WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Hugh Jackman's "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 26th, 2014
Ridley Scott Won't Direct "Blade Runner 2," Reveals Story Details
Nov 26th, 2014
Michael Fassbender to Star in Danny Boyle's "Steve Jobs" Biopic
Nov 26th, 2014
Trailer for Jennifer Aniston's "Cake" Arrives Online
Nov 26th, 2014
Oscar Isaac is the Villainous Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 25th, 2014
Michelle MacLaren Will Direct "Wonder Woman" Film
Nov 25th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Discusses "The Expendables 4" Ideas and Rating
Nov 25th, 2014
New Trailer For "The Interview" Comedy, with James Franco and Seth Rogen
Nov 25th, 2014
First Posters and Photos of Hugh Jackman in "Peter Pan" Prequel
Nov 25th, 2014
Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Nov 24th, 2014
First Footage From "Jurassic World" Arrives Online
Nov 24th, 2014
"Wanted" Producer Says Sequel is Still Happening
Nov 24th, 2014
New Photo of Arnold Schwazenegger as T-800 From "Terminator Genisys"
Nov 24th, 2014
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" Dominates at Box Office, Hits Franchise Low
Nov 23rd, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Director Says Shared Cinematic Universes Can Be a Mistake
Nov 23rd, 2014
Town Bans Winnie the Pooh for Being Half-Naked
Nov 23rd, 2014
First Poster for "Get Hard" Comedy, with Will Ferrell and Kevin Hart
Nov 22nd, 2014
Angelina Jolie Will Quit Acting to Focus on Directing
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for George Lucas' Animated "Strange Magic" Film
Nov 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "Pitch Perfect 2" Arrives Online
Nov 21st, 2014
"Zoolander 2" is Moving Forward, Penelope Cruz Joins Cast
Nov 21st, 2014
Stephen King's "The Stand" to Become Four Movies
Nov 21st, 2014
First Look: Patrick Stewart is a White Supremacist in "Green Room" Thriller
Nov 21st, 2014
Mel Gibson May Direct "Hacksaw Ridge," with Andrew Garfield to Star
Nov 21st, 2014
Ridley Scott Promises "a Fresher Form of Alien" in "Prometheus 2"
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for Disney's Live-Action "Cinderella"
Nov 20th, 2014
Trailer for "American Heist" Thriller with Hayden Christensen and Adrien Brody
Nov 20th, 2014
Melissa McCarthy to Star in Live-Action "Tinker Bell" Comedy
Nov 20th, 2014
Al Pacino is an Aging Rock Star in "Danny Collins" Trailer
Nov 20th, 2014
Full Trailer for "Peter Pan Live" Musical, with Christopher Walken as Captain Hook
Nov 20th, 2014
Six Actors in Talks for Cyclops and Jean Grey in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Nov 19th, 2014
How Do Horror Fans Choose Movies? Not By Plot or Cast
Nov 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Thor" Poster for Cast and Crew

Posted: December 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Thor" Poster for Cast and CrewSubmit Comment
Marvel Studios president Kevin Feige hired artist Olly Moss to create a special "Thor" poster that is meant only for the cast and crew. To come up with a design, Moss was allowed to visit the set, read the script and check out any of the concept art.

And now, Moss has decided to share that poster with fans by posting it on his blog. Check it out below. And see some of his other illustrations, which includes artwork for "Harry Potter," "Star Wars," "Indiana Jones" and many others.

"Thor" is directed by Keneth Branagh and stars Chris Hemsworth, Anthony Hopkins and Natalie Portman. It is scheduled to hit theaters on May 6th, 2011.

"Thor" Poster (click to enlarge)


Other Posters (click to enlarge)


Click here to read more about "Thor."

Source: Moss


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 54 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
-Chewy- writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:11:35 AM

The Boba Fett poster is actually clever.
boogiel writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:58:06 AM

Nice...
Kurskij writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:07:44 AM

Potter looks like a child rapist
aioros writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:25:30 AM

Most of them are really good as t-shirt designs. I think I will made on t-shirt with the THOR poster.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:50:24 AM

Potter does look like a rapist.
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 10:26:59 AM

I like the other ones more than the Thor one, the Potter poster reminds me of Elijah Wood in Sin City. What a hooker eater.
elrei writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 10:48:41 AM

Potter looks like that character from sin city played by frodo.
Inception writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:08:21 AM

A very creative, nice looking poster of a movie that I'm pretty sure it will suck. The trailer clearly showed that this movie will be pure sh*t.
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:40:24 AM

Like the Dirty Harry and the 3 Star Wars ones.

Robocop Damn you MGM !!
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:41:51 AM

elreic-

Thought the same thing, Elijah Wood , Kevin
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:43:29 AM

elreic- elrei !! sorry
Inception writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:46:51 AM

The 3 star wars posters, the one of Indy, dirty harry, Robocop, and alice in wondrland looks great.
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:04:41 PM

@Inception

Yup, Thor is definitely headed for the bargin bin
AYT BALL writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:07:58 PM

Loving the Boba Fett one
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:15:33 PM

Graphically, it's a very cool design. Very reminiscent of the style used for the opening of The Good, The Bad & The Ugly.
HideousSecretion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 2:36:15 PM

That poster will be be way better than the movie.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:07:35 PM

"Potter looks like a child rapist"

That's because it's really Elijah Wood's character from SIn City....
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:10:07 PM

God damn it you bastards! You beat me to the Elijah Woods comparison!

Eh. I guess even mediocre minds think alike.

Anyway, love the poster minimalism. Sometimes that stupid saying (less is more) is strangely true.

But I don't care. Thor the film is more doomed than if it had been struck down by Mjöllnir.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:12:11 PM

Looking at some of the images from this film, and I can't escape the feeling this movie will feel every bit as sh*tty as it looks. It has that Uwe Boll look that does no one any good.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:28:04 PM

Oh yeah, awesome posters. Love the Indie and Dirty Harry one.
AYT BALL writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:02:54 PM

Few more here if you guys are interested

http://www.empireonline.com/features/2010/olly-moss/
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:09:54 PM

This movie is as bad as a dead man's balls. These posters look good as desktop backgrounds but not as film posters, going to suck BIG APE BALLS.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:20:31 PM

Excellent AYT! This guy or girl or Che knows how to use Photoshop without using Photoshop, IYKWIM. Minimal design, maximum impact. Hell, I'd give him/her/che a job in a heartbeat. Well, not Che.

And no, the posters aren't really appropriate for an AMERICAN audience, but anywhere else in the world, they'd more than suffice. Just goes to show you how crudely and obnoxiously excessive Americans are in everything they do.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:21:11 PM

"This movie is as bad as a dead man's balls."

Well, then, we all know who will LOVE this movie, then.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:29:38 PM

But hey, it has Portman, so it can't be a total loss. I'd like to rock her Ragnarök. And how. nyuck nyuck nyuck.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:43:26 PM

These posters could only do well in France, trust those frenchies to have a kick over this "ARTY" crap.

Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:47:23 PM

Oh yeah, Portman is a sexy Jew. I wouldn't mind placing my d*ck into her ass. That's the only reason why I'll see this mindless stupid circus of a film.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:48:09 PM

Yeah, the French are a bunch of fags and cheese-eating surrender-monkeys for sure, but I still love these posters.

I guess that's because I'm an artist by nature...though I'm not usually big on minimalism. This person just nails it, really. Excellent.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:23:48 PM

Like I said, these are right for desktop backgrounds or even T-shirts. They could even do well in a museum. But not for a film, they don't say much about the actual film itself.

If I looked at the Thor poster as an ordinary passer by, I would think the film was either an animated movie or a Scanner Darkly like indy flick. Never would I see it as an epic sword slashing/military like action movie.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:28:40 PM

So, I was reading youtube comments on the Thor trailer, and some idiot makes the assinine comment that Norse mythology isn't white, it's Scandinavian. LMAO.

He then goes on to say that Scandinavians aren't white because they consist of Brits, Swedes, Russians and on and on, even throwing the Irish into the mix.

Now, I don't know what's more troubling. His command of what, geographically and culturally, constitutes 'Scandinavia', or his idiocy in thinking that Scandinavians weren't white because they were only 'Scandinavian'. LOL.

That's like me saying that blacks in the area known as the Congo weren't actually black (and nor was their mythologies) thousands of years ago because the people there, at that time, were from several different black tribes.

And this imbecile already has had his comment elevated to 'highest-rated'. LMAO. I guess what feels good is far more important than what's correct.

And then, bizarrely, he throws in a non sequiter: WWI and WWII were wars with whites killing whites.

Yes, that's true, lest we forget the Japanese, but one should remember that Africans hardly had, at those times, the capability of the wheel, indoor plumbing and simple explosives, so it's fair to say they lacked the mechanization to wage a world war, though such darth of modern necessities hasn't stopped them from deliberately mass-starving the people or committing genocide. God only knows what they would do if they possessed nuclear weapons.

None of this is to say that the idiot's comment is correct, which of course it is not, or to lend relevence to his otherwise extraneous opinions.

The fact is, Scandinavians are WHITE. Period. End of f*cking story. In fact, they couldn't be any f*cking whiter, even now. And they have ALWAYS been f*cking white, and their mythology naturally reflects that characteristic, just as Africans portray their gods as black, as Aztecs portrayed their gods as...well, mongoloid I guess, but surely not white, and so on.

All these illiterate attempts to rewrite history and make things something other than what they are is the height of gross dishonesty, and they portend a time of a coming intellectual dark age.

Nevermind the exasperating twisting and warping of logic people go through just to make something right that's otherwise WRONG.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:34:46 PM

Contagion: Well, you're right of course, to an extent. Some of the posters don't do well to convey the film's content, though I think the Thor poster is one of the worst, even though it features the famous hammer.

Others do a better job, especially the Dirty Harry one. I mean, even if you haven't seen the film, you know it's about a guy and his smoking gun, thus: action.

The Indie one does well, too, showing a face-off between Indie and his father over the grail, and that's pretty much the plot of IJ4.

So some do better than others, but many, for the intelligent and observant individual, convey the film's content rather well.

I don't need tits and explosions and six trillion colors and fast cars on a poster to give me the message. I'd like to think I'm smarter than that.

So, to me, many, but not all, of the posters work very well as film posters, but like I said, for the average idiot American who needs everything spelled out in 256 Crayon colors, none of these would ever suffice.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:35:30 PM

No, no everyone's got it wrong. Norse mythology is black. lol.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:36:41 PM

I think the artist who does these posters excels at conveying maximum information using minimal visuals, and that's a talent for sure IMO.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:38:07 PM

"No, no everyone's got it wrong. Norse mythology is black. lol."

African and Chinese, but certainly, absolutely never white, because we all know white=evil.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:42:18 PM

Thor's going to need a great catchy poster for the average bafoon to buy a ticket...because so far nobodies going to see it.

The Dirty Harry poster and even in a way the Locke poster kind of clearly state the message to the viewer. But some such as the Potter one are very misleading, I would think he's a psychotic prisoner with a lightning bolt on his forehead.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:53:47 PM

I agree on how is minimalism exudes the plot quickly. He did a social network poster which appeared in Empire, it was well done.

For Thor, I think the guy who did the Indiana Jones and The Raiders of The Lost Ark and Star Wars posters should have been hired for the job.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:55:46 PM

Yeah, you're damned right on the Harry Potter one for sure. I'm still scratching my head over that one. I thought it was a Sin City spinoff film instead.

And the Thor one as well. Like anyone's going to see the movie, good poster or not!
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:56:33 PM

Lighting bolt , it's Dumbledore's Magic Wand jucie

The Dirty Harry poster is Awesome, very cool.
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:59:49 PM

The Thor poster looks like something Hitchc*ck would have used for one of his movies.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 6:25:04 PM

TT@ definitely looks like a Criterion Collection authorized DVD cover for sure.

Like Thor will ever go the CC route though. Ha! More like the Marvel-sh*t triple pack at WalMart found next to dusty and stained copies of Battlefield Earth.
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 7:05:26 PM

Yeah i'm not sure about Thor either, It may turn out ok in the end.

I like Kenneth Branagh but that was a bold choice for director i must say.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 7:23:54 PM

hahaha, they are fantastic, wouldn't mind afew of them as posters in my room. especially the empire stricks back and Locke ones
jdl107 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:33:12 PM

Haha, when I see I that think Thor: Juno style.
jdl107 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:35:02 PM

Star Trek, Wolfman, and Evil Dead are pretty good posters. Their styles are better than that goofy Thor one.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:00:11 PM

Something smells like cow sh*t. Oh wait it's just Thor and the entire cast and crew.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:03:29 PM

Why doesn't Iron Man hang out with Thor?

Because he smells like ape sh*t.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:06:14 PM

Why doesn't Black Widow sleep with Thor?

Because he smells like pig sh*t.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:09:31 PM

Why doesn't Captain America like talking with Thor?

Because his breath smells like human sh*t.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:15:30 PM

Why doesn't Nick Fury like putting Thor on missions?

Because Thor drags his sh*t everywhere.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:17:38 PM

Why does the entire Marvel universe hate Thor?

Because he smells like sh*t!!!
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:20:56 PM

Why doesn't Marvel want to finance the Thor sequel?

Because this one is destined to flop. Oh and Thor smells like sh*t!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:14:52 PM

Yep "Star Wars V" and "Robocop" look really good "Thor" looks ok, could definetly see it on a t-shirt as aioros pointed out.

I would say my favourite is "The Evil Dead"
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 12:03:36 AM

trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:59:49 PM
The Thor poster looks like something Hitchc*ck would have used for one of his movies.

@trailertrash

Agreed. They tried to give a Hitchc*ckersque spin to "Buried".

It's a cool 50s - early 60s design of art deco to movie posters, but these days, it doesn't have the strength of posters schilled out these days. I love it for the aesthetic slant to them, much like I love the Drew Struzan posters of the 80s - early 90s (which show the depth and incredible blending of acrylics on bristol board and blew me the f*ck away, as a fellow graphic artist).
supaflywill writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 12:13:02 PM

CLEVER STUFF-

It's Official! Channing Tatum to Star in "Gambit" Spin-Off

Christian Bale Says He Wanted to Play Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Jim Carrey Says Tommy Lee Jones Hated Him During "Batman Forever" Shoot

Christopher Nolan Hates Post-Credits Scenes, Here's Why

"Thor: Ragnarok" Story Details Revealed

Daniel Bruhl is Villain in "Captain America 3" and "Doctor Strange"

Margot Robbie is Harley Quinn in "Suicide Squad" Comic Book Film

Christopher Nolan Responds to "Interstellar" Sound Controversy

Jared Leto May Play The Joker in "Suicide Squad"

"Captain America: Civil War" Story Details Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved