WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Jon Favreau Not Returning for "Iron Man 3"

Posted: December 14th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Jon Favreau Not Returning for "Iron Man 3"Submit Comment
NY magazine has learned that Jon Favreau has just informed Marvel Studios that he won't return to direct the third "Iron Man" film, which has already set a release day of May 3rd, 2013.

It's unclear why Favrea decided to do this, but some have speculated that Marvel simply cannot afford him anymore and may have made a smaller offer than he expected. One informed source claims that he simply is not interested in stuffing even more Marvel heroes into the next film.

Favreau recently told MTV: "In theory, 'Iron Man 3' is going to be a sequel or continuation of 'Thor,' 'Hulk,' 'Captain America' and 'Avengers. This whole world... I have no idea what it is. I don't think they do either, from conversations I've had with those guys."

Marvel is already searching for Favreau's replacement. Unfortunately, Robert Downey Jr has a say in who is hired and may even decide not to return himself. Stay tuned.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
jay-c writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 4:19:29 PM

Without Favreau and Downey it just won't work! My spider sense tells me another reboot may be around the corner sooner than expected!
nope.com writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 4:21:26 PM

lol Marvel you just keep finding ways to f*ck up don't you? :D

Norton, Howard, now Favreau

Ah who cares anyway they ran out of material for the second film anyway.
VDODSON writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 4:32:31 PM

I honestly dont know, I really only care if RDJ shows back up. The first was good, though it was lacking in action. The second one had great special effects, but everything else minus RDJ sucked. I would like to see another director continue with the third one.
Inception writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 4:51:46 PM

I call this: "The Norton and Howard curse".
Ted Mosby writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 5:00:12 PM

I'm not sure if I buy this "rumor"... regardless my feelings will stay the same... Love Favreau... Marvel YOU CONTINUITY F*CK UPS!! There is no other Iron Man... so if RDJ goes... its over
Rambo writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 5:03:24 PM

unlikely.studio will pay him more in the end and he'll conclude the trilogy.
DeVries writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 5:03:59 PM

Am I the first who felt like Favreau took a sh*t in my mouth with Ironman 2?
Sleuth1989 writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 5:04:16 PM

@nope.com
Don't forget allowing Sony to screw up Spider-Man with a reboot with that little twirp from "The Social Network". Course, more Sony then Marvel.
rocketman writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 5:07:15 PM

Glad to see the back of the fat f*cker.
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 5:08:01 PM

This isn' a film franchise they can easily reboot, especially without RDJ, but Favreau leaving isn't a bad thing IMO, and as long as they hire someone with some action-film competency, all will work out.

Just keep the run-time lean, the chracter list short and the story specific and to the point. Basically do what you did with the first and failed to do with the second.
Rambo writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 5:10:41 PM

@mink

amen to that
Lowryder writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 5:17:09 PM

I smell a reboot! if that happens i will be beyond pissed..
Dark writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 5:39:07 PM

I simply don't give a sh*t. He f*cked every thing up with Iron Man 2 which is the worst superhero sequel of all time. Mostly superhero movies get epic with number 2 but IM did the opposite. And without fixing the whole thing up he's just gonna bitch out? I'm cool as long as they manage to keep RDJ on board.
Devil writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 5:55:50 PM

Still bitter about losing out on Avengers?
Aingx writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 6:19:55 PM

Well guess what movie I'm NOT watching.....SUCK IT MARVEL.
jigsaw23 writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 6:24:31 PM

dammit marvel give him what he wants
Ranger writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 6:37:40 PM

Maybe Jon visited WP and found out that most of us thought IM2 sucked more c*ck than Lindsay, Dina and Michael at an audition.

Ranger writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 6:41:28 PM

Marvel is cheap... no secret there.

OK... they're really f*cking cheap!

But something else is afoot here, than just Jon's requested $'s. Were it even an extra few million $'s (I know Chris Evans is working for peanuts on CA)... but Jon has a proven track record with IM... oh, except for IM2. So he's only made 1 good movie with them...

Never mind.
JohnZee writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 6:43:55 PM

Notice that not only is Favreau not coming back because Marvel's standard low ball offer sounded too ridiculous for a third successive Iron Man franchise, but he's also saying that as far as a concept for Iron Man 3 that Marvel pretty much had their heads up their asses...

...And he's going to tell his buddy Robert Downey Jr. that Marvel is screwing the pooch as far as that franchise and time for the rats to leave the sinking ship.

So he'll probably tell Downey that if he does do Iron Man 3, than at least try to get enough cash in hand to make it worth his while.

And the second that Downey asks for a single dime more, he's gone and it is reboot time. Marvel has consistently made the point that they will not negotiate when it comes to pay scale with anyone. You take what they offer the first time, or they just get someone else.

If Downey stays I'll be amazed. Much more likely in two months they'll be talking that old lame reboot song and dance...
gunner writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 7:05:28 PM

So basically he thinks he's too big now for the movies that made him. hate to break it to you jon, you're a subpar actor and director. if it wasnt for iron man, youd still be doing dumbass movies like Zathura. oh i forgot you are still making those types of movies. what was that? aliens vs cowboy or some sh*t. lol.
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 7:09:50 PM

RDJ is ironman just like

Arnold is the terminator
Willis is Mcclain
Lee is the crow
Wayne is the duke

As for fatroe , maybe the set lunch was to small or didn't have his favorite flavors of icecream....all 31 of them
minkowski writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 7:16:16 PM

They must have restricted his craft services access.
rabid writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 9:58:25 PM

It's not that big a deal to me. Favreau has made two excellent Iron Man movies, but I'm a comic book fan. I'm used to seeing Iron Man's creative team and look change every 6 months. It's just business as usual.

I'll give him this. The Mandarin is going to be a very tough character to pull off, so any director that picks this up is going to have the details pushing him into a corner. It's hard to have creative control over a story that forcibly writes itself.
rabid writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 10:00:05 PM

I hope that Favreau at least returns to play Happy Hogan. Anyone can play that role, but it's great seeing him in there.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 10:08:29 PM

Wonder if they are calling Roger Corman right now ?

" Hey Rog, we looooove what you did with Fantastic Four .... have a free spot open in the next couple of days ? "
jdl107 writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 11:42:23 PM

Well f*ck, I don't know what to say. I have to admit, Iron Man was good, perhaps a tad more than 'Good", but it definately wasn't spectacular. I liked Iron Man 2, but they wasted alot of potential, Vanko could've been used so much more better. But still, the director is crucial, very crucial. So IMO it's pretty obvious he was partly the reason why the first was pretty good. Second was okay, he and Downey helped. But like you all say, IM2 was wasted potential. So.... I dunno.

The way Marvel is going about they're business worries me. Future projects though, they started filming Captain America five months ago, Thors done, so everything including the Avengers are all set in stone. Everything after that though...... thats what I'm worried about.
jdl107 writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 11:43:22 PM

Marvel is just becoming the new Sony, the new 20th Century Fox. Who knows though, maybe Disney had a good say in this.

f*ckers.
Man in Black writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 12:14:38 AM

I smell emo iron man dancing .... :L
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:10:02 AM

best news ever
Ranger writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 2:06:35 AM

@Bitchhunter - love your avatar!

@Man in Black - don't give 'em any ideas!
BITCHHUNTER writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 3:09:56 AM

@Ranger thanks man but Man in Black avatar is sicker
darkraven28 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 4:20:47 AM

Just goes to show you that a comic book company cannot properly behave in the movie making business. Terrence Howard becomes the first person cast in Iron Man, and then marvel f*cks him. Edward Norton becomes the LEAD in Hulk, and they f*ck him over too, destroying the fact that Norton's Hulk film was a gigantic improvement over Ang Lee's bullsh*t. And now this. f*ck Kevin Feige. He always looks like an overeager leper in the BTS videos on Marvel DVDs and this sh*t just continues to prove it. You DON'T HAVE TO MAKE YOUR MARVEL MOVIE UNIVERSE SO f*ckING INCESTUOUS, FEIGE!!! WAY TO GO!! YOU PEOPLE HAVE NO DAMN WAY OF SHOWING SOME THANKS TO THOSE WHO SUCCESSFULLY TRANSLATE YOUR ANCIENT DAMN PROPERTIES!
Mudders writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 4:54:40 AM

i suppose michael bay and shia le butt will be free mink?

python6 writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 5:15:48 AM

Favreau feels that the magical elements in "Thor" mean that he is finally able to introduce The Mandarin. "I hope so," he said. "Because all my stuff was tech-based, and now you have other worlds and inter-dimensions and this sense of history which I think is quite cool."

I don't believe he is leaving after reading this. But if so i hope that they get Sam Raimi too take his place


Read more: http://www.worstpreviews.com/headline.php?id=19963&count=66#ixzz18Apgi5Us
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 6:23:25 AM

simply don't give a sh*t. He f*cked every thing up with Iron Man 2 which is the worst superhero sequel of all time.

I beg to differ, it was below par but still quite enjoyable and RDJs charisma saved it. Fantastic Four 2 on the other hand... that was a sh*t sequel not that number one was much to go by but you wouldn't think they could get any worse

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved