WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Duncan Jones Wants to Direct "World of Warcraft" Movie

Posted: December 29th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Duncan Jones Wants to Direct "World of Warcraft" MovieSubmit Comment
Sam Raimi (Spider-Man) has been planning to direct a "World of Warcraft" movie for quite a while, but then abandoned it in favor of directing "The Wizard of Oz" prequel.

Now, Duncan Jones (Moon, Source Code) has revealed that he would love to step in to helm "Warcraft." He said: "I'm hugely jealous of Sam Raimi. I really believe 'World of Warcraft' could be the launch of computer games as good films. And from the little I've read of interviews with him, the way he's approaching it makes so much sense. It's what I was talking about it's not worrying about how the game plays, it's about creating the world of the game and investing the audience in that world."

While there is no doubt that Raimi will remain as a producer, there is no word that he'll want to direct "Warcraft" after "Oz." This gives Jones a chance to take over, especially since he's a big gamer and a huge fan of Blizzard. "I love everything Blizzard is doing," he explained. "I can't wait for 'Diablo 3.' I played through 'Starcraft 2.' I've been playing a lot of 'Call of Duty: Black Ops' lately. I stay up all night playing games. In the day I'm working and at night I play games."

Source: Badass Digest


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 7:07:19 AM

Never played Warcraft , Would it make a good film series ?
SeWerin writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 7:15:28 AM

World of warcraft story - no? But if they would make it based on Warcraft 3 strategy game - it could be good (sort of like Star Wars with orcs, elfs and undeads). Still it's too large material, and there is no chance that this movie will work.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 7:31:00 AM

I really don't mind who directs World of Warcraft. I just hope they learn from the mistakes made by those Einsteins that directed Dungeons & Dragons years ago ....

Damon Wayans as a f*cking elfish thief ... yeah, right ...
Sinestro writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 8:40:07 AM

It would be reminiscent to LotR, It's basically a bunch of warring tribes and kingdoms coming together to fight a larger threat, while still remaining cautious (paranoid/hostile) with one another. It would be interesting to see visually, although as a film it will undoubtedly favor the human side of the struggle.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 9:32:21 AM

Personally i'd love to see a Dragonlance movie done LOTR style.
Rambo writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 10:24:49 AM

great idea considering the huge success of previously 'based on a video game' movies...
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 11:17:05 AM

@ Duncan Jones

If I find you in black ops your ass is mine
AYT BALL writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 11:42:21 AM

yep, will be looking for jones in black-ops lol

But i think hes a good choice, never played the game but did see a friend of mine playing it, looks pretty vast, maybe hard to translate but much rather see a talented director thats a true fan of games to have a crack at it
SeWerin writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 12:31:07 PM

Slow down guys....we still need to see Mr. Jones handling the action in his movies
gunner writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 12:42:49 PM

Never bothered to play this trash game!
rabid writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 12:52:02 PM

It's not a trash game. It's actually one of the best games ever created, with 12 million accounts and about 4 or 5 million people online playing at any given time.
It defintely deserves a film, but it's only going to achieve epic status if it gets a bank-busting budget. I'm not sure anyone is going to throw Duncan Jones a bone that big.
AYT BALL writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 4:18:29 PM

@ Rabid - I agree about him maybe not getting the budget, but lets not forget, the director of Brain Dead and Bad Taste went on to make The Lord of The Rings Trilogy! lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 4:33:16 PM

AYT-

Bad Taste god damn i haven't seen that in years , Jackson as Derek lol.
Champ1432 writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 5:15:06 PM

I've never played the game either, but from what I've seen of it, not sure it would be able to set itself apart from LotR. On the other hand, maybe they wouldn't want to set themselves apart.

Like anything else, it will need a good story. And a huge budget definitely wouldn't hurt either, as others have said.
gunner writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 5:49:55 PM

There are much more bad ass games than this nerd crap. I mean the first picture that you get when someone mentions the word World of Warcraft is a nerd playing this piece of crap in his mom's basement.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 6:59:31 PM

WoW is for people entirely detached from reality. Anybody that spends as many hours a day as WoW demands needs to find a 'life'.

Besides, WoW is hardly much in the way of a story-based game. It's more about dateless guys pretending to have magical powers to compensate for their lack of influence in the real world.

And it is different from LotR, but it's still just another fantasy RPG. Might as well make a game on EverQuest instead.

Or hey, how about Sims the movie? Or Second Life the movie? Why not? We're already down the sh*t to film route, so lets see far this dark road goes.
rabid writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 8:14:34 PM

I've seen some people waste their entire lives playing that game, but its only a testamonial of how much fun it is... or what boring lives some people live.
I played it casually for a few months, but I had plenty of time to waste and it was a fun way to hang out with friends whose wives wouldn't let them off the leash. Any MMORPG is going to take serious time to play out the full story.
WoW has a decent background plot, but I'd much rather see a film based on Diablo. I know they had a script for it a couple years back.
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 8:38:11 PM

I wasn't implying you have no life, Rabid.

On the other hand, I have known people, quite close to me, who allow games like WoW to consume their entire existence, morphing from vertebrate mammals to slack-jawed, glass-eyed jellyfishes with bad body odor.

I can't say I've ever found myself terrible addicted to games, especially not a MMOPRG. The closest I've ever come to addiction was three occasions, separated in time by years.

1. In 1996, I played the SNES game Chronotrigger for three days straight.

2. in 2001, I played the PS game GTA 3 for days and weeks, taking all the time a consummate virtual criminal would want by vicariously blowing up cars and cops alike.

3. in 2006, I played HL2 for less than two days, until I completed the game, only to find out the damned thing was open-ended with endless episode installments.

I just can't imagine, though, spending days playing the same junk. I get physically ill sitting behind a computer for too long, so I can't even begin to imagine doing the same with a game like WoW, though I admit it's a testament to how boring and monotonous the modern world is for young men that they must to vanish behind the screen into a world of make-believe just to feel free and experience adventure.

As for other games I'd like to see turned into films, well, Half Life is definitely one. I think you could even use The Mist as a tie-in, at least thematically. Just kidding. Sort of.

And speaking of mists, you have Myst and Riven, two games with excellent visuals that would translate into a decent franchise if given good stories.

There's also the Cmmand and Conquer franchise, which certainly doesn't lack a strong adversarial conflict premise, a necessary element that good films often, if not always, possess.

I think what I would like to see, and this is just an idea, is a Tron-type game, but instead of gay light-cycles, the characters could take their conflict across several video game genres.

Basically, I imgaine a film where 'pro' gamers get sucked into the virtual world of video games, finding themselves fighting across numerous levels and worlds that thematically echo well-known and popular FPS games like HL, Halo, Battlefield, COD and others.

I think if done right, not only could you have a very popular franchise, but you could even have a video game based on the franchise, which might sound exploitative, but I think there's something appealing about closing the creative circle with respect to film-game nexus that currently commercially exists.
gunfighterii writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 9:23:30 PM

As a controlled WoW player (meaning i both have a life and spend 2-3 hours a day on the game) i can see a decent trilogy being made from the games rich story
i can see Warcraft 3 being made into 2 films, Arthus's journey to the dark side and the 3rd of his fall, there are way to many possible stories to be shown....
Either way if we get the forsaken and Tauren in it with classes i'd be happy....
Be much happier with Zelda trilogy though tbh
minkowski writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 9:47:31 PM

You know damned well they'd f*ck up Zelda, so don't even mention those games. Like I want them sh*tting all over A Link to the Past...
gunfighterii writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 11:17:32 PM

tbh i dont think ameture game fans count as a proper Zelda film production >_>
i'd make the trilogy each film based on the 3 stones (Ocarina of time)
rabid writes:
on December 30th, 2010 at 12:57:19 AM

The Chinese curbed their WoW addiction by adding a time limit. After 5 or 6 hours you couldn't level up or make gold until you logged off for a couple hours.

I'm currently immersed in Mass Effect 2, and it's the most well-concocted series of games I've ever played. It's been draining my free time for two weeks.

I don't want to see a Zelda film. I only ever played the original NES versions, so I only remember the characters as pixels.
What I would like to see is a SuperMario Bros film that doesn't blow. There's some untapped potential there, and people have mostly forgotten that first wretched attempt.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved