WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Superman" Reboot Based on "Secret Origins" Graphic Novel?

Posted: December 22nd, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Superman" Reboot Based on "Secret Origins" Graphic Novel?Submit Comment
David Goyer, the writer of the upcoming "Superman" reboot, wrote the forward for the newly released "Superman: Secret Origins" graphic novel, giving away a bit about the upcoming film.

He wrote: "There is a heart breaking moment halfway through the first chapter in which young Clark is told the truth about his heritage. He races out into the night, sobbing, stumbling through the cornfields. Eventually, his foster father, Jonathan, finds him. 'I don't want to be someone else,' says Clark. 'I don't want to be different. I want to be Clark Kent. I want to be your son'

Right there in that moment, Geoff [Johns] contextualized Superman in a way that I'm not sure has ever really been done before. I had an 'aha' experience when I read that. For the first time I was able to grasp how lonely Clark must have been when he was growing up. And what a sacrifice Clark must continually make by being Superman.

As I write this, I am midway through my first draft of a new Superman screenplay. It's a task that has stymied many talented filmmakers in the years since Donner's film. And for all I know, it will end up stymieing me as well.

But I've got one advantage that the screenwriters who came before me didn't have and that's access to all the wonderful Superman stories written by Geoff Johns first and foremost being the SECRET ORIGIN issues reprinted in the very volume you are now holding.
"

Director Zack Snyder (Watchmen, 300) recently denied that General Zod will appear in the reboot. In the "Secret Origins" graphic novel, there's also no Zod.

Click here to read more about "Superman."

Source: CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 27 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 8:08:12 PM

As the graphic novels cannabalize one another to a point, it makes sense to think the new movie pulls from a variety of sources.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 8:35:30 PM

"For the first time I was able to grasp how lonely Clark must have been when he was growing up. And what a sacrifice Clark must continually make by being Superman"

You're an idiot. You're ascribing the emotional weaknesses of a mere mortal human to a nearly-indestructible alien superbeing, and that's rather preposterous.

I mean, he can jump tall buildings, run faster than a train and eat bullets for breakfast, but his only REAL kryptonite is nights alone as Clark Kent.

I mean, the guy has TWICE the friends of normal people. He has friends as Kent, as many as he wants really, and he also can hang with the most powerful beings in the kown universe. So how the f*ck is he 'alone'?!

That whole 'alone' sh*t is just stupid. You can make him interesting to us humans without insulting my intelligence. I hope.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 8:47:07 PM

"And what a sacrifice Clark must continually make by being Superman."

Sacrifice? LMAO. Bullsh*t. He's the most powerful man in the universe, has the adoration of entire worlds, is loved by Lois Lane and countless women (and men....Che? You there?), hangs with the coolest mutherf*ckers possible and can easily do what everyone else only dreams, yet, he's 'sacrificing' himself by being 'alone' (which he is most certainly NOT)?
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 8:47:20 PM

No argument here.

This is bullsh*t.

This has already been done just fine in Reeves'/Donner's Superman (1978... look it up Hollywood).

So Clark only finds out he's indestructible when his Terran dad tells him? All those years of never feeling pain, out-running all others on the football team, they being unable to tackle him, when he rubs one out and his c*m shot goes through the wall was a shotgun slug, etc, etc... only via his foster dad does he learn he has abilities?!

f*ck off and die Hollywood... seriously! This is so Lohan it isn't even funny.

Getting inside young Supes head?! STOP MAKING THIS GUY A f*ckING p*ssy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
billofill writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 8:58:10 PM

Well Children Superman Secret Origins has Parasite, Metallo and Lex Luthor that could make for an interesting movie.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 9:00:39 PM

Agree, Ranger, and I think they are trying WAY too hard. Superman writes itself. I could do it, and so could you do, but Goyer and others can't find the f*cking forest for the trees, and you're right, they're making this guy a super-sensivitive Twilight-type p*ssy to appeal to the metrosexual teens and twats.

f*ck you Stephenie Meyer! May you burn in hell for all of eternity for f*cking up not only literary fiction but f*cking to death films for next fifty years! May you suffer hemmorhoidal genital warts and herpes for all f*cking time. Bitch. c*nt. Just die already.

I'm done.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 9:07:40 PM

"He wrote: "There is a heart breaking moment halfway through the first chapter in which young Clark is told the truth about his heritage. He races out into the night, sobbing, stumbling through the cornfields."

Even human men have more balls and backbone than this....this is something a WOMAN *might* do, but not a man.

Jesus H Christ on a crotchrocket.

Terrible writing, terrible characterization.
Ranger writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 9:26:41 PM

They're trying to humanize Kal-El... and he's an ALIEN! He's a hardened Kryptonian. He gets things done. He saves the universe, civilizations... flies around the galaxy... through suns (yellow, duh!). He's the planet mover.

Man... even if, IF this 'origins' story EVENTUALLY went somewhere. I wouldn't want to sit through 80 mines of the movie to see him kick some ass in the last 10 (even if this is a trilogy).

I want to see Supes doing supes stuff from almost the get-go.

Hollywood is really, really scared of this character. And that's funny (ie: pathetic).
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 9:35:40 PM

They're scared of Superman because he's usually masculine, and that's a big no-no for most of Hollywood. He's also America's traditional protector, and that makes him the ultimate symbol of fictional patriotism, so THATS an even bigger no-no.

f*ck Hollywood. I'd burn the place to the ground if I had the time.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 9:40:22 PM

If you don't humanize him... it won't work. It's incredibly short sighted to say "Oh he's superhuman so he's got no problems" He's an alien, who at one second is loved and the next second is hated. He's living in a world full of people he will outlive. No matter how hard he tries to assimilate he will never truly be one of us and that's extremely tough to deal with. Superman is always lonely in that regard.

Ranger you bring up an interesting point. It seems these execs at Warner Bros are almost afraid to show Superman being The Man of Steel. It's as if they're trying too hard to bring some sort of substance to the material. If only they understood they failed at that the moment they hired Zack Snyder... I think it's fine to show him kicking ass and being tough, as long as there is a narrative everyone will be happy.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 9:50:20 PM

It's one thing to 'humanize' him for the purpose of making him interesting to us lowly humans, it's another to entirely subordinate his spectacular nature in favor of making him a singular crybaby.

THAT'S the point TDK and you missed it.

And no, WB isn't afraid of the Man of Steel any more than they are afraid of Batman. That's just silly. They're simply incapable of properly grasping Superman's emotional and physical duality without fudging it up, while also pandering to as many demographics as possible.

In other words, their very jobs are interfering with the act of rendering Superman faithfully to the big screen.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 9:53:44 PM

"Superman" Reboot Based on "Secret Origins" Graphic Novel?

Couldn't give two rat's balls about it. f*ck David Goyer, f*ck Zach Snyder, f*ck Superman, f*ck the franchise and f*ck the rumors.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 9:57:29 PM

Oh Warner Bros was VERY afraid of Batman all the way until Shu's ultimate failure B&R. Warner has never been very bold with Superman either. I'd love to see the day where a gritty Superman lives on screen. Call it pandering to the demographics, which is certainly is, but there is a fear there. It's a warranted fear too. People love to make Hollywood out to be the enemy and sometimes it's warranted sometimes it isn't, but if you're throwing 200+ million into a movie, it's not crazy to want the everyone and their mother to go out and see it.

I totally get you now on that first bit. It's weird though, because in Superman Returns they spent a lot of the movie doing just as you said, but all of a sudden he's some SUPER Superman and he's lifting Kryptocontinents. There's certainly a balance that needs to be met to make the narrative and film work as a whole.
mrstretch writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 10:09:31 PM

I wonder if he will wear tight ass jeans and have gay ass emo hair. Maybe he will use his laser vision to cut himself to " let out the pain". Superbitch the man of Queer.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 10:21:18 PM

Superbitch the Man of Queer

LMAO!!!! That was pretty good man.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 10:27:24 PM

An emo Superman, ha f*ck this.
Matiax writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 11:19:21 PM

If they want to base it in a comic, I say they should take it from J. Michael Straczynski's "Superman: Earth One"

Secret Origins is too Donner/Reeve.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 11:24:40 PM

I'm with you all on this, WB is totally screwing this, I just hope this part of the script writing process.
rabid writes:
on December 23rd, 2010 at 12:57:05 AM

I'm expecting equal parts Secret Origins, Birthright, Earth 1 and Smallville. All of those handled Superman's origin in a fresher way that was still really respectful to the history.
Ranger writes:
on December 23rd, 2010 at 1:41:43 AM

@mrstretch - LOL.

@Matiax - big fan here of J. Michael Straczynski's (Babylon 5 = amazing story)... if "Superman: Earth One" you mention is the storyline people have posted on here about Earth dying due to our sun going red... I'm ALL for that story!
Mister Leary writes:
on December 23rd, 2010 at 3:12:35 AM

The unfortunate thing is that no Superman film has truly found a way to show off just how powerful he really is without being lame (time reversal....c'mon!). I think everyone agrees that we definitely do not need another f*ckin' origin tale. Just give us a decently well plotted out story and an interesting villain.
minkowski's right. This really does write itself. I don't know why the studio doesn't just have some fan-fiction contest and let some comic nerd have his day in the sun. I'm sure they could come up with something better than what the studios have been giving us.
markoz writes:
on December 23rd, 2010 at 4:12:16 AM

Wait a sec.Didn't WB lose rights to his origin a couple of months ago?
trailertrash writes:
on December 23rd, 2010 at 6:02:34 AM

Think i will just stick to watching Donner's Superman movie.

Which is still one of the best super hero movies ever made IMO
Dark writes:
on December 23rd, 2010 at 9:11:40 AM

Oh f*ck. Don't make him some emo p*ssy.
flash80z writes:
on December 23rd, 2010 at 9:21:05 AM

They are sissifying my favorite fictional character ever when he should be the definition of tough and strong. Show off his abilities, show them at full use and strength....but show them against someone/something that is his peer, it doesnt make him boring just give him the ultimate challenge.....i agree if you show that power and have him saving falling ladies, and cats the entire movie its stupid. Make him have to rise up to something elses power and strength, then.....battle royale, oh and i agree all Twilight sensitive soap opera crap should die
Anung_un_rama writes:
on December 23rd, 2010 at 10:34:54 AM

f*ck it I cant wait for a trailer this is f*ckin dumb another bloody origin story. if it stays this way my money stays in my pocket, and as what Ranger said STOP MAKING HIM A p*ssy
JohnZee writes:
on December 24th, 2010 at 1:39:01 AM

Mink not going to elaborate, but the vast majority of your comments on this thread I agree with.

Matiax, J. Michael Straczynski's "Superman: Earth One" was further in the direction that most Superman movie fans object to. Emo-Super Whiny Man. Whose just super enough to have the day saved for them and everyone else by a last minute use of a device from the alien world of Phaht...

...Sorry but Superman is not a dumbass c*nt in a green diver's costume in a movie written by Matthew Vaughn and Tits McGee.

I suggest you try reading a Superman story that won't be forgotten in nine months.

@Ranger: Nope J. Michael Straczynski's "Superman: Earth One" is the exact opposite of the Superman story you were talking about.

That's All-Star Superman written by Grant Morrison, a comic book writer that could out write J. Michael Straczynski with a rail road spike deeply embedded in his brain.

And BTW: I've heard talk that All Star Superman is getting a Bruce Timm cartoon feature length movie.

Personally there was a lot of elements to Secret Origins that was way too much Geoff Johns being conflicted as to whether he should suck Richard Donner's c*ck with wild abandon, or sucking the c*ck of the majority of writing that was done at the end of the Silver Age...The same writing that was about as crappy and as amateurish as it gets.

The same writing that had DC and Warner Bros. wondering if they shouldn't cut Superman down to one single solitary book for an extended period.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved