WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros Comments on Finding "2001: A Space Odyssey" Footage

Posted: December 21st, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros Comments on Finding "2001: A Space Odyssey" FootageSubmit Comment
A few days ago, it was reported that Warner Bros found 17 minutes of edited footage from Stanley Kubrick's "2001: A Space Odyssey" in their salt-mine vault in Kansas. Kubrick reportedly cut the footage from the final cut due to pacing issues.

Now comes word from the studio that they have known about the footage for the last 42 years and have never considered putting it back into the film.

"The additional footage from '2001: A Space Odyssey' has always existed in the Warner vaults," said the studio. "When Kubrick trimmed the 17 minutes from '2001' after the NY premiere, he made it clear the shortened version was his final edit. The film is as he wanted it to be presented and preserved and Warner Home Video has no plans to expand or revise Mr. Kubrick's vision."

Yes, a studio actually cares about a director's vision. But hopefully we'll get to see the deleted footage in the bonus material section on a future Blu-ray re-release.

Source: Hollywood-Elsewhere


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Taco writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 7:46:24 AM

Thank god! It's long enough!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 8:04:29 AM

Do the chickens have large talons?
Lowryder writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 12:31:57 PM

Tina! u fat lard come get some dinner! haha
vaodsi writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 3:26:00 PM

warners is so much classier than fox, disney, etc. and they have two of the most prominent franchises... harry potter and Batman...
but i realy spoke way too soon since they are looking to continue batman with jon cena... Unclassy pricks! lol
but seriously that is really cool.
billofill writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 3:35:43 PM

vaodsi which rumor is true? the John Cena bull sh*t or the TV show continuation of the movie franchise ? My bet? Neither.
trailertrash writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 4:53:30 PM

Damn that movie is 42 years old !!

Not that great a movie IMO in fact found it a bit of a snooze fest same as i did Clockwork Orange.

I like Kubrick though, But movies like Dr Strange Love, Shinning, Spatacus and Full Metal Jacket.
Ranger writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 6:11:39 PM

@tt - nice post. An honest opinion without having the slam the movie.

I agree... 'snooze-fest' is right. As I posted before... the saving grace of this movie (to me), is how well the special effects and foresight went into this movie (artificial gravity, zero gravity, etc.). And you can't beat HAL for being a crazy (man put his life into a computer gone wrong hands) computer.

What are you doing... Dave?
I can't let you back in... Dave.

Daisy... D..a.is.y...
trailertrash writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 6:44:56 PM

Thanks Ranger

I would never be disrespectful towards 2001, even though it wasn't my cup of tea, The effects back in 1968 must of blown people away.

And Kubrick was a genius behind the camera
and most of his movies has influenced many of the top film makers working today one way or another.
trailertrash writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 6:46:12 PM

*have influenced ...
Eben1277 writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 1:43:23 PM

I agree with 2001 one... but disagree with Clockwork.. That movie I love.
trailertrash writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 3:43:30 PM

Eben-

I really will have to watch that film again i guess, it's been about 25 odd years since i have seen it.

I got a copy from America when it was banned here in the UK and when i watched it , i was like what the hell was that all about. It was a little left of centre to say the least.

I like Malcolm McDowell and all i can remember him doing is beating that guy to death with what looked like a giant c*ck !! LOL

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved