WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

20th Century Fox Passed on "24: The Movie" Script

Posted: January 1st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
20th Century Fox Passed on "24: The Movie" ScriptSubmit Comment
Back in April, Kiefer Sutherland revealed that screenwriter Billy Ray (State of Play, Flightplan) had finished the script for a movie based on the "24" TV series. Now comes word that 20th Century Fox read the script and passed on it.

"I was disappointed [Fox] passed on the script, but I'm certainly hopeful that the movie will get made at some point," said producer Howard Gordon. "I do think there is more life in Jack Bauer."

Gordon went on to say that Tony Scott (Top Gun, True Romance, Enemy of the State) has a way to approach the feature film and is considering directing it. "As far as I know, [the movie] is in suspended animation," he said. "There is talk about re-approaching it. I understand Tony Scott is meeting with Kiefer to talk about ideas. People are still talking about it."

Click here to read more about "24: The Movie."

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
adamXmarshall writes:
on January 1st, 2011 at 7:12:22 PM

Are the writers for 24: The Movie psychic? Cause how did they know that's what the movie's percentage is going to be on Rottentomatoes.com?
darthraige writes:
on January 1st, 2011 at 7:43:55 PM

Fox's head must be a c*nt! f*ckin' Hollywood bitches.
SaulSilver writes:
on January 1st, 2011 at 8:02:44 PM

To quote Jack Bauer himself....
"DAMMNIT!"
SACdaddy writes:
on January 1st, 2011 at 8:08:29 PM

Man, a 24 movie plot should be pretty easy to come by. Just put Kiefer in a room with a team of writers, strap them to their chairs, and have Kiefer beat a script out of them. Give him a nice thick dictionary and let him go to town! I'm sure once the blood starts flowing so will the words.

I'm still stupified that Hwood will greenlight Saw 20 or another Twatlight circle jerk, but they won't OK an Anchorman, A-team, or Zoolander sequel, or a 24 film. FU Hwood!!!
jdl107 writes:
on January 1st, 2011 at 8:55:16 PM

Never even seen this show. But... It did have to do with alot of action right? From what I've seen yeah. Tony Scott doing this might put some interest in this for me.
spider-man writes:
on January 1st, 2011 at 9:10:51 PM

I am a huge fan of the original (and I am in no way emo, this film came out when I was a kid) but a sequel? I dont know what you can do with it and not make it suck. And also the guys joking around about why carter is in so many of his movies? you kno there dating and basicly a common-law marrige right?
Man in Black writes:
on January 1st, 2011 at 9:28:45 PM

@ SAC - that is the best pitch for a movie hollywood has heard in a while, id green light it .
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 1st, 2011 at 9:52:52 PM

I am not really a fan of "24" but I can see where you are coming from sac, Hollywood is a f*cking joke!!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 1st, 2011 at 10:52:36 PM

My new resolution : Never to trust 20th Century Fox ever again in making a decent movie.

Well, nice of them to keep that resolution.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 1st, 2011 at 10:55:12 PM

DaveThePhotoGuy writes: on January 1st, 2011 at 9:52:52 PM

I am not really a fan of "24" but I can see where you are coming from sac, Hollywood is a f*cking joke!!

@DaveThePhotoGuy

Not even a good one at that.

Like a Carlos Mencia joke. Read off by Dane Cook. And stolen by Robin Williams.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 1st, 2011 at 11:01:00 PM

Gordon went on to say that Tony Scott (Top Gun, True Romance, Enemy of the State) has a way to approach the feature film and is considering directing it. "As far as I know, [the movie] is in suspended animation," he said. "There is talk about re-approaching it. I understand Tony Scott is meeting with Kiefer to talk about ideas. People are still talking about it."

For a minute there, I thought they said the movie is "stop-motion animation" .... then I thought, " Tim Burton loves 24 ? Who f*cking knew ? "
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 1st, 2011 at 11:13:59 PM

I hope this movie is done right!
Rambo writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 12:17:11 AM

Nice to see some producers still reject scripts from time to time and not accepting junk like 'yogi bear' etc.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 12:51:14 AM

Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on January 1st, 2011 at 10:55:12 PM

DaveThePhotoGuy writes: on January 1st, 2011 at 9:52:52 PM

I am not really a fan of "24" but I can see where you are coming from sac, Hollywood is a f*cking joke!!

@DaveThePhotoGuy

Not even a good one at that.

Like a Carlos Mencia joke. Read off by Dane Cook. And stolen by Robin Williams.


@max

Carlos Mencia is a comedian!!!??? Guess you do learn something new everyday.

And Dane Cook should be sued under the trades descriptions act..for claiming to be funny.

nicholas56 writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 3:15:33 AM

god damn motherf*ckers in hollywood and at sh*t turd fox
rocketman writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 8:04:22 AM

I've just 'passed' something.
rabid writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 11:40:53 AM

The idea of a 24 movie makes me want to puke. The only people I know who like that show also watch Nascar.
SACdaddy writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 12:57:34 PM

Just started rewatching Season 7 (2nd to last) this morning and I couldn't stop for 4 hours. Jack's already talked sh*t to a US Senate Commission, doubled-crossed his partner, KOed his "boss" (no one controls Jack), interrogated his best friend, discovered a mole in the FBI, and killed several terrorist. All in 4 HOURS!!!

You can't tell me they can't come up with a 2 hr film when they hammered out 1 hr episodes every week that put to shame most current full length action box office releases. Let Kiefer write the f*cking script and get those cameras rolling DAMMIT!!!
minkowski writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 2:40:01 PM

It's a great show, and unlike what Rapid 'thinks', it's not just for NASCAR-watching rednecks.
minkowski writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 3:49:03 PM

rapid=Rabid.

And the script was rejected weeks ago. Old news. Didn't WP already report on this so-called news? I think so. And no one cared then.

For me, I just want season 9. f*ck 24 hours jammed into two. Not that I wouldn't watch it, but it won't be the same and I doubt would have the same constrained sense of humming tension found in the better seasons like 2, 5 and 8.
minkowski writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 3:51:04 PM

"The idea of a 24 movie makes me want to puke. The only people I know who like that show also watch Nascar."

Yes, but only knowing gays who watch True Blood doesn't make you an impartial appraiser of 24.
rabid writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 11:03:40 AM

The entire show is ludicrous. The first season was decent while 9-11 was still fresh in people's heads. But terror-phobia was the only reason most people tuned in to watch it. It doesn't take long to realize how sh*tty the show is written.

True Blood may be full of werewolves and trannies, but it's at least got an intriguing plot, and hell, even the politics are more realistic.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on January 4th, 2011 at 6:03:02 AM

24 is tied with Lost as the best tv show of all time. If they ever make the movie, it WILL be the greatest movie of all time too! Jack Bauer is the greatest hero ever! As much as I love James Bond and Jason Bourne, Bauer puts both of them to shame!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved