WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Trailer Coming Next Week!
Oct 22nd, 2014
"John Carter" Reboot in the Works, Disney Not Involved
Oct 22nd, 2014
James Wan to Direct "The Conjuring 2," May Direct DC Superhero Film
Oct 22nd, 2014
Ghostface Will NOT Appear in "Scream" TV Series
Oct 22nd, 2014
Keanu Reeves Says Film Studios Don't Want to Work With Him
Oct 22nd, 2014
Adam McKay Plans to Make "Step Brothers 2" in a Few Years
Oct 22nd, 2014
George Lucas Says Movie Studios are Ruining Hollywood
Oct 21st, 2014
"Cabin Fever" Remake Started Filming, Using Eli Roth's Original Script
Oct 21st, 2014
Melissa McCarthy Discusses "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Oct 21st, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Location Revealed
Oct 21st, 2014
Is Key and Peele's New Comedy a Spoof of Keanu Reeves' "John Wick" Thriller?
Oct 21st, 2014
James Cameron Reveals Advice He Gave to "Terminator Genisys" Producer
Oct 21st, 2014
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Thor" Poster for Cast and Crew

Posted: December 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Thor" Poster for Cast and CrewSubmit Comment
Marvel Studios president Kevin Feige hired artist Olly Moss to create a special "Thor" poster that is meant only for the cast and crew. To come up with a design, Moss was allowed to visit the set, read the script and check out any of the concept art.

And now, Moss has decided to share that poster with fans by posting it on his blog. Check it out below. And see some of his other illustrations, which includes artwork for "Harry Potter," "Star Wars," "Indiana Jones" and many others.

"Thor" is directed by Keneth Branagh and stars Chris Hemsworth, Anthony Hopkins and Natalie Portman. It is scheduled to hit theaters on May 6th, 2011.

"Thor" Poster (click to enlarge)


Other Posters (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Thor."

Source: Moss


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
-Chewy- writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:11:35 AM

The Boba Fett poster is actually clever.
boogiel writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:58:06 AM

Nice...
Kurskij writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:07:44 AM

Potter looks like a child rapist
aioros writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:25:30 AM

Most of them are really good as t-shirt designs. I think I will made on t-shirt with the THOR poster.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:50:24 AM

Potter does look like a rapist.
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 10:26:59 AM

I like the other ones more than the Thor one, the Potter poster reminds me of Elijah Wood in Sin City. What a hooker eater.
elrei writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 10:48:41 AM

Potter looks like that character from sin city played by frodo.
Inception writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:08:21 AM

A very creative, nice looking poster of a movie that I'm pretty sure it will suck. The trailer clearly showed that this movie will be pure sh*t.
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:40:24 AM

Like the Dirty Harry and the 3 Star Wars ones.

Robocop Damn you MGM !!
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:41:51 AM

elreic-

Thought the same thing, Elijah Wood , Kevin
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:43:29 AM

elreic- elrei !! sorry
Inception writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:46:51 AM

The 3 star wars posters, the one of Indy, dirty harry, Robocop, and alice in wondrland looks great.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:04:41 PM

@Inception

Yup, Thor is definitely headed for the bargin bin
AYT BALL writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:07:58 PM

Loving the Boba Fett one
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:15:33 PM

Graphically, it's a very cool design. Very reminiscent of the style used for the opening of The Good, The Bad & The Ugly.
HideousSecretion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 2:36:15 PM

That poster will be be way better than the movie.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:07:35 PM

"Potter looks like a child rapist"

That's because it's really Elijah Wood's character from SIn City....
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:10:07 PM

God damn it you bastards! You beat me to the Elijah Woods comparison!

Eh. I guess even mediocre minds think alike.

Anyway, love the poster minimalism. Sometimes that stupid saying (less is more) is strangely true.

But I don't care. Thor the film is more doomed than if it had been struck down by Mjöllnir.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:12:11 PM

Looking at some of the images from this film, and I can't escape the feeling this movie will feel every bit as sh*tty as it looks. It has that Uwe Boll look that does no one any good.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:28:04 PM

Oh yeah, awesome posters. Love the Indie and Dirty Harry one.
AYT BALL writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:02:54 PM

Few more here if you guys are interested

http://www.empireonline.com/features/2010/olly-moss/
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:09:54 PM

This movie is as bad as a dead man's balls. These posters look good as desktop backgrounds but not as film posters, going to suck BIG APE BALLS.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:20:31 PM

Excellent AYT! This guy or girl or Che knows how to use Photoshop without using Photoshop, IYKWIM. Minimal design, maximum impact. Hell, I'd give him/her/che a job in a heartbeat. Well, not Che.

And no, the posters aren't really appropriate for an AMERICAN audience, but anywhere else in the world, they'd more than suffice. Just goes to show you how crudely and obnoxiously excessive Americans are in everything they do.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:21:11 PM

"This movie is as bad as a dead man's balls."

Well, then, we all know who will LOVE this movie, then.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:29:38 PM

But hey, it has Portman, so it can't be a total loss. I'd like to rock her Ragnarök. And how. nyuck nyuck nyuck.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:43:26 PM

These posters could only do well in France, trust those frenchies to have a kick over this "ARTY" crap.

Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:47:23 PM

Oh yeah, Portman is a sexy Jew. I wouldn't mind placing my d*ck into her ass. That's the only reason why I'll see this mindless stupid circus of a film.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:48:09 PM

Yeah, the French are a bunch of fags and cheese-eating surrender-monkeys for sure, but I still love these posters.

I guess that's because I'm an artist by nature...though I'm not usually big on minimalism. This person just nails it, really. Excellent.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:23:48 PM

Like I said, these are right for desktop backgrounds or even T-shirts. They could even do well in a museum. But not for a film, they don't say much about the actual film itself.

If I looked at the Thor poster as an ordinary passer by, I would think the film was either an animated movie or a Scanner Darkly like indy flick. Never would I see it as an epic sword slashing/military like action movie.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:28:40 PM

So, I was reading youtube comments on the Thor trailer, and some idiot makes the assinine comment that Norse mythology isn't white, it's Scandinavian. LMAO.

He then goes on to say that Scandinavians aren't white because they consist of Brits, Swedes, Russians and on and on, even throwing the Irish into the mix.

Now, I don't know what's more troubling. His command of what, geographically and culturally, constitutes 'Scandinavia', or his idiocy in thinking that Scandinavians weren't white because they were only 'Scandinavian'. LOL.

That's like me saying that blacks in the area known as the Congo weren't actually black (and nor was their mythologies) thousands of years ago because the people there, at that time, were from several different black tribes.

And this imbecile already has had his comment elevated to 'highest-rated'. LMAO. I guess what feels good is far more important than what's correct.

And then, bizarrely, he throws in a non sequiter: WWI and WWII were wars with whites killing whites.

Yes, that's true, lest we forget the Japanese, but one should remember that Africans hardly had, at those times, the capability of the wheel, indoor plumbing and simple explosives, so it's fair to say they lacked the mechanization to wage a world war, though such darth of modern necessities hasn't stopped them from deliberately mass-starving the people or committing genocide. God only knows what they would do if they possessed nuclear weapons.

None of this is to say that the idiot's comment is correct, which of course it is not, or to lend relevence to his otherwise extraneous opinions.

The fact is, Scandinavians are WHITE. Period. End of f*cking story. In fact, they couldn't be any f*cking whiter, even now. And they have ALWAYS been f*cking white, and their mythology naturally reflects that characteristic, just as Africans portray their gods as black, as Aztecs portrayed their gods as...well, mongoloid I guess, but surely not white, and so on.

All these illiterate attempts to rewrite history and make things something other than what they are is the height of gross dishonesty, and they portend a time of a coming intellectual dark age.

Nevermind the exasperating twisting and warping of logic people go through just to make something right that's otherwise WRONG.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:34:46 PM

Contagion: Well, you're right of course, to an extent. Some of the posters don't do well to convey the film's content, though I think the Thor poster is one of the worst, even though it features the famous hammer.

Others do a better job, especially the Dirty Harry one. I mean, even if you haven't seen the film, you know it's about a guy and his smoking gun, thus: action.

The Indie one does well, too, showing a face-off between Indie and his father over the grail, and that's pretty much the plot of IJ4.

So some do better than others, but many, for the intelligent and observant individual, convey the film's content rather well.

I don't need tits and explosions and six trillion colors and fast cars on a poster to give me the message. I'd like to think I'm smarter than that.

So, to me, many, but not all, of the posters work very well as film posters, but like I said, for the average idiot American who needs everything spelled out in 256 Crayon colors, none of these would ever suffice.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:35:30 PM

No, no everyone's got it wrong. Norse mythology is black. lol.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:36:41 PM

I think the artist who does these posters excels at conveying maximum information using minimal visuals, and that's a talent for sure IMO.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:38:07 PM

"No, no everyone's got it wrong. Norse mythology is black. lol."

African and Chinese, but certainly, absolutely never white, because we all know white=evil.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:42:18 PM

Thor's going to need a great catchy poster for the average bafoon to buy a ticket...because so far nobodies going to see it.

The Dirty Harry poster and even in a way the Locke poster kind of clearly state the message to the viewer. But some such as the Potter one are very misleading, I would think he's a psychotic prisoner with a lightning bolt on his forehead.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:53:47 PM

I agree on how is minimalism exudes the plot quickly. He did a social network poster which appeared in Empire, it was well done.

For Thor, I think the guy who did the Indiana Jones and The Raiders of The Lost Ark and Star Wars posters should have been hired for the job.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:55:46 PM

Yeah, you're damned right on the Harry Potter one for sure. I'm still scratching my head over that one. I thought it was a Sin City spinoff film instead.

And the Thor one as well. Like anyone's going to see the movie, good poster or not!
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:56:33 PM

Lighting bolt , it's Dumbledore's Magic Wand jucie

The Dirty Harry poster is Awesome, very cool.
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:59:49 PM

The Thor poster looks like something Hitchc*ck would have used for one of his movies.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 6:25:04 PM

TT@ definitely looks like a Criterion Collection authorized DVD cover for sure.

Like Thor will ever go the CC route though. Ha! More like the Marvel-sh*t triple pack at WalMart found next to dusty and stained copies of Battlefield Earth.
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 7:05:26 PM

Yeah i'm not sure about Thor either, It may turn out ok in the end.

I like Kenneth Branagh but that was a bold choice for director i must say.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 7:23:54 PM

hahaha, they are fantastic, wouldn't mind afew of them as posters in my room. especially the empire stricks back and Locke ones
jdl107 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:33:12 PM

Haha, when I see I that think Thor: Juno style.
jdl107 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:35:02 PM

Star Trek, Wolfman, and Evil Dead are pretty good posters. Their styles are better than that goofy Thor one.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:00:11 PM

Something smells like cow sh*t. Oh wait it's just Thor and the entire cast and crew.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:03:29 PM

Why doesn't Iron Man hang out with Thor?

Because he smells like ape sh*t.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:06:14 PM

Why doesn't Black Widow sleep with Thor?

Because he smells like pig sh*t.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:09:31 PM

Why doesn't Captain America like talking with Thor?

Because his breath smells like human sh*t.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:15:30 PM

Why doesn't Nick Fury like putting Thor on missions?

Because Thor drags his sh*t everywhere.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:17:38 PM

Why does the entire Marvel universe hate Thor?

Because he smells like sh*t!!!
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:20:56 PM

Why doesn't Marvel want to finance the Thor sequel?

Because this one is destined to flop. Oh and Thor smells like sh*t!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:14:52 PM

Yep "Star Wars V" and "Robocop" look really good "Thor" looks ok, could definetly see it on a t-shirt as aioros pointed out.

I would say my favourite is "The Evil Dead"
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 12:03:36 AM

trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:59:49 PM
The Thor poster looks like something Hitchc*ck would have used for one of his movies.

@trailertrash

Agreed. They tried to give a Hitchc*ckersque spin to "Buried".

It's a cool 50s - early 60s design of art deco to movie posters, but these days, it doesn't have the strength of posters schilled out these days. I love it for the aesthetic slant to them, much like I love the Drew Struzan posters of the 80s - early 90s (which show the depth and incredible blending of acrylics on bristol board and blew me the f*ck away, as a fellow graphic artist).
supaflywill writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 12:13:02 PM

CLEVER STUFF-

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved