WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Warner Bros Registered Domains For "Shazam," "Wonder Woman" and "Aquaman" Movies
Sep 2nd, 2014
Stan Lee Says Marvel's "Black Panther" is Happening
Sep 2nd, 2014
New Trailer for Luke Evans' "Dracula Untold" Arrives Online
Sep 2nd, 2014
"24" Movie May Still Happen
Sep 2nd, 2014
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Sep 1st, 2014
Why Joaquin Phoenix May Pass on "Doctor Strange" Offer
Sep 1st, 2014
Video: Elsa From "Frozen" in "Once Upon a Time" TV Series
Sep 1st, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Remains First at Box Office, New Releases Underperform
Aug 31st, 2014
Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014
Aug 31st, 2014
Michael Bay Developing "Cosmic Motors" Futuristic Car Film, Based on Art Book
Aug 31st, 2014
Trailer for "Exists" Bigfoot Horror Film, From "The Blair Witch Project" Director
Aug 31st, 2014
First Look at Christoph Waltz and Margo Robbie in "Tarzan," From "Harry Potter" Director
Aug 30th, 2014
New Photos of Henry Cavill as Clark Kent on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Set
Aug 30th, 2014
First Look: Stan Lee in Kevin Smith's "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 30th, 2014
First Clip From Pixar's "Lava" Short Film
Aug 30th, 2014
Wesley Snipes to Return For "Blade 4"?
Aug 30th, 2014
Liam Neeson Wants to Return as Ra's al Ghul For "Arrow" TV Series
Aug 30th, 2014
What Happens to Jimmy Olsen in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 29th, 2014
Harrison Ford is Feeling Better, "Star Wars: Episode VII" Resumes Filming
Aug 29th, 2014
Ben Kingsley Wants to Return as The Mandarin in "Iron Man 4"
Aug 29th, 2014
Hilary Swank Battles ALS in "You're Not You" Trailer
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Scribbler" Comic Book Film
Aug 29th, 2014
Jeremy Renner Answers If Hawkeye Will Die in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 29th, 2014
Trailer for "The Daily Show" host Jon Stewart's "Rosewater" Film
Aug 29th, 2014
New Trailer for Jeff Bridges' "Seventh Son" Fantasy Film
Aug 29th, 2014
"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America
Aug 28th, 2014
First Photos of Doctor Doom From "Fantastic Four" Leaked Online?
Aug 28th, 2014
"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died
Aug 28th, 2014
"Underworld" Franchise is Being Rebooted
Aug 28th, 2014
"Pacific Rim" Star Charlie Hunnam May Star in "King Arthur"
Aug 28th, 2014
Three New Photos From "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Aug 28th, 2014
"Cops" Cameraman Killed While Filming TV Show
Aug 28th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Golden Globe Nominees Announced

Posted: December 15th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Golden Globe Nominees AnnouncedSubmit Comment
The Hollywood Foreign Press Association has announced the nominees for the 68th Annual Golden Globe Awards, which will once again be hosted by Ricky Gervais on Sunday, January 16th, 2011 at 8pm EST on NBC.

Leading the nominations is "The King's Speech" with seven, followed by "The Social Network" and "The Fighter" with six each. All are among the five films that are nominated for Best Motion Picture in the Drama category.

In addition, Matt Damon will be presenting Robert De Niro with the prestigious Cecil B. DeMille award for lifetime achievement in motion pictures.

LIST OF NOMINEES:

BEST MOTION PICTURE - DRAMA
* Black Swan
* The Fighter
* Inception
* The King's Speech
* The Social Network

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE - DRAMA
* Halle Berry (Frankie and Alice)
* Nicole Kidman (Rabbit Hole)
* Jennifer Lawrence (Winter's Bone)
* Natalie Portman (Black Swan)
* Michelle Williams (Blue Valentine)

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE - DRAMA
* Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network)
* Colin Firth (The King's Speech)
* James Franco (127 Hours)
* Ryan Gosling (Blue Valentine)
* Mark Wahlberg (The Fighter)

BEST MOTION PICTURE - COMEDY OR MUSICAL
* Alice in Wonderland
* Burlesque
* The Kids Are All Right
* Red
* The Tourist

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE - COMEDY OR MUSICAL
* Annette Bening (The Kids Are All Right)
* Anne Hathaway (Love and Other Drugs)
* Angelina Jolie (The Tourist)
* Julianne Moore (The Kids Are All Right)
* Emma Stone (Easy A)

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE - COMEDY OR MUSICAL
* Johnny Depp (Alice in Wonderland)
* Johnny Depp (The Tourist)
* Paul Giamatti (Barney's Version)
* Jake Gyllenhaal (Love and Other Drugs)
* Kevin Spacey (Casino Jack)

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE FILM
* Despicable Me
* How to Train Your Dragon
* The Illusionist
* Tangled
* Toy Story 3

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM
* Biutiful (Mexico/Spain)
* The Concert (France)
* The Edge (Russia)
* I Am Love (Italy)
* In a Better World (Denmark)

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE
* Amy Adams (The Fighter)
* Helena Bonham Carter (The King's Speech)
* Mila Kunis (Black Swan)
* Melissa Leo (The Fighter)
* Jacki Weaver (Animal Kingdom)

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE
* Christian Bale (The Fighter)
* Michael Douglas (Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps)
* Andrew Garfield (The Social Network)
* Jeremy Renner (The Town)
* Geoffrey Rush (The King's Speech)

BEST DIRECTOR - MOTION PICTURE
* Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan)
* David Fincher (The Social Network)
* Tom Hooper (The King's Speech)
* Christopher Nolan (Inception)
* David O. Russell (The Fighter)

BEST SCREENPLAY - MOTION PICTURE
* Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy (127 Hours)
* Lisa Cholodenko and Stuart Blumberg (The Kids Are All Right)
* Christopher Nolan (Inception)
* David Seidler (The King's Speech)
* Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network)

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE - MOTION PICTURE
* Alexander Desplat (The King's Speech)
* Danny Elfman (Alice in Wonderland)
* A.R. Rahman (127 Hours)
* Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (The Social Network)
* Hans Zimmer (Inception)

BEST ORIGINAL SONG - MOTION PICTURE
* "Bound to You"; Music by Samuel Dixon, Lyrics by Christina Aguilera, Sia Furler (Burlesque)
* "Coming Home"; Music and Lyrics by Bob DiPiero, Tom Douglas, Hillary Lindsey, Troy Verges (Country Strong)
* "I See the Light"; Music by Alan Menkin, Lyrics by Glenn Slater (Tangled)
* "There's a Place for Us"; Music and Lyrics by Carrie Underwood, David Hodges, Hillary Lindsey (The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader)
* "You Haven't Seen the Last of Me"; Music and Lyrics by Dianne Warren (Burlesque)

BEST TELEVISION SERIES - DRAMA
* "Boardwalk Empire" (HBO)
* "Dexter" (Showtime)
* "The Good Wife" (CBS)
* "Mad Men" (AMC)
* "The Walking Dead" (AMC)

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A TELEVISION SERIES - DRAMA
* Juliana Margulies ("The Good Wife")
* Elizabeth Moss ("Mad Men")
* Piper Perabo ("Covert Affairs")
* Katey Segal ("Sons of Anarchy")
* Kyra Sedgwick ("The Closer")

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A TELEVISION SERIES - DRAMA
* Steve Buscemi ("Boardwalk Empire")
* Bryan Cranston ("Breaking Bad")
* Michael C. Hall ("Dexter")
* Jon Hamm ("Mad Men")
* Hugh Laurie ("House")

BEST TELEVISION SERIES - COMEDY OR MUSICAL
* "30 Rock" (NBC)
* "The Big Bang Theory" (CBS)
* "The Big C" (Showtime)
* "Glee" (FOX)
* "Modern Family" (ABC)
* "Nurse Jackie" (Showtime)

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A TELEVISION SERIES - COMEDY OR MUSICAL
* Toni Collette ("United States of Tara")
* Edie Falco ("Nurse Jackie")
* Tina Fey ("30 Rock")
* Laura Linney ("The Big C")
* Lea Michele ("Glee")

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A TELEVISION SERIES - COMEDY OR MUSICAL
* Alec Baldwin ("30 Rock")
* Steve Carell ("The Office")
* Thomas Jane ("Hung")
* Matthew Morrison ("Glee")
* Jim Parsons ("The Big Bang Theory")

BEST MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION
* "Carlos" (Sundance Channel)
* "The Pacific" (HBO)
* "Pillars of the Earth" (Starz)
* "Temple Grandin" (HBO)
* "You Don't Know Jack" (HBO)

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION
* Hayley Atwell ("Pillars of the Earth")
* Claire Danes ("Temple Grandin")
* Judi Dench ("Return to Cranford")
* Romola Garai ("Emma")
* Jennifer Love Hewitt ("The Client List")

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION
* Idris Elba ("Luther")
* Ian McShane ("Pillars of the Earth")
* Al Pacino ("You Don't Know Jack")
* Dennis Quaid ("The Special Relationship")
* Edgar Ramirez ("Carlos")

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A SERIES, MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION
* Hope Davis ("The Special Relationship")
* Jane Lynch ("Glee")
* Kelly MacDonald ("Boardwalk Empire")
* Julia Styles ("Dexter")
* Sofia Vergara ("Modern Family")

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A SERIES, MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION
* Scott Caan ("Hawaii Five-0")
* Chris Colfer ("Glee")
* Chris Noth ("The Good Wife")
* Eric Stonestreet ("Modern Family")
* David Strathairn ("Temple Grandin")

Source: The Hollywood Foreign Press Association


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bob82 writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 8:06:28 PM

I like Johnny Depp, his Mad Hatter was the best thing about "Alice...", but come on, they could've leave only one nomination for him and gave it to Michael Cera for "Scott Pilgrim".

And don't get me started with not nominating that picture for Comedy or Musical. I mean, "Alice..." and "RED" are there and they're both pretty lame.

Anyway, I'm glad if I see Nolan winning Best Screenplay, but I don't expect him to see him with the Best Director or Picture globes, those are for Fincher and Social Network (and very well deserved, I must add).
Ranger writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 8:08:57 PM

I haven't seen it... but is 'The Tourist' either a comedy or a musical?!
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 8:13:48 PM

Guess i'll find out this weekend how good The Fighter really is.
Valerie writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 8:28:57 PM

Leonardo deserved a nom, and are they f*cking kidding me with Deep for Toursit?!! GG can be such a joke!

minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 9:19:05 PM

I tried to think of something good to post here,l something Alex wouldn't delete, but I couldn't.

Golden Globes, I mean, who gives a sh*t?
KalVicious writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 9:24:23 PM

Nope, "The Tourist" (2010) was a Drama, but it had some moments where it was funny, and I mean funny funny, not like, funny bad. It was a good film. :)
blinkbomber writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 9:44:51 PM

I'm mad Scott Pilgrim didn't get anything... but that's just me.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 10:12:19 PM

Ranger writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 8:08:57 PM
I haven't seen it... but is 'The Tourist' either a comedy or a musical?!

@Ranger

According to the critics ? Greek tragedy.

BadChadB33 writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 8:13:48 PM
Guess i'll find out this weekend how good The Fighter really is.

@BadChadB33

... And you can find out from Christian Bale how those tapeworms and the South Beach Starvation Diet turned out.

blinkbomber writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 9:44:51 PM
I'm mad Scott Pilgrim didn't get anything... but that's just me.

@blinkbomber

I blame the seven evil boyfriends/girlfriend ... especially the vegan. And Jason Schwartzman.
coldplayesence writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 10:43:34 PM

So, True Grit isn't out yet but they already know it can't beat any of those movies?
lastnamefirst writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 12:04:05 AM

I'm also mad that Scott Pilgrim didn't get jack shiet.

Let's hope Inception wins something. Anything.
Damon242 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 12:08:32 AM

No nominations for LOST, not even in the acting categories.

...odd.
otis writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 12:09:53 AM

The GG have just reaffirmed that they are a joke. Burlesque shouldn't be anywhere near an awards ceremony. Tourist is as much a comedy as Bambi was a musical. Alice should only be up there for maybe visual effects. Maybe. No Leo?

Everything else is expected dribble. Next.
reaper113 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:08:28 AM

Worst previews should have their own awards ceremony for "least funny douche bag of the year"

I nominate Max Rockatansky Junior
reaper113 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:08:31 AM

Worst previews should have their own awards ceremony for "least funny douche bag of the year"

I nominate Max Rockatansky Junior
nope.com writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:14:09 AM

here we go

LOL @ Halle Berry

LOL x 3 @ The Tourist

LMAO @ anything Burlesque

LMFAO @ Jennifer Love Hewitt

LOL @ The Big Gangbang Theory being a "comedy"
Popcorn101 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:41:38 AM

am i the only one that thought shutter island was amazing and Leo's acting in it was even better?
BDeck writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:46:47 AM

makes me mad that sons of anarchy has one nom,But Katey Segal is the sh*t.

pisses me off that walking dead is on there but not soa for best tv show.
c-prime writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:02:37 AM

Wow, the Globes sunk to a new low this year. Who'd have thunk? (I'm sure plenty of you.)

Geez, I know it was a bad year in general for movies, but I never expected to see so many poorly-reviewed films get nominated like this. "Burlesque"? "Love & Other Drugs"? "The Tourist"? Some real dubious choices. No plans to watch any of them, that's for sure.

Emma Stone for "Easy A" is another surprise. Sure, that movie was actually well-received, but it just looked like another repetitious, cookie-cutter teen comedy romp to me. I didn't see it, so if somebody can give me a clue as to what elevates it above anything of its lame precedents (here's looking at you, straight-to-DVD "American Pie" sequels), by all means...

And Michael Douglas for...supporting actor?! Wow. Was Gekko's screen time actually THAT condensed in the "Wall Street" sequel, so as to suggest that he's playing second banana to Shia LaBeouf. That is a crying shame. I know this seems like a tacky thing to do, but c'mon, people: the man's got cancer. No sense in punishing the man further with a supporting nomination for what turned out to be one of the most ill-fated decisions of his (hopefully enduring) career.

Oh, and "Black Swan" sucked. The lesbian scene was weak as hell. Criminally oversold by the actors. My penis was most unpleased.
Ranger writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:12:04 AM

@c-prime --- well said (as usual). I hear you on Michael Douglas and appreciate the $-saving report on Black Swan.

These awards are such a joke. The Oscar's blazed that political trail decades ago!

@Popcorn - every time I see DiCaprio in a movie, I thank God that we have him in Hollywood to fill out most of the tough(er) stuff made over most of the rest of that bubblegum crap they crank out.
c-prime writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:55:59 AM

@ Ranger: Thanks. I just didn't want anyone to make the same mistake of paying $7.00 to see it in theaters like I did. If you simply must see Mila devour Natalie's fur burger, then wait 'til the clip leaks online (which should likely be just a few weeks from now).

To be frank, I saw this movie for more than just ballerina tribadism. Aronofsky's work has intrigued me on quite a few occasions, and I was anticipating that the caliber of the acting might match that seen in his last flick, "The Wrestler". I was let down (and not just by the lesbo scene). Portman's character is relentlessly pouty in the first two acts of the film - she just mopes and sobs endlessly over her inability to outshine the rest of her dance troupe. She doesn't really show a broader range of emotions until about the last half of the movie; therefore, I don't know if giving her the Globe would be the best choice. I would also have liked to have received more insight into why she was experiencing a psychotic breakdown as the "Swan Lake" production draws near. I guess that's arthouse for you, though.

But back to subject of real importance here: the dyke scene. I'll sum it up in two words: no nudity. None. A letdown of the highest order. I am infuriated over how much they talked that sh*t up. Months back, Mila Kunis informed us - the lustful, vaginally-ravenous theatergoers - that the scene was hardcore (in a highbrow theatrical sense, of course) sh*t, of "Bound"-like proportions it sounded. I was naturally ecstatic and made sure to get my affairs in order before December arrived (i.e., stocking up on St. Ives and sanitary napkins). But what I saw onscreen last Friday (or, should I say, what I didn't see) bewildered and annoyed me. No boobs, no ass, no bush...both girls retained, for the most part, their undergarments. Plus, Natalie's character is wigging out the entire time. Boner poison, I tells ya. Ugh...so many months of planning...for nothing.

Man, I feel like suing the "Black Swan" cast for false advertising. I'm thinking compensation in the amount of $4 million, plus 10% of the film's domestic gross. Or just my $7.00 back, at the very least. I could use it to re-rent "Mulholland Drive" from Blockbuster. On Blu-Ray. For five glorious days. Ooh, what a sensation...
Barney Stinson writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 3:01:16 AM

@c-prime:

About Easy A - it's a decent movie. The best thing that it's got going for it is that it reminded me of the 80s John Hughes movies. Oh and Emma Stone is hot IMO.
c-prime writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 3:11:10 AM

@ Barney Stinson: John Hughes, you say? Huh. The trailer wasn't giving me that vibe at all. If that's true, though, the movie might actually warrant a look-see. Thanks for the scoop.
Barney Stinson writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 3:21:38 AM

@c-prime

Yeah, they even referenced John Hughes if I remember it correctly with a montage from his movies.

Thanks for your take on Black Swan. I really liked The Wrestler, The Fountain, and Requiem for a Dream (have yet to see Pi). I guess I'll watch it when it leaks online. Also the thing about his movies for me is that I haven't had the urge to watch them more than once - with the exception of The Fountain because it had great visuals.
Rambo writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 4:06:46 AM

I just hope 'inception' wins best picture.and as someone mentioned-where is 'true grit'?does it mean the movie isn't good?
Barney Stinson writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 4:25:58 AM

@Rambo - Na, it just means that the Golden Globes suck. True Grit is getting great reviews so far. I'm excited to see another Coen Brothers movie and that reminds me that I need to watch their last one.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 5:05:52 AM

@Rambo: The Coen Brothers usually don't get nominated in the Golden Globes. You take that as a sign on how much the GG-award is really worth.

Like many others has already mentioned, the "Comedy and Musical"-category is a big f*cking joke. First of all: why even bring comedy and musical in to ONE category. Doesn't make any sense. The only reason Burlesque is nominated is because it's the only musical and therefore takes a spot from a more worthy movie. I have not seen Red, but no matter how funny it is, it is still an action-film first. And don't even get me started on The Tourist, a movie which the critics loathed (especially the acting).
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 5:41:26 AM

* Alice in Wonderland
* Burlesque
* The Kids Are All Right
* Red
* The Tourist

Comedy or musical? Alice in Wonderland and Tourist are neither. Burlesque is both but not intentionally. Whys is Alice on any list ive never been so bored and Johnny Depp doing a scottish accent and puling funny faces is not good acting thankyou please. The Other Guys or Scott Pilgrim should be on there.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 5:48:41 AM

@c-prime nice post mate really interesting review i will NOT be seeing black swan as urgently as i would now, cheers pal
Ranger writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 6:06:32 AM

Same. I'm listening to his review and giving it more weight (and those from others I have come to respect on here), then say a 'Professional' Critic.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 7:17:07 AM

Who needs professional critics we're all on the same negative wave length at wp lol
Inception writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 9:17:05 AM

@ c-prime: Thank you for the review of "Black Swan" and nice post. I will wait now better until it appears online, not gonna waist 7-8 bucks. Until then like you said, I'm gonna also re-watch "Mulholland Drive", which has nudity and sex.

Cinemaisdead:

"Who needs professional critics we're all on the same negative wave length at wp lol"

LOL, Agree 100%

Inception writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 9:19:34 AM

Edit:

Waist - Waste
Inception writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 9:42:07 AM

Seriously, the GG are the equivalent of the MTV movie awards. Winning one is the same as winning an MTV M. award, the only difference is that you have to dress formally for the GG and for the MTV awards you just have to think it's a Halloween (Twilight) party.

No Leo? They knew that he could potentially win this, so they left him out. Seriously, one of the few actors that in every film he starts he gives his best from start to finish. Probably the same will happen in the Oscars, Leo will not even get nominated.

"The Tourist"... what a f*cking joke.
Bunny X writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 10:02:46 AM

Funny / Sad how The Walking Dead is nominated but yet not one of the actors are.
and yeah, Red???? really???
SACdaddy writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 10:03:25 AM

Red was about as mediocre as film gets. And Burlesque, The Tourist, Alice in Wonderland....give me a break. This year's GGs is a joke.
c-prime writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:11:52 PM

@ Cinemaisdead, Ranger, Barney Stinson, and Inception: Thanks, everybody.

I'm not trying to be contrarian to the general critical consensus out there. I just really didn't care for "Black Swan" and I'd hate for someone to feel the disappointment I did when I left the theater - especially in regards to the lesbo scene.

I will say this one thing positive about the film: it had a great score. Relentlessly pounding, it captures the essence of Portman's paranoia fantastically. I'm really surprised it wasn't nominated - that would be something I could really get behind. Visual effects were stellar as well, so there's another plus, I guessl. Should definitely get a nod at the Oscars.

And in regards to your sentiment, Barney, this movie probably won't cause you to deviate from your normal routine of watching Aronofsky films (i.e., only once). I know I won't be seeing it again.
triggax writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:11:23 PM

I could care less about awards season anymore.

The internet has made it entirely pointless.

I know everyone that will be nominated and everyone that will win. Months before the awards show.

If they really want people to continue watching these things. How about they announce the nominees to the public the night of the ceremony.

James Franco has best actor in the bag. His ONLY competition is between Colin Firth and Jeff Bridges.
Jeff Bridges has been better than this in the past and lost the award and I dont think it will be any different this year. Im sure were all very happy he won last year finally but the award is Francos. I saw 127 hours a few weeks ago and it was amazing. Franco was absolutely mesmerizing.

Best Picture here is between Fincher and Nolan. As well as best director.

Best actress in a drama, here, will be Jennifer Lawrence. Guaranteed. Natalie Portman will win the oscar.

Supporting Actor, Bale, hands down.

Supporting Actress, Mila Kunis or Melissa Leo.

The Kids are All Right will win for Best Picture, comedy or musical.

Long shot but I think Jake Gyllenhall will win for Love and other drugs over Johnny Depp.

and Im thinking Anne Hathaway and Emma Stone will be competing in their category.

So pretty much.. You already know whos gonna win... No sense in really watching especially considering you can do something that doesnt take 4 hours and just check the winners online.

They will never be able to recover their ratings.

triggax writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:21:33 PM

Wow, just realized that True Grit isn't really nominated for anything???????????????????

I honestly had just assumed that Bridges would have been nominated.

Wow f*cking stupid.. Have any of you seen True Grit yet?
I caught an advanced screening of it and I can tell you its substantially better than 99% of f*cking anything on this list.. Thats f*cked.. So stupid..

Coens arent even recognized for best director... So f*cking stupid... Easily the best movie of 2010... and... only one nod for the Town???

The Town, Inception and True Grit along with acting nods for 127 Hours should be the big winners this year.

Looks like another Life is Beautiful kind of oscar year.

How did the Town not get a screenplay nod... Renner totally deserves the win for supporting actor.

Agh... the more I read the list of nominees the less interested I am.. I realize that Inceptions acting was slightly emotionless but f*ckin Ken Watanabi should get a supporting nod... This list sucks rangers balls.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:30:37 PM

reaper113 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:08:28 AM
Worst previews should have their own awards ceremony for "least funny douchebag of the year"

I nominate Max Rockatansky Junior

@reaper 113

I only hope it won't be like that Sandra Bullock got from The Blind Side and had to return because they have her the prototype.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:31:30 PM

How about a nomination for Michael Douglas ? :

Best Actor Not To Have Died From Cancer Yet
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:34:25 PM




c-prime writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:55:59 AM
@ Ranger: Thanks. I just didn't want anyone to make the same mistake of paying $7.00 to see it in theaters like I did. If you simply must see Mila devour Natalie's fur burger, then wait 'til the clip leaks online (which should likely be just a few weeks from now).

To be frank, I saw this movie for more than just ballerina tribadism. Aronofsky's work has intrigued me on quite a few occasions, and I was anticipating that the caliber of the acting might match that seen in his last flick, "The Wrestler". I was let down (and not just by the lesbo scene). Portman's character is relentlessly pouty in the first two acts of the film - she just mopes and sobs endlessly over her inability to outshine the rest of her dance troupe. She doesn't really show a broader range of emotions until about the last half of the movie; therefore, I don't know if giving her the Globe would be the best choice. I would also have liked to have received more insight into why she was experiencing a psychotic breakdown as the "Swan Lake" production draws near. I guess that's arthouse for you, though.

But back to subject of real importance here: the dyke scene. I'll sum it up in two words: no nudity. None. A letdown of the highest order. I am infuriated over how much they talked that sh*t up. Months back, Mila Kunis informed us - the lustful, vaginally-ravenous theatergoers - that the scene was hardcore (in a highbrow theatrical sense, of course) sh*t, of "Bound"-like proportions it sounded. I was naturally ecstatic and made sure to get my affairs in order before December arrived (i.e., stocking up on St. Ives and sanitary napkins). But what I saw onscreen last Friday (or, should I say, what I didn't see) bewildered and annoyed me. No boobs, no ass, no bush...both girls retained, for the most part, their undergarments. Plus, Natalie's character is wigging out the entire time. Boner poison, I tells ya. Ugh...so many months of planning...for nothing.

Man, I feel like suing the "Black Swan" cast for false advertising. I'm thinking compensation in the amount of $4 million, plus 10% of the film's domestic gross. Or just my $7.00 back, at the very least. I could use it to re-rent "Mulholland Drive" from Blockbuster. On Blu-Ray. For five glorious days. Ooh, what a sensation...



@c-prime

Mila Kunis in an Academy Award Nominated dyke munching movie ?

I'm kinda torn.

You know Mr. Skin's not gonna have that beaver scene posted (along with the nip slips and lesbian lip locks) for a few months.
happileperkon writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 3:02:41 PM

what the hell?? why isnt leonardo dicaprio nominated for best actor???? inception was probably his best performance in his career and he doesnt even get nominated? screw you golden globes
triggax writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 3:07:40 PM

I wouldnt say it was his best performance in his career.

The Aviator takes the cake for that one and he was totally shafted any awards.
triggax writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 3:09:54 PM

Actually...

Revolutionary Road. By far his best performance. And again.. shafted...

The Departed, Shutter Island.. His work in Inception was nothing more than mediocre in comparison to his work with Scorsese.
trailertrash writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 4:46:30 PM

Trig-

Good to hear True Grit turned out ok, There has not been to much out lately that was one i'm looking forward to watching.

The Beach and What's Eating Gilbert grape, Leo was very good in both of those also.

C- Prime -

"The lesbian scene was weak as hell"

Add that to the list of cinema disappointments for 2010 then ....
c-prime writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 8:46:38 PM

@ Max Rockatansky Jr. : Months? Huh. I found the nudie pictures of Anne Hathaway in "Love & Other Drugs" the very week after it was released. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that it's a limited-release flick or something? I dunno.

@ triggax: Some pretty solid calls. I think a few of your guesses will certainly be confirmed.

I agree about "The Town". Great movie. Ben Affleck is making more of an impression on me with each successive directorial effort. I would've loved to have seen the movie walk away with more than a meager Best Supporting nod. (A nomination for Best Picture, Director, and Screenplay was very much in order, also.) And for Jeremy Renner, no less. I don't think he's a bad actor, but I haven't jumped on the bandwagon like so many others have after "The Hurt Locker" undeservedly cleaned house at awards season last year.

And "True Grit" looks certain to be the best movie of the year. I expect fine things from the Coens and Mr. Bridges, as always. I really wish the Academy had just waited to give Jeff the Oscar next year - I fear him winning for "Crazy Heart" months back will spoil his chances. Not many pull off the back-to-back Oscar win. Well, Tom Hanks, but he played a retard and a homo consecutively and Hollywood's got too many damn liberals.

Don't forget, though: DiCaprio did win the Globe for "The Aviator". It's his only one. I would've loved to have seen him walk away with one for "Revolutionary Road, as well. (It was swell to see Kate Winslet win for it, though.) He does get shafted way too often.
The Derp Knight writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 11:30:17 PM

Why didn't Scott Pilgrim get a nomination?

Because it didn't have any big stars to fill the red carpet unlike the others. Why wouldn't the HFP want Johnny Derp and Angelina Whorlie on their carpet instead of Michael Cera and the ever f*cking slammin Mary E Win-stead. The nom's are all dependent on how many stars they can convince to shlep it out to this stink fest. Hence why Burlesque is on there (Cher).

The HFP has always and will forever be f*cking clown shoes.
batdump writes:
on December 16th, 2010 at 8:13:01 PM

why are comedy and musical linked? how does that make sense at all. its like saying best artist in a country/metal band
venomex writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 3:14:49 PM

the lack of scott pilgrim in these nominated lists is lacking

Director James Gunn Comments on "Guardians of the Galaxy" Becoming Highest Grossing Movie of 2014

"Sin City 2" Bombs at Box Office, "Guardians of the Galaxy" Smashing Records

"The Sopranos" Creator Finally Reveals Whether Tony Soprano Died

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

"Sin City 2" is a Box Office Disaster

New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Story Details Revealed

Bruce Wayne Enjoys MMA Fights in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

"Captain America 3" Director Hints at End of Chris Evans as Captain America

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved