WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"True Grit" Becomes Highest-Grossing Coen Brothers Film

Posted: January 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"True Grit" Becomes Highest-Grossing Coen Brothers FilmSubmit Comment
There were no new wide releases during the weekend, so "Little Fockers" ended up taking first place again with over $26 million. It has now grossed $103 million domestically, which is more than it's $100 million budget, and will likely make over $300 million in worldwide ticket sales.

The real story is "True Grit," that once again took second place with $24.5 million. It has now grossed $86.7 million domestically on a $38 million budget and has become the highest grossing Coen brothers movie ever, beating "No Country For Old Men," which earned $74.2 million.

"Gulliver's Travels," meanwhile, landed in eighth place again with another $9.1 million. The film's domestic total is only $27.2 million, but it managed to take first place internationally with $24 million.

Click here to read our "True Grit" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 7:20:40 PM

only 50 Million More and Gulliver's Travels will be back on track. Its okay Jack Black you need about 5 more big flops to catch up to Eddie Murphy.
trailertrash writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 7:22:31 PM

Fockers gets over the $100 mill mark, Great De Niro may get his wish for more Fockers after all.

Up side Least there won't be a Gullivers pt 2
Schwasted writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 7:52:21 PM

I've seen True Grit 3 times so far! It's gonna have serious competition when Cage's Season of the Witch comes out...

I'm completely joking.
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 8:11:11 PM

@Schwasted
I hope the "ive see true grit 3x" is truthful tho lol I saw it last week and loved it. Definitely worth checking out in theaters if you already haven't. Damon is simply a scene stealer and somehow the Cooen Brothers made Berry Pepper a fantastic actor. Also, Brolin's character couldn't of been a bigger c*ck sucker... he was in the movie for about a whole 10 minutes lol
VDODSON writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 8:14:00 PM

Great movie, I would also bang the female character regardless of the fact that she is underage, dont judge me.
Ted Mosby writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 8:23:28 PM

@VDODSON
well then I bet you enjoyed the Matt Damon spanking her scene lol
Rambo writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 8:28:33 PM

season of the wig will top next week.
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 9:15:16 PM

It was a good film watched it last night ...
All of the actors put in some good performances
VDODSON writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 9:48:10 PM

Ted- Why yes I did my friend, why yes I did.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 10:07:32 PM

Jack Black and Seth Rogen can eat a d*ck!!! True Grit was awesome, defiantly buying that on DVD
Schwasted writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 10:08:51 PM

I doubt Season of the Witch will beat True Grit next weekend. True Grit has the opportunity to take the top spot and beat Little Fockers if that fails to hold as well. In the long run, I won't be surprised if True Grit makes more as well over the course of its run.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 11:24:10 PM

I'd ask how TRON was doing but its lack of mention speaks volumes. I just saw it and can totally understand if it is bombing at the BO. That film was a complete waste of time and money.
sm00th_eskimo writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 2:28:58 AM

I cant wait to see this movie. Getting up early to go watch it!!!!
Rambo writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 3:31:33 AM

@sacdaddy

completely agree about Tron.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 3:41:49 AM

I just wanna f*ck Blake Lively and Olivia Wilde, is it too much for a man to ask?

Oh yea, box office is cool too I guess...
trailertrash writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 5:43:23 AM

RIP

Pete Postlethwaite

A real shock ..
j-man writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 6:14:10 AM

r.i.p pete postelthwaite!!!!!!!
AYT BALL writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 6:16:09 AM

Just Watched True Grit, great movie! ......and Pete Postlethwaite has died :-(
rocketman writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 6:26:54 AM

Pete Postlethwaite RIP
rocketman writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 6:35:09 AM

An amazing actor and had the best drunk nose in hollywood/yorkshire.
His best performance for me was and still is as Orbadiah Hakeswill in Sharpes company,f*cking top
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lgGhytOiuxM
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 7:31:41 AM

I still haven't seen True Grit (the Coen version), but will rent it when it comes out on DVD. As far as Gulliver Travels and Little Fockers ? Well, they'll make fine drink coasters, since they can soak up anything (including the bullsh*t it took to make them).

Rest in Peace, Mr. Postlethwaite.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 10:36:39 AM

Saw True Grit yesterday and it was good

Glad to see a good western again

Wish there were more of them coming out
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 1:24:00 PM

Crazyhorse writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 10:36:39 AM

Saw True Grit yesterday and it was good

Glad to see a good western again

Wish there were more of them coming out


@Crazyhorse

I agree, but Westerns aren't a big commodity these days as they were, even in the 70s (due to their social commentary, much like the reinvention of horror films) ... if done in moderation, or if they are really sifting out great films to do (or even remake, while keeping the essence), then westerns have a chance.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 1:26:32 PM

I knew the Coens could handle a period piece like this when I saw O Brother, Where Art Thou ? ... they have a choreography and storytelling style that is very reminescent of late 60s, early 70s directors ... if they can close out an original story/remake like they've done with True Grit (from what I've heard from Spill.com), I will happily anticipate going back to the theater to watch their movies again.
minkowski writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 6:31:53 PM

Every film from the Coen borthers has sucked donkey d*ck. Boring, contrived pretentious sh*t from two guys that look like they suck each other off each and every night.

Only 'No country For Old Men' was decent, and only then because of the Terminator guy (Javier Dardem).

Without him, that film would've blown harder than Che on date night.

Seriously, I noticed, after looking at their filography, that every movie I couldn't either stand or couldn't finish was either directed or written by an evil Coen brother.

They just f*cking suck.

I mean, how many more children do I have to sacrifice to get rid of *these* guys?

And it's like the people that watch them do so because they're tricked into thinking they're watching something intelligent and transcendental, so they don't rebuke or reject the film(s) out of fear of rejecting their own self-worth.

One last thing: Burn After Rreading is one of the worst films ever made. You'd have to be suffering the after-effects of a massive cerebral edema to like that film.
minkowski writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 7:51:25 PM

God damn it: Javier *B*ARDEM, not Dardem, evil twin brother of Christopher Dardem.
AYT BALL writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 8:55:12 PM

@ minkowski - i like you in general but you dont half talk sh*t sometimes, the Coens know what they are doing, they dont always hit the mark, yes burn after reading wasnt too great, but there is no trickery going on to make me enjoy quality film making, each to their own though.
minkowski writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 9:06:19 PM

Please, don't use that "I like/hate you" junk on me. It's like using the New Testmant on an atheist. It's like using water to melt glass. Doesn't work. I couldn't care less whether you like me or hate me. As the Terminator would say, desire is irrelevant.

As for the Coens, the fact I cannot name ONE movie of theirs that was remotely good says legions for how much they tank, at least for me. They stink. Reek. They're a foetid stench of stale sentiments rolled up into a mile of wasted celluloid.

I can't understand, in all seriousness, how anyone enjoys their films. Please explain their appeal, if you can. Use crayons, diagrams or math even to make your case.

And it's not like they have just too much humanity in their movies, its like they have too little, along with a lack of any good ideas.

Miller's Crossing? Heard GOOD things about it, but halfway through I was masturbating.

I watched all of Raising Arizona, and immediately took a long, hot shower till my scalp and nails bled.

Fargo was the closest they ever came to snaring me, and even then, it was more because I was caught by the accents and the snow, and I just love snow. Used to be able to make a snowman where I live but that goddamned meannie Global Warming took him away...

You guys, I dunno, you're not like me at all.

Gotta have some ideas, something to make me think. I'm not just some damned Zombie waiting to be filled up like the gas tank on an old SUV.

Either a film better hit me in the mind, or the heart, or it had better be a damned good piece of set-piece actioneering, or I'm GONE.

That is all.
AYT BALL writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 9:33:07 PM

@ mink - ah you misunderstood, when i said i like you in general it was in no way an attempt to dodge a verbal lashing, why would i fear that? no i do infact think your a bit of a condescending prick as a person, but do enjoy reading some of your posts, you take the time to put your points across in depth and usually have a little humour in there, hence "i like you in general". Take that as a positive (and yes im well aware you dont care etc. Nor do i).

You heard good things about Millers Crossing because its a great movie, maybe tommy guns turn you on? cant explain the need for you to spank it half way through, but what ever floats it for you.

Not that i think you will listen but i would recommend going to see True Grit, they seem to have gone back to the book rather than the John Wayne version, Bridges nails it, if your a fan of him its worth seeing for that alone, but the young girl in it steps up too. Even Matt Damon shows a new side. But they do a good job of capturing the quirky side of human nature, think thats what i like about them, theres always a dig at the way we are toward one another. Sometimes the quirky aspect goes a little too far, Rasing Arizona...meh.....but True Grit is a quality movie, like i said each to their own and if you dont rate the Coens after seeing it then fair enough, just not for you i guess. But i would highly recommend it, and its not often i can say that these days.
Mister Leary writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 10:56:03 PM

@AYT
Mink is an action fan who has an opinion about how much other movies suck compared to the films he likes. The same goes for everyone else. We all judge movies based on how they compare to what we like. That being said. I myself go for action/scifi/comedy most of the time but for some reason I love almost every movie the Coen bros. make. I can see why some people don't enjoy their movies though. They can be a tad off-beat and slow to get to the point at times.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 9:04:08 AM

Coen Bros are the only real directors/writers left in Hwood. They almost nailed everything they've produced so far, and they even managed to direct a remake that was BETTER than the original (a feat almost unheard of in Hwood these days). You'd also be hard pressed to find another direct or writer that has succeeded in as many genres as the Coen Bros. Westerns, action flicks, rom coms, literary adaptations, classic mythology, film noir, gangster films, etc. They've done it all (except horror). Got mad love and respect for them!

How can anyone not like Miller's Crossing? Its the best Irish gangster film ever made! A pure masterpiece of cinema in every way imaginable. LOOK IN YOUR HEART MINK!!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved