WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jon Favreau on Dropping Out of "Iron Man 3"

Posted: December 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jon Favreau on Dropping Out of "Iron Man 3"Submit Comment
Jon Favreau recently confirmed on his Twitter page that he will not return to direct the third "Iron Man" film, stating: "It's true, I'm directing 'Magic Kingdom,' not 'Iron Man 3.' I've had a great run with Marvel and wish them the best."

He also did an interview with LA Times, adding that his decision had nothing to do with money. He instead wanted to "find something that lights a fire" inside of him as a filmmaker and gives him a chance to "blow people away, which is easier to do with a project that isn't loaded with built-in expectations."

Since "Magic Kingdom" is also a Disney movie, it's likely that Favreau's quitting was done in a very professional manner. He simply wanted to do something new and was very excited about the chance to direct "Kingdom," which happened on his way to Disneyland with his family. "I took notes and had no problem filling a book with all the ideas that this concept offered, even on first blush," he said.

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rambo writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 6:22:18 AM

He'll also have more time to eat a lot and get even fatter.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 6:48:31 AM

Another marvel failure like spiderman.disney's gonna make iron man rated G
That's it this franchise is f*cked expect a sh*tty reboot with someone gay like channing tatum,zac effron,and wolf boy from twatlight.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 6:59:37 AM

FFFFUUUUUUU.....
johnny_boy writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 7:15:12 AM

f*ckin bastard. We're willing to forgive him for IM 2 now he completely bails. He has the right to pursue other projects if he likes but he's built up so much now with his telling for his plans for IM 3. it's all about the money, wish people in Hollywood could be honest for once. Marvel studios will fail for their belief that they can pay their talent pennies on the dollar, even after partnering up with Disney who had nothing but expendable income. Now only thing i have left to look forward to is once scarlet johansen moves out, cuz she and Ryan Reynolds broke up, stalking her and peeking through her window.
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 7:20:32 AM

"blow people away, which is easier to do with a project that isn't loaded with built-in expectations."

And reading between the lines

I, Jon, cannot produce a film fans want to see. I will handover the franchise to another director who only cares about the spot light and who will let Marvel walk all over them. I am to proud for that even though I have yet to really prove myself as a talented director and not just a one hit wonder. I will instead direct Kingdom for Disney as the expectations will be low as it is for kids and all you really need is some talking animals,Brendan Frasier and 87 minutes of screen time. Hope marvel the best
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 7:29:19 AM

He should go back to low budget comedy with vince vaughn that's his place
boogiel writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 7:38:53 AM

Iron man 3 without Favreau is exactly like Batman 3 without Nolan.
asylum writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 7:57:16 AM

@ boogiel- Agreed.

This sucks.
manichispanic writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 9:24:59 AM

that's a shame
SACdaddy writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 9:39:16 AM

He probably just watched IM2 and decided he wanted nothing to do the franchise anymore. Funny, I had the same reaction.

Marvel doesn't have a clue.
Inception writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 9:45:53 AM

"The Norton and Howard curse", is active. They will all end up working up @ Disneyland and @ the Universal Studios in Florida.
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 10:26:00 AM

I dont care

Heck I hardley remember the guy being in the film
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 10:50:43 AM

In the 3rd will The Iron Man suit have nipples now? Well sh*t last time this happened the batsuit got nipples, we got Chris O'Donnell and Joel sh*tmacher directer. RIP Iron Man. I'll eagerlly await your reboot in 2016.
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 11:44:23 AM

I still can't understand why people hated Iron Man 2, it's a very good movie, it's just it had to follow such a great movie that you automatically dismiss it just like Matrix Reloaded. I can't blame him for not wanting to come back when the fans are this ungrateful and bitter but of course that's not even a main reason to him.
Mr. Blonde writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 12:08:12 PM

If Favs came back and did IM3, it would be the same effect as Raimi Spidey3. His heart is not in it.

Cut Favs loose, the man has made his worthy contributions to the franchise and has my respect.
rabid writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 12:52:31 PM

I loved Iron Man 2 and thought it was much better than the first film. Favreau made 2 great films, but I respect his decision. It's hard to feel creative when the story and art has already been sorted out. He knows that any way you cut it, fans want to see the Mandarin. And any way you cut it, fans will be disappointed because the Mandarin is a hokey villain.
triggax writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:34:47 PM

I like Favreau. Seems like a really down to earth kind of a guy.

I can see why he doesnt want to get caught up with the same old sh*t over and over again.

Directing should be about challenging yourself. Maybe Iron Man just isn't a big enough challenge for him.

He kicked off the franchise with a phenomenal opener and seemed like he fell victim to the hollyweird idea machine the 2nd time around. Although IM2 was still pretty damn good. Exciting and entertaining. I could only imagine that with the way that Marvel wants to start connecting all the stories we're going to have a whole schwack load of SpiderMan 3's...

Look at recent franchises.

I can tell you that all Gore Verbinski and Sam Raimi did by coming back for their studio tainted 3rd installment was hurt their reputations.

I think this is a smart move.

Focus on original unseen content and further yourself as a creative film maker.

Someone will pick up his leftovers, in the same vain as Rob (whats his name?) and Marc Webb...

I think that if Marvel wants to get the most out of their money and keep any continuity throughout the ridiculous story line they would be retarded to not just have Joss Whedon take a crack at it while hes directing the Avengers film.
rabid writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:45:53 PM

Whedon is great when it comes to directing team action, but I think they could do much better by going serious for the 3rd film. Maybe a director like Francis Lawrence or Alex Proyas. The Mandarin story is really cheesey and it would work better if they up the threat power and make him a ruthless world-dominating killer. So far Tony Stark has only fought cantankerous old men with personal grudges and limited goals. I want to see Roland-Emerech-style Hell-on-earth destruction and a bad guy that Iron Man can't just shoot a laser at.
triggax writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:53:01 PM

Hmm I really like the idea of Alex Proyas actually.

Loved most of his work. The cinematography is always beautiful.

Yeah. Proyas is great, though maybe a little too dark for Iron Man? But then again one could say the same about Sam Raimi doing Spiderman. Or Kenneth Branagh doing Thor. Although Thor so far looks like its going to be the best marvel film coming out for quite some time.

If I had MY pick. It would be between Paul Haggis and Tony Gilroy. Though between those two it would probably end up a political thriller version of Iron Man. Starring George Clooney.
triggax writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:55:17 PM

Or Luc Besson. That would be good. The reason I think the eventual outcome will be whedon is that I couldn't imagine them finding a high profile director that wants to tackle a 3rd film at this point in the game.
Dark writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:09:53 PM

f*ck you Jon and f*ck you for comparing this loser to Chris Nolan. This bastard is nothing but a one hit wonder. That cowboys & aliens sh*t will fail just like every single movie that he worked on except Iron Man.
jigsaw23 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:16:36 PM

i like him but come on dropping iron man 3 for a damn disney movie
triggax writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:28:28 PM

Iron Man 3 is a disney movie.

"That cowboys & aliens sh*t will fail just like every single movie that he worked on except Iron Man."

All of Favreaus films, with the exception of "Zathura" (which bombed but was still a great family film) have either been hugely successful financially or highly praised critically.

The guy is an excellent film maker. What are you?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 3:02:19 PM

Jon Favreau on Dropping Out of "Iron Man 3" : " Marvel is f*cked up. "
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 3:04:46 PM

Dark writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:09:53 PM
f*ck you, Jon. And f*ck you for comparing this loser to Chris Nolan. This bastard is nothing but a one hit wonder. That Cowboys & Aliens sh*t will fail just like every single movie that he worked on, except Iron Man.

@Dark

No, really. Tell us know you really feel.

Wanker.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 3:06:42 PM

triggax writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:55:17 PM
Or Luc Besson. That would be good. The reason I think the eventual outcome will be whedon is that I couldn't imagine them finding a high profile director that wants to tackle a 3rd film at this point in the game.

@triggax

It's funny that you mention Luc. He would have a very interesting take on Iron Man. And his action sequences are some of the best, either in the West or East.
Champ1432 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 6:11:26 PM

It is a shame to see him go, I think he could have done a pretty good job with IM3.

Like some of the others above, I also think IM2 was pretty good. It had a pretty tough act to follow in the first Iron Man.

The one bad thing about Nolan's Batman movies is that they have ratcheted up our expectations for all superhero or comic book movies. Anything not living up to that standard is deemed a failure. Now I'm not saying IM2 couldn't have been better, of course there was room for improvement, but I think people are a little too hard on it. I actually like the way Marvel is trying to tie all their characters together and trying to create a universe. Perhaps they don't always go about it the right way. But I do like their intent if not their methods.

I guess the point of all this rambling is just I hope the person they get to replace Favreau does a good job, but I'm fairly confident. Iron Man has been a good series so far. Mandarin could be tough to pull off, though, as Rabid said.
gunner writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 6:46:14 PM

iron man 2 sucked more than spider-man 3 and batman & robin combined. deal with it.
DeVries writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 7:01:54 PM

@Rambo :

I noticed the taste of high trans fat diet when Favreau took a dump called Ironman 2 in my mouth.
blinkbomber writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 7:43:12 PM

@deVries - the fact that the time it took for Favereau to squeeze out that turd was longer than the time required for you to close your mouth boggles my mind.

oh im just kiddin.

but seriously...

Iron Man 2 > Transformers 2

let's face it, there are WAAAAYYY worse sequels out there.
telur writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 9:28:31 PM

ok, just bring Bret Ratner
darkraven28 writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 12:41:03 AM

Translation: EAT sh*t AND DIE, KEVIN FEIGE!!!!!!!!!11
Trip Maverick writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 11:10:44 AM

I think its sad but Its for the best if his heart isnt in it. A new young director with passion should be brought in. As long as Robert DOwney is still in it thats all that matters.
dbreuning writes:
on December 18th, 2010 at 11:09:02 AM

I wish him all the best. But it still sucks cause this guy knows Iron Man. He did a great f*cking job on those movies. Oh well. Maybe James Cameron can direct IM3 or Guillermo Del Toro... :)

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved