WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Total Recall" Remake to Film in March with $200 Million Budget

Posted: December 24th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Total Recall" Remake to Film in March with $200 Million BudgetSubmit Comment
The Toronto Star is reporting that Pinewood Toronto Studios has secured around $35 million to help the facility attract big-budget movies to be shot in Toronto.

And the studio has just secured the biggest movie ever to be shot in Toronto, which happens to be the remake of "Total Recall" that has a price tag of $200 million. It is set to begin filming in March with Colin Farrell in the role made famous by Arnold Schwarzenegger in the 1990 original.

The new remake, to be directed by Len Wiseman (Live Free or Die Hard, Underworld), is based on a story by Philip K. Dick about a victim of mind-tampering who buys a dream vacation from a company that sells implanted memories and winds up on Mars, fighting a demented despot.

Source: The Toronto Star


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 52 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
wonderBOY writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 4:49:03 AM

I dont see a 3 or a D together in the article
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 5:13:49 AM

wonderBOY writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 4:49:03 AM

I dont see a 3 or a D together in the article


@wonderBOY

Just hope you haven't spoken too soon.
heelswin writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 5:18:11 AM

$200 million

starring who? Colin Farrell


AHHHH HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAHAH'

repeat after me box office BUST
Kurskij writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 5:21:17 AM

200mil budget again?

Robin Hood - 200mil

TF2 - 200mil

Rapunzel - 200mil

New Alien - 200mil

Tron - rep. 200mil

Do they like the f*cking number so much they don't care if the movie has a chance to make a profit anymore?

I remember good-old times when you heard about a proposed 200-250mil budget and thought "f*ck! Now that I want to see! It's going to be epic!"

That was the case with "War of the worlds" and Spider-man 2.

Today Stephen Sommers and Rob Cohen are given 175mil budgets and we can actually have a 200mil Colin Farrell movie! Really, Hollywood?..
Rambo writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 5:21:41 AM

Colin Farrell proved to be a box office poison in recent years('Alexander' anyone)so I don't really understand what are they thinking...this will flop for sure.
Pig Newtons writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 5:29:08 AM

$200 mil bet on Colin Farrell?

FLOP.
trailertrash writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 5:43:23 AM

As you guys have said already $200mil budget WTF

The 1st Total Recall With Schwarzenegger in it only took about $250mil W/W.

I dont mind Colin (in the minority on here i know) but he's no Arnold , not even close.
trailertrash writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 5:44:16 AM

^To carry a big action movie is what i mean
trailertrash writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 5:47:27 AM

Kurskij -

At least How Do You Know's budget wasn't $200mil......

That was only about $120mil for a rom-com and it's took about $11mil so far , Good call Hollywood.
thomas deadison writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 5:59:07 AM

Colin Farrell is the least worrying thing about this news. If you don't like him, see IN BRUGES. That movie's genius.

I'm not on bored with the budget any more than I'm on board with Len Wiseman directing. Just give it back to Cronenberg who abandoned it in the first place and let him do his version.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 6:00:12 AM

@tt

I'll join that group, don't mind the Farrel man, some films he is bad in but he generally gives a good performance, maybe he should stick to low budget stuff, whenever he is in a bg pic he seems off the boil.

Have you seen the gangster film he is in with Knightley and Winstone?

Heard it was ok.
trailertrash writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 6:08:47 AM

dave -

I don't mind the guy Just watched The Minority Report again great film and he was good in that.

London Boulevard no i missed it only came out end of November and it's gone already.

Same as you though i heard it was pretty good and Ray is always watchable.

Thomas- That was a very good movie...
masht7 writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 6:35:26 AM

I just hope they won't show those three tits in this remake.
wonderBOY writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 6:56:04 AM

Ive heard it isn't set on Mars
jigsaw23 writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 7:14:12 AM

i heard that too.

get your ass to mars.
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 8:30:51 AM

Can anyone direct me to a Colin Farrel movie that he made worth watching
Kurskij writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 8:47:57 AM

Colin Farrell can be good, even great when he isn't overacting. And he ususally does.

He is good in Pride and Glory, In Bruges (though Fiennes steals the movie - "You've got to stick to your principles" - classic), he saved "Phone Booth" from being a total disaster in my book, Triage, Cassandra's Dream, Tigerland - he was good in those. Looking forward to London Boulevard.

But 200mil Colin Farrell movie? Either someone is totally f*cking insane or Che is now a head of the studio and is aiming Colin's sweet irish ass.
Kurskij writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 8:53:24 AM

@tt

If it cost 100 I could've seen some logic: the studio wanted it to perform on par with "It's Complicated" plus DVD and TV-sales, VOD - they'd easily break even and gained some profit.

"We've got Reese - everybody loves Reese! And Jack - everybody loves Jack - even those who doesn't love Reese! And Paul - Paul is on the rise these days! And Owen... Well... to hell with him, but hey, we've got Reese!"

120mil James L. Brooks movie... Were they hoping for another "As Good as it Gets"? Best visual effect: Owen Wilson's nose and Reese Witherspoon's chin?
thomas deadison writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 9:42:28 AM

@Crazyhorse


IN BRUGES, CRAZY HEART, THE NEW WORLD, PHONE BOOTH.

In that order.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 10:01:53 AM

Ok, lets see what we've got here:

Arnie remake.....Strike 1

Colin Farrel.....Strike 2 (In Bruges is nothing without the midget)

$200 mill budget for a remake to a 20 yo perfect action/mindbender starring the biggest action star in film history.....Strike motherf*cking 3

YOU'RE OUT!!!

Throw all the money you want at it Hollywood, but there's no replacing Arnie and his classic one-liners "Consider that a divorce", Michael Ironside, ballbusting Sharon Stone, Bridgette the Midget, 3 titty Marsian hookers, and Quatto.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 10:04:08 AM

200 mil, with Colin Farrell? Um no, way to lose 100 million you jackasses.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 10:06:06 AM

Colin Farrel is in Crazy Heart a maximum of 10 maybe 12 minutes and you can barely understand a word he says. I'll never understand why he gets any props for that role. That film is all Mr. Bridges.
xtlhogciao writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 10:06:38 AM

Yeah, In Bruges was good.
I think we can all agree this movie is probably going to blow though. Aside from being an all around good movie, the original also had so many small but memorable characters and dialogue they can't really compete with. Johnny-Cab, the black cab driver who has (but really doesn't) kids to feed, Kwato..Kuato??,fat exploding head woman/Arnold, paper mache tits etc.
Remake the RUnning Man if they have to remake something.
xtlhogciao writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 10:06:38 AM

Yeah, In Bruges was good.
I think we can all agree this movie is probably going to blow though. Aside from being an all around good movie, the original also had so many small but memorable characters and dialogue they can't really compete with. Johnny-Cab, the black cab driver who has (but really doesn't) kids to feed, Kwato..Kuato??,fat exploding head woman/Arnold, paper mache tits etc.
Remake the RUnning Man if they have to remake something.
j-man writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 11:51:15 AM

'but colins got 6 kids to feed man, he needs the money'
rabid writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 12:25:49 PM

The original was great, but had many differences from the short story. For one thing, the movie changed his name from Quail to Quaid. And the question as to which memories are real and which are fabricated by Rekal isn't quite as distinct as in the film.
They should play off that angle and make it more confusing like Memento. And put a proper end on the film, like the short story did.

The great thing about the Total Recall tv show was that it opened up a lot more of the Philip d*ck mythos by dropping references to people and organizations from Bladerunner, A Scanner Darkly, and Minority Report. The movie could do that as well... It would be simple to make them all seem to exist on the same Earth.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 12:26:05 PM

If they ever want to metaphorically film this movie in the true and proper aspect, all they have to do is take the $200 million, pile it up in a mound, circle jerk around it, piss on it, defecate on it, c*m all over it, pour gasoliine all over it and then torch the f*cker.

All, while filming the experience.
thomas deadison writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 1:15:05 PM

I'm not convinced actors are still able to sell movies just on their popularity alone. HOW DO YOU KNOW had all the ingredients for a hit, but didn't work. Look at that Ridley Scott movie with DiCaprio and Crowe. That didn't open very well at all.

It's really not so much about star power anymore. District 9, for instance. Concept is king.
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 1:52:35 PM

Philip K d*ck: good short stories, horrible novels. And he really, really sucked at dialogue. But he had a competent hand at doing the mind f*ck thing, which is the ONLY reason he has remacause it sure as hell isn't his writing style or talent. ined popular over the years, be
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 1:56:36 PM

remacause=remained popular because.
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 2:04:55 PM

And high concept films have been king at the BO, at least since Jaws and Star Wars. There's nothing new there. The mistake in some of the failed films wasn't a lack of 'concept', though that might have something to do with it.

More to the point, it's never been enough to have high-profile actors in films, especially for rom-coms which are niche products to begin with. Look at Gigli. Two big named actors, popular, but still the film failed.

I would have to say that rom-coms are functional. They provide time with the date. Who the hell cares who's in them? Adn if there's more than one, and one of them has better word of mouth and reviews, well the other is going to tank.
minkowski writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 2:18:27 PM

Also, films tend to fail when they don't have a clear antagonist versus protagonist dichotomy. People love conflict with a clear resolution. Makes their fuzzy world a little less messy.
tino78 writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 2:45:19 PM

they should have learned from terminator. arnold remakes will not work without him. to me terminator has the best storyline for bankability and they failed. its not the same without him. plus i wouldnt carry a 200 million budget on collin farrell. even vin or the rock thats a tough call. only a one person right now i would do it with and that is will smith. i hate to say it but if he was attached then maybe it would make its money back.
tino78 writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 2:45:56 PM

on a side note i know terminator 4 wasnt a remake but i ope u get my point
trailertrash writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 3:45:11 PM

Kurskij -

Owen's Nose , sh*t i hope that's not in 3D.

And i've got something for Reese's chin all right...
pomme writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 3:51:38 PM

200 millions $ for a Len Wiseman movie????
trailertrash writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 3:57:24 PM

Got to say i didn't mind Die Hard 4.0 not as good as the others but it was entertaining.
Rambo writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 4:22:34 PM

^it was better then 2 imo but not as good as 3 and defiantly which is one of the best action movies of all time if not the best of them all.
Rambo writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 4:23:23 PM

edit:and defiantly 1
trailertrash writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 4:57:31 PM

Rambo-

Your right Die Hard is one of the best Action films of All time. The perfect balance of Action, Humor, Story and Suspense not many films get all of those things right.

I liked Die Hard 2 though, the only thing i felt some of Harlin's action scenes seemed a little bit too slow. But it's always a favorite in our house at Christmas time.
Rambo writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 5:12:52 PM

@trailer

2 was a solid action movie but it would have been much better if Mctiernan was free to direct it as it was intended by the producers instead of 'the hunt for red october'
trailertrash writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 5:31:36 PM

Agreed...

Harlin is ok, I liked Cliffhanger, Nightmare 4 and Deep Blue Sea was alright and he made a comedy The Adventures of Ford Fairlane pretty much the same time as Die Hard 2 with Andrew Dice Clay no one really saw that movie but it did make me laugh a few times.
OneTime writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 6:34:52 PM

huge mistake
mattjudge62 writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 7:51:20 PM

The original was one of my favorites to see them remaking it seems like a waste of time and money if your goin to remake a movie you should try to improve it I dont see them doing that
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 9:59:19 PM

Trailer and Rambo- Well TT knows how much I love Die Hard. But I really do like the 2nd alot, 4th was kinda blahhhh, MEW was the redeeming factor in it. don't really wanna see a 5th unless McTiernan is directing it. Nightmare 4 was my fav of that series for some reason. Always has been.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 10:28:34 PM

They certainly named this correctly. It sounds like it should be a total recall. Like a Pinto with bad breaks, a faulty crankshaft, lousy seatbelts and tires that bald easily.
tolgaboy writes:
on December 25th, 2010 at 4:23:14 AM

bullseye?????????????????? and thats it
tolgaboy writes:
on December 25th, 2010 at 4:23:14 AM

bullseye?????????????????? and thats it
BigUnit writes:
on December 25th, 2010 at 1:11:58 PM

just bought in bruges a couple weeks ago, so im actually really pumped hes getting this lead role, loved the original film, and i think colin farrell will do a fine job!
Kurskij writes:
on December 25th, 2010 at 2:51:40 PM

Btw Merry Christmas everyone! May be a little late but we don't celebrate it here.
@bigunit
Farrell may do a decent job but the project is way to expensive and if Wiseman won't prove himself to be next Nolan, which is unlikely, it will disappoint
financially.
trailertrash writes:
on December 25th, 2010 at 7:24:19 PM

BadChad-

I love to see John McTiernan have another go at making a Die Hard Movie, but with his lying to FBI, Jail time and the fact he hasn't made a movie in Hollywood since Basic back in 2003 i just don't think that will happen now.

After the 1st Elm St 3 and 4 were my favorites of the series.

Kurskij -

Really, You don't celebrate Christmas at all.. Have a good day anyway.

Everyone else have a good Christmas too .. (whats left of it)
Kurskij writes:
on December 25th, 2010 at 10:53:49 PM

@tt

We do, but it's on 7th-8th january I think... S it's after New Year.

In Russia Christmas celebrates you!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved