WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

New Footage from "2001: A Space Odyssey" Found

Posted: December 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
New Footage from "2001: A Space Odyssey" FoundSubmit Comment
A user on the Eagle Transporter website attended a presentation by Douglas Trumbull and David Larson at a Toronto event where the duo revealed that Warner Bros has found 17 minutes of edited footage from Stanley Kubrick's "2001: A Space Odyssey" in their salt-mine vault in Kansas.

Kubrick reportedly cut nineteen minutes of footage from the final cut, which ran 160 minutes long during its premiere. Trumbull was happy to report that the footage is in perfect condition, but he's not sure what the studio is planning to do with it.

According to IMDB, the following scenes were cut:

* Some shots from the "Dawn of Man" sequence were removed and a new scene was inserted where an ape pauses with the bone it is about to use as a tool. The new scene was a low-angle shot of the monolith, done in order to portray and clarify the connection between the man-ape using the tool and the monolith.

* Some shots of Frank Poole jogging in the centrifuge were removed.

* An entire sequence of several shots in which Dave Bowman searches for the replacement antenna part in storage was removed.

* A scene where HAL severs radio communication between the "Discovery" and Poole's pod before killing him was removed. This scene explains a line that stayed in the film in which Bowman addresses HAL on the subject.

* Some shots of Poole's space walk before he is killed were removed.

Source: Blastr, EagleTransporter, IMDB


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 8:35:20 PM

Hopefully, it's the footage that makes the film less boring.
Bob82 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 8:49:37 PM

@minkowski: "Hopefully, it's the footage that makes the film less boring."

Or even more.

One of my favourite movies, but I agree it's not a fun movie.
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:01:44 PM

LOVED the book, Bob, but I couldn't stand the movie. Especially the way he over-used the music. I mean, if I want a classical concert I'll go see a Bach-Mozart performance downtown.

I mean, so much of 2001 was a classical music video set to uninspired space imagery. And that musiic in the beginning with the monkeys. Sheesh. I needed a Motrin c*cktail afterwards. I mean, I got the point Kubrick, no need to bash it into my brain.

All the mystery and magic of the book was bled out and replaced with an unsubtle attempt to pretentiously patronize to both the audience and Clarke.

The problem as I see it was that the film was made in 1967-68, and given the cultural climate in this country at that time, they made a movie appropriate to those post-modern new-age sensibilities, which I don't enjoy.
Bob82 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:37:28 PM

You read the book, I didn't, so there's no point to argue about that.

Stanley Kubrick was an unique and strong filmmaker, but his passion for movies often left behind the original material that his pictures were based on, so that's why I understand your point.

For example, I saw "The Shining", cool movie. Then read the book, LOVED it. I had more chills reading it that watching the movie. I judge them separately, it works better.
masht7 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:40:04 PM

Well guys, the reason I loved the movie is because it showed that actions speak louder then words and how stunning it looked for a film made in 1968. I understand why some people hate this movie because it barley has any dialogue but Kubrick was aiming for a silent film and that's what made this film a classic one. One of the reasons why I hated '2010: The Year We Made Contact', because it had people speaking.
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:42:52 PM

I judge them separately as well, Bob, which is why I can tell you the reasons, specifically, why I didn't like the film but contrarily enjoyed the book.

And yes, the Shining was good in either form, and as distinct expressions in different mediums of the same material.
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:44:28 PM

A silent film, set on a silent stage (space). Well, can't blame him there, but then he can't blame me for not enjoying his film.
triggax writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:00:07 PM

Nice to see some intelligent banter on WorstPreviews.

Nice to have you back around, Mink.

I can't be bothered speaking with retards anymore. Im talking to you, Ranger.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:20:22 PM

Is this the one where Hal messes up the laundry in the washing machine ?

"Hallllllll!!!!!"
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:22:39 PM

It couldn't be any more labor intensive than 2010 : Odyssey Two.

I kept waiting for Robert Shaw to show up and help Roy Scheider throw the rest of the crew out the airlock and then say, " f*ck this. Let's go somewhere they serve beer. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:38:26 PM

They also forgot that scene where the monkeys breakdance to Was NotWas' song " Walk The Dinosaur ".
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:54:19 PM

I would love to see this footage. Absolutely adore this film. The father of modern sci- fi films.
the_dude writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 1:46:09 AM

Yet another masterpiece sitting below the town of Hutchinson, KS. I don't remember this being part of the tour though. If you ever hear of a salt mine collapse in Kansas, know at that precise moment every single master print of any studio's "golden collection" is history. It would be the same thing has having the Smithsonian perish or the Louvre in Paris being leveled for those of us who cherish film as works of art. Initial looks at the place that is "off limits to the public" reminds you of Area 51 in Indiana Jones KOTC... Makes me wonder what else is down there.
Wallace writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 2:32:03 AM

@ minkowski: it's actually Strauss and Ligeti. No offense.
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 2:32:39 AM

@trig - hey be nice to me.

I wear a condom when I'm f*cking your wife.

minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 3:34:01 AM

"@ minkowski: it's actually Strauss and Ligeti. No offense"

Shut up.

When I mentioned Bach and Mozart, I was tossing out classical composers as EXAMPLES, not as musical contributors to 2001.

Like I'm going to run to IMDb for the soundtrack list just for some damned post on WP, and like I otherwise give a sh*t.

But nice trying to 'correct me', douchebag.

And always good to see you Triggax. Wonder where YOU'VE been?
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 4:17:38 AM

He's out on probation... again.
Emmitt writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 4:23:37 AM

@minkowski:
Have you seen 2010? It was the perfect example of an entirely differnet way to adapt the book(s): a classical sci-fi adventure.

I, personally, love 2001, both the book and the film, and I appreciate that Kubrick directed it the way he did.

After watching 2010 I had the feeling it gave me nothing, it was just the book transcripted onto screen, with no added value. I'd rather read the book again than watch the film, though it wasn't bad at all. I simply see no point of an adaptation, if it brings nothing new, just like with so many of today's (comic) book adaptations (and remakes, sequels etc.).

If someone else had directed 2001 I guess it would've ended up the same as a forgettable space adventure. If it hadn't been for the fact that the book and the film were created side by side with Kubrick and Clarke closely co-working, of course.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:42:20 AM

Kubrick is god, 2001 was boring but thats what he specialises in the long drawn out scenes definetly not as good as every one says it is.
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 11:33:52 AM

Most amazing (for me) of the movie though, is the special effects still hold up, very well. There was a LOT of foresight put into this movie.
rocketman writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 12:29:27 PM

Better be a black guy in it.
jdl107 writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 12:45:10 PM

God Mink's just a pissy little sh*t, isn't he? Whatever. The know all, be all of knowledge on the Earth. try not to correct him, because he's such a f*ckin' genius.

Anyway, this would be cool. This movie was...... it was beautiful. People have their opinions, but honestly, I didn't mind seeing things float around at 1 mph. This movie just had an amazing feel, I don't know what it is.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 1:29:05 PM

As a master visionary director, Kubrick's 2001 gave a 1960s audience a glimpse of what space travel could be like. PAN AM shuttle docking at the rotating space station set to the tune of Johann Strauss' Blue Danube is impressive on a massive screen (ironic PAN AM doesn't exist today - seems Kubrick got that part wrong). The waltz done properly is effortless, synchronized and likened to the precision that must exist for a safe space docking procedure. Or maybe he was showing us slow spaceship sex?

@Ranger: don't worry, there are many (including I) who will still speak with you. I don't discriminate from retards or non-retards. Only those that can post with some level of intelligence rather than spray words outta their ass.

On that note, the primal man-ape was right to pick up a bone in order to bash in the skull of the rival tribe leader.
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 11:11:39 PM

@Mr. B. - thx. Bro.
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 11:12:13 PM

Trig's still pissed that the first words out of his kid's mouths were: 'Daddy Ranger'

rocketman writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 2:13:21 AM

Top film,must read the book if its as good as Mink says.will get onto it. but the film,i dunno if its the grass(it is) but i can't stop watching this flick. Dawn of man...class.Deffo in my top 10.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved