WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Stan Lee Gets Star on Hollywood Walk of Fame Today

Posted: January 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Stan Lee Gets Star on Hollywood Walk of Fame TodaySubmit Comment
Stan Lee, creator of Spider-Man, Iron Man, Incredible Hulk, and X-Men among other comics superheroes, will get a star on Hollywood Walk of Fame on Tuesday morning (January 4th, 2011), a week after his 88th birthday.

"I'm pretty proud of the fact that some of the stories I wrote so many years ago are still being read and hopefully enjoyed by the public and people are making motion pictures based on them, and television series and even a Broadway show," Lee said.

Meanwhile, Lee is also working with NHL to create 30 new superheroes based on the league's hockey teams. According to NHL, the Guardian Project is "a creative concept that organically and authentically incorporates various NHL elements but is not set in the world of hockey."

Three characters have just been revealed. The first is called "The Penguin," who has super-maneuverability, a magnetic suit, a glacial sled and ice missiles. The second is called "The King," who has accelerated healing, super strength, a force field, and a sword that creates earthquakes. The third is "The Hurricane," who has command of the weather.

Watch the NHL All-Star game on January 30th to see a preview of the characters.

The Guardians: (clck to enlarge)


Source: CNN, Facebook


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 6:20:32 AM

Excelsior!!
Eben1277 writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 6:30:09 AM

Hockey must be f*cking desperate
Monash writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 8:38:18 AM

The characters seems to be ripping off magneto/cyclops, thor/prometheus and omega red/storm
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 8:41:59 AM

Because nothing says hockey like control of the weather
jdl107 writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 8:44:57 AM

The Penguin is funny. It's like a mix of Frost, Cyclops. and like monash said Cyclops.

Haha, and that name The Penguin. It's like the "the" is what distinguishses it from the DC comics character. Still thats who came to mind when i first heard the name and I still think he should change that half-assed name.
jdl107 writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 8:51:46 AM

I mean like monash said "Magneto".

I swear to god... I just won't even go there this time.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 8:53:28 AM

I wonder if that Walk of Fame Star will try to squirm its way into cameos on Marvel franchise movies like Stan " The Hack " Lee has.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 8:54:47 AM

If there ever was a fantasy league of Celebrity Death Pool, Stan would be in that league every year ....

till his f*cking ass is six feet under, banqueting roaches, worms and ants.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 8:58:24 AM

AND CHUCK NORRIS STILL HASN'T GOT ONE!! c*ntS
Carl Erik Rinsch writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 9:11:49 AM

The first is called "The Penguin," as the other guy in the other company, "The King," who has accelerated healing, super strength, a force field, and a sword that creates earthquakes, at least you didnt call "The Wolv", and well you put him a sword and a force field, thats original. "The Hurricane," as "Storm" please Stan get new ideas rigth now, I love the work of SL but you have a lot of recicables ideas.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 10:20:59 AM

NHL superheros? FML! Wait till the NFL wants to do the same.
Ranger writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 2:57:14 PM

My understanding is, these 'stars/celebs' pay for these stars themselves. I guess one would have to research further to know if that's true, and more importantly, if I gave a sh*t.

Congrats Stan!

Nix the chatter on the Broadway thing (shhhhh....).

As for the 30 hockey superheros (yet not affiliated with hockey?)... me tinks Stan could run out of super-powers say after 5?

It is great Stan 'The Man' is being recognized. His work (combined with Kirby and Ditko) brought me a lot of entertainment growing up.

And Lindsay Lohan is a whore.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 3:13:06 PM

BadChadB33 writes: on January 4th, 2011 at 10:20:59 AM

NHL superheros? FML! Wait till the NFL wants to do the same.

@BadChadB33

They actually did that in a series of trading cards in the 90s.

Jim Lee and Rob " I can't draw feet to save my life " Liefeld did the sketches.

But it was for particular players in the NFL.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 3:15:48 PM

Marvel even had this :

NFL Superpro was a short-lived comic book series published by Marvel Comics. Produced in collaboration with the NFL and written by Fabian Nicieza, the series started publication in 1991 and ended after 12 issues. The hero of this comic is Phil Grayfield, an ex-NFL-American football player who survived a freak accident and wears a near-indestructible football uniform.

batdump writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 3:23:34 PM

sounds like a terrible idea for superheroes... as did that football idea that came about in the 90's that Max just mentioned... Jim Lee is a great artist though. anyway back on subject, Stan needs to just retire. every new idea I here from him just sounds kinda dumb.
Ranger writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 3:42:48 PM

I think they're putting the ideas in front of him... and he's the puppet these days. I hate to say it... but the truth is Stan's original stuff is from almost 50 years ago.
rocketman writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 4:06:34 PM

'motion pictures'


f*cking old school!
lostwarrior writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 5:18:01 PM

congrats stan, for when you were in your hay day, you truely were a bad ass.... and honestly even though I think this NHL thing is a f*cking joke, atleast the man still works. even if its not original.This just shows that stans work is still in demand, and will probably be for along time...
minkowski writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 5:23:30 PM

Good news for the guy that raped DC and cloned one generic mutant character into fifty.

Larry Hama should get a star instead.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 9:45:37 PM

God,

Please kill Stan Lee with a swift and mighty hand. May your vengeance on his hackneyed swilling of a talent for hamming, mugging in cameos and creating characters with strong similarities to other copywrited characters because his Altzheimers and brutual dementia is setting in, along with his Hiemie money-pinching, known for years to be legendary after his years of anally fisting and jerking off into Jack Kirby's screaming mouth.

May your mercy be lacking and your anger both strong and as severe as his melatonin-spotted, aviator shade is to anyone with decent vision, soon before they go blind trying to tear their eyes from the very sockets they lie therein.

Amen.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 9:47:21 PM

Donations towards the hiring of an assassin to take out Stan ' The Hackneyed Piece O' Turd with Toupee ' can be forwarded to Alan Moore, care of 26, Manchester ...
funseeker writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 3:43:28 AM

NHL supes, so bad it's funny. Maybe people who made transmorphers and snakes on a train will make a movie about it. Stan, go to honorable retirement, you probably don't need money for youthful pleasures, and do not ruin your name so late in the game.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 7:48:37 PM

i'm glad that he got a star but that NFL thing ... is that a joke because it's f*cking RETARDED.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 7:48:51 PM

sorry NHL.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 11:20:23 PM

Stan,

Just commit suicide (without a note to anyone), so Kirby can use his "Get out of Jail Free" card with Satan in Hell, you stingy bastard.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 5th, 2011 at 11:24:09 PM

encoreyourface writes: on January 5th, 2011 at 7:48:37 PM

i'm glad that he got a star but that NFL thing ... is that a joke because it's f*cking RETARDED.

@encoreyourface

Okay.

I'll give this one to you.

This is the same Stan Lee that SUED Marvel and yet does cameos in every f*ckING (sorry, Mink. I had to.) movie they produce now.

It's Stan " I'll sell my legend and writing skills off because I've become a hack " Lee

...

Stan, when he dies, should be found in Hell (if there is one), with Michael Jackson fisting him like his own personal sock puppet.
whoever writes:
on January 6th, 2011 at 5:35:24 AM

This reminds me of Marvels Superpro, the NFL super hero. I think it only lasted one issue.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved