WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Thor" to be Boycotted by Council of Conservative Citizens

Posted: December 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Thor" to be Boycotted by Council of Conservative CitizensSubmit Comment
Idris Elba (RocknRolla, "The Wire") plays a Norse god by the name of Heimdall in Marvel's "Thor" film. Heimdall is sometimes referred to as "The White God," which is why the Council of Conservative Citizens (CofCC) is planning to boycott the movie when it hits theaters on May 6th.

The group wrote: "Norse mythology gets multi-cultural remake in upcoming movie titled 'Thor.' It's not enough that Marvel attacks conservative values, now mythological Gods must be re-invented with black skin. It seems that Marvel Studios believes that white people should have nothing that is unique to themselves. An upcoming movie, based on the comic book Thor, will give the Aesir (god) an insulting multi-cultural make-over. One of the Gods will be played by Hip Hop DJ Elba."

The way the statement is written seems quite racist. But does CofCC have a reason to be angry?

Elba recently defended the casting, stating: "Thor is mythical, right? Thor has a hammer that flies to him when he clicks his fingers. That's OK, but the color of my skin is wrong? If you know anything about the Nords, they don't look like me but there you go. I think that's a sign of the times for the future. I think we will see multi-level casting. I think we will see that, and I think that's good."

Several fans have responded by stating: "This PC crap has gone too far. Norse deities are not of an African ethnicity" and "Asgard is home to the Norse Gods. I wouldn't expect to see many Brad Pitt types walking around in the Black Panther's Wakanda Palace."

CofCC has previously called Marvel "viciously anti-white" and even "racist," pointing to the company's "Black Panther" comics which have endless evil white characters, who are murderers and rapists, and are often racist.

Question: Is Marvel correct in casting a black actor to play a Norse god in "Thor"?

Source: CofCC, The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 123 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
sc_kg writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 8:45:22 PM

Is Marvel correct in casting a black actor to play a Norse god in "Thor"?

Is there any difference?
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 8:45:33 PM

Well, they have a point, to a point. Norse mythology was white because the people using it were white.

But I do find it insulting to black people. I mean, why not make a film based on African mythology with black people? Throwing a black guy into a mythological white role is a little patronizing, kinda like when someone claimed a black man invented the first 'clothes dryer', when in fact all he came up with was a hanger next to the stove.

But I don't give a sh*t because I'm not watching this trash. And yeah, Marvel has always had a very annoying liberal, mult-cultural, politically-correct slant, but that's old news.

But it is one reason I can't stand their comic books, as I consider them an insult to my intelligence. They're like one rung above Image in all respects.
-Chewy- writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 8:58:13 PM

It's not racist; it's logical.

They should try to pass their messages less angrily but they are right. Norse gods are not black.

Is it that big of a deal ? Maybe not. But their point is legitimate.

What's worse is that Marvel did not put a black man as a norse god just for fun; they did it so that they can appeal to a bigger audience. It's a Marketing decision; it's not bound by any ethical argument.
SmokeyDesperado writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 8:58:59 PM

and in the wise words of stewie griffin.." A bullet sounds the same in every language" so f*ck off CofCC
bandolero999 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:03:22 PM

hahaha funny sh*t already ruined by adding another black man.

first the kingpin played by the big mandingo from green Mile,Nick Fury played by Sam Jackson,even though Sam Jackson is great he shouldnt even have a part in it but by doing that it'll increase more popularity. Nick Fury should of been played by Tom Berenger,but marvel wouldnt Greenlit it because his last hit was back in the 80s.Then they tried to have some black geek nerdier than steve Urkel wanting to be in Spider Man but got that dude from Facebook.The only replacement in my opinion would be Brokeback mountain boy jake glyenhall as Peter parker but that wont go.

Wats next Beyonce for wonderwoman?

minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:05:24 PM

But black people raise hell when a white guy 'steals' their music, like Elvis and others. lol. ok.

BTW, I heard some black guy the other day claim that Abraham Lincoln was black. I guess MLK was really a white guy. I think I'll say that in public, see what reaction I get.
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:07:45 PM

And I'd be just as pissed if they made a historically Japanese samurai film filled with whites.
batdump writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:12:31 PM

who cares? why not have a black guy play him? is it that important that the mythology stays white in a MOVIE? really? c'mon get over it. if that were the case than there almost wouldn't be any black people in hero movies.

and as far as Marvel having evil white characters... according to U.S. history they are evil people. White people... so dumb and quite ignorant. always want to change things to resemble yourselves. almost godlike thinking...

grow up.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:13:45 PM

yea the have made a samurai film already with tom cruise The last Samurai.he was the samurais last hope with only a short time of training he learned about swordsmanship and Japanese.

I want Brad Pitt for the Black panther since he has the right because hes got like 3 or 4 third world country kids
jigsaw23 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:15:03 PM

who cares
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:17:08 PM

White people aren't any more evil than any other group of people, moron.

Black people have been committing genocide since the dawn of man, and they're still doing it today. They were doing it when everyone else had running water while they dind't even have the f*cking wheel, so don't give me that sh*t.

And Asians? Ever hear of the Rape of Nanking? Aztec and Mayan sacrifices? Aboriginal and Native American slaughters?

All of history is littered with the blood of man against man, but hey, at least old whitey came up with modern civilization to make all that warfare increasingly obsolete. Yeah, sh*t happens and people like Hitler come along, but we get right back up.

So grow up sh*t-for-brains.
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:17:56 PM

And I love how I'm told to grow up by some damned imbecile named 'batdump' Yeah, no immaturity in you, right?
markoz writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:20:57 PM

They have good reasons,but it's a movie.They're fussing over nothing
batdump writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:22:45 PM

I told u to grow up because u act like its impossible for a black man to play a traditionally white character jackhole.

why don't we just keep women out of roles where they might be smart too?

and lets make sure Mexicans keep playing broke down banditos too. typical White power ranting. I'm just posing a view from the other side

and to attack someones user name is a pretty dumb stance to take.
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:31:49 PM

It's not a 'dumb' stance to take, sh*thead, when it's clear evidence of your own damned juvenile mentality, which makes you an ignornat hypocrite among other things.

"I told u to grow up because u act like its impossible for a black man to play a traditionally white character jackhole."

No one said it was 'impossible' for black man to play a white role. Stop putting words into people's mouths and go back putting c*ck into your ass. Sounds like you're good at doing both.

We said they have a legitimate right to complain.

"why don't we just keep women out of roles where they might be smart too?"

What the f*ck are you talking about?? That's not even remotely analogous, dumbass!

Smarter? Women? WTF? We're talking about PC-forcing blacks into white roles as per the mandates of mult-cultural bullsh*t. So STFU until you know what yo're talking about.

"and lets make sure Mexicans keep playing broke down banditos too. typical White power ranting. I'm just posing a view from the other side"

You should find a side first, rather than blowing your piehole off with nonsense. Find somethng intelligent to say first before you speak. Try that, ok?

And Mexicans and banditos? WTF again? You're just tossing out the typical non sequitur garbage mindless morons like you rely on in lieu of actually thinking.

Ah, doling out a good ass-kicking is better than a good cigar any day.
jam writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:41:53 PM

So let me get this straight... people are upset that a black man is playing a white god... really?!? Are you kidding me? Why don't we talk about Egyptians of ancient times always being portrayed as white folks in biblical stories? Give me freaking break.... Council of Conservative Citizens... sounds like code language for undercover white power organization if you ask me. Why the heck would anyone care about this? New flash people... its MYTHOLOGY!!!! Its not like Wesley Snipes is playing Ex-President Bush in a movie. This is so freaking ridiculous... 2010 and people are still on this kind of crap!
batdump writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:49:07 PM

that's what u call a good ass kicking? wow, apparently your life is about as exciting as potato chips. since when does not being able to comprehend arguments equal doling out ass kickings?

haha and I love this bit:

"Stop putting words into people's mouths and go back putting c*ck into your ass. Sounds like you're good at doing both."

and I was the one grabbing random thoughts? hahaha. what I said was you ACT like it is impossible. u people start ranting and raving to defend your precious white characters. movie site ranters like you are what make the internet so funny. because you are so dumb and would rather start spouting insults instead of proving points.

I do agree with you on one point, if they cast a white man in a traditionally black role, Jesse Jackson would be on the news raving about the injustice, which is dumb. but we arent talking about an Abraham Lincol or MLK movie here. we are talking about a movie about superheroes and mythical gods.

but I have already spent enough time reading your ignorance, so I'm done with this topic and you.
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:56:18 PM

Council of Conservative Citizens???


Don't you mean CoCC?
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:12:28 PM

WTF!! COCC go f*ck yourselves!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:26:05 PM

Did anyone tell these rocket scientists that it was a superhero movie based on a comic book ?

I mean, if we want to get into semantics (like these people obviously do), it's MARVEL's take on Thor, not the Norse mythology that you would read in school or say, get from a f*ckING DOc*mENTARY.

I don't f*cking care if Flip f*cking Wilson, Nipsy f*cking Russell, Paul f*cking Rodriguez or Tim f*cking Allen were playing Heimdall ... so long as the motherf*cker can ACT.

f*ck. Be lucky it wasn't Channing f*cking Tatum.

And when the f*ck was Elba ever a DJ ? They must be mistaking him for Shannon Sossamon (who was a DJ before getting into acting).

Tell these " Council of Conservative (Well, there ya go. The name says ALOT.) Citizen *ssholes to take off their hoods. Their Grand Dragon... I mean, their President, is talking to them.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:30:58 PM

jam writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:41:53 PM
So let me get this straight... people are upset that a black man is playing a white god... really?!? Are you kidding me? Why don't we talk about Egyptians of ancient times always being portrayed as white folks in biblical stories? Give me freaking break.... Council of Conservative Citizens... sounds like code language for undercover white power organization if you ask me. Why the heck would anyone care about this? New flash people... its MYTHOLOGY!!!! Its not like Wesley Snipes is playing Ex-President Bush in a movie. This is so freaking ridiculous... 2010 and people are still on this kind of crap!

@jam

To help out your stance on this ... case in point :

Elizabeth Taylor playing Cleopatra.


If you want to back up your arguement, then Marc Antony was played by Richard Burton.

Marc was of Mediterrean Italian decent, not Anglo-Saxon.

Cleopatra ? African decent, not Anglo-Saxon.
Sinestro writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:32:53 PM

It's simple, these characters are based on a once popular religion. It should be shown reverence, just like any other mythology. These Gods were not black, those are just the facts of the case. It's not racist.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:42:12 PM

Continued ....

I mean, Clash of the Titans (the post millennial version) had Zeus, a Greek god formed by the perceptions of Mediterrean Greeks played by an actor who is not only Irish, but does not have the olive-toned skin of a Greek.

Pete Postlethwaite, for god's sakes, is an English actor playing an old, Greek fisherman. Ralph Fiennes playing Hades ?

Not too many Greek or even Greek-American actors out in Hollywood that they hired on that shoot (or sh*t, if you were a critic.). Bottom line, movies now already a go-to list of actors and actresses they go to for one simple reason : Hollywood is a f*cking cheap bitch who never pays her bills.

Hence, remakes, retreads and repeats. Hence, lousy movies, for the most part.

And hence, non-ethnically politically-correct movies, banned by people who don't have better time to wipe their ass than to get their 15 minutes of television coverage.

They want to do some real damage ? Stay at home and don't buy a ticket.

f*ckers.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:46:39 PM

Sinestro writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:32:53 PM
It's simple, these characters are based on a once popular religion. It should be shown reverence, just like any other mythology. These Gods were not black, those are just the facts of the case. It's not racist.


@Sinestro

Okay.

Then have Rip Torn play Jesus.

Or Chun Yun Fat.

Or Jackie Chan.

Jesus Christ, Drunken Master!


They are fictional characters created by people to explain phenomenon.

And this is Marvel's take on them.

Now, if it was Brad Pitt playing, say, Jimi Hendrix at Woodstock, I would see your point.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:48:48 PM

I mean, hell ... Marvel turned Nick Fury from David Hasselhoff to Samuel L Jackson ...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:49:41 PM

^

" Get these motherf*cking snakes off this motherf*cking SHIELD Hovercraft! "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:51:33 PM

Besides, how many groups whose inititals sound like a man's phallus can you take seriously, hunh ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:52:12 PM

Correction : initials, not inititals
scotty7471 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:57:36 PM

oh darn, a bunch of under-educated inbreeds arent going to the movies. oh how will movies survive with this kind of brave standing up for non-issues
(its a MOVIE you freaks, or are we supposed to believe everything in movies is the real thing)
DetroitFanRick writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:59:19 PM

Unless I'm missing something, the Valkyries of Asgard were known to acquire the souls of deserving warriors for residence in Asgard. So who's to say they didn't pick a few non-white warriors that they believed to be deserving?

Far as I'm concerned, I'm going to throw my money down to see Thor and piss on these CofCC boneheads.

Oh, and for the record, I'm a conservative myself. Just not a KKKonservative.
Schrute Farms writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:59:46 PM

They should spend this energy fighting against Chris Evans as Captain America.

batdump writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:08:22 PM

I think Max said it best
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:09:08 PM

Schrute Farms writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:59:46 PM
They should spend this energy fighting against Chris Evans as Captain America.

@Schrute Farms

I don't know ... the amount of money they spent for those roids.

He could crack and become US Agent, tearing the heads off the pa assistants and crew.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:10:06 PM

Jaleel White as Sid Vicious ?

Anyone ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:11:07 PM

The late Gary Coleman as Marley's Ghost in a remake of A Christmas Carol by Spike Lee ?

Anyone ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:13:35 PM

Chuck Norris as Mohammad ?

Then Osama would see some fundamentalistic extremism!



See ?

Racist and action-packed!

If you're gonna do it, COCC, do it right.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:18:26 PM

It's like Clarence said in "It's a Wonderful Life."

"Every time Max is the reasonable one in a WP post, a baby gets aborted and an angel gets his wings."

Or something like that.
Man in Black writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:20:48 PM

Its a comic universe if we have learned anything NOTHING is set in stone and the c*cks er... i meant CoCCs have nothing else to bitch about well looks like i have a pitch for the best reality show ever , drop there pasty white asses off in Camden new jersey at about sundown or better Detroit -film them and see how long they last . Also @ Max good to see your back to your old form of posting id guess alex will ostracize you here soon .
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:36:18 PM


Man in Black writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:20:48 PM
Its a comic universe if we have learned anything NOTHING is set in stone and the c*cks er... i meant CoCCs have nothing else to bitch about well looks like i have a pitch for the best reality show ever , drop there pasty white asses off in Camden new jersey at about sundown or better Detroit -film them and see how long they last . Also @ Max good to see your back to your old form of posting id guess alex will ostracize you here soon .

@Men In Black

Well, I can't say I don't have it coming. Or in Putnam's case, ... nah, I'm already in deep ca ca over that one.
shayhiri writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:40:14 PM

I wish Marvel never existed.
Man in Black writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:40:37 PM

@ Max - hahahahaha nice man im rollin with laughter, nice ! you even got in a shot on DP ( Double Penetration man )
aarttist writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:48:33 PM

its pathetic that that these fools are even getting attention, and whats worse is that idiots HERE are actually agreeing with them. REALLY? first of all it's a damn comic book, who cares? go crap in your hand and die CofCC and anyone who agrees with them.
idris elba is a good actor he does his job well, I have no doubt that he'll portray the part to the best of his ability. now if it was 50 cent then I'd be the first to say WTF!!! same as angelina plaing cleopatra, she is a good establish actress who will play that role well, am I gonna whine because she isn't black? HELL NO. c'mon now.
THIS FICTION folks, fake imaginary COMIC BOOKS.... get a life. of all the reasons to protest, this is what you fight for? dumbass
SaulSilver writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 12:18:08 AM

All this means is the percentage of people who aren't douchebags that see this movie will go up....slightly.
I can see why people aren't liking how Thor looks, but, i'm sure looking forward to it. It looks epic.
Lulupendragon writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 1:01:52 AM

The Kingpin in the movie Daredevil was played by a black guy, so what if they want to cast a black guy to play a Norse God. Show me where it says all the Norse gods were white?
Lulupendragon writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 1:08:02 AM

"They want to do some real damage ? Stay at home and don't buy a ticket."

agreed!!
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 1:36:53 AM

Boycott away!

Movies LIVE for FREE press like this!

'Several fans have responded by stating: "This PC crap has gone too far.' --- YA THINK?!

How the f*ck can CCofC call Marvel Anti-White when they're putting in 'The White God' into their movie?! These self-righteous, self-important (boycott THIS f*ckers!), book-burning, censorship types against freedom of speech, the arts, etc. really gripe my ass!

The White God is WHITE - deal with it!

The Black Panther is BLACK - deal with it!

I can't believe this sh*t keeps coming back, over, and over, and over... decade after f*cking decade!!!

Time to send CCofC some junk email me thinks.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 2:18:31 AM

Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 1:36:53 AM
Boycott away!

Movies LIVE for FREE press like this!

'Several fans have responded by stating: "This PC crap has gone too far.' --- YA THINK?!

How the f*ck can CCofC call Marvel Anti-White when they're putting in 'The White God' into their movie?! These self-righteous, self-important (boycott THIS f*ckers!), book-burning, censorship types against freedom of speech, the arts, etc. really gripe my ass!

The White God is WHITE - deal with it!

The Black Panther is BLACK - deal with it!

I can't believe this sh*t keeps coming back, over, and over, and over... decade after f*cking decade!!!

Time to send CCofC some junk email me thinks.


@ Ranger

That would have to include free copies of Hooked on Phonics and I'll be damned if I'm gonna spend one penny to teach these backwood, imbred, mongoloid cyclops how to read.
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 2:23:06 AM

Just teach them what a 'double-standard' is.

Oh wait! They're already experts at that.
rabid writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 2:50:27 AM

There have been a few transplants to Asgard. Hogun of the Warriors Three migrated there from Asia. Mirage of the New Mutants was made an Asgardian and she's native american. So Asgard obviously accepts the occassional refugee.

In the 90's Heimdall was reincarnated as a Mexican. A few years ago he was reincarnated as a black man. So it's nothing to new to me. But I'm always glad to see anything that infuriates the nazis.
Sinestro writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 2:53:57 AM

You misunderstand me, Max. I'm not saying having John Wayne play Genghis Khan is acceptable. I'm saying changing a well established character's ethnicity, especially a character that is part of a culture's mythology and history, is not acceptable in any situation. These people are a bit overzealous and fanatical, but it's not necessarily racist what they are doing.
crimsonshaft writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 2:57:59 AM

until Jesus and Santa Claus go back to being black anyone can play anyone without any bitching.
japaninmotion writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 3:10:35 AM

what a non issue
K-lube Bonnerman writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 4:13:40 AM

Marvel could fix the whole issue by changing the characters name to "The God of Chocolate Thunder" and give him a big fat wife with one of those big ass gaps in her front teeth.
Ranger writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 4:20:39 AM

lol...
ecojosh1 writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 5:56:12 AM

I'm okay with this casting as long as Marvel also makes a movie with a white Blade.
j-man writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 6:17:23 AM

is this council also known as council for conservative faggots?
dub031 writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 6:24:44 AM

HIP HOP DJ ELBA???? hahahaaha c'mon guys...all due respect they might have a point blablabla...they're definitely not interested in argueing that "point" they're just sum racist fukcs, simple and plain.
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 6:34:56 AM

@ Max Rockatansky

In relationt to greeks having olive skin.

I am half Greek, half British (with a mix of all the peoples of Britian)and a Greek taxi driver told me, all Greeks were intially white...when the f*cking turks came and raped all the women, then the greeks got dark skin!

I laughed, he was actually serious!

In regards to the article with CoCC Vs Idris 'Mumbles' Elba.

I never fully understand why they need to change the race of a character, for PC. To me it makes no sense changing history and peoples ancient beliefs just to suit others.

But i have no problems with Elba playing Heimdall, he is a fantastic actor and would probably do well in this roll as he does with all his. but it will distract people during the film

'Why is that dude from the Wire playing a Norse God?'

or

What's with the black dude and asian dude?

I have forever said that PC sucks, and in the case of people want Will Smith to play Captain America or James Bond, i said sure why not. then you wouldn't have a problem with Matthew McConahey playing the Black Panther or Shaft then?

PC works both ways, and f*cks everything up

Just like Free Speech...

Left Wingers winge about Free Speech and how everyone has the right to voice their own opinion (which they do), but it back fires and far right wing facists walk the streets, or when racial or religious extremists hold rallies preaching hatred.
Trip Maverick writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 7:42:45 AM

Yeah Hip Hop DJ?

Hes from UK and an actor. They obviously never saw the Wire.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:29:24 AM

Chuck Norris as Mohammad ?

NOW YOUR TALKING MAX SHOW ME THE MONEY.

The way they set out the statement is racist. end of. The casting of a black person in this role is unnecessary but like max said who cares its a comic book not a f*cking histroy lesson. Gods dont exist, science exists. Religion is for the weak minded sheep who need to be told how to think. FIGHT THE POWER! CINEMA IS DEAD. NUFF SAID
Aingx writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:36:47 AM

If you're going to make an accurate comic book movie, use the right type of character. Not racial at all, simple fact.

Think Daredevil's Kingpin.

Or you can just say 'screw the comic fans' and film movies for the soul intent of making money like always....
Snootch writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:46:07 AM

So I could be a douche too....Max had it partially right on Cleopatra. She was mostly a Greek / African mix, but comes more from the line of Alexander the Great's lineage putting her more on the "whiter side of life". Then again my source was happening to watch an episode of the Daily Show when discussing the new book about her life.

Did I add value here....absolutely not....just being a F'ing Nancy No-it-all trying to clarify.

As for my opinion, who cares what color the person is...it is a fictional piece...if it was a real portrayal of the Norse people I would say ok its a stretch, but again it is fiction which last I checked equaled...."not real"
SACdaddy writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 9:05:37 AM

Thank you Worstpreviews for constantly reminding us that bigotry still is alive and well in the world.

Topics like these seem to just be a platform for certain members (and hosts) of this site to demonize black people and cry fool every time someone thinks out of the box. Really people, if you sat back and listened to these mountains out of mole hills you create every time WP runs an article on a black person (not named Denzel Washington), you might realize how ridiculous you sound. "Blacky is stealing all of our roles" or "I bet black people would be rioting if a white person were cast as Malcolm X" is what your argument boils down to every post. It never seems to matter to you that white people have been cast in non-white roles (both fictional and historical) ever since the dawn of motion pictures without much fuss from the viewing audience. But let a black kid just try to get an audition for a traditionally white role like Spidey and you'd think WWIII had just broken out. Someone "suggests" Will Smith (arguably Hwood's top actor) for Capt America and the internet explodes with racism (and even worse, crys of reverse-racism), but there's hardly a peep when Johnny Depp is cast as Tonto or Jake G is cast as the Prince of "PERSIA". Now you're hollering about a brother (who's one hell of an actor) being cast as a Norse god. Funny, I didn't hear the same uproar when Christopher Lambert was cast as Raiden in Mortal Combat. Dramatic license is nothing new in Hollywood. If you don't believe me just ask an Asian. Hwood has cast almost every Asian videogame/anime character (from Goku and Chung Li to the entire cast of the Last Airbender) with white actors, yet no one is boycotting. I could go on and on with examples of white actors being cast in non-white roles, but what good would it do?

Grow up people, Marvel is not the new Black Panther movement, and black people are not your enemy.
lawman writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 9:32:05 AM

I personally dont see any problem with it FOR A MOVIE. But I do understand why some would get up in arms. Not because a traditionally white god (if in fact a GOD can have a color since NO ONE HAS EVER f*ckING SEEN A GOD) but because it would almost certainly NOT be reciprocated? If a white man played Shaka Zulu in a reboot, I am pretty sure Blacks would be pissed.

SAC>> Some of the people on here are openly racist, and that is wrong. I can point out FACTS that there are more black people in jail for VIOLENT crimes, which would lead a logical person to beleive that blacks have a higher propensity toward violence. But I can also point out that more whites are serial killers and con artists (Nigerian scams aside) and ruin an equal amount of lives. But to attack a RACE simply because of preconceived notions shows a clear lack of intelligence of a person of ANY color! I totally agree with you on Elbas acting and personally think he might be one of the FEW redeeming qualities in the movie. I have not seen a movie YET that he hasnt been great in. Even his Indi films. I do have to disagree with you on the "Black people are not your enemy comment" though. Anyone with d*cks traditionally as huge as yours is a threat to me daily!!! Thank GOD you guys dont really like to eat p*ssy or I'd be screwed royally!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 9:35:44 AM

I don't give a sh*t if there's a black norse god, this movie is going to suck anyway.

But thank god these morons didn't get all tied up in the "Hobbit" casting thing, that's something to ACTUALLY boycott.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 9:50:31 AM

LOL Lawman!!!! Thanks for the compliment ;-)

But don't you realize that your Shaka Zulu comment is just more of the same. Once again you're stating the obvious if you think black people would be bothered by a white Shaka Zulu. I would expect any sane/reasonable person to have the same reaction considering SZ was a real person and not a fictional character. Hopefully you would be put off by such a basic fact of history being so blantanly changed....right?
lawman writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 10:29:30 AM

Of course I would be put off. I caught the relevance of what I wrote after I posted it. I think the point I was going for was that SZ and The Norse gods were both important to their respective peoples and neither would be happy with a change, though, like you said, SZ was a real person. I should have written something like " Blacks would be upset if Shango was portrayed by a white man". I dont know enough about the COFCC to determine if they are racist or just trying to preserve some level of self. I do have a problem with the fact that we can have (at least here in the U.S.) All Black or all Latino anythings but if an all white soemthing came about, it would immidiately be boycotted, marched on, and ultimately dissolved by litigators who cave to special interests. Its more a problem with society than with a particular race. Just like the Don Imus issue a while back. Nappy headed hoes was a comment that was enough to cost a man his career and have him destroyed in the public eye but when any black radio station uses the work "cracker" more times than one can count, its buisness as usual. Or when the term "Hymie town" is used to refer to the large amount of Jews in NY, its no problem. Personally, I look at the fact that Blacks can get this racism pass as somewhat oppressive and racist in its own right. Its almost as if people are saying, well Black people arent capable of competing with whites so lets allow them to be able to do and say things about other races that those races can not say about them to level the playing field. Just judging from the back and fourth you and I are able to have, it seems the playing field is already level and if you called me a Honky or Cracker (or if you went by my origins instead of appearance, a Spic) and I called you a n*gger it would be no problem for either of us but another looking in would take offense!
mrstretch writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 11:08:02 AM

Guess what everybody, it's not real so who gives a sh*t!
chris el gris writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 12:05:42 PM

Ok, the thing about any sort of adaptation is that if you "f@ck" around with any of the iconic characters, people tend to get upset; i dont think this is a racial issue at all, i think is more like trying to change supermans custome from red and blue to silver, blue, green and a whole lot of tiwnkle lamme-@ss lights (burtons version). To change the "iconic" aparence of any character is a very tricky move, its very hard to do AND it HAS to make sense, to have a black nothern god makes as much sense as to change indiana jones's hat for a "sombrero" i mean its still a hat, but NOT the iconic hat that we all love to see him wear.
rocketman writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 12:26:38 PM

Can't wait for a Chinese guy to steal the show in the reamake of 10 commandments.
Dark writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 12:28:35 PM

These dumb f*cks fighting over a fictional character's skin is f*cking pathetic. Heimdall never existed. It's just a f*cking fairy tale. So who gives a f*cking sh*t. I won't give a sh*t if they cast Jackie Chan to play him in the next reboot. CofCC can suck Marvel's super d*ck. They can do what ever the f*ck they want.
Ben Reilly writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 12:44:55 PM

I wonder what was their position on Jim Caviezel as Jesus.
jdl107 writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 12:48:40 PM

Hmm, it does seem like the white's are turning into the new blacks, eh?

I mean they're bitching about as bad.
HideousSecretion writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 1:03:55 PM

Casting a black man as a Norse god is beyond ridiculous. Total garbage. I've never heard of this Conservative Council so I can't judge their motives. But color blind is and always has been bullsh*t. I for one am really tired of f*cking up characters just to fit in a token minority. I don't want a white Black Panther and I don't want a Hawaiian Conan. I don't think anyone opposed to this casting should be too worried though. The movie looks like sh*t and is going to bomb. I don't know anyone who is going to go see this.
crimsonshaft writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 1:11:33 PM

I just checked out their website, and they featured this story, congrats. Also I find it very hypocritical that one of their core beliefs is Christianity, you know the whole 1 God thing. Yet they are getting pissed off at a movie that features multiple gods only for the reason that having a black play a white one? If they believe that the god should be white, wouldn't they have to believe that the god exists and therefore their whole religion is bunk???
Anung_un_rama writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 1:17:01 PM

For CofCC to be pissed off is stupid its apart of white culture cause white people thought it up but its not even the historical version of Norse Mythology its marvels comic book version so why all the crying over this its truly pathetic.
rabid writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 1:22:41 PM

I bet they didn't riot when they cast a white guy as Jesus.
whatdahell writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 1:39:38 PM

So Hollywood can cast Angelina Jolie as Cleopatra (the most iconic African woman in history)in a non-fictional role in an upcoming film but they can't cast Elba in a fictional role somebody pulled out of their arse for a comic? So, world history can be "modified" but don't you dare mess with the fictional characters. What a joke!
gunner writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 2:28:27 PM

Cleopatra was not black. Its funny how most of the people classify middle easterns as blacks. Most of them are are either white or brown. Theres a huge different between black and brown. Full blacks are rare in Egypt. So she was either white or brown which makes 100% sense to cast a cast white woman to play her.
whatdahell writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 2:29:04 PM

A 1960's comic could not survive in today's society without evolving with society. The character he is playing is nothing more than a glorified security guard. "For ages, he stood as the guardian of Asgard, defending the city's gates from any intruders, and was one of the most trusted servants of Odin." --from Wikipedia. That could be taken as an insult to black people in itself.
whatdahell writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 2:33:22 PM

Funny how times have changed, before if you had one drop of black blood in you you were considered black, but now brown is not longer black therefore a white woman can play a brown person. I guess being brown is no longer considered black.
Buckles44 writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 3:13:11 PM

Then How come the whites didn't rally when Nick Furry had a reverse Michael Jackson?

No Boycotts there
Comdeian Paul Mooney has an idea for a film "The Last n*gger on Earth starring Tom Hanks"
crimsonshaft writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 3:38:18 PM

@Gunner, I don't think anyone said Cleopatra was black, they said she was of African descent. Last time I checked Egypt was in Africa.
acreshakers writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 4:28:18 PM

Let me get this straight recession, unemployment, high med insurance, home foreclosures, two wars going on simultaneously and they're worried about this? Get a f*cking life morons! What difference does it make? It's a f*cking movie!! If it bothers you that much by all means keep you and your wife/sister away from the theatre! Oh and one more thing just smile and BLOW me!
acreshakers writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 4:31:24 PM

Again all this BS for a guy who's screen time is maybe what 5-10 min of a 2hr movie? My Gosh get a life! Is he gonna be in The Avengers...ya maybe as an extra!! So again some people have to much time on their hands!
Contagion writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 5:01:52 PM

c*ck...i mean CoCC are only saying this because no one listens to their backward asses anymore.

@bandolero999, you aren't a comic reader then I take it, since Marvels Avengers films are based off the Ultimates by Mark Millar which sees Nick Fury being a black character rather than a white one.

Thor is already bull sh*t as it is, so doesn't make a difference if they made this character an Indian or a Black or a Chinese man.

This movie is pure sh*t, people will boycott it anyway.
Contagion writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 5:08:48 PM

I heard that they are making a film called "Pride and Prejudice" based off the classic book and will star Jamie Foxx and Beyonce. But there will be KFC, so don't you worry.
rabid writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 6:10:16 PM

I'm not sure Cleopatra was African either. If I remember my world history, her family were Macedonian transplants with no African blood.
ChristianNYC1 writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 6:36:33 PM

Well I am glad they are boycotting Thor. This whole "Black people can be cast in a white role" Bullsit is....BULLsh*t!!

I bet if someone casted a white guy as BLADE so many blacks want to cry RACISM. Lately that is all they seem to do...cry RACISM. It is getting quite annoying already.

Seriosuly everything is NOT about racism. Now get OVER IT!!
ChristianNYC1 writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 6:41:38 PM

Wow Egypt is in Africa and were NOT the Egyptians who started SLAVERY? So why are the Whites always getting the blame for that? Blacks sold blacks back in the day but you'll never hear that complaint at all.
quest8613 writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 6:45:46 PM

hmmmmmm, wtf?
Contagion writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 7:05:36 PM

Cleopatra was a half breed. The macedonians were d*cking slaves and that resulted in the final product.
Ulver writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:08:13 PM

This isn't about a movie, or a comic book character. It's about a purpose-driven Hollywood, shoving their multi-cult, diversity agenda down White throats. I was pissed enough, when they cast "The Rock", as legendary White lawman Buford Pusser. If you want a wrestler-turned-actor, one would think "Stunning" Steve Austin would come to mind first. Not if you have an agenda though.

Every other people get to celebrate their racial and cultural unity, but when Whites do, it's "racist and hateful." You can shove your diversity. That word is on the same page of the Webster's as divisiveness. One follows the other. Pardon me, if I wish to celebrate homogeneity of my people and culture. Just the same as other races seem to do. To applause no less, from the mainstream media.

To some, Odinism is as serious a religion, as any other. I wonder how the jews in Hollyweird, would appreciate Mel Gibson casting Jackie Chan as Moses?
SPURTACUSS writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:54:10 PM

HELLO REMEMBER TARZAN NOBODY SEEMED TO HAVE A PROBLEM WITH ONE WHITE DUDE RUNNING THE WHOLE AFRICAN CONTINENT GIMMEE A FREAKIN BREAK THEY WANT REALISTIC FANTASIES GOTTA PROBLEM STAY THE F#
SPURTACUSS writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:59:51 PM

JOHN WAYNE AS GENGHIS KHAN
LIZ TAYLOR AS CLEOPATRA
BORIS KARLOFF AS CHARLIE CHAN
CHUCK CONNORS AS GERONIMO
YUL BRYNNER AS PHAROAH
AL PACINO AS TONY MONTANA
COME ON CUT THE BULLsh*t!!!!
Luminus writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:18:08 AM

All you people defending this quack group, here's a statement from their site:

(2) We believe the United States is a European country and that Americans are part of the European people. We believe that the United States derives from and is an integral part of European civilization and the European people and that the American people and government should remain European in their composition and character. We therefore oppose the massive immigration of non-European and non-Western peoples into the United States that threatens to transform our nation into a non-European majority in our lifetime. We believe that illegal immigration must be stopped, if necessary by military force and placing troops on our national borders; that illegal aliens must be returned to their own countries; and that legal immigration must be severely restricted or halted through appropriate changes in our laws and policies. We also oppose all efforts to mix the races of mankind, to promote non-white races over the European-American people through so-called “affirmative action” and similar measures, to destroy or denigrate the European-American heritage, including the heritage of the Southern people, and to force the integration of the races.

http://cofcc.org/introduction/statement-of-principles/

Let the feet in mouthing begin.
JohnZee writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 2:44:58 AM

First of all:

Whatdahell writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 1:39:38 PM
So Hollywood can cast Angelina Jolie as Cleopatra (the most iconic African woman in history)in a non-fictional role in an upcoming film but they can't cast Elba in a fictional role somebody pulled out of their arse for a comic? So, world history can be "modified" but don't you dare mess with the fictional characters. What a joke!

@Whatdahell

You're an idiot. You don't know history. And you're making an erroneous assumption that only proves that the color of your skin has completely blinded your objectivity and ability to see the TRUTH!!!

And the only thing you are doing is perpetuating the stereotype that a certain portion of darker skinned human beings in America are less intelligent than the average Neanderthal...

Is that what you were aiming for?

Because you better believe it, mission accomplished.

I could state a counter-argument based in solid truth against your apparent ignorance, but it look like someone else has already stated those very basic elementary facts.

And if I know anything about this particular matter, I know that the particular ignorance that a select minority of American has towards this specific subject is so thick it would take a diamond tipped chainsaw to even make the smallest of dents in it.





rabid writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 2:57:38 AM

I think its funny that Branaugh took a bit role for a character nobody usually cares about and turned it into a self-propigating racewar meme. Pure genius!
You can't beat free advertisement.
JohnZee writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:12:50 AM

Honestly I think this is a non-issue. And really I'm not even sure if it's even a Marvel issue. Kenneth Branagh has consistently used African Americans in his films. Sometimes when the role somewhat called for it with Denzel Washington in "Much Ado About Nothing" and "Othello", but also where it could be argued that the character may not have been black in "Love Labour's Lost"

Branagh as a director has consistently shown that he will readily use black actors, if he thinks that they can accurately portray that particular role.

And only someone looking for a fight on racism would try to argue that Heimdall was any less of a Norse God, or for that matter any less of a Marvel Thor comic book Asgardian.

A lot of the superhuman sense powers that Superman was eventually given, came from mythological references to the extraordinary sensory abilities of Heimdall.

Although not Thor or one of the primary Asgardians, there isn't an Asgardian that plays a more important role in the body politic of the Asgardians of myth then Heimdall.

Not a less role, not s steppin fetchit role, but one of the most importance.

Glorified security guard?

Only to those completely ignorant on the subject of Heimdall.

Or perhaps someone so ignorant that they would think that Wikipedia was the end all definitive keeper of all knowledge in the universe...

...Now that's pretty pathetic.

And I guarantee you that Branagh vision of Heimdall is far far superior to your "Glorified security guard" image.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:46:30 AM

@Contagion Cleopara wasn't a "half breed", quite the opposite in fact if it's true that her parents were related.

@Max Rockatansky Junior Cleopatra was NOT of African descent, she was Greek. And indigenous greeks ARE racially white and so are indigenous Italians so Mark Antony was also racially white. Being racially white doesn't refer to an exact skin colour, if it did I wouldn't be racially white I'd be racially pink, lol! ALL the indigenous people of Europe are racially white. I know you used the term "Anglo-Saxon" but that's ethnicity not race. Although it would be ideal to have actors of the same ethnicity as their characters it's not quite as big a deal as having actors playing a different race. For example, I don't think people would be too upset if a Martin Luther King Jr movie was made with a black lead actor who wasn't of the same African ethnicity as him but if he was played by an actor of a different race then no doubt there would be an uproar about it.

@Idris Elba "If you know anything about the Nords, they don't look like me but there you go. I think that's a sign of the times for the future. I think we will see multi-level casting. I think we will see that, and I think that's good."

So you think it's good that FACTS (yes, I know Thor is not only mythical but also that this Thor is based on a comic, but it's a FACT that Heimdall has always been regarded portrayed as white) are replaced by political correctness? That says it all really and that's what's wrong with the world, it's being run by marxists who replace facts with political correctness if the facts don't fit their ideology and what's worse is they create new laws and police existing ones based on political correctness rather than facts. There are your fascists Michel Gondry and I wouldn't be surprised if you were one of them!
SACdaddy writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 7:18:59 AM

Lol, I love how its all about "political correctness" or "liberal Hollywood agenda" whenever a black man is cast in any non-traditional role, but when a white actor does the same (like Depp as Tonto) its for box office appeal. Some of you people make me laugh. You're so hypocritical its f*cking funny (and pitiful). I've still yet to here anyone arguing these Conservative Whoevers' viewpoint address the fact that Hollywood has been casting whites in non-white roles forever without boycotts or protest. Until someone does address that fact, there is no argument.

@luminous: Thx for revealing some great info on this group of nuts that these WPers seem to be supporting.

Like I said before, grow the f*ck up people! Marvel/Hollywod is not the new Black Panther movement. Black people are not your enemy. Waaaaalk to the liiiiight Carol Anne :-)
markoz writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 10:41:17 AM

@Max

They cast Samuel L.Jackson as Nick Fury because obviously they base his character in movies on Nick Fury from Ultimate Marvel where Nick Fury is based on Samuel L.Jackson
rabid writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 10:46:20 AM

They cast Sam Jackson as Nick Fury because he's currently the only actor in Hollywood with A COMMANDING f*ckING VOICE!
Anyone that wants to see a white Nick Fury, go watch the Hasselhoff version and see how that worked out.
Bill5115 writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:00:41 PM

Fun fact, Jesus was black, you bigots.
Lulupendragon writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:03:19 PM

Aingx writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:36:47 AM
If you're going to make an accurate comic book movie, use the right type of character. Not racial at all, simple fact.

Think Daredevil's Kingpin.

Or you can just say 'screw the comic fans' and film movies for the soul intent of making money like always....


They've already been doing this. When they make a movie "based" on a book or comic, they do it the way they want as long as the characters are there. In the Harry Potter movies, there was a bunch of parts in the book that didn't make it into the movie. Also, I'll bet most of the movies based on Stephen King's book weren't totally accurate. Not even the movie "Queen of the Damned" went along with the book.
rabid writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:24:37 PM

When Thor was created at Marvel, it was for a readership of white and jewish teenage boys. Half a century later, much of the comic community is black, asian and hispanic. So it makes total sense for a business (Marvel is a business) to offer products that are relevant and inviting to their consumers.
Basically, a black fan would be more likely to watch and buy the movie if he has a character to relate to.
The fact that it replaces a god-symbol of the aryan movement is just the icing on the cake that makes it sweeter.
Luminus writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 2:40:43 PM

Heimdall was black in Thor: The Mighty Avenger #6

Here's the link:
http://i492.photobucket.com/albums/rr281/Patsilentbob/Heimdall-is-the-Big-Man-on-Bifrost.jpg

Looks like more foot in mouthing to be had.
rabid writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 3:18:54 PM

He was latino back in the late 90's.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 6:53:39 PM

@ Just Smile

Thank you for correcting my history. You're correct in stating that Cleopatra VII was a Greek queen and was also the last pharoah of Ancient Egypt.

I should correct myself then.

Elizabeth Taylor, a British actress, was playing a Greek queen being courted by Julius Caesar, a Roman general (played by English actor, Rex Harrison) and Marc Antony (played by Richard Burton).

Liz wasn't Greek and Rex and Richard weren't Italian.

Also, the Thor movie is based on a fictitious version of a Norse polytheism, which was associated with nature. Marvel took creative "license" and wants to make their Heimdall Idris Elba, so if those nutcases want to make an impact, they are better off not buying a ticket, not picketing.

But in Hollywood, that makes as much sense as casting 20 year old young adults as high school characters in a teen opera.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:17:59 PM

@Max Rockatansky Junior British, Italian and Greek are white ethnicities, it's not as big a deal as changing races. If you want to complain about any movies where white people are playing different races then go ahead. Although at least (as far as I know) in those movies the white people are actually playing those races rather than replacing that character with a white one. Why couldn't Idris Elba at least go "whiteface" for the role?

@Bill5115 You're an idiot, Jesus was Jewish.

@rabid Whenever I see comic conventions the majority of the attendees are white so I doubt the majority of comic readers (in the USA at least, which is where Marvel is from) are black, Asian and Hispanic. Feel free to provide statistics that prove me wrong though since I'm not politically correct so won't ignore facts.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 12:45:42 AM

JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:17:59 PM
@Max Rockatansky Junior British, Italian and Greek are white ethnicities, it's not as big a deal as changing races. If you want to complain about any movies where white people are playing different races then go ahead. Although at least (as far as I know) in those movies the white people are actually playing those races rather than replacing that character with a white one. Why couldn't Idris Elba at least go "whiteface" for the role?

@Bill5115 You're an idiot, Jesus was Jewish.

@rabid Whenever I see comic conventions the majority of the attendees are white so I doubt the majority of comic readers (in the USA at least, which is where Marvel is from) are black, Asian and Hispanic. Feel free to provide statistics that prove me wrong though since I'm not politically correct so won't ignore facts.

@Just Smile

Marvel's cheap and won't shill out the movie for chalk makeup.

And conversations taped in Joe's office mentioned that Idris would look very "Homey the Clown".

*joking*
rabid writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 1:09:59 AM

I don't go to many comic conventions, but my local comic shop's clientele is thoroughly mixed. Most all of the local comic creators are black or asian though.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 1:45:38 AM

@rabid And what is the racial demographic of your town? If blacks, Asians and Hispanics are the majority then it wouldn't be surprising if they're also the majority of customers in local shops. And blacks and Asians being the majority of comic creators in your town is pretty irrelevant, especially if whites are the minority population. Have they created any famous comics? Anyway, according to your logic, if it turns out that the majority of the readers of comics with black superheroes like Blade, Storm, Spawn, Luke Cage, Black Panther etc are white then should we change the race of all those characters to white?
what_would_jesus_do writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 4:02:55 AM

Why do you never see them complain when they portray Jesus as a white man?
spartan writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 4:33:37 AM

It's a major casting error having Idris Elba play the role of Heimdall. In fact, it's absurd. I won't see the movie because of just how ridiculous it is. If it was a movie based on African lore with white actors playing the part of African heroes I'd feel the same way. It's a huge mistake. They should try staying more true to the source.
what_would_jesus_do writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 5:49:00 AM

Everybody complaining about casting error is automatically categorized as human error. You complain that a false god is not the white color but you say nothing when the true God is not portrayed as the right color. Complain all you want cause everybody knows you will watch the movie eventually just so you can have something more to whine about.
rabid writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 11:14:28 AM

Just Smile and Blow Dudes, if it makes a great story then sure why not? If you paid attention, you might have noticed in the past year that Captain America was Black Panther for a while, and Black Panther is now the Daredevil.

You have one serious racist chip on your shoulder. It must be sooo incredibly difficult being a white guy.
Vlahka writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 4:30:24 PM

@max- I mean, Clash of the Titans (the post millennial version) had Zeus, a Greek god formed by the perceptions of Mediterrean Greeks played by an actor who is not only Irish, but does not have the olive-toned skin of a Greek.


I'm actually full greek and as pale as a bloody ghost. Not every greek is olive skinned. I know plenty who are blonde too. Actually I was born blonde and my hair changed to black a few years later. I guess its no different to when some babies eye colour changes.

I'll admit I'm a bit pissed off at him being cast to a black actor. I mean Norse mythology has been around for a very long time, people actually worshipped these gods. Marvel based their comic around the real gods. They didnt just take the idea and go and screw everything up completely for fun. I mean I know I'd probably rage if they made Hercules black or chinese for example. It wont stop me from going to watch the movie and enjoying it since I actually think it looks pretty good. But yeah, not too impressed. I dont see the point of changing things. I mean really theres no reason for it.
JohnZee writes:
on December 19th, 2010 at 8:13:49 PM

Jesus H. Christ! Bad enough we have people on this thread so ignorant that they think that a historical queen with far more Greek in her than Nubian was black SOLELY because she was an African Queen.

But now we have the idiots coming out of the woodwork that just solidly know that Jesus was darker skinned than Denzel Washington...

Rubbish. Yes his skin was probably darker than the average pale skinned Northern European, but highly doubtful that he was any darker than any other native of Israel at that time.

...But Israel is close to the continent of Africa says the ignorant peanut gallery.

So? Doesn't make him outright black.

And that sh*t you've got in your head, that if the world only realized that Jesus was really a black guy?

That's some f*cked up dangerous sh*t. Right up there along the lines of Hitler thinking "Well obviously Jesus was a blonde hair blue eyed Aryan..."

Or as pathetic as a feminist saying "Jesus was such a peaceful and tolerate person, obviously he was without a penis, and in fact was secretly a woman."

A sad selfish thought, and both of you nitwits should be ashamed.

Black, white, Aryan, woman, or half-alien from the planet Zordon you are completely missing the point you loathsome snapperheads.

Didn't matter your regional, ethnic, or nationalistic origins.

...As it didn't matter what his was.

If he even ever existed at all.

NO doc*mented archeological proof.

Romans kept pretty good record, and the Israelis weren't that bad at the whole record keeping thing either, but we have yet to discover anything definitively proving his existence.

Zip, nada, nothing.

Not a damn thing proving that you're right, Hitler was right, or any other human being that would be selfish enough to say "Jesus was exactly like me, and completely different than you, therefore I'm superior."

There's historical evidence that Pontius Pilate existed. But it doesn't go much further than that.

But then again also solid doc*mented evidence that the Romans never freed a single prisoner for Passover either.

So really the sad and pathetic point you are arguing?

Pretty damn similar to wondering whether the chicken that crossed the road was breed A or breed B of chicken...

...Or wondering whether that tree that falls to the ground that no one is around to hear is a Pine tree or an Oak tree...

A completely irrelevant and moot point that only proves your own intense personal selfishness.

About someone that may, or may not have existed.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 20th, 2010 at 5:16:09 AM

@rabid So? On Smallville Clark briefly became the Green Arrow but that doesn't mean that if they make a Green Arrow movie that the Green Arrow should be portrayed as a Kryptonian called Kal-El does it?
thetheeyecreature writes:
on December 26th, 2010 at 9:00:13 PM

The scared little boys of the CCC can suck a brown d*ck. Idris Elba will rock as Heimdall. Also note that not all Scandinavians look alike; 9th century sagas refer to tribes of "black men" who were nevertheless part of Norse society. (Probably not sub-Saharan African; possibly Arab in origin.)

Also, Norse gods can be any color they want. Loki disguised himself as a blowfly.
funseeker writes:
on January 3rd, 2011 at 1:47:11 PM

I really like Elba and he is a great actor but norse god he is not. Why not make Thor with some of the Wayans bros and an afro instead of golden locks. Damn this race sh*t makes no sense. Mandela was black so it was ok for Freeman to play him, not Hopkins. Luke Cage cannot be played by Channing Tatum. This correctness thing is too racist for me because everybody is paying attention to race, and pretending not to care. On topic of Elba, movie will be sh*tty so a black norse god won't hurt it, and with him being a strong actor he may even make it watchable, but I personally would not cast him. Maybe in postproduction they'll make him milky white :-)
Vandervecken writes:
on February 22nd, 2011 at 3:57:51 PM

This is lunacy. I don't care what spin anyone puts on it. The Norse gods were white. End of story.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved