WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Franco to Direct Cormac McCarthy's "Blood Meridian"

Posted: January 3rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Franco to Direct Cormac McCarthySubmit Comment
James Franco is currently attending school and is attached to no less than six projects, including a few based on books that he optioned. Now comes word that he has optioned two more books, which he plans to direct himself.

One of the films is based on the work of Cormac McCarthy, whose books "No Country For Old Men," "The Road" and "All the Pretty Horses" have all made it to the big screen. The novel is "Blood Meridian" and Franco is in the process of making a deal with producer Scott Rudin to write and direct the film in 2012.

Plot: Based on historical events that took place on the Texas-Mexico border in the 1850s, it traces the fortunes of the Kid, a fourteen-year-old Tennessean who stumbles into the nightmarish world where Indians are being murdered and the market for their scalps is thriving.

The other film that he will direct is based on William Faulkner's "As I Lay Dying."

Source: Showbiz411


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 8:35:50 PM

Man, they're going to whore the hell out of McCarthy, aren't they?

But I bet Franco can direct this film with one arm tied behind his back.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 9:03:33 PM

All things considered, at least he isn't trying to dry out all the life's blood out of a Louis Lamour tale. Yet.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 9:05:11 PM

Plot: Based on historical events that took place on the Texas-Mexico border in the 1850s, it traces the fortunes of the Kid, a fourteen-year-old Tennessean who stumbles into the nightmarish world where Indians are being murdered and the market for their scalps is thriving.

Uhmmmm, so this is a reversal of years of "Bad injuns. Just been scalpin' all de' womenfolk." ?
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 9:09:08 PM

@Minkowski - Or with an arm chewed off, for that matter.
minkowski writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 9:11:27 PM

At least Mcormac got right the historical correctness of who introduced scalping to who, unlike most of every Western ever made.

"All things considered, at least he isn't trying to dry out all the life's blood out of a Louis Lamour tale. Yet."

No. Louis Lamour did enough of that himself, starting with his second book.

You'd think Lamour would have taken the hundreds of publishing rejections he experienced as a sign he wasn't born to write, but apparently he certainly subscribed to the notion of "you only fail when you quit".
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 10:31:59 PM

Blood Meridian is one of McCarthy's best works. Epic, violent, and dark as hell. I hope Franco has the chops to pull it off; direction and casting of the 2 leads are both going to be integral. It would be great to see this story done justice in the way that No Country For Old Men and The Road were.
Rodan writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 2:03:29 AM

Wow that is a hell of a way to make your directorial debut. I hope he can pull it off. I haven't read the book but I've been anticipating the movie for a long time.

And regarding Louis L'Amour, the only book of his I've read is "Last of the Breed" and I loved it. But from what I understand that might have been his only book that wasn't a western so I guess it wouldn't be representative of his others.
vaodsi writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 3:40:53 AM

I thought tod fields (little children) was making this! di he drop out?
THIS BOOK IS AMAZING one of my all time faves and, in my opnion, much better than the road and no country... however it will be tricky to film as there is a lot of full frontal nudity, homoeroticism and (spoiler alert) a climax involving a gay rape. It's a brilliant book though. Riddley scott tried to do it but it fell thru and he dubbed it "unfilmable"
vaodsi writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 4:27:59 AM

AND OH MY GOD! AS I LAY DYING?
Franco is taking on AMAZING literature. He has not even proven his directing skills yet. And he's already adapting pulitzer winning material!
He better be good is all i say cause those are two of my favorite books of all time!
If anyone should direct faulkner it should be terence malik.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 4:52:50 AM

What are you guys talking about? Franco already made his directorial debut with a movie he wrote also, "Good Time Max"...I loved it, I was also high as f*ck
ilovemovies82 writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 5:25:34 AM

I really like Franco. He seems like such an adventurous guy who is up for anything that is exciting and challenging. I hope he succeeds as a director.

For the record, I've loved all 3 films based on Cormac McCarthy's books. That includes All the Pretty Horses which Billy Bob Thorton directed and Matt Damon starred in. It's one of the most underrated movies of all time. I would love to see the original 4 hour version of the movie some day, though I kind of doubt that is gonna happen unfortunately. :(
HideousSecretion writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 8:33:16 AM

Will Franco be in it? I can't stand his creepy child molester smile.
LeeMaca writes:
on January 8th, 2011 at 8:58:31 AM

I didn't know he was directing movies this dudes got his hands in everything just now

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved