WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
"X-Men: Apocalypse" to Focus on Younger Cast, Patrick Stewart Says He May Still Return
Apr 20th, 2014
Hayden Panettiere Won't Return for "Heroes: Reborn" TV Series
Apr 20th, 2014
Trailer for Michael C. Hall's "Cold in July" Thriller
Apr 20th, 2014
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Chronicles of Narnia" and "The Tourist" Bomb This Weekend

Posted: December 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Chronicles of Narnia" and "The Tourist" Bomb This WeekendSubmit Comment
The third "Chronicles of Narnia" installment opened this weekend with a disappointing $24 million from domestic theaters, but that was good enough for first place. The new film cost $155 million to make, but 20th Century Fox believes there is still time to earn back the money.

No word whether the studio is considering a fourth installment, but the franchise has been earning less and less with each film. The first one grossed $65 million during its opening weekend, while the sequel took in $55 million.

Meanwhile "The Tourist," starring Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp, opened to $17 million which was good enough for second place. The film, however, cost $100 million to make.

On the limited side, "Black Swan" ended up in sixth place with $3.3 million, despite the fact that it played in only 90 theaters. No doubt the film will continue to expand.

"The Fighter," starring Mark Wahlberg and Christian Bale, opening in 4 theaters and took in $320,000. The $20 million film is a definite Oscar contender and will get a wide release next weekend.

Click here to read our "The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
-Chewy- writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 8:23:34 PM

Fox should have understood after the second movie that no one gives a sh*t about the Chronicles of Narnia movie.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 8:43:53 PM

haha damn the warriors way is not even on the list anymore thats a good movie btw I strongly recommend wether is at the theater or for a download which will happen real quick it mixes the western Genre with samurai swords
lostwarrior writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 8:49:28 PM

the only film that even looks good is the Fighter. And I have a feeling that Bale is back in form. Being a supporting actor is where he shines....
telur writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 9:12:51 PM

surprise Depp-Jolie is a bomb, maybe they took 40% of budget
SebBaumer writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 9:14:52 PM

The Chron Of Narnia kids are gay, really f*ckin gay. As for Jolie, even those DSL's cant save a sh*t movie. Now let me go return some video tapes .....
bandolero999 writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 9:21:12 PM

im glad if the tourist bombs and that other movie that she wants to direct bith looks like she's Coked OUT
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 9:41:36 PM

YES Narnia bombs!! They said if this one fails they'll stop making em, great news.
FBO writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 10:05:20 PM

I don't care what anyone says, i'll take narnia over twilight any day of the week. The narnia fans are like Harry Potter fans; needy but not in your face. I hate Twilight and Avatarded mostly because of their fans
FBO writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 10:08:35 PM

although, fro' what i can remember, aren't the bad guys in the narnia books muslim? how will fox get away with showing camel jockeys as bad people without getting blown up?
velocityknown writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 12:20:23 AM

Hearing about the third Narnia movie my first thought was: They're still making those?
Can't see a fourth one coming after this. They'll just have to try and reboot again in about 10 years or so.

@Lostwarrior
Disagree with your assessment of Bale there, no doubt he's strong in supporting roles but looking at him in:
The Machinist
American Psycho
Rescue Dawn
Batman Begins
Dude is just as much a leading man as he is supporting.
BlueJulias writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 12:57:37 AM

I don't think that anyone is surprised that the "Jesus is a Lion" movies are tanking.

What pisses me off is that while halfhearted films designed solely for profiteering, and poorly I might add, are taking up space at my local theatre I am unable to find truly inspiring authorship and grand story telling in films such as "Black Swan." I mean, that and a totally rocking fu(k scene between two hotties.

Stupid Christians and their thinly veiled religious symbolism...
Dark writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 1:17:01 AM

f*ck YALL! NARNIA IS GOOD. IT'S 1000000000000000000000X BETTER THAN THAT TWILIGHT CRAP. TVOTDT WAS THE WORST BOOK OUT OF THE WHOLE SERIES SO I EXPECTED THIS TO FAIL. BUT PLEASE DON'T f*ckING STOP MAKIN THESE MOVIES.
Whitta writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 2:51:29 AM

@Dark

the narnia movies are only better than the twilight series because Liam Neeson is Aslan... take him out and they're just as bad
Rambo writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 4:02:33 AM

Narnia-as 'chewy' pointed out correctly,studio should have realized this franchise is going nowhere after prince caspien.

The Tourist-did they really expect a box office success with such a dumb title?
Ranger writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 4:18:00 AM

@FBO - that's not saying much... lol.

I'd take a black scorpion/broken glass enema over the Twilight movies.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 4:51:14 AM

And no one is surprised.

Narnia has been going downhill for every movie, so I'm quite surprised that they made a third and had plans on a fourth.

It has been statistically proven that stars alone doesn't make a hit, they need a story or some nifty effects too do that. The Tourist never stood a chance.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 6:38:36 AM

That's a shame about "Narnia" the series is a hell of alot better than "Gaylight".

Hope they do continue making them, liked the series when I was a kid so will buy the box set if and when they do them all.

Than f*ck "The Tourist" bombed with any luck Jolie will quit acting and just f*ck off.

Has anyone else noticed that when she "acts" (and I use that term loosly) she always seems to be smurking.
trailertrash writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 8:44:36 AM

Bet Disney are pretty happy with themselves that they got out of the Narnia series when they did ....

The Tourist looked very average IMO
eximius007 writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 9:43:16 AM

@Dave she seems to do that a lot in every movie, its like she thinks shes the best actress every (which she is fu*king not)

i think thats what really separates the Real actors among the terrible ones. Being c*cky and thinking you can get into every movie makes you look terrible, but look at the fu*kers who work hard to get into movies all the time, showing some real determination. Because everyone should know not every actor is needed, ya gotta fight for the job. Those are the award winners. The celebrities who actually have souls and aren't lifeless zombies trying to make a quick buck and look "cool" around all their "friends"
eximius007 writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 9:44:37 AM

*best actress ever

not every... damn early
FBO writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 10:42:20 AM

@ranger - Rotflol, you're right, I too would rather have a black scorpion shoved in my ass hole than watch a twilight movie. Things I'd, also, rather do than watch a twilight movie; catch peruanas with my bare hands, kick a sleeping grizzly bear, tell midget jokes at an NRA sponsored short people/gun owners convention, go skydiving with a torn bedsheet as a parachute, spend a night in lindsey lohan's vag ala luke skywalker in empire strikes back, or even watch rosie o'donnell and kathy bates have sex
Skywalker121289 writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 1:04:54 PM

The Narnia movies a very good stuff, just perhaps not the stuff you young adult males would appreciate. I mean seriously, what do kids have to choose from entertainment wise these days? Bob the Builder, Twilight, or Transformers- REALLY?? Crap, Triple Crap, and Crap- as you guys have already metioned.

I saw Dawn Treader- it was decent stuff. Much MUCH better than the 2nd one. That was up there with Twilight shattings.
lawman writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 2:50:40 PM

Narnia I could give a f*ck about. The tourist, however, put Depp, who in my opinion is a phenominal actor, in league with one of the worst f*cking actors in history. JOlie is a one trick pony. Deadly, sexy, sultry is all shes got! Shes a talentless hack! She is literally THE SAME character in EVERY movie shes ever in! Laura Croft was the same as the twat in Wanted, same in Mrs/Mrs Smith/same as this movie/same as Salt. Shes worthless! I would love to fire a load of my chutney in her face but other than that, utterly worthelss on film!
lostwarrior writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 2:53:54 PM

@ Velocity Known, I do agree about the machinist and american psycho, and he is by far the best Bruce Wayne/Batman so far to hit theatres. But he didnt shine compared to Heath Ledger, I honestly think that he could win best supporting actor for his role in this. He is a method actor, much like Brando. But look at Terminator Salvation, he wasnt much different than in TDK or Batman Begins. I think indie films and supporting roles are more suited for him. Bottom line in my opinion only he has done his best work when he is a supporting actor or in a indie film. Having the lead roles in hollywood block busters havent really done much for him. Regarding performance wise... Again in my opinion only... But I hear what ur sayin
dwight writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 8:50:16 AM

Right on to the Right on DARK! Narnia da tham Bad! Way better than Twilight or Potter. Though I haven't seen Deathly Hollows, the last two Harrymovies before that sucked! The Narnia books might be religious, but the movies are action flicks. People need to stop making them seem like there not. Other than a few references to "son of & Adam ect. I don't find the Narnia Films to be too preachy. I haven't read the books so I watch I Narnia movies with a clear mind. Dispite this last Narnia film was not nearly as good as the prior two. Disney did a better job I hate to say. I thought Fox would step up the action. but the movie had less compared to the big field Battles of The Lion the Witch and Prince Casian. It was still very good.
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:21:50 AM

so basically, it was a bad week for movies... nobody made money. If it was the fault of narnia and tourist, they would have settle for third and fourth.
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:22:31 AM

i mean what do you expect! It's finals week and last week of school and everybody is christmas shopping
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:25:31 AM

@lawman.
You haven't seen girl interupted or changling have you?
check them out. Jolie is type cast but she CAN act. She just chooses not to.
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:25:35 AM

@lawman.
You haven't seen girl interupted or changling have you?
check them out. Jolie is type cast but she CAN act. She just chooses not to.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved