WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Social Network" Wins Three Best Picture Awards

Posted: December 13th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Social Network" Wins Three Best Picture AwardsSubmit Comment
The LA Film Critics (LAFC), New York Film Critics Online (NYFCO) and Boston Film Critics (BFC) have all announced their picks for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor and so on.

All three have chosen "The Social Network" as their favorite film, David Fincher (The Social Network) as the best director and Aaron Sorkin's "The Social Network" script as the best screenplay of 2010.

NYFCO and BFC selected Natalie Portman as the best actress and Christian Bale as the best supporting actor. And everyone agreed that "Toy Story 3" is the best animated film of 2010.

NYFCO PICKS:

Best Picture: The Social Network
Best Actor: James Franco (127 Hours)
Best Actress: Natalie Portman (Black Swan)
Best Director: David Fincher (The Social Network)
Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale (The Fighter)
Best Supporting Actress: Melissa Leo (The Fighter)
Best Breakthrough Performer: Noomi Rapace (The Millenium Trilogy)
Best Debut Director: John Wells (The Company Men)
Best Ensemble Cast: The Kids Are All Right
Best Screenplay: The Social Network (Aaron Sorkin)
Best Documentary: Exit Through the Gift Shop
Best Foreign Language: I Am Love
Best Animated: Toy Story 3
Best Cinematography: Black Swan (Matthew Libatique)
Best Film Music or Score: Black Swan (Clint Mansell)

LAFC PICKS:

Best Picture: The Social Network
Best Director: (tie) Olivier Assayas (Carlos) and David Fincher (The Social Network)
Best Actor: Colin Firth (The King's Speech)
Best Actress: Kim Hye-ja (Mother)
Best Supporting Actor: Niels Arestrup (A Prophet)
Best Supporting Actress: Jacki Weaver (Animal Kingdom)
Best Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network)
Best Foreign Language Film: Carlos
Best Animation: Toy Story 3
Best Documentary/Non-Fiction Film: Last Train Home
Best Cinematography: Matthew Libatique (Black Swan)
Best Music/Score: (tie) The Ghost Writer (Alexandre Desplat) and The Social Network (Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross)

BFC PICKS:

Best Picture: The Social Network
Best Actor: Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network)
Best Actress: Natalie Portman (Black Swan)
Best Supporting Actor: Christian Bale (The Fighter)
Best Supporting Actress: Juliette Lewis (Conviction)
Best Director: David Fincher (The Social Network)
Best Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network)
Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins (True Grit)
Best Documentary: Marwencol
Best Animated Film: Toy Story 3
Best Ensemble Cast: The Fighter
Best Use of Music in a Film: The Social Network (Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross)

Source: NYFCO, LAFC, BFC


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 3:51:07 AM

ok.....i guess.
Rambo writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 3:58:04 AM

'social network' was f*cking boring and pointless.I don't know what the critics are smoking but they need to get their head out of their ass and start using their f*cking brain.idiots.social network?f*ck you all!!!
Dark writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 4:32:09 AM

where the f*ck is Inception?
whoever writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 5:01:54 AM

Go Animal Kingdom for a win, I hope Jacki Weaver is up for an Oscar!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 6:49:40 AM

Eventhough "The Social Network" is a good film, there is no way on earth a better movie than "Inception".

"TSN"' is basically a movie about how someone heard a good idea *****spoiler***** realised that the people who had the idea had no clue how good it was/is stole it, re-worked it and made a sh*tload of money.

Whilst "Inception" is a movie that takes you into a world and then questions you, it and everything around, is this real, is that real, it is very rare to have a movie that mind f*cks you and then you go back for seconds.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 8:47:48 AM

Dave-spot on. I am dissappointed Inception is not on there
SebBaumer writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 8:51:02 AM

Nothing beats Toy Story 3, when will they wake up and stop being biased towards comedies and animated movies. All these award shows are so f*cking political, these movie people really think they are important or something .....
velocityknown writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 9:35:20 AM

Look, I'm not a snob, Inception was a lot of fun. Great summer movie. But the idea of it is far from perfect. There are a lot of plot holes that Nolan simply asks us to forget in the process and I'm willing to, but that makes the movie a summer flick more than anything else in my book.

Not to mention you could argue it dragged on there in the 3rd act.

The Social Network on the other hand will be shown in film studies classes 20 years from now as an example of a perfectly made movie.

Great direction=Fincher. That is all.
Great acting=Eisenberg, Garfield, Timberlake, all giving something new or something we haven't seen from them before.
Great editing=A two hour movie about Facebook that never loses pacing or drags? Props all around.
Screenplay: Flawless job by Sorkin, like with the editing it creates an urgency to the film. A mix of seriousness and humor throughout without one ever undercutting the other.

I'm sorry guys, I love Inception as much as the next person. But if you're asking me for the best made movie of the year, I can only respond with The Social Network. But if you want to make a case for 127 Hours, I'm open to that.
eximius007 writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 10:01:01 AM

The Social Network was ok, at best, looks like Toy Story isn't going to be taken seriously.

I'm looking but I don't see Inception on that list, I might be a Nolan fan, but still at some point he should be considered at least for something. Nolan, I...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 10:24:57 AM

Toy Story 3 doesn't deserve anything, it was an average film with an amazing ending which used the nostalgia of the old films and plucked out heart strings by taking us back to the originals. Inception may not have been a masterpiece over all but i walked out of the cinema feeling so amazed and optimistic about films and hollywood that everything else becomes irrelevant.. in the end it should be about creating emotions and making you think.,
rabid writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 11:26:50 AM

I couldn't sit through more than hour of Social Network. I suppose it was a well-made film, but far too slow-paced and boring for me to waste my time with. I'm not sure who their target audience is.
I'd place Inception in a class above it. Nolan's project was high art, and Fincher's project was like reading a really boring copy of Newsweek.
Devil writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 11:27:05 AM

FACT: Christopher Nolan > David Fincher

ALSO A FACT: Inception > The Social Network

So why the f*ck is it not on that f*cking list?
murphyslaw93 writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 11:35:32 AM

I agree with there being a problem with these awards since Inception won nothing, not even best cinematography. But I also would have liked to see Aronofsky get a Best Director award somewhere, Black Swan was so beautifully crafted. I want him, Cassel, and Hershey to get noms since Natalie Portman will undoubtedly win. The three best actor winners are exactly who I perceive as the front runners. That'll be an interesting category come Oscar night.
LEONCIO writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 12:12:43 PM

I liked both films a lot, but if someone argues that "TSN" sucked and "Inception" was pure genius and originality, the next guy could argue that "Inception" was just a "Matrix" rip-off (which also ripped-off a lot of previous movies).

Also, as a NIN's fan I'm very pleased with the awards for Reznor's (& co) score, amazing album even better than the movie imo. I still haven't listened Black Swan's score by Mansell (who is also an old friend of Reznor, his former band PWEI was signed by Reznor's label Nothing Records in the 90s, excuse my fanboyism XD), but I'm quite it's amazing like many of his previous scores ("Requiem For A Dream", "The Fountain", etc...).
LEONCIO writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 12:15:22 PM

^^^"Quite sure" I meant, edit button would be nice. :P
mariachi writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 3:36:08 PM

@velocityknown: I couldn't agree more.

Both Inception and Social Network were fantastic movies and it sucks that they both had to come out in the same year. But Social Net was a much tighter story and never lost it's footing. Don't get me wrong - Nolan deserves plenty of credit for making such a dense story into a blockbuster, the likes of which we haven't seen since The Matrix. Overall, however, Fincher, Sorkin, and the lead cast were all on their A-plus-plus game.
minkowski writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 6:31:07 PM

Inception, good film that is was, and far more entertaining than TSN, was a flawed high-concept that really made no sense, much like the Matrix, to which it has been erroneously compared.

""TSN"' is basically a movie about how someone heard a good idea *****spoiler***** realised that the people who had the idea had no clue how good it was/is stole it, re-worked it and made a sh*tload of money."

This is the same history synopsis for Micrsoft, and yet no one ever made a decent film on that behemoth.

Instead, we got the "Dullard's Guide to Making Good but Boring Films", featuring TSN.

So yeah, Inception is more thought-provoking and more original and more entertaining, but that's not what necessarily wins awards with the bozos in Hollywood.

It usually takes some serious humanity, amazingly clear delivery and nearly flawless execution, and Inception fails the last three.
telur writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 11:18:53 PM

where the f*ck is twilight eclipse?

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved