WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

The Rock Helps Hugh Jackman Gain 25 lbs for "Wolverine 2"

Posted: December 8th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
The Rock Helps Hugh Jackman Gain 25 lbs for "Wolverine 2"Submit Comment
In an interview with Entertainment Weekly, Hugh Jackman revealed that director Darren Aronofsky (The Wrestler) asked him to gain 25 lbs of muscle for the upcoming "Wolverine" sequel, which begins filming in the spring.

"[That] is more than I ever have for the role. It's not easy for me, because I'm actually quite long and lean," he said, adding that he turned for advice to The Rock. "I had a chat with Dwayne Johnson, who did 25 pounds for ['Faster']. I rang him up and was like, Okay, tell me what's going on."

The Rock told him that if he wants to put on that much weight, he'll need to put on more than a pound per week, which means 6,000 calories per day. Jackman points out that it's an awful lot of chicken, steak, and brown rice.

Source: EW


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 35 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Rodan writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 9:37:21 PM

Or he could eat Dwayne Johnson.
Ranger writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 10:05:39 PM

Protein Powder goofy... protein powder!

For gaining... 2gms per pound of LEAN body mass per day (3gms if you can take it without gaining fat).

Chicken, steak and brown rice... he'd be eating for 5 hours a day.

Johnson has it right (although he can't act and his career is suffering major suckage).
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 10:22:05 PM

Since when do we call steriods steak and chicken ?

What kind of cycle is that ?
Ranger writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 10:22:58 PM

Since when do we call steroids steak and chicken ?

lol...no sh*t!
Lowryder writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 10:24:22 PM

Just eat at McDonalds everyday, you'll be fine.
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 10:28:11 PM

McDonald's everyday ..f*ck me. That sh*t will buff out
boogiel writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 10:29:28 PM

Hugh, just crank up those steroids......
Blink_pimp_182 writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 10:39:22 PM

Tough life for an actor
Ari Gold writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 10:42:35 PM

Ranger is spot on!

Hugh has been training for a couple of months solid already for this role, he didn't just start! I read somewhere about him eating 4 chicken breasts just for dinner.

Jackman looked natural in Origins, he was mainly ripped up, he wasn't that big. Chris Hemsworth, now thats a different story..
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 10:58:46 PM

Or he could do the Steven Seagal diet.
Kain writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 11:11:22 PM

@Ranger... Dude protien powder? that's not going to get you big. Food, good quality lean protein is the trick not powder.

And let's not bullsh*t around here anyway - The Rock takes gear plain and simple. I guarantee you can't put on 25 pounds of lean muscle without gear.
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 11:15:51 PM

You can put on 25 lbs of lean muscle without gear just not in a few months ...more like a year
Ranger writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 11:48:27 PM

@Kain - I'll gather then that you know how much eating he'll have to do otherwise to get to those 6000 calories? I'm 250, so going up or down 25lbs for me is work... but can be done. Glutamine & Creatine & Amino Acids (all produced by the body naturally, just in insufficient quantities while one is training) etc. So yes, protein powder does WONDERS for packing on weight. When I was training harder I was taking 300gms of protein a day, 3 chicken breasts for lunch, etc.
Kain writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 12:25:21 AM

@Ranger yeah man he'll have to eat like a champ. But putting on lean quality muscle... 25 in 6 months, he'd be shooting for around 5% body fat too I'm guessing... If you're 250 than you know what the pros have to do to get in shape. Powder has it's place but even you'd know man real food will lean you up quicker and build more than powder.

Got to say though our powder in Aust sucks so maybe in the States there's more potent sh*t around just, well that's a very big ask man and I don't see him doing it without some extra help. Little bit of Deca or Stanz Hugh?
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 12:29:44 AM

@Kain - thx for the reply. You're right, I'm certainly not suggesting powder alone (not suggesting drugs either... have never taken them myself, ever), and you're right, food is better than protein powder. Great stuff (health-wise) in N. America.
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 12:39:14 AM

lol... just checked out YouTube.

Here's a guy I used to work out with in High School. Like I say, I have never touched performance drugs, and can't (won't) speak for others. One of the nicest guys in the world. 2nd strongest mad in the world. He was Bret Hart's trainer... he was also a Geophysicist (seriously), but made more being a pro-trainer (go figure). WWF wanted him (but never went in... he and I discussed that), and he was N. American Power-Lifting Champ (Olympic Class), but again, never participated in the games. Even at 320lbs... he's a LOT stronger than he looks.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AfzUQpSfxz0
Kain writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 12:41:03 AM

@Ranger, for sure bro, been to LA & NY love both places, well LA less so lol. Mate i've go no problem with people taking gear or whatever they want, each to their own. If he can do it, even with drugs than my hat goes of to him, or anyone. It'd be incredible.
Ari Gold writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 12:43:10 AM

@kain

Bulknutrients.com.au decent quality and it's heaps cheaper.
Kain writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 12:44:31 AM

@Ranger... the G man huh, damn strong SOB, good track too lol. Dedication man, very few are willing to sacrifice what it takes to reach that level. Genetics help but that dudes an axe.
Kain writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 12:47:56 AM

@Ari Gold... DUDE! LOL LEGENDARY! mate awesome, simply awesome. Thanks man, definitely getting some from here.
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 12:58:08 AM

@Kain - thx. again for your replies. Yeah Grant was even abnormally strong in high school. And you're right, very, very few are willing to make that kind of sacrifice. Pics look great in your blog Bro! Saw an (older) pic of Sly recently (looking for it).

http://www.the-biomatrix.net/stallone-abs.jpg

I remember him being interviews after Rambo III, saying he was so lean he couldn't remember how he got to work that morning. Talk about a guy that's put himself through hell.
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 1:02:21 AM

@Kain - Ari is a good sh*t!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 1:14:24 AM

The Rock Helps Hugh Jackman Gain 25 lbs for "Wolverine 2" ... that's alot of steroids and horse sperm.

rocketman writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 1:33:57 AM

i can do a stone in a week,lighht weight.
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 1:37:10 AM

The Rock Helps Hugh Jackman Gain 25 lbs for "Wolverine 2" .... well, they do say that you can gain weight by sucking another man's semen into your stomach.

Right, Che ?
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 1:39:07 AM

Lowryder writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 10:24:22 PM

Just eat at McDonalds everyday, you'll be fine ... according to Morgan Spurlock.
Trip Maverick writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 8:28:03 AM

If you eat McDonalds everyday you'll become a Texan. (Sorry Texans but I have relatives there and their all fat f*cks)
SACdaddy writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 9:02:37 AM

Alright steroids aside, its extremely hard to put on 25 lbs of muscle in this short amount of time. It should be even harder for a naturally tall/slender guy to do. The Rock is part Samoan and an ex-college football/WWE athelete, so he can put on muscle in his sleep. Jackman doesn't have the genetic background to put on mass like this without the help of HGH, Winstrol, and god knows whatelse.
FBO writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 10:55:18 AM

what, they're not going to cgi the muscles on? i wonder if his claws will look like a fifth grade color by number project
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 4:34:46 PM

6000 calories a day to gain a pound in 1 week

The math doesnt add up

3000 calories are needed to gain a pound and yes I do know you burn part of that but not much over a 1000 calories for an intense workout
pomme writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 7:51:30 PM

a part of Steroid and many meal!
Kurskij writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 9:52:45 PM

1. Sleep enough.
2. Exercise right.
3. Eat enough and right.

In Wolverine Hugh was huge - and clearly not only fat-burners were involved.

But he is always in impressive shape - so 6 months with the right diet and sleep-exercise regimen is pretty much enough.

All the guys here who are into sports should agree: muscles have "memory" - and if you train regularly for, say, 5 years and then loosen up for a year or so - it's relatively easy to get back in shape - and most of the time you even get bigger than you were before.



Ranger writes:
on December 10th, 2010 at 2:12:46 AM

@Kursk - your list of 3 is the exact one I quote when people ask. I really stress diet and sleep.

As for memory... I can be out of training for a year, and can see a difference after 1 workout (not a huge difference... lol, but a difference... about 2 days afterward). So yeah... thank God muscle has memory.

And every time I go back to it I ask myself the same question... why did I ever stop?! Because 'maintaining' is a LOT LESS work than 'getting back into shape!'
Kurskij writes:
on December 10th, 2010 at 5:42:36 AM

@Ranger

I hear you - I'll be asking myself this question in a month or so.
DCJayhawk57 writes:
on December 12th, 2010 at 11:53:51 PM

Nobody gains 25 lbs. of muscle in that short amount of time. It's just not physically possible, even with steroids. Steroids can make it seem like you gained 25 lbs. of mass, but so much of the weight is water retention inside the muscles themselves due to increased protein synthesis. He may have gained 25 lbs., but chances are about 8 lbs. muscle, 8 lbs. fat, and 7 lbs. water with an end result of looking huge and just about as lean as before. If he legitimately gained 25 lbs. of muscle, he'd almost certainly gain an equal amount of fat in that timeframe. It's like athletes claiming "15 lbs. of muscle in the offseason"...yeah, right, show me the measurements, otherwise you're just full of sh*t.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved