WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Chronicles of Narnia" and "The Tourist" Bomb This Weekend

Posted: December 12th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Chronicles of Narnia" and "The Tourist" Bomb This WeekendSubmit Comment
The third "Chronicles of Narnia" installment opened this weekend with a disappointing $24 million from domestic theaters, but that was good enough for first place. The new film cost $155 million to make, but 20th Century Fox believes there is still time to earn back the money.

No word whether the studio is considering a fourth installment, but the franchise has been earning less and less with each film. The first one grossed $65 million during its opening weekend, while the sequel took in $55 million.

Meanwhile "The Tourist," starring Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp, opened to $17 million which was good enough for second place. The film, however, cost $100 million to make.

On the limited side, "Black Swan" ended up in sixth place with $3.3 million, despite the fact that it played in only 90 theaters. No doubt the film will continue to expand.

"The Fighter," starring Mark Wahlberg and Christian Bale, opening in 4 theaters and took in $320,000. The $20 million film is a definite Oscar contender and will get a wide release next weekend.

Click here to read our "The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
-Chewy- writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 8:23:34 PM

Fox should have understood after the second movie that no one gives a sh*t about the Chronicles of Narnia movie.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 8:43:53 PM

haha damn the warriors way is not even on the list anymore thats a good movie btw I strongly recommend wether is at the theater or for a download which will happen real quick it mixes the western Genre with samurai swords
lostwarrior writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 8:49:28 PM

the only film that even looks good is the Fighter. And I have a feeling that Bale is back in form. Being a supporting actor is where he shines....
telur writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 9:12:51 PM

surprise Depp-Jolie is a bomb, maybe they took 40% of budget
SebBaumer writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 9:14:52 PM

The Chron Of Narnia kids are gay, really f*ckin gay. As for Jolie, even those DSL's cant save a sh*t movie. Now let me go return some video tapes .....
bandolero999 writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 9:21:12 PM

im glad if the tourist bombs and that other movie that she wants to direct bith looks like she's Coked OUT
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 9:41:36 PM

YES Narnia bombs!! They said if this one fails they'll stop making em, great news.
FBO writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 10:05:20 PM

I don't care what anyone says, i'll take narnia over twilight any day of the week. The narnia fans are like Harry Potter fans; needy but not in your face. I hate Twilight and Avatarded mostly because of their fans
FBO writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 10:08:35 PM

although, fro' what i can remember, aren't the bad guys in the narnia books muslim? how will fox get away with showing camel jockeys as bad people without getting blown up?
velocityknown writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 12:20:23 AM

Hearing about the third Narnia movie my first thought was: They're still making those?
Can't see a fourth one coming after this. They'll just have to try and reboot again in about 10 years or so.

Disagree with your assessment of Bale there, no doubt he's strong in supporting roles but looking at him in:
The Machinist
American Psycho
Rescue Dawn
Batman Begins
Dude is just as much a leading man as he is supporting.
BlueJulias writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 12:57:37 AM

I don't think that anyone is surprised that the "Jesus is a Lion" movies are tanking.

What pisses me off is that while halfhearted films designed solely for profiteering, and poorly I might add, are taking up space at my local theatre I am unable to find truly inspiring authorship and grand story telling in films such as "Black Swan." I mean, that and a totally rocking fu(k scene between two hotties.

Stupid Christians and their thinly veiled religious symbolism...
Dark writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 1:17:01 AM

Whitta writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 2:51:29 AM


the narnia movies are only better than the twilight series because Liam Neeson is Aslan... take him out and they're just as bad
Rambo writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 4:02:33 AM

Narnia-as 'chewy' pointed out correctly,studio should have realized this franchise is going nowhere after prince caspien.

The Tourist-did they really expect a box office success with such a dumb title?
Ranger writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 4:18:00 AM

@FBO - that's not saying much... lol.

I'd take a black scorpion/broken glass enema over the Twilight movies.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 4:51:14 AM

And no one is surprised.

Narnia has been going downhill for every movie, so I'm quite surprised that they made a third and had plans on a fourth.

It has been statistically proven that stars alone doesn't make a hit, they need a story or some nifty effects too do that. The Tourist never stood a chance.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 6:38:36 AM

That's a shame about "Narnia" the series is a hell of alot better than "Gaylight".

Hope they do continue making them, liked the series when I was a kid so will buy the box set if and when they do them all.

Than f*ck "The Tourist" bombed with any luck Jolie will quit acting and just f*ck off.

Has anyone else noticed that when she "acts" (and I use that term loosly) she always seems to be smurking.
trailertrash writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 8:44:36 AM

Bet Disney are pretty happy with themselves that they got out of the Narnia series when they did ....

The Tourist looked very average IMO
eximius007 writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 9:43:16 AM

@Dave she seems to do that a lot in every movie, its like she thinks shes the best actress every (which she is fu*king not)

i think thats what really separates the Real actors among the terrible ones. Being c*cky and thinking you can get into every movie makes you look terrible, but look at the fu*kers who work hard to get into movies all the time, showing some real determination. Because everyone should know not every actor is needed, ya gotta fight for the job. Those are the award winners. The celebrities who actually have souls and aren't lifeless zombies trying to make a quick buck and look "cool" around all their "friends"
eximius007 writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 9:44:37 AM

*best actress ever

not every... damn early
FBO writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 10:42:20 AM

@ranger - Rotflol, you're right, I too would rather have a black scorpion shoved in my ass hole than watch a twilight movie. Things I'd, also, rather do than watch a twilight movie; catch peruanas with my bare hands, kick a sleeping grizzly bear, tell midget jokes at an NRA sponsored short people/gun owners convention, go skydiving with a torn bedsheet as a parachute, spend a night in lindsey lohan's vag ala luke skywalker in empire strikes back, or even watch rosie o'donnell and kathy bates have sex
Skywalker121289 writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 1:04:54 PM

The Narnia movies a very good stuff, just perhaps not the stuff you young adult males would appreciate. I mean seriously, what do kids have to choose from entertainment wise these days? Bob the Builder, Twilight, or Transformers- REALLY?? Crap, Triple Crap, and Crap- as you guys have already metioned.

I saw Dawn Treader- it was decent stuff. Much MUCH better than the 2nd one. That was up there with Twilight shattings.
lawman writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 2:50:40 PM

Narnia I could give a f*ck about. The tourist, however, put Depp, who in my opinion is a phenominal actor, in league with one of the worst f*cking actors in history. JOlie is a one trick pony. Deadly, sexy, sultry is all shes got! Shes a talentless hack! She is literally THE SAME character in EVERY movie shes ever in! Laura Croft was the same as the twat in Wanted, same in Mrs/Mrs Smith/same as this movie/same as Salt. Shes worthless! I would love to fire a load of my chutney in her face but other than that, utterly worthelss on film!
lostwarrior writes:
on December 13th, 2010 at 2:53:54 PM

@ Velocity Known, I do agree about the machinist and american psycho, and he is by far the best Bruce Wayne/Batman so far to hit theatres. But he didnt shine compared to Heath Ledger, I honestly think that he could win best supporting actor for his role in this. He is a method actor, much like Brando. But look at Terminator Salvation, he wasnt much different than in TDK or Batman Begins. I think indie films and supporting roles are more suited for him. Bottom line in my opinion only he has done his best work when he is a supporting actor or in a indie film. Having the lead roles in hollywood block busters havent really done much for him. Regarding performance wise... Again in my opinion only... But I hear what ur sayin
dwight writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 8:50:16 AM

Right on to the Right on DARK! Narnia da tham Bad! Way better than Twilight or Potter. Though I haven't seen Deathly Hollows, the last two Harrymovies before that sucked! The Narnia books might be religious, but the movies are action flicks. People need to stop making them seem like there not. Other than a few references to "son of & Adam ect. I don't find the Narnia Films to be too preachy. I haven't read the books so I watch I Narnia movies with a clear mind. Dispite this last Narnia film was not nearly as good as the prior two. Disney did a better job I hate to say. I thought Fox would step up the action. but the movie had less compared to the big field Battles of The Lion the Witch and Prince Casian. It was still very good.
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:21:50 AM

so basically, it was a bad week for movies... nobody made money. If it was the fault of narnia and tourist, they would have settle for third and fourth.
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:22:31 AM

i mean what do you expect! It's finals week and last week of school and everybody is christmas shopping
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:25:31 AM

You haven't seen girl interupted or changling have you?
check them out. Jolie is type cast but she CAN act. She just chooses not to.
vaodsi writes:
on December 15th, 2010 at 1:25:35 AM

You haven't seen girl interupted or changling have you?
check them out. Jolie is type cast but she CAN act. She just chooses not to.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

"Transformers 5" Plot Details Revealed

"Ant-Man" Gets a Sequel, Marvel's Phase Three Release Dates Announced

Official "X-Men: Apocalypse" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Chris Evans Wants to Play Captain America After His Marvel Contract Expires

"Hardcore" Sells to STX for $10 Million After Week-Long Bidding War
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved