WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stephen Sommers NOT Directing "GI Joe" Sequel

Posted: January 5th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stephen Sommers NOT Directing "GI Joe" SequelSubmit Comment
"GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra" grossed only $150 million domestically on a $175 million budget. The film ended up making money thanks to its international release, but still got trashed by critics.

Paramount Pictures is moving forward with a sequel and LA Times has learned that director Stephen Sommers will not be asked to return. Word is that other filmmakers are already being approached to take the job.

The script for the sequel is penned by "Zombieland" writers Rhett Reese and Paul Wernick. It is tentatively set for a 2012 release.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 9:00:40 PM

Just don't make this movie at all. No one liked the first one so why are they making a second one? (Image of money in my head)
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 10:11:13 PM

Now can Paramount NOT decide to fund the movie and can the scriptwriters NOT decide to write and rewrite the script ? And can the actors and actresses agree the first one was an atrocious abomination and decide NOT to do it ? We, the audience would be happy and promise not to judge.

Because winning the audience over is half the battle!

Go NO JOE!
bandolero999 writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 10:13:48 PM

as long as tatum is not in it he can play a role in mickey rourkes next movie
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 10:19:28 PM

ok thats a start, no tatum of f*cking, unfunny dumbf*ck marlon wayans and this could be a watchable dvd release.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 11:29:04 PM

From POV of 2012

THIS SUMMER...SUCK EVEN MORE d*ck, WEAR MORE LEATHER, ITS EXTRA GAY...G.I Joe 2
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 11:29:59 PM

@BadChad

I f*cking hate Channing Tatum and all of the Waynes brothers
Man in Black writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 11:38:54 PM

Hope this gets stuck in development hell . Couldnt happen to a better film , next week WP will report that Vince "the shamwow -you'll love my nuts- bite a hooker " guy will be attached to direct .
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 11:49:26 PM

The only way I would ever watch GI Joe again is if Larry Hama wrote and directed the film.

And even then, I would tread lightly.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 12:24:02 AM

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 10:11:13 PM

Now can Paramount NOT decide to fund the movie and can the scriptwriters NOT decide to write and rewrite the script ? And can the actors and actresses agree the first one was an atrocious abomination and decide NOT to do it ? We, the audience would be happy and promise not to judge.

Because winning the audience over is half the battle!

Go NO JOE!


@max

Damn you!!! I was going to write that.


When I first saw it in the cinema I did'nt really notice how bad it was, than watching it a second time I did notice and it is terrible, plus am I the only one who could sense some kind of Gay thing going on between Ripcord and Duke, I'm pretty sure that never happened in the cartoon.
trailertrash writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 2:42:27 AM

Hold everything here !!!

Dave you watched GI Joe Twice .....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 3:49:35 AM

trailertrash writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 2:42:27 AM

Hold everything here !!!

Dave you watched GI Joe Twice .....


Yes trailer I did, was with a girl the first time so did'nt take much notice of what was going on, so decided to watch it again (pirate copy, praise the lord!!) and it was utter sh*t!!! never saw how bad it was before, I was busy....
trailertrash writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 3:55:54 AM

Hahaha !!!

I love those kind of girls ,kudos to you my friend
Rambo writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 3:59:08 AM

I bet they'll give it to McG
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 3:59:13 AM

@Dave

Even if you weren't paying much attention the first time, if you had to see it twice you better have gotten a blow job out of it at least....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 5:05:55 AM

@herpes

Don't worry mate I got what I needed.

@trailer

thanx
shayhiri writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 6:13:23 AM

I agree.

Making a GIJoe sequel instead of a Prince of Persia one? When they both made the same bucks and Persia was a hundred times more fun? f*ck it.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 6:21:25 AM

@dave- that sentence would look funnier with the name afterwards

Don't worry mate I got what I needed.

...herpes lol

What part of england are you from dave?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 6:31:06 AM

Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 6:21:25 AM

@dave- that sentence would look funnier with the name afterwards

Don't worry mate I got what I needed.

...herpes lol

What part of england are you from dave?


@cinema

guess it would have been..lol

Essex born (Basildon), London raised.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 6:35:48 AM

prince of persia made me sick i couldn't even watch it to the end cause of jakes shoddy half c*ckney/ half bbc english bullsh*t accent.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 6:50:13 AM

Ahh no way another basildon boy there's quite a strong essex influence on wp i like it
trailertrash writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 6:59:33 AM

Us Essex boys get everywhere don't we !! Lol
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 8:14:40 AM

That's right cinema and trailer, we are like the e-boli virus, try to kill us and we come back stronger...haha
photobuckets4 writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 6:56:15 PM

gi joe wasn't that bad. It was silly and over the top and i liked it for what it was. with a new director the sequel could be good

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved