WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jack Black on Almost Starring in "Green Lantern" Film

Posted: December 17th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jack Black on Almost Starring in "Green Lantern" FilmSubmit Comment
Back in 2006, Warner Bros was considering casting Jack Black as the lead in a "Green Lantern" film, which was planned as a comedy written by Robert Smigel ("SNL"). The idea was eventually scrapped and Ryan Reynolds was brought on for a more serious take.

The comedic version would have had Black playing artist Kyle Rayner, instead of test pilot Hal Jordan. In the comics, Rayner became a Green Lantern after Jordan went on a murderous rampage.

MTV now caught up with Black to find out if he still thinks about the "Green Lantern" film that could have been. "I do. I think about it sometimes," he said. "Some people may know that for a minute there, long ago, there was talk of a more comedic version of 'Green Lantern,' but it wasn't meant to be."

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 4:39:57 AM

he should change his name to Jack Fat
BuuMonster writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 5:10:35 AM

Thank god they changed their mind. Green lantern with bitch tits is not funny. Now Green lantern making a giant sickle and shaving jack fat (thank you rambo) down to one person would be funny
trailertrash writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 5:29:46 AM

Only film i liked jack black in was King Kong , thought he was ok in that.
Rodan writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 6:09:54 AM

@trailertrash
King Kong is his funniest movie to date.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 7:21:25 AM

Rodan writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 6:09:54 AM

@trailertrash
King Kong is his funniest movie to date.


@rodan

and not in a haha funny why neither, well to me anyway.
boogiel writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 7:48:31 AM

I like him as spiderman in MTV movie awards. LOL!
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:03:11 AM

Jack shut the f*ck up, get your fat ass on treadmill,lose some weight and maybe you can get in some better roles.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:11:09 AM

its all about orange county where jack black plays a drug addict which basically means he playedh himself. He got the gurning and buzzing out spot on he's blatantly method acting. I didn't mind him in King Kong but that last line seemed like it was a one take wonder, the most powerful line of the film and he say's it like hes ordering mcdonalds?
trailertrash writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:11:32 AM

Some bigger rolls of fat you mean mate ...
trailertrash writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:17:21 AM

Cinema- ordering from Mc D's is all he knows
trailertrash writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:19:49 AM

Rodan - Very true .. lol
Snootch writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:49:52 AM

We lose fat guys like Belushi, Candy, and Farley, yet this self important jack ass still does his same tired act. He was great in High Fidelity when I had no clue who he was....even the earlier Tenacious D shows were good, but the over exposure to Black just keeps me away from anything he does.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 9:15:43 AM

TT-Wonder if you get a choice of roll with him? His right side-Cinnamon Rolls. His Left-Sweet Rolls and his ass Buttered Rolls
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 9:19:50 AM

lol he broke the rules now ill pull out all his pubic haaaaiiirr the mother f*cker
lawman writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 10:35:25 AM

I can not, for the life of me, see the appeal of this assclown! He has NEVER ONCE even wrung a chuckle out of me. Hes a f*cking tool who got luck it all!
trailertrash writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 11:04:35 AM

Agree Lawman and his new movie Guillvers Travel looks terrible IMO ..
trailertrash writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 11:05:24 AM

Bad- lol, Or trying to give himself Bombay Roll

Snootch -

Good point he can't hold a candle next to those guys , Hell not even to james belushi either...
Anung_un_rama writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 12:29:49 PM

what do you mean its not going to be a comedy now?
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 1:52:44 PM

Maybe Jack and Bryan Singer can do a Superman movie together

Jack would fit just right in that suit with that backwoods beard he's sporting there

Call it Superman Returns to the Trailer Park
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 3:17:45 PM

I haven't seen a fatter, unfunnier lucky slob since Rogen arrived.
pomme writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 4:14:21 PM

Jack Black always is Jack Black in the movies
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 4:25:18 PM

Mink- lol. is it me or do I just despise that worthless f*ck Seth Rogen anymore? Am i the only one who feels that way?
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 4:29:23 PM

You're not alone, bad. I couldn't stand him the minute I saw him. I think it was the stink coming off his cheesy triple chins that did it for me.
Contagion writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 5:01:50 PM

THE GREEN FAT LANTERN. Powered by the Burger King battery.

minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 5:51:52 PM

"Jack Black on Almost Starring in "Green Lantern" Film"

Is this anything like Jack Black almost having a film career?
mally writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:39:20 PM

Fatass Lantern
http://tiny.cc/madfatass
JohnZee writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:30:26 AM

Oh okay so he was never going to play Hal Jordan or any other half-viable Green Lantern, just Kyle Rayner...
rabid writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 2:59:35 AM

I'm glad for the serious take on GL they have going now, but I would have totally been into a Jack Black superhero comedy. That should happen before he gets old and arthritic.
Ranger writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:06:44 AM

If they made a comedic Green Lantern...

I would have tracked down those responsible and sh*t in their corn flakes and impregnated their daughters!
trailertrash writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:09:15 PM

I would do that anyway , just for good measure

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved