th, 2011 at 2:57:33 AM

DC will always be behind Marvel until they figure out that all these characters exist in the same world.

@jetdog

Yes and no.

DC does recognize crossover. Kingdom Come was an absolutely perfect example.

Where they have the problem is ... how can you reintroduce Superman, played by Christopher Reeve with such a nostalgic, wholesome background (and was eventually run into the ground by nonsensical plot with Superman III and Superman IV:Quest for Peace) and make him relatable today, without losing the sole core of what made him popular for decades ?

He's one of their biggest COMIC BOOK mainstays, EVEN BEFORE they changed their name to Detective Comics (and finally DC)

If you can't get asses in seats and sales in pockets with Superman, then World's Finest isn't even a possibility.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 6:54:05 AM

So they recognize it in Comic Book Format (Darkest Night is a great example from 2010) ... they just have had problems with bringing it to the screen and making the sales they needed to JUSTIFY greenlighting something that is going to have to be a $100 million - $200 million dollar budget, at least.
billofill writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 10:54:19 AM

Max ok this may be an odd conscept for you to grasp but Superman Returns Purposely ignored 3 and 4 cause they f*cking sucked worse almost as bad as Batman and Robin and your Howard the Duck examples. Biggest flaw in it that ya seem to be f*cking missing too Lois Lane is too f*cking young, If superman knocked up and left for 5 years she would of been like 17 working as a reporter in the first 2 films. That and the actor playing Jimmy is noticibly older and the most obvious problem Lex as the sole villian we needed a Metallo or a Parasite f*ck even Mr Mxyplyx would of been an improvement over having Kumar as one of the villians.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 11:04:46 AM



billofill writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 10:54:19 AM
Max ok this may be an odd conscept for you to grasp but Superman Returns Purposely ignored 3 and 4 cause they f*cking sucked worse almost as bad as Batman and Robin and your Howard the Duck examples. Biggest flaw in it that ya seem to be f*cking missing too Lois Lane is too f*cking young, If superman knocked up and left for 5 years she would of been like 17 working as a reporter in the first 2 films. That and the actor playing Jimmy is noticibly older and the most obvious problem Lex as the sole villian we needed a Metallo or a Parasite f*ck even Mr Mxyplyx would of been an improvement over having Kumar as one of the villians.

@billofill

Au Contraire, mon frier ....

While age-wise what you say is true, Singer himself noted that Supeman Returns was a bridgegap between (as corrected by Cinema) two and three. My point is that Supes never had a kid.

And I do agree with you that III with Pryor was awful (and the only excuse it gave the producers was to schill an Atari version of the missile game to gullible little kids i.e. where the missiles were aimed in the canyon gorge and being constantly fired at Supes) and IV: Quest for Peace ? It was horrid, only spurned on by the feeling of Patriotism being mayonaissed thick on the social conscious by Reagan and his cronies.

And Kumar being in Superman Returns ? You have a definite point with Kal. I was expecting him to go tell Lex to f*ck off and then go start smoking a bong or something.
billofill writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 11:34:24 AM

Superman Returns was originally supposed to be a loose sequel to the first two films like Goldfinger is to From Russia With Love but in the process erasing 3 and 4 from the franchise.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 11:58:57 AM

billofill writes: on January 6th, 2011 at 11:34:24 AM

Superman Returns was originally supposed to be a loose sequel to the first two films like Goldfinger is to From Russia With Love but in the process erasing 3 and 4 from the franchise.

@billofill

I get what you mean. They were ... God, what the hell was Warner Brothers thinking ?

They would've been better off making those mind-swipe pens from MIB real and clearing out any remeberence of them from audience members memory.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:23:47 PM

"Superman Returns was originally supposed to be a loose sequel to the first two films like Goldfinger is to From Russia With Love but in the process erasing 3 and 4 from the franchise."

And for all of their contrived and Gordion Knot scheming, they should have done the simple, smart thing and rebooted the franchise rather than making a sequel to films more than two decades old while also belaboring the ridiculous attempt to erase two other films from existence.

But they just HAD to honor Christopher Reeve by casting Brandon Routh as his 'replacement', when the honorable and worthy thing to do would have been to move on gracefully.

As for Superman Returns, I bet you didn't know Ratner and McG were both signed on to direct?
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:25:53 PM

Did ya know: Burton wanted to cast David Duchovny as Superman? LMAO!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 7th, 2011 at 7:43:43 AM

McG, Brett Ratner and David Duchovny playing Superman (per request by Tim Burton) ?

Wow, that's just sad.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved