WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Bad Santa," "Rounders," "Clerks," "Amityville Horror" Sequels Announced

Posted: December 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Bad Santa," "Rounders," "Clerks," "Amityville Horror" Sequels AnnouncedSubmit Comment
Miramax and The Weinstein Company have teamed up to produce sequels to some of Miramax's most popular films, including "Bad Stanta," "Rounders" and "Shakespeare in Love."

Other films that could warrant sequels either released theatrically or on DVD/Blu-ray are "Bridget Jones' Diary," "Copland," "From Dusk Till Dawn," "Swingers," "Shall We Dance," "The Amityville Horror" and "Clerks."

Miramax and Weinstein Company founders Harvey and Bob Weinstein said: "We are very close to these films and the new management of Miramax also feels that we are in the best position to create sequels that are at once worthy and compelling in their own right."

Mike Land, CEO of Miramax added: "We are thrilled and honored to work with Harvey and Bob Weinstein. There is no better partner to build on these great films and turn them into franchises."

Kevin Smith commented on the announced "Clerks" sequel, stating: "Nice to know there's a home for 'Clerks 3' if I ever wanted to make it, but hope it doesn't become a home for a 'Clerks'-anything if I'm not involved."

Source: Miramax, TWC


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
rabid writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 4:57:07 PM

I wouldn't mind a sequel to Amityville Horror (part 2 was always my favorite in that series, and was closer to the true story of the murders). But I hoped they dropped that nonsense about rebooting it completely, because the previous one starring Ryan Reynolds was a perfect horror film.
rabid writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 4:59:19 PM

A sequel to Swingers could be good. That film was full of great actors. It'd be interesting to see their characters aged 15 years.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 5:07:35 PM

Other films that could warrant sequels either released theatrically or on DVD/Blu-ray are "Bridget Jones' Diary," "Copland," "From Dusk Till Dawn," "Swingers," "Shall We Dance," "The Amityville Horror" and "Clerks."

A. Bridget Jones' Diary .... Bridget Jones, the Age of Reason sucked. Pass.

B. Copland .... only if Stallone goes method again. Personally, I think it was a Pulp Fiction moment, that we may not be able to recapture.

C. From Dusk Till Dawn ... already had three straight to DVD sequels. All sucked. Pass.

D. Swingers ... wasn't Made the sequel to Swingers ? Swing music has long gone, so unless they go Ska, pass.

E. Shall We Dance ... pass. We shall pass.

F. The Amityville Horror ? Yeah. The original one with James Brolin and Margot Kidder had seven sequels to it before the 2005 remake (My least favorite ? Had to be a tie between the Amityville dollhouse (c'mon!) and Amityville 3-D (They were trying to shove that 3-D swill in our faces over 27 years ago!) .... So I see healthy legs for a sequel.

Besides, they could do worse. The Hills Have Eyes 2 (2007) anyone ?

G. Clerks ? Clerks 2. Don't even joke on this f*ckstain of a franchise.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 5:09:24 PM


If Clerks 3 is anything like Cop Out, then Kevin Smith can take his f*cking fat ass to Jack in the Crack and die of an embolism, while ordering a Sourdough, before blowing a guy in the john for change.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 5:10:36 PM

rabid writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 4:59:19 PM
A sequel to Swingers could be good. That film was full of great actors. It'd be interesting to see their characters aged 15 years ... and how many of them came back with STDs.

Just finishing your thought for ya, because we all know, rabid ... that you're so money.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 5:12:06 PM

Miramax and The Weinstein Company have teamed up to produce sequels to some of Miramax's most popular films, including " Excruciatingly Sadistic and Bad Stanta," "Rounders 2 : Five Card Stud(s)" and "Shakespeare in Heat."
thomas deadison writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 5:35:30 PM

If they make a Miramax sequel to Clerks, it won't be Clerks 3. Kevin Smith can still make Clerks 3 if he wants, but Miramax has the rights to it to do whatever they want with their ownership in the franchise (it's so weird saying franchise for that), so it'd be like a separate Clerks 2, and even if they were able to get the same actors to play Dante and Randal (which isn't likely) they wouldn't be able to use Jay and Silent Bob, because Kevin Smith owns them. Weird, right? Miramax can make a sequel to Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back if they felt like it, but would be legally prohibited from using the title characters. I really don't get it.

It sounds like the plan is to cash in on these titles rather than make sequels involving the original creative teams behind them.
thomas deadison writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 5:37:47 PM

In regards to the Bad Santa sequel, I bet Harvey Weinstein is like, "Fuuuuck me, why did we decide to title the unrated dvd 'Badder Santa'?"
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 5:40:59 PM

More film-title exploitation, I see. And you know, Amityville doesn't need a sequel, ok? It's a closed-ended story.

For once, though, Rabid's right: the 2005 film was good.
Rambo writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 6:10:39 PM

'rounders' sequel could be nice.
Rambo writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 6:11:12 PM

let's play some cards mister son of a bitch
rabid writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 6:27:45 PM

With Amityville, the book was a closed story. But the sequel to the original film filled in the story of the true-life murders in that house, along with that hot incest scene with Monique from Better Off Dead.

Also, I gotta say I loved From Dusk Til Dawn 3: The Hangman's Daughter... just because we finally get to find out what happened to Ambrose Bierce when he set out to join Pancho Villa. The dialogue was like something from a Mark Twain western.
Also it was the last film the Noxema girl looked hot in.
darkraven28 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 6:32:49 PM

Fell asleep during From Dusk Till Dawn 3. Should I give it another chance when I'm on a Red Bull high? Thoughts, anyone?
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 6:48:42 PM

Thanks for the info, Rabid.

And no sequel for Rounders. Sorry, but that filmn bored the hell out of me. I don't see the appeal, really. I was expecting so MUCH more than what I got.
trailertrash writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 7:20:29 PM

Cop Land, bloody good movie Stallone more than held his own with De Niro and co.

No need for a sequel though.
grizzle writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 8:06:35 PM

I know I will immediately earn the dislike of everyone on the site for saying this, but I really hope they don't make a sequel to Shakespeare in Love. I watched it to see Gwyneth's boobs and ended up not even caring about those and instead just really liked the story. Isn't that gay? Well, it happened so PLEASE DON'T RUIN IT HOLLYWOOD!
jigsaw23 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:17:07 PM

im game for a bad santa 2
minkowski writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:35:25 PM

"There is no better partner to build on these great films and turn them into franchises."

In other words: we've found the greedy sellouot desperate to turn single sucessful films into whored-out cash-cows.
wonderBOY writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 9:35:30 PM

With clerks it should be that animated movie that they were going to make but lost the rights to
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:23:20 PM

Bad Santa 2 yes, all the rest can suck my left testicle.
minkowski writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 3:37:46 AM

Good, because I hear Che wants the right one.
j-man writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 6:20:25 AM

@max
smith didnt write copout
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 12:01:24 PM

MADE was the best film they dont need a swingers sequel thats just silly wouldnt make sense
Shudder writes:
on December 21st, 2010 at 3:59:10 AM

Bad Santa doesn't need a sequel. It's a steaming pile of sh*t. They just want to make stink more.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved