WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Fincher Confirmed for "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea"

Posted: December 16th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Fincher Confirmed for "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea"Submit Comment
Back in May, Disney revealed that it will not proceed with the dark version of Jules Verne's "20,000 Leagues Under Sea" that director McG (Terminator Salvation) was working on. But then David Fincher (The Social Network, Fight Club) showed interest in the project, forcing the studio take another look at it.

Now in an interview with Jon Favreau, the helmer not only confirmed that he will direct "Magic Kingdom" instead of "Iron Man 3," but added that Fincher is officially on board to direct "20,000 Leagues" from a script by Scott Burns (Bourne Ultimatum).

If the plan doesn't change, the project will have a budget of around $150 million and will serve as an origin story for Captain Nemo. Fincher's take is described as being in the vein of "Star Wars" or "The Empire Strikes Back." It will aim to be visually dazzling.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rodan writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 10:54:14 PM

Depth is measured in fathoms, not leagues. Get it right, Verne.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 11:26:43 PM

There is hope.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 11:38:57 PM

McG was going for a darker version of 20,000 Leagues ... the studio then passed it on to FINCHER ... gee, how much darker are they planning to get ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 11:41:06 PM

" The first rule of 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea is ... you do NOT talk about 20,000 Leagues Under The Sea .... "


Wow.


That's lame, even for me.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 11:42:55 PM

Fincher's take is described as being in the vein of "Star Wars" or "The Empire Strikes Back."

Tie Fighter battles under the sea ? Cool!
Ranger writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 11:58:20 PM

@Rodan - I can't fathom why they keep getting it wrong.



(groan).
Rodan writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 12:02:39 AM

Yeah, for real. That's just bush league.
telur writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 12:08:07 AM

You should direct Iron Man 3, Fincher, like you do with Aliens 3
elstevo777 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 12:46:44 AM

@telur - yeah and he'll kill off Tony Stark just for Joss Whedon to resurrect him in an unnecessary fourth movie...
Man in Black writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 2:49:09 AM

Sounds great if it really follows along the line of Empire .... off topic im updating my death pool # 1 to David Arquette doing himself in .
Ranger writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 3:07:17 AM

@MiB - I was swamped today and the 2011 Death Pool thing completely slipped my mind. I will give my vote soon.

Why David? Isn't he and the hubbie (Counteney) on the mend?
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 3:10:12 AM

@Rodan Actually the title refers to how far they travelled, not how deep they went, but it is a little confusing. Maybe it should have been titled 20,000 Leagues WHILE Under The Sea, but that sounds awkward, lol!
Rodan writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 4:01:46 AM

I'll admit I was being facetious but I don't think I ever really realized that's what he was referring to. Wikipedia says that 20,000 leagues is equal to 2.7 times the earth's circ*mference so it looks like it could only be referring to the distance and not the depth. Thanks for the enlightenment. Jules Verne just owned me from beyond the grave.
trailertrash writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 4:18:19 AM

^lol
Rambo writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 4:42:17 AM

I hope fincher gets it right.his last 2 movies were boring as hell.
trailertrash writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 5:03:49 AM

Not seen Social Network, My wife loved it though, which does worry me slightly.

I know i'm in the minority on here, but i didn't mind The Curious Case of Benjamin Button didn't think it was to bad.

Fight Club and Se7en are F'in, Awesome so i have no doubts he will do a good job with this classic story.
rabid writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 6:42:25 AM

Benjamin Button and Social Network bored the wits out of me, but I'd be willing to watch his take on Captain Nemo.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 10:26:09 AM

Benjamin Button wasn't too bad but for Finchers standards a bit lame, he has to make sure that he doesn't become a cliche of himself like Scorsese or M Knight sh*tstain
Mr. Blonde writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 12:52:11 PM

I have faith in Fincher doing justice to this Classic. It will surely remove all bad images of Cap. Nemo and the Nautilus from that piece of crap The League of Extradinary Gentlemen. Bring on the f*ckin giant squid.
Ranger writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 2:13:37 PM

I didn't mind Benjamin Button. It's pace was a far cry from the explosions of Bay movies... and I like that.
rabid writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 4:44:14 PM

Benjamin Button was a great film. Even Social Network was good. But it's a rare occassion where I feel like watching something slow and emotional. I get more entertainment out of cheesy scifi films than the serious stuff.

The real reason I support a David Fincher 20,000 Leagues film is that I think he's the absolute perfect director for the sequel "Mysterious Island".
Man in Black writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:24:53 PM

@ Ranger , he has been in a sh*t storm of drugs and booze since the Cox left him , was at a party and shown up so sh*t house drunk he couldnt recognize his friends so he will make my top ten sounds like a train wreck in the near future.
Snootch writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 8:58:34 AM

Happy to see this moving forward, and as long as Will Smith's name is no longer in the rumor mill I am even happier.

As for the Star Wars and Empire line...I am sure it will be anything but. I find it crazy when these guys make comparisons to stuff that just doesn't match up.....just come out and be original and I am sure it would get a better reception.
JUST SMILE AND BLOW ME! writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 1:26:59 AM

@Rodan Don't worry, I wasn't calling you dumb or anything, I only found out recently myself, lol! I just thought it was worth mentioning.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved