WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Ron Howard Considering Viggo Mortensen for "The Dark Tower"

Posted: December 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Ron Howard Considering Viggo Mortensen for "The Dark Tower"Submit Comment
Back in September, Universal Pictures announce that it has acquired the rights to develop three films and a TV series based on the seven novels, short stories and comic books from "Stephen King's "The Dark Tower" and has hired Ron Howard (Da Vinci Code) to direct and Akiva Goldsman (A Beautiful Mind, I Robot) to write the script.

Now, in an interview with LA Times, Howard revealed that he is considering Viggo Mortensen, Hugh Jackman, Daniel Craig and John Hamm for the role of Roland Deschain, adding that he's aware that Mortensen is a fan-favorite.

Howard and Goldsman are planning for the first film in the trilogy to be immediately followed by a TV series that will bridge the second film. After the second film, the TV series will pick up allowing viewers to explore the adventures of the protagonist as a young man as a bridge to the third film and beyond.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 7:03:30 AM

Sounds good, if only Stephen King new how to end a book i wouldn't expect disaster in the last 20 minutes of each film
SACdaddy writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 7:06:57 AM

Viggo is the PERFECT choice for Roland.

Jackman and Hamm aren't bad either.

Daniel Craig would be a TERRIBLE choice for the Gunslinger but might be the perfect choice for the Man in Black.

If Viggo wasn't available the next best perfect fit would be Timouthy Olyphant. He's got the perfect look and demeanor for Roland or the Man in Black.

I'm just happy to finally hear someone has the balls to attempt a Dark Tower series. Its not an easy task to say the least.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 7:49:24 AM

Is Peter Mayhew going to reprise his role as the Tall Knight? And they better still have Derek Griffiths singing the theme song! Oh, wait, that was Dark Towers...
SeWerin writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 7:55:03 AM

I love Viggo, but when i read Dark Tower, i've always imagined that Roland is played by William Fichtner. He fits perfectly!

Look at this face. Badass

http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:Lv3rH9ohJTI78M:http://i220.photobucket.com/albums/dd32/tballinger/acteur_william-fichtner_1246694890_.jpg&t=1
Farradin writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 8:16:50 AM

Didn't he say he was gonna quit acting after Good?
Trip Maverick writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 8:17:43 AM

It makes Sense since Roland is basically Aaragorn and Clint Eastwoods man with No name merged together.

Big_Daddy writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 8:28:08 AM

@cinemaisdead

or an alien invasion of some kind
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 8:49:45 AM

haha or a huge spider monster, or they all grew up
The Man writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 9:48:25 AM

I thought the producers of LOST, had the film rights to these books???

Ron Howard....oh fu@*....here we go....more leftist crap, why not just get James Cameron.
sc_kg writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 9:50:14 AM

Jesus Christ. If this comes true, I'll be in heven. He's an awesome actor, and perfect.
sc_kg writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:14:54 AM

Hope "Wolves Of Calla" will be turn into seperate movie.
mrstretch writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:16:29 AM

Iif only clint eastwood was younger
Eben1277 writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:32:11 AM

Great call on Olyphant being the perfect second choice Sac. He had a lot of that Eastwood charisma in Deadwood.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 10:57:06 AM

I was wondering about this movie. This could be good.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 12:16:23 PM

Him and Akiva Goldsman have ruined every franchise they touch

I really loved all the Robert Langdon books and especially the entire Dark Tower series…and I can deal with the first two sh*t Dan Brown movies he produced, but “The Lost Symbol” is one story I hold dear to my heart and the Dark Tower franchise…I don’t even know how I can express my love for that.

And the fact that Ron Howard, who I’ll admit at one time long ago had a vision for something special; is attached to these projects just angers me as a fan.

I’d go so far as to say that the only reason that Ron Howard’s sh*t production company is adapting them is because it’s obvious that there is a market for them and Stephan King sells the rights to his stories for only a dollar each hence the title dollar-baby. What a f*cking assh*le Howard is

I don’t even have to say that I hope these movies fail because I know they will, it’s unfortunate it’s turned out this way

On the plus side, Viggo is a pretty cool mother f*cker, History of Violence was sick
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 12:17:09 PM

WHAT!!!! NO CHANNING TATUM...there clearly not looking for a serious tone
Dark writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 1:56:42 PM

HELL f*ckING YEAH!!!
Tyrkae writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 6:43:03 PM

Sorry guys but it HAS to be Clint Eastwood 30 years ago but i can see Viggo as a good pick
and i tried to look up John Hamm on IMDB, is it the was it The john hamm that was in the Animation Department for Thong Girl 3: Revenge of the Dark Widow?
trailertrash writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 7:05:27 PM

Tyrkae - It's Jon Hamm not John Hamm miss spelling there by WP
rabid writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 8:17:42 PM

Viggo is a great choice, but I thought he quit acting to be a photographer?
Flav writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 6:26:14 PM

Viggo is da man! He was awesome!
shadowfax845 writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 9:55:42 PM

i still don't know if ron can pull this off.

but with viggo, i just might believe it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved