WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Top 10 Most Pirated Films of 2010

Posted: December 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Top 10 Most Pirated Films of 2010Submit Comment
According to TorrentFreak, the most pirated film of 2010 is "Avatar" with over 16 million downloads from torrent websites. That represents a 33% increase in download activity from last year's top-pirated film, which was "Star Trek" with just under 11 million downloads.

Many thought that 3D releases of "Avatar" would keep piracy to a minimum, but the exact opposite happened. 20th Century Fox, however, is not complaining. The film went on to gross $2.8 billion theatrically and broke records on DVD/Blu-ray.

"The Hurt Locker" ended up winning the Best Picture Oscar, which earned it a spot on the top 10 list of the most pirated movies. The filmmakers behind the film, which is the lowest-grossing on the list, are currently suing thousands of pirates.

Top 10 Most Pirated Films:

1. Avatar (16,580,000 downloads)

2. Kick-Ass (11,400,000 downloads)

3. Inception (9,720,000 downloads)

4. Shutter Island (9,490,000 downloads)

5. Iron Man 2 (8,810,000 downloads)

6. Clash of the Titans (8,040,000 downloads)

7. Green Zone (7,730,000 downloads)

8. Sherlock Holmes (7,160,000 downloads)

9. The Hurt Locker (6,850,000 downloads)

10. Salt (6,700,000 downloads)

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 28 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
buttabean writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 9:26:13 PM

That's some serious downloading.
buttabean writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 9:27:54 PM

Only movie I downloaded was Avatar in 3D because of those BS exclusives. Have to be an idiot to spend 100+ on a movie
elrei writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 9:34:00 PM

Salt? really people?
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:02:52 PM

Clash of the Titans? Wow, I'm not even gonna go there.
telur writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:07:18 PM

avatar? and this movie still no 1 box office of all time? so who said pirated download kill box office?
dhkenobi writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:09:17 PM

This list is obviously fake...who the f*ck watched Salt?
Ted Mosby writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:12:20 PM

Did anyone see Green Zone?... let alone Salt?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:50:09 PM

Really ?

Exit Through The Gift Shop wasn't listed ?

Hell, it's a movie by a renegade tagger that should've loved having it pirated.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:51:39 PM

They download Avatar the most because they don't want Cameron's succubus moneygrabber to take their money, after re-releasing it, and re-releasing it, and re-releasing it ....

I'm beginning to suspect this is tied into that Mexican truck raid months back.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:54:18 PM

BadChadB33 writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:02:52 PM
Clash of the Titans? Wow, I'm not even gonna go there.

@BadChadB33

Allow me to do so for you.

The downloads, after a CSI-style investigation turned out to be from four downloaders :

1. Che

2. VDodson

3. Jake_Awesomeness

4. Mustache Rider

Mainly, they downloaded several copies in case : (A) Their computer crashes, after using DIVX to watch the divx.avi files and also they can't afford man on man, bear porn.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:56:30 PM

Ted Mosby writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:12:20 PM
Did anyone see Green Zone?... let alone Salt?

@Ted Mosby

I saw the high-definition, red band trailers and figured out the plots.

Does that count ?
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:57:45 PM

@Max-Good call. Makes sense. I dont even wanna know what they did during their sleepover after they watched that.
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 11:04:40 PM

lol.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 11:34:32 PM

BadChadB33 writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:57:45 PM
@Max-Good call. Makes sense. I dont even wanna know what they did during their sleepover after they watched that.

@BadChadB33

Even those freaky f*cking partners, Adolph Hitler and Eva Braun, would see their sexual travesity and say, " That's pretty f*cking sick. And we've seen char-broiled Jews roasted on an open fire, you f*cks. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 11:47:06 PM

Char-broiled Holocaust victims, Blue Na'vis and Sam Worthington : walking, talking drywall :

Who says you can't have it all on this thread ?
jigsaw23 writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 12:41:41 AM

Ted

green zone was boring i from the trailers i was expecting a bourne like movie
SaulSilver writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 1:14:41 AM

Who the f*ck wants to Pirate Avatar???
I couldn't possibly think of anything worse than watching Avatar on a tiny computer screen. It's only redeeming factor was the awesome visuals in the theater or on Blu Ray.
charmed23 writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 2:04:18 AM

I feel bad for Kick-Ass. It wouldnt have lost that much money had those ppl actually paid 2 c it
Rambo writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 2:52:17 AM

and I thought 'ass to mouth 17' will top the list...
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 4:49:33 AM

It looks like more people watched pirated copies of Kick-Ass than watched it in the cinema! (Which is a shame because Kick-Ass was indeed kick-ass!)
z03fke writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 5:18:49 AM

Am I the only one who has not seen avatar? ;)
AYT BALL writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 8:42:56 AM

lol if only all those geeks that downloaded kick ass went to see it....shame
rabid writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 9:26:44 AM

I download a lot of films, but I saw most of those in the theater. Other than Hurt Locker, all of them were excellent films.
I wish Kickass had performed better at the box office too, but I think the problem was marketing. The tv commercials were so sanitized that most people seemed to think it was a film for children. No worries because its one of the bestselling dvds of the year.
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 1:14:59 PM

@ Max and BadChadB33 LOL!
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 1:17:54 PM

actually I was unfortunate to pay to see Iron Man 2
not even worth pirating
mally writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 3:05:15 PM

Was thinking what Max had said.

Exception is Inception and KickAss. Pretty solid films. Other than that, this looks like a top 10 list of movies you don't want to pay to watch.
Bandwidth well wasted vs money well wasted.
LeeMaca writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 6:43:54 PM

and yet not one celeb sex tape yet another let down of 2010
LeeMaca writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 6:45:19 PM

@ Max lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved