WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Colin Farrell Almost Quit Acting After "Alexander"

Posted: January 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Colin Farrell Almost Quit Acting After "Alexander"Submit Comment
Colin Farrell is now getting in shape for the upcoming "Total Recall" remake, but he was considering quitting acting after his "Alexander" film bombed in theaters and was trashed by critics.

The 2004 epic, directed by Oliver Stone, grossed $34 million domestically on a $155 million budget, and is currently carrying a 16% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

"That was tough. I was going to walk away from acting," Farrell explained. "I couldn't even buy a packet of cigarettes without feeling like I needed to say sorry to the guy behind the counter just in case he happened to see the thing."

Things got worse for the actor after "Miami Vice," directed by Michael Mann, also flopped. "I just completely fell to sh*t on that one," said Farrell, who managed to turn his life around after a stint in rehab.

Source: WENN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 6:45:38 AM

I think he came back with 'In Bruges'. He's still one of my personal favorites.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 7:04:34 AM

I can understand the "Alexandar" one, but I thought "Miami Vice" was good, it ahd the Micheal Mann feel to it.

I also loved how it wasn't a "how they got together" story like some of the other Hollywood TV-MOVIE transfer (I'm looking at you "Starsky & Hutch")
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 7:05:55 AM

ahd= had

Guess my New Years wish for an edit button isn't coming true.
rocketman writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 8:00:21 AM

One trick pony...blah blah i'm Oirish blah blah i loik ta get pissed blah blah.f*cking cartoon.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 8:25:08 AM

I woulda
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 8:28:39 AM

And Im suppose to feel sorry for him
elrei writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 9:27:21 AM

Wait hold it right there.. Miami Vice was Directed by Michael Mann?... didn't know that...
LeeMaca writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 10:00:35 AM

lol you made me miss......
BigUnit writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 10:11:19 AM

what seemed like a smart move on paper, to work with both Oliver Stone and Michael Mann, i dont blame him for wanting to be apart of those films and for those films not working out. who wouldnt want to work with those directors and who would have thought it would have been both there worst movies. Maybe it was for the better though becuase now collin farrell is saposidly sober.

ps loved In Bruges
Rambo writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 10:13:53 AM

I'm glad he feel sorry for those horrible movies, especially 'Alexander' which almost made me vomit from disgust.That being said,I think he is a good actor that fits to certain roles like the ones in 'phone booth' and 'in bruges'.
He does not fit to leading masculine roles such as 'Alexander' and the remake of total recall which will flop,you dumbass!
SaulSilver writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 11:07:00 AM

Funny, because I almost quit watching people act after Alexander. Not even Rosario Dawson's tits could save that movie.
rabid writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 12:15:15 PM

He left out that horrible Phone Booth movie. That's the one he should've been ashamed of.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 12:27:30 PM

If they went back to the cutting room and spliced a continuous loop of Rosario Dawson's funbags flopping up and down and labeled it THE TRUE DIRECTORS CUT, maybe it would've done better.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 1:29:03 PM

I remember a sh*tload of ppl walked out of Alexander in a theatre like 15 ppl no lie,they were all grossed out on the gay scenes i walked out too never finished that sh*t.

WEll COLIN after Totall Recall BOMBS you can make your transition to gay porn

Phone Booth was only funny cause kiefer sutherland kept torturing this little queer

Michael Mann shame on you how can you go from heat to miami vice and put farrell and jamie fox in the lead well that was your answer it bombed.Maybe if you would of put Russel Crowe it would of been good
VDODSON writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 2:15:34 PM

Miami Vice was pretty good, haters gonna hate.
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 3:01:45 PM

You can go to rehab for being a sh*tty actor? Didn't Jared Leto quit acting after Alexander, to be in that super gay band?
minkowski writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 3:07:33 PM

"Colin Farrell Almost Quit Acting After "Alexander""

That's nothing. People almost quit watching movies after Alexander.
minkowski writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 3:13:54 PM

"I also loved how it wasn't a "how they got together" story like some of the other Hollywood TV-MOVIE transfer (I'm looking at you "Starsky & Hutch")"

Throw the loosely conceived and horribly contrived A-Team on the pile of crap while you're at it.

And IMO, Farrell was the worst thing about Phone Booth. His constant over-acting and whining, bitching look at me I'm a p*ssy deliverance just got on my nerves. Best, best part of that film was The Voice, played by Kiefer Sutherland.

As for Miami Vice, he played a douchbag with no concern for the case or his partner. He was a selfish prick, like in most films he appears in, and it hurt the film, which wasn't tanking along to begin with, with it's slipshod script that acted like it was better than other action films, better even then other Mann films like Heat and Collateral, even though, in reality, Miami Vice was a few islnads of middling action stranded in a sea of cinematic navel-gazing meditation.
minkowski writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 3:46:36 PM

islnads =islands
Ranger writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 4:06:38 PM

Almost isn't good enough Bro.

It's like he's admitting to failing to quit.

WTF?!
minkowski writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 4:20:47 PM

I think he failed enough in Alexander, so maybe he kept acting just to put the brakes on his 'failings'.
minkowski writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 4:32:12 PM

..which paradoxically caused the failings to keep piling up...
Aaron writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 7:59:26 PM

"I couldn't even buy a packet of cigarettes without feeling like I needed to say sorry to the guy behind the counter just in case he happened to see the thing."

hah. He gets points for that.
AYT BALL writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 8:26:49 PM

Well In Bruges redeems him all by its self, but throw ontop of that the likes of Intermission, Tigerland and yes, Miami Vice and i think all is forgiven from me.

I agree with Mink that he played a bit of a prick in Miami Vice but i think that was the modern day take on a womaniser like Sonny Crockett, thought it was classic Mann, not his best but still a good movie.

And as BigUnit pointed out, working with Oliver Stone on such a big project probably seemed like a safe bet, but lets face it, the real life Alexander was a bit of a nancy boy, smart and led a good army, but as camp as christmas! so it was never gonna be too easy to make the money back on that one, the studios should have known better.
telur writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 3:38:43 AM

His best acting is with Nicole Narain called Sex Scandal. So i know his penis look like.
snoop writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 3:58:38 AM

Damn, we were so close. Hopefully he has another dry spell and we can piss him off for good.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 1:53:44 AM

Miami Vice's final shootout scene had abysmal cinematography, it looked like an Asylum movie! No, wait, I take that back... it looked like BEHIND THE SCENES FOOTAGE from an Asylum movie!!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 12:22:04 PM

@mink- You do make me laugh up on that high horse sometimes Best,

"best part of that film was The Voice, played by Kiefer Sutherland."

Classic. Your obviously extremely clever but bitter at the same time what happened mate?


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved