WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Javier Bardem is Top Choice for Stephen King's "The Dark Tower"

Posted: December 31st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Javier Bardem is Top Choice for Stephen KingSubmit Comment
About a week ago, director Ron Howard (Da Vinci Code) revealed that he is considering Viggo Mortensen for the role of Roland Deschain in the upcoming big screen adaptation of Stephen King's "The Dark Tower," which is being adapted by Akiva Goldsman (A Beautiful Mind, I Robot).

Now comes word from NY Post that talent agents are doing everything possible to get their clients the lead role in what promises to be a blockbuster film and TV franchise. And while Mortensen is a contender, he's second on the short list of actors vying for lead. At the top of the list is Javier Bardem (No Country For Old Men).

Howard and Goldsman are planning for the first film in the trilogy to be immediately followed by a TV series that will bridge the second film. After the second film, the TV series will pick up allowing viewers to explore the adventures of the protagonist as a young man as a bridge to the third film and beyond.

Source: NY Post


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
sc_kg writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 6:50:56 AM

I rather see Viggo Mortensen or Hugh Jackman, but well... I guess Bardem could deliver as well. I'm not his biggest fan but as long as the movie is made...
Farradin writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 8:36:35 AM

Bit miffed by the choice myself?!
SACdaddy writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 10:57:03 AM

Viggo, Olyphant, or Hamm is a better choice for Roland IMO, but who am I to argue with the author. Considering the time that King started working on the series (during his college days), Clint Eastwood had to be the biggest influence on the characterization of the Gunslinger. So why not just go with an actor that can channel the same presence and demeanor as Eastwood? Olyphant has already showcased these qualities in Deadwood (and about everything else he's done). Viggo has portrayed everything from a Conquistador to Strider from LOR (a piece literature which had to be another big influence on the Dark Tower). Javier's sour depressed face might fit the part, but I doubt he'd fit the fantasy world the DT series is usually based in.
Rambo writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 11:21:23 AM

I'm still waiting for an alternate 'no country for old men' ending act.those last 20 minutes were crap.
Captain Bennett writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 11:21:58 AM

I like Bardem, but NO. He doesn't look like Roland to me (or to anyone who read the books). Just f*cking surprise us already and give the role to Tom Hanks. f*ck Opie!
rabid writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 11:39:52 AM

How does he not look like Roland?
He's tall. He's the right age, and his hair could easily grow grayer with each sequel.
trailertrash writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 12:49:15 PM

Will wait and see Stephen King's top 10 favorite actors to play Roland Deschain list before i pass any judgement ......
Ranger writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 1:41:12 PM

Guy still scares the crap outta me from No Country...

trailertrash writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 1:55:20 PM

Yeah he was good in that (as was everyone else) and I didn't mind the down beat ending either.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 2:22:50 PM

I f*cking hate Ron Howard and Akiva Goldsman...add in Obama and you got the top three most desirable assassinations in my opinion
minkowski writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 4:08:35 PM

You guys, arguing over whether he loooks like Roland or not, are forgetting that only three of the seven books were worth a damn, starting with the first and descending from there in quality (from good to abysmal to unreadable)

You're also forgetting that Ron "Better looking than Mask, my brother" Howard is directing a film that should naturally go to Frank Darabont instead. He is, after all, the only guy to turn King works into film masterpieces.

Youre also forgetting that the moron who wrote 'I, Robot', who trashed some of the better sci-fi into a Will Smith porno shoot, is writing the screenplay, sure to be set more on the Marvel graphic novels and less on the books.

But hey, let's argue over whether Mortenson with dyed hair has the better look or not, Or everyone's stock favorite to play anything (Hamm) because we all know whoever they get to play Roland will decide if the movie stinks or not.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 6:43:17 PM

Javier Bardem is Top Choice for Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" ....


Only if he can wear a bowl haircut, dress like a gay cabalerro and carry a airgun, connected to a canister.
rabid writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 7:40:36 PM

I was never a huge fan of Gunslinger anyway. It's good stuff for sure, but I think the scope of it was a little beyond Stephen King's capabilities.
I hate that bastard scriptwriter for destroying I,Robot... but Dark Tower is going to need a bit of compression to fit each book or two into a movie.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 11:53:10 PM

Seriously Rambo, to each his own. But I didn't think it was that bad IMO.

Haha... to each his own. I guess thats where it stays.

... Hmm.
jdl107 writes:
on December 31st, 2010 at 11:58:10 PM

Good point Mink, why the f*ck didn't they tap Frank for this role.

I must say, I Robot was gay... I'm not a big fan of Ron Howard (save for A Beautiful Mind), plus I heard his Dan Brown adaptations were pretty... well, from what I've heard it ranged from "Okay" to "sh*tty". So, from the start I always wondered why. I heard these books were f*cking great so you bringing up Frank makes me wonder why they aren't trying class acts with this.
funseeker writes:
on January 2nd, 2011 at 3:43:10 AM

First time ever i hope the book ending is getting changed. Damn how disappointed i have felt when books ended in a ...
Tyrkae writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 6:40:17 PM

Bardem as Rolands Dad but my question is who will play the rest of the cast (man in black,Eddie Dead,Susan)?
seveltoto writes:
on November 7th, 2017 at 9:32:05 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved