WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Tron: Legacy" and "Yogi Bear" Underperform in Theaters

Posted: December 19th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Tron: Legacy" and "Yogi Bear" Underperform in TheatersSubmit Comment
The results are in and "Tron: Legacy" topped the domestic box office with $43 million. The film cost $170 million to make, which means that it will have a tough time making its money back. But with international ticket sales (already at $23 million) and eventual DVD/Blu-ray sales, it will likely break even.

Despite being rated PG, most of the audience was between the ages of 18 and 55, which means that Disney wasn't able to grab the attention of teens. "All the fans of the first movie are bringing a girlfriend or wife to share the experience with," said Disney. "But the blend of the audience will get younger."

"Yogi Bear" took second place with an unimpressive $16.7 million on a $80 million budget. But Warner Bros is confidant that things will get better. "From Christmas Day forward is when we really take off," said the studio.

Things just keep getting worse. "How Do You Know," which has an inflated budget of $120 million, grossed only $7.6 million in its debut. That was only good enough for eighth place. And due to lousy reviews, the film will likely fall out of the top ten by next weekend. "The opening is disappointing. Everyone worked hard on this film and really believed in it," said Sony.

Click here to read our "Tron: Legacy" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
sc_kg writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 9:11:44 PM

sh*t, hope TRON will get a sequel. I don't want to wait for 30 years.
TRUEMAN writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 9:14:29 PM

Yes thats the movie that i love, Bad reviews and unforgettable forever young!!!!! Like the song TROOOOOOOOOOOOOOON!
kirklazerusreturns writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 9:52:58 PM

o no someone better look after Owen Wilson,we dont want another Suicide Attempt.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 10:07:52 PM

Well teens didn't show up because they don't like intelligent, non-high school crapical stuff. No mystery there. But hey, hopefully Disney will learn they did this to themselves by encouraging people like Hannah Montana and Demi Lovato to get their own shows. Still I think Tron will pick up by the end and make back it's money. If Twilight could do it so could this picture...you know...a film with a pulse and actual acting.
OneTime writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 10:10:10 PM

yeah i thought tron was pretty sweet..it would be nice to make it into a trilogy
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 10:30:41 PM

Kirk beat me to it. In week we'll get a headline about Owen committed suicide.
UnNameable_One writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 12:46:20 AM

If they actually thought "Yogi Bear" was gonna make any money, then they were ph*ckin IDIOTS. Who did they think the audience was gonna be? Kids nowadays dont give a crap about it....neither do the grown-ups......or maybe thatz just me.
Rambo writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 1:39:47 AM

Glad 'How do you know' flopped so badly.it's time to put an end to those dumb romantic comedy dramas.
riesen2b writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 2:43:49 AM

Tron was only projected to do 40 million this week at the box office. Your premise is all wrong on this post. You're right on the money about 'How Do You Know' though.
pomme writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 2:45:38 AM

i saw "the fighter",it's probably the best acted movie i saw this year(even Wahlberg is good)and Bale,Leo&Adams deserve all awards
jigsaw23 writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 3:04:17 AM

well they should be proud their number 1 in the box office. i hope for a sequel and maybe a 4th as long as most of the cast come back.
jigsaw23 writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 3:05:48 AM

and give it a chance to make more money
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 3:51:10 AM

Tron we all expected to under perform but Yogi Bear really? I though for sure it was cracking 50 million between it's screen count and and the demand of midnight showings

@jigsaw

f*ck you
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 5:50:20 AM

Well teens didn't show up because they don't like intelligent, non-high school crapical stuff

HAHAHAHA Are you saying that Tron is intelligent?? Clearly haven't seen it yet it's got about as much intelligence as a dislexic tape worm.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 7:00:50 AM

^^^ Hey didn't you forget something....

CINEMA IS DEAD!!!!

:-)
SACdaddy writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 7:47:57 AM

Wow, didn't get to see Tron this weekend (girlfriend got too drunk at her birthday BBQ so I spent the entire next day watching her reenact pea soup scenes from The Exorcist), but it doesn't sound like I missed much. I never wanted to say it on this website, but I had a bad feeling about TRON when I saw it got a PG rating several weeks ago. Disney, in all there brilliance, was targeting such a large demographic that it ended up alienating the older fans of the original 30 year old film. I hear it was great visually but boring as f*ck. NO sh*t, how much action and suspense can you expect to squeeze out of a PG rating? And before someone comments, I do realize the first film was PG also, but that was an 80s PG rating which usaully included some cussing, violence, and small amounts of gore (ie Raiders of the Lost Ark, Goonies, or Monster Squad). A PG rating actually had balls then and so did the films. Now PG might as well stand for "Pretty Gay" for any film that isn't animated.

Who the f*ck is in charge at Disney anyway? Why did they think they needed a watered down PG product to make big bucks? Every box office busting, recordbreaking non-animated film over the last few decades has had at least a PG-13 rating. Between this bullsh*t and the $120 budget for this How Do You Know film I've never heard of, do we need any more proof that Hwood is run by a bunch of complete idiots?
Valerie writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 8:03:41 AM

How does a movie like How Do You Know, have such a huge budget? $120 mil? Wtf!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 8:49:47 AM

haha oh yeah CINEMA IS DEAD MOTHER f*ckERS!!! :D
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 9:48:20 AM

PG rating has nothing to do with the film's lack of a proper narrative. The film is overlong for what the plot is. The dialog is weak and there seemingly because someone told them they had to put it there. Claudio and Daft Punk did their jobs and the Art team deserves an award, it's the rest.

Also big props to Jeff Bridges for coming back to the project. Clearly a man who doesn't let his huge successes steer him away from projects he knows may not be up to par, but the people want to see him in.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved