WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Lead Actress Quits "Spider-Man" Musical After Concussion

Posted: December 28th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Lead Actress Quits "Spider-Man" Musical After ConcussionSubmit Comment
One of the worst things that could have happened for the most expensive Broadway play is to have anything go wrong. "Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark" has had nothing but problems, which include plenty injuries and now dealing with the loss of the lead actress, who just left the production.

Natalie Mendoza suffered a concussion during the musical's first preview performance last month and now that a fourth actor has been seriously hurt (skull fracture, broken scapula, broken bone close to his elbow, four broken ribs, bruised lung and three fractured vertebrae), she has decided to quit before something far worse happens.

Mendoza played Arachne, a spider villainess who plays a part in Peter Parker becoming Spider-Man and who becomes obsessed with the superhero. Much of the Act II story revolves around Arachne, who delivers the musical's title number and sings on five other songs.

What this means for the production is yet to be seen, but it has already been delayed several times and many doubt that the show will ever be able to make its money back, especially with all the negative reviews.

Source: NY Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 15 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on December 28th, 2010 at 6:10:41 PM

Is Max Bialystock producing this?
Rambo writes:
on December 28th, 2010 at 6:12:11 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1c8DdHKsp_g&feature=related
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 28th, 2010 at 7:27:31 PM

Lead Actress Quits "Spider-Man" Musical After Concussion ....

awwww, what's wrong Natalie ?

Can't take a little nock to the ol' noggin ?

Aren't you a professional ?

Am I going to walk around and knock you in the head once in a while ? Sure, because they havent' worked out all the logistics behind this spectacular nightmare of a show ... but in the middle of a scene ? Absof*ckinglutely! Then why the Holy Mother f*cking aren't you just braving right through ? Ah-da-dah, like this isn't an every day occurance. What the f*ck is up with you, you c*nt ? What the f*ck don't you get through that unconscious, fractured head ... what don't you f*cking understand ? You got any f*cking idea how f*cking long it takes to work out all the f*cking kinks we did plan for in the first f*cking place, hey, it's f*cking distracting having some f*cking diva whine out "Oh, my head hurts! " from behind my lines in the middle of a f*cking scene ? Give me a f*cking answer! Owwwwhhhh isn't a f*ckin' answer! What don't you get about it ?


Natalie : I need to get to a hosptial. I think I'm bleeding.


Me : Ohhhhhh, goody two shoes, f*cking you! And why is that ? I hope it was f*cking painful, because now the scene is f*cking useless now, isn't it ?

Natalie *holding head and vomiting blood* Oooooooh ...ooookay.

Me : f*ck's sake, bitch! You're f*cking amateur. Hey, stage director, you've got f*cking something to say to this c*nt ?
Ranger writes:
on December 28th, 2010 at 8:46:12 PM

Hey Natalie, c*m and visit my headboard. You'll be f*cking RUNNING back to your Spiderman gig!
Ranger writes:
on December 28th, 2010 at 8:47:39 PM

As for the person that suffered: skull fracture, broken scapula, broken bone close to his elbow, four broken ribs, bruised lung and three fractured vertebrae...

Who the f*ck is handling safety for this production... SHANNON PRICE?!?!
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 28th, 2010 at 9:48:28 PM

Jesus will this ever get off the ground? gotta be the worst show in history.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2010 at 9:50:43 PM

The show was doomed from the outset. Poor set and costume designs, horrible dialogue and story, and so on.

This was no Rogers and Hammerstin for sure.

And then all the predictable bad reviews began pooring in, some of them either far too kind but still negative or far too unkind, but in the end the result was the same: decline and destruction.

I might expect that the actress in question deliberately initiated her injuries just to get out from under the musical's stench of a reputation. She might have felt that was the only way to escape further ruining her career.
Dark writes:
on December 28th, 2010 at 9:53:35 PM

Sony, you f*cking c*nts. I hope you all burn in hell for what you did to one of my favorite characters. I f*cking wish the MGM curse on you f*cks. BURN IN f*ckIN HELL MOTHER f*ckER! BURN IN THE f*ckING HELL!
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 28th, 2010 at 10:18:38 PM

Dark-tell me how you truly feel bro.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 28th, 2010 at 11:05:14 PM

Mendoza played Arachne, a spider villainess who plays a part in Peter Parker becoming Spider-Man and who becomes obsessed with the superhero.

I read SpiderPud as a kid. When the f*ck did a spider 'villaness' ever make him SpiderPud ? I thought it was the bite of a radioactive spider!

Stan " Gotta cameo ? If so, I'm available " Lee, where the f*ck are you regarding this sh*t ? Probably waiting in the wings for his famous " Transvestite Aunt May in an Iron Lung " Scene.

I heard they have a "scare off" where the villians due a whole runway thing in front of the audience. Is this a f*cking musical or a fashion show for the stupid ?


f*ck this thing with Kirby's massive Jewish c*ck.

Till it bleeds.
bacci40 writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 12:13:26 AM

when stan lee first approached kirby to create a teen super hero, kirby reached down into his archives and found a story about a boy who gets spider powers from a magic ring

lee liked the spider power bit, but didnt like the magic deal...wanted to ground it in cold war reality...like the hulk...and the radioactive spider was born.

50 years later and some douchebags on broadway decide to reinsert the whole magical thing...having peter be bit by a magical, spider female villain...

the way i hear it, the entire second act sux balls

broadway reviewers are nice....they usually wait till after the show has run for a day to give out their reviews...and they dont ever review previews

but as these previews are gonna run for 2 months...and they are still charging regular run prices (almost 300 bux for an orchestra seat)...and they dont seem to be making any changes to the play itself...the reviews have begun to trickle out...and they all stink

now the show may be review proof...cuz like in movies...people want to see something different..but the show still sux
darkraven28 writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 1:34:00 AM

"f*ck this! Can't you bring me back in Descent Part 3 in the f*cking hospital? I've got the bed and gauze ready for free, YOU f*ckS!!"

The previous statement, overheard in Ms. Mendoza's hospital room.
otis writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 2:25:30 AM

I can say after seeing this myself that Mendoza is making the right move here. Things will only get worse before they get better, so getting out ahead of the inevitable chaos is a good idea.
I really wanted it to be good because Broadway needs revitalization or else it'll become washed up like Lohan.
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 4:50:32 AM

I'd be feeling pretty Lohan if I was the poor sucker that put up the $65 million to have this cluster-f*ck produced.
rabid writes:
on December 29th, 2010 at 12:58:17 PM

They introduced a character very similar to her in the comics a few years back. Spidey found out that his powers are actually totem parst of some mystical web of life, and this spider-villainess impregnated Spider-Man and gave him new venomous powers.
The storyline was so horribly lame that it took a 3 year-long complete reboot of the Spider-Man to wash the bad taste out of everyone's mouth.
Of course she sounds exactly like whats needed for a disasterous Spider-musical. I wonder if this show will ever actually open.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved