WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Roger Ebert's and IMDB's Favorite Films of 2010

Posted: December 18th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Roger EbertSubmit Comment
Just like every year, Roger Ebert posted his favorite films of 2010, which obviously doesn't include "Kick-Ass," which the critic called "morally reprehensible" for showing an 11-year-old girl (Chloe Moretz) killing people. Ironically, he then gave "Let Me In" almost a perfect score, despite the fact that it has the same actress being just as violent.

Ebert went on to pick "The Social Network" as his favorite film of the year. Fans on IMDB, however, felt that the movie is the fourth best. The first is Christopher Nolan's "Inception."

ROGER EBERT'S PICKS:

1. The Social Network
2. The Kings Speech
3. Black Swan
4. I Am Love
5. Winter's Bone
6. Inception
7. The Secret in their Eyes
8. The American
9. Kids Are All Right
10. The Ghost Writer


He added that "127 Hours" and "Another Year" are also some of his favorites.

IMDB PICKS:

1. Inception
(9.0/10)
2. Black Swan (8.9/10)
3. Toy Story 3 (8.7/10)
4. The Social Network (8.2/10)
5. How To Train Your Dragon (8.2/10)
6. Tangled (8.1/10)
7. Kick-Ass (8.0/10)
8. Shutter Island (8.0/10)
9. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 (7.9/10)
10. Scott Pilgrim vs. The World (7.9/10)

Source: Roger Ebert, IMDB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 59 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:08:42 AM

Stephen King's top 10 list is the one that matters..

Will we get a WP top 10 too..
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:15:09 AM

Sex in the city 2 was pretty good by all accounts..
avaela writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:21:50 AM

My Top 10 is all that matters:
1. The Fighter
2. The Social Network
3. Inception
4. Black Swan
5. Kick-Ass
6. The Town
7. Splice
8. Iron Man 2
9. Toy Story 3
10. From Paris with Love
-Chewy- writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:22:10 AM

Its funny that IMDB is actually a lot better to review movies than 90% of critics out there.

I agree with trailertrash....we need a WP top 10. But I will curse your family tree into oblivion if Sex in the city 2 is mentioned again.
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:25:00 AM

Chewy - lol, Consider it done ..

avaela - The Fighter was that good was it ? I do want to see that movie

K-lube Bonnerman writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:50:44 AM

Sure these lists have a bunch of awards coming to them but if your not a nerd or gay they just kinda sucked (except Kick Ass and Iron Man 2). Lest we forget about the action movie to end all action movies...The Expendables!

I must addmitt that How to train your Dragon was pretty good, anytime you get Gerard Butler to yell and commit acts of violence you've got a hit.
Dark writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:09:07 AM

No one gives a sh*t about your opinion old fart. I will go with the IMDB picks.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:45:45 AM

TT-I'm glad your joking about that. Or we would have to come to your front door with pitchforks and guns and torches lol
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:55:56 AM

Why is The Expendable not on there???? Sacrilage I tell you. No Van Douche movie either? O wait nevermind he's doesnt make a decent anymore or ever did.
rocketman writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:58:57 AM

Theres no porn in them?
SeWerin writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 10:10:30 AM

Ebert is one overrated *sshole! Fck him and his taste!
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 10:31:16 AM

I'm surprised the "How it's made: Butter" episode wasn't at the top of this fat prick's list. How many (Ebert probably calls them "Pokes") from Timberlake did it take to get the Social Network as #1? Rich pretty boys and their problems? Yup, Oscar gold right there. Gay.
crimsonfiend420 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 10:33:11 AM

^^how many **blowjobs**.

f*cking lack of edit button.
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 10:48:51 AM

Bad- lol

I would deserve such treament my friend and The Expendables would be in my top 10 for sure.

It would be tough to pick 10 good films this year. I missed a few films at the cinema, plus i think it's been a poor year for movies also.
Rambo writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:03:13 AM

I took a sh*t this morning and the poop that floated on the water was more interesting then 'the social network'
Inception writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:57:58 AM

Roger Ebert can stick very deep his 2 thumbs up, with the help of his buddy Richard Roeper.
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:58:36 AM

The Social Stool
TheHerpesOnRangersDick writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:00:51 PM

@dark

So true

@k-lube

Yes, Gerard Butler violence is cool, but it doesn't count if it's animated...but there's a loophole, if Mel Gibson does it then it's always funny...what a grand old fashioned guy that Mel is
bandolero999 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:04:11 PM

damn roger ebert's still alive.I thought he barely had a face.He's a horrible critic and IMDB is way to mainstream for me for example the Expendables was in neither of both lists so what the hell does that tell you.

My action flicks of the year were if you havent heard of this movies please check them out
Goemon
Robo-Geisha
Ip Man 2
the legend is Born Ip Man
Ninja with Scott Adkins
Undisputed 3 starring Scott Adkins
14 Blades
Legend of the Fist Return of Chen Zen Don.Yen
EXPENDABLES DUHHHH
KiCKAss
True Legend
Daybreakers
Surrogates Scifi Bruce Willis
AYT BALL writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:05:49 PM

Pleased Kick Ass got on IMDBs, didnt think Roger would have it on his lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:07:38 PM

AYT- Where is sam the preacher ?
Inception writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:12:45 PM

@ bandolero999:

Yeah, Goemon is awesome, and the film budget was only 20 million. Everything in this movie is awesome. BTW, lol, just in case not trying to sound like douche, but buddy that movie is from 2009. Anyway good picks.

The trailer for Goemon for those who haven't seen it:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L9w2eIvu1Fk
bandolero999 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:16:37 PM

oh damn pretty close. sh*t that was only 20 million that whole movie every scene was straight up eye candy have you checked out Casshern is the movie before Goemon?

Hollywood you need to take some serious notes

i didnt mention these as well
The warriors way and The good the bad and the weird
Inception writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:36:35 PM

Casshern was also pretty damn good, the ending was amazing. I like the style of that director, Kazuaki Kiriya.
SeWerin writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:47:15 PM

Ninja with Scott Adkins is ten million times better then Ninja Assassin and Expendables. Hell, Undisputed 3 is great! Boyka FTW!!
bandolero999 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:04:06 PM

yea i thought i was the only one about ninja scott adkins could do some serious damage.He would kick the sh*t outta Jason Statham,the rock,Vin diesel any day,I would chose him to be deadpool anyday.

He's gonna be in a movie with van douche according to IMDB i hope he f*cks his ass up
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:10:07 PM

I find it very suspicious that Roger's favorite films are those that are filmed by respected directors, have solidly fascinating scripts and star actors who time and time again have been nominated for roles they've immersed themselves into , during Academy time.

It's a g@damn conspiarcy, I tell ya.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:11:21 PM

bandolero999 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 12:04:11 PM

damn roger ebert's still alive.I thought he barely had a face.He's a horrible critic and IMDB is way to mainstream for me for example the Expendables was in neither of both lists so what the hell does that tell you.

My action flicks of the year were if you havent heard of this movies please check them out
Goemon
Robo-Geisha
Ip Man 2
the legend is Born Ip Man
Ninja with Scott Adkins
Undisputed 3 starring Scott Adkins
14 Blades
Legend of the Fist Return of Chen Zen Don.Yen
EXPENDABLES DUHHHH
KiCKAss
True Legend
Daybreakers
Surrogates Scifi Bruce Willis


@bandolero999

I would even add The Good, The Bad & The Weird to that.
Tyrkae writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:41:06 PM

kick ass was good top 10 of the year idk i was hoping it be much better (More like the comic kickass gettin the girl in the movie i didnt like it 1 bit)
Tyrkae writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:42:10 PM

Altho i think SPvs.Theworld should be on most top ten list great story and a masterpiece for anyone with A.d.d.
Tyrkae writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:42:13 PM

Altho i think SPvs.Theworld should be on most top ten list great story and a masterpiece for anyone with A.d.d.
mrstretch writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 2:00:35 PM

No love for the Book of Eli. It was one of my favorites.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 2:42:18 PM

It's official. IMDb users have no d*cks whatsoever (for excluding The Expendables. Either that or Che voted several thousand times.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 2:44:00 PM

I really wish Alex would stick to merely reporting the 'news' rather than opinionating. He's not good at either, but he absolutely tanks on the latter.
AYT BALL writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 2:53:35 PM

@ Trailer - lol yeah, think he rode off into the sunset!
Lister writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:54:35 PM

Where is 127 hours?
Lister writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:54:36 PM

Where is 127 hours?
rabid writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:03:43 PM

I've only heard of 3 of Ebert's picks
IMDB's list looks pretty decent, though I wouldn't have listed Scott Pilgrim.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:04:02 PM

My Favorites:

Inception and The Social Network, everything else was just awful.

How To Train Your Dragon and Toy Story 3??? Come on they're just stupid CGI cartoons...WTF.

The most underrated film of the year was THE OPERATING SYSTEM about Microsoft, loved that film, and Tobey Maguire as Bill Gates was just brilliant. Also enjoyed Patrick Stewart as Steve Jobs, he was such a good villain. The directing by James Cameron was outstanding and the script by Steve Zallain polished by Gates himself gave me chills.

I don't know why any of these sites or critics haven't mentioned it on their lists. The academy should give The Operating System an award...come on!!!
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:13:43 PM

I'm pretty sure Stewart is too old to contemporarily play Jobs to Maguire's Gates.

And nice to see someone is inspired by my rants. Credit is due though considering that I made the comparison between TSN and the lack of a good Microsoft movie, but I guess Gates is too well-hated to offer audiences a sympathetic character.

I still can't get over how Fincher rung a good film out of a worthless 'innovation' like Facebook. Oooh, social networking. The porch of the 21st century.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:14:47 PM

Facebook: a digital mirror for vain douchebags.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:22:25 PM

Myspace: where a teenager's dignity goes to die.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:22:54 PM

Yeah, there needs to be a Microsoft film. Let's not forget that Stewart's face was CGI botoxed in X-men Origins: Wolverine, why not give him another jab again.

James Cameron's 3-D direction for the film also immersed the viewer in hills and hills of code.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:37:12 PM

No, not hills and hills. Floating mountains of code, because we all know floating mountains give Cameron a major f*cking erection. That and Native American Smurfs.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 4:53:26 PM

Sorry meant floating mountains. Your forgot the line "Gates, you're not in Kansas anymore".

And there's also a scene where Steve Jobs and Gates duel in giant armored suits...but they soon wake up and realise that it was all just a dream.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:06:24 PM

lol.

You forgot the scene where Gates holds up Jobs on the railing of Titanic, both of them yelling "We're kings of the world!".
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:15:39 PM

Or they'll be on the Apple II ship saying that while Susan Boyle sings the theme song "DOS INTERFACE WILL GO ON".

Gates also paints Jobs naked in a scene.
minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:39:59 PM

"Gates also paints Jobs naked in a scene."

Dunno if I should laugh or puke. Maybe both. lol.
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 5:52:40 PM

Barf bags come with your pop-corn, it's in 3-D so the cinema is prepared. lol.

minkowski writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 6:21:22 PM

Barf bags? Isn't that a euphemism for Lohan's tits?

http://static.entertainmentwise.com/gallery/LILOBADBOOBS1.jpg
SuluNakamura writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 7:21:32 PM

"The Expendables" was a testosterone overloaded abortion of a movie. Very glad it didn't make either list.
batdump writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 8:42:19 PM

Scott Pilgrim should have been on eberts' list but he only knows how to critique dramas.

and it should be higher on the IMDB list. that movie rocked my socks
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:14:17 PM

Ebert is a true f*cker.

Imdb seems to be becoming some sort of gay hangout because putting faggity sh*t like How To Train your d*ck to stand up are up there!!!!

In all honesty the best rating system is the Microsoft rating system-

1. THE OPERATING SYSTEM.
2. THE WILD WILD WEST.
3. CATWOMAN.
4. LINDSAY LOHANS TITS ( THE COMPLETE COLLECTION).
5. BATMAN XXX PORN PARODY.

Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:19:11 PM

I hate Scott Pilgrim, sorry to say but it's nothing but emo sh*t!!!
Contagion writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 9:26:48 PM

Scott Pilgrim was just a sh*t film. What about The Kings Speech, it seems like something that that fella Shay would enjoy watching.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 12:38:00 AM

Roger, when you die from that cancer that made you look like a hollowed out Stephen Hawking with no lower jaw, I plan to drop a VHS copy of Valley of the Dolls on your grave and then piss on it.
Ranger writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 5:05:18 AM

Well... I guess they should be more specific as to what gets a movie on these lists (popularity, quality (all-encompassing), box office $'s, etc.).

I think just because the public loved The Expendables, I surprised (well... no, not really) it didn't make the cut.

But list to list, my flavor tends to learn towards the public votes via IMDB above Roger's list.

Someone already posted it... the public has better taste than the critics. No argument here.
bacci40 writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 5:12:12 AM

this was a sh*tty year for movies

and social network was bullsh*t

i have heard from 2 critics that king's speech is brilliant....but i guess they just opened it in a couple of theaters for oscar consideration
HugMug writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 7:16:44 AM

Wait - IMDb has The Secret in Their Eyes at 8.3, which would put it at #4 above The Social Network, and above Ebert's placing of #7. IMDb lists its release date as 2009, the date of its original release, but this article is presumably about 2010 American releases, right? So that list needs revising.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved