WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tony Scott to Direct "24: The Movie"?

Posted: December 20th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tony Scott to Direct "24: The Movie"?Submit Comment
Assignmentx caught up with producer Howard Gordon, who revealed that 20th Century Fox is moving forward with a "24" movie, based on the popular TV series starring Kiefer Sutherland as federal agent Jack Bauer.

Unfortunately the studio has rejected the script written by Billy Ray (State of Play, Flightplan), which "wasn't the right proposition. It wasn't strong enough or compelling enough for the studio to move ahead with it."

Gordon added that "Top Gun" director Tony Scott is in talks to direct the film. "The rumors are that Tony Scott has an idea that he is going to run by or has ran by Kiefer Sutherland," he said. "I don't know what the status of it is."

Click here to read more about "24: The Movie."

Source: Assignmentx, Moviehole


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 6:32:18 PM

Season 8 was an awesome series ending. Looking forward to the film. Not interested, though, in Scott taking the reins. His camerawork is frenetic and poorly paced. It just doesn't work.

But if can bring in a script FOX will accept, one that has the right tone, sounds good to me, although I'm in a little doubt as to how they're going to do the real time thing with two hours and still keep it within a 24 hour period.

Of course, they could just call it 2: The Movie, but some might confuse it with the sequel to that Jet Li crap movie The One.
AYT BALL writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 6:35:44 PM

Used to love Tonys work back in the day, Beverly Hills Cop 2, True Romance etc, but these days he seems to be just making the same movie over and over, its a shame, think this would be a major step down, love 24 but a movie would never work.....goes against the whole concept
minkowski writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 6:42:19 PM

Yeah, but I'd like some 'closure' on Jack. Either go out happy or die. I think he deserves the first, but the masochists at FOX will never let it happen.

And Jack would eat Bond, Bourne and Hunt for breakfast.
trailertrash writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 6:50:01 PM

Still got season 7 & 8 to watch, Seem to run out of steam in season 6.

But i would still like to see a film made though.

And if Scott directs will Denzel be in there somewhere, maybe as the bad guy .....
trailertrash writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 6:50:57 PM

And Jack would eat Bond, Bourne and Hunt for breakfast

haha , He sure would !!
minkowski writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 6:56:53 PM

Eight is one of the best yet, tt. It was a f*cking slam smash from beginning to end, better than 5 IMO. Awesome. He does the Die hard thing and he does the Heat thing, and kills lots of people in ways you might not even imagine, like the guy he guts. Only one guy could waste Jack and that's f*cking Rambo.

And 7 is bad ass too, but not as good as 8. Six is just the low point of the entire series. Trust me, it gets WAY better.

But bring on the fags that hate action. We know they have something to say.
trailertrash writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 7:16:03 PM

Good to know Mink the 1st couple of seasons were the best TV i had seen in years, I will be watching those soon..

What ever happens in the movie, Jack need to be kicking ass and torturing the bad guys pretty much in every scene.

And the movie would be a winner for sure.
minkowski writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 7:26:19 PM

Yeah, here's the thing about season 8...he doesn't so much as 'torture' them as he slaughters them, especially after a certain event pretty much drives him, well, insane. Think: a mini-season 2 after about ep 17 or so.
trailertrash writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 7:48:34 PM

Nice !

It's a shame the show has ended now,Think I would rather see season 9 than a 24 movie.
minkowski writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 7:58:02 PM

Yeah, season 9 amd a return of Tony!
velocityknown writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 8:16:45 PM

Season Six was gawd awful.
Seasons One through Five were pure excellence in television making.
Seasons Seven and Eight were a good return to form, but a good example of why the show could only go on for so long. The show used to thrive in its twists and turns, but by the end of those season, you saw them coming from a mile away. Still damn entertaining (more so than a lot on TV), but they could never recapture the early season magic.

I don't like Tony Scott directing this though. I think Michael Mann would do a really good job in adapting the show's style to the big screen since his style is already Bauer-friendly.
minkowski writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 8:24:48 PM

Michael Mann is a damned good filmmaker for sure, but he has a toosympathetic portrayal of the 'bad' guys, though he did do Miami Vice (tv). He's style is more languid though, but that's to say I don't think he could write aen entire season. Best to bring back the main writers and let him direct.

Having said that, the problem with 24 was a a lack of original plot elements. Every season was pretty much the same thing in different clothes, not that that was a bad thing, but how many moles can geti into CTU/FBI every season? It's not realistic, even given the years between seasons.

Still, for those that haven't seen 8, do so, if you're a 24 fan. One of the best season in a long time. I throw it up there with 5 and 2. Top best three for sure.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 9:07:52 PM

That would be an awesome movie if it can be made.
telur writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 9:14:49 PM

so what the movie title? 90 minutes?
bman writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 9:51:19 PM

Antoine Fuqua would be a better choice to direct the 24 movie. Training Day, Tears Of The Sun, Shooter, and Brooklyn's Finest are all good movies. He can bring the grittiness and realism that 24 needs, and not over the top action sequences eye candy that you get in a Tony Scott movie.I also like to see stephan Gaghan of Syriana or Jeffrey Nachmanoff of Traitor to write the script.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 10:15:27 PM

Get ready for 20 speed shots, a lot of saturated color and chopping down of the plot to cram as much f*cking action as you can get into 2 hours.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 10:16:29 PM

Since this is called 24, for laughs they oughta bring in a cameo of lame Eddie Murphy and psycho Nick Nolte as their characters from 24 Hours.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 10:18:18 PM

trailertrash writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 6:50:57 PM
And Jack would eat Bond, Bourne and Hunt for breakfast

haha , He sure would !!

@trailertrash

A male federal agent eating three male spies in a movie ?

Is this an action movie or a porno ?

*joking*
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 10:27:28 PM


minkowski writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 6:32:18 PM
Season 8 was an awesome series ending. Looking forward to the film. Not interested, though, in Scott taking the reins. His camerawork is frenetic and poorly paced. It just doesn't work.

But if can bring in a script FOX will accept, one that has the right tone, sounds good to me, although I'm in a little doubt as to how they're going to do the real time thing with two hours and still keep it within a 24 hour period.

Of course, they could just call it 2: The Movie, but some might confuse it with the sequel to that Jet Li crap movie The One.

@minkowski

Real simple on that thought. They should get the screenwriter(s) who worked on Casino Royale (the James Bond reboot) to work on it. They did a marvelous job of stripping away (no pun intended) all the gadgets, the poorly quipped puns (the ones the movie seemed a bit stale, but not as bad as the ones they had written for poor ol' Roger Moore) and the sexual tension that was part of the carte blance of the FILMATIC Bond and went back to the source material ... in the novels, Bond was never a really warm guy. He was all business and he didn't mind getting his nose busted (or breaking the arm of the bad guy), provided in the end the results served the fullest to "Queen and country".

They need to do the same with Jack. Not make him into Bond, of course. But show those parts of Bauer that you (and fans of 24) loved about him and the series. Not over the top it. Keep him very grounded. And if they do, it will work in spades.

Biggest obstacle ? Fox itself. Which is quite surprising, since they went from a considerable player in the 70s, when it came to fast and frentic action to ... well, to Fox as it is now. They have an incredible television division (not counting their "news" shows) that churns out shows that are willing to take a risk that may not hold their own to cable (Sorry, but I've seen episodes of Lie to Me and I just love Terriers better. Sorry Tim Roth), but certainly are more bearable than most of the dreck the "Big 3" churn out on a regular basis (ex : The Event ? Trauma ? )... but their movie division ?

They sure as sh*t need to never do a Wolverine : Origins leak and debacle as they did. Ever again.

And with 24, they have a serious chance.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 10:35:28 PM


minkowski writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 8:24:48 PM
Michael Mann is a damned good filmmaker for sure, but he has a toosympathetic portrayal of the 'bad' guys, though he did do Miami Vice (tv). He's style is more languid though, but that's to say I don't think he could write aen entire season. Best to bring back the main writers and let him direct.

Having said that, the problem with 24 was a a lack of original plot elements. Every season was pretty much the same thing in different clothes, not that that was a bad thing, but how many moles can geti into CTU/FBI every season? It's not realistic, even given the years between seasons.

Still, for those that haven't seen 8, do so, if you're a 24 fan. One of the best season in a long time. I throw it up there with 5 and 2. Top best three for sure.

@minkowski

I can sort of agree with you on Michael Mann. My take is a bit different in regards to his film style.

He's too asthetic. He lingers on scene shots that are colorful and from a choreographic standpoint are beautiful, but he's more true to those guys who film the car commercials in which you can see the High Definition of the waterdrops when a Lexus (or a Mercedes) skids into focus.

His villians ? Yeah, in Miami Vice, they were Tony Montanas if they all went to child therapy from a very young age. Too adjusted and not enough maladjusted. If nothing else, 24 needs psycho-terrorists along the lines of Sir Lawrence Olivier's character in Marathon Man, with a dash of The Star Chambers judges thrown in, for mystery.

In regards to the same theme week after week ... well, with any successful show, they probably planned those things months in advance, but the theme was the same ... terrrorists. You could just as easily say the same thing about the Sopranos being about mobsters, Big Love being about polygamy and Mormonism or Deadwood being about the Wild West and the days before the Industrial Revolution.

And each arguement would be equally justified.
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 10:44:55 PM

hell yeah, if Jack dies it needs to be by Tony Almeidas bare hands.
SaulSilver writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 12:27:44 AM

We miss you Jack.
Rambo writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 1:01:48 AM

my fav season were 4,5 and 2.
Rambo writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 1:41:09 AM

and I guess we can expect in this movie a train and denzel washington?
SACdaddy writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 6:52:55 AM

Big 24 fan, used to be big fan of Tony Scott. Now I feel he wouldn't right for this job. Too much high gloss and shaky cam for a 24 film. I'll take whoever directed season 2 or 3 of the TV series.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 7:27:04 AM

Waiting for the 24 movie is like the writers' strike delay all over again. DAMMIT!!
Mr. Blonde writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 1:07:40 PM

As a fan of 24 who has seen all 8 seasons, I think Tony Scott could Direct a good 24 movie. I don't have any hangups over the title of the movie being called 24 and condensing into a 2 hour movie. As long as they can tell a good story, remain faithful to the characters and history of the past seasons (with some degree of success X-Files Fight the Future was able to do this when they transitioned from TV to big screen). I thought Scott's Man On Fire was intense as it portrayed Denzel as an ex-CIA type who becomes hell bent on finding a missing girl he was originally hired to protect. Creasy (Denzel) showed lots of Bauer qualities and demonstrated great torture interrogation skills. Over the years, Scott has developed an MTV stylized way of filming - which I admit can be overdone. I think Scott needs to tone the visuals down several notches and return to a more old school approach like he did for Crimson Tide which was a tense thriller.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 1:07:41 PM

As a fan of 24 who has seen all 8 seasons, I think Tony Scott could Direct a good 24 movie. I don't have any hangups over the title of the movie being called 24 and condensing into a 2 hour movie. As long as they can tell a good story, remain faithful to the characters and history of the past seasons (with some degree of success X-Files Fight the Future was able to do this when they transitioned from TV to big screen). I thought Scott's Man On Fire was intense as it portrayed Denzel as an ex-CIA type who becomes hell bent on finding a missing girl he was originally hired to protect. Creasy (Denzel) showed lots of Bauer qualities and demonstrated great torture interrogation skills. Over the years, Scott has developed an MTV stylized way of filming - which I admit can be overdone. I think Scott needs to tone the visuals down several notches and return to a more old school approach like he did for Crimson Tide which was a tense thriller.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 1:09:02 PM

Sorry for the "double tap" to the head. I got so excited I submitted comments twice.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 2:22:14 AM

Season 7 is my favorite season because I loved Tony Almeida's whole arc. And Jack getting exposed to the bio weapon was some great stuff. Plus Larry and Renee were great characters. Annie Wersching and Jeffrey Nordling were utterly fantastic. Plus, you got Jon freaking Voight who was awesome.

Season 5 is my second favorite season. Charles Logan is the best villian ever! That said, I absolutely loved season 8 as well. Especially the last 10 episodes of the season which is some of the darkest, and most morally ambigious stuff the show has ever done. Everybody brought their a game. Kiefer, Cherry Jones, the irreplaceable Gregory Itzin, Bob Gunton, Anil Kapoor, Mary Lynn Rajskub and Annie Wersching. Hell, even Freddie Prinze Jr actually turned in a very solid performance. Who knew, right?

Hope the movie happens and I hope it happens soon. And it could still be called 24, because it takes place in a 24 hour period. It just can't be in real time.
ilovemovies82 writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 2:24:32 AM

BTW, although season six IS the weakest season, I don't think it's nearly as bad as people say it is. There are still some good episodes. I thought Fayed was actually a decent villian. The final showdown between Jack and Fayed was sick! I'm not saying it was perfect, there were a ton of flaws, but people were way overly hard on it IMO.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 8:50:38 AM

I would have to agree with Mr. Blonde.

If Tony did for Jack Bauer's character what he did on Man on Fire ... or even the downtime of Spy Game ... I would buy a ticket for that.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on December 22nd, 2010 at 2:31:58 PM

@Nihilistic Michael Maus - thanks.

I forgot about Spygame which was pretty decent. Redford is an amazing actor and played the mentor well against Pitt.

Speaking of mentors, somehow I couldn't take Freddie Prinze Jr. too seriously. I miss Chase Edmonds, even with one hand he seems more bad ass.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved