WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

John Cena to Take Over "Batman" Franchise?

Posted: December 7th, 2010 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
John Cena to Take Over "Batman" Franchise?Submit Comment
It was previously reported that WWE Superstar John Cena was in talks to play Clark Kent in Zack Snyder's "Superman" reboot. While the idea of Cena as the Man of Steel seemed like a crazy rumor, it later turned out to be absolutely true.

Now comes word from the Examiner that Cena is already being considered to play Batman after "The Dark Knight Rises," which will be the last installment for Christopher Nolan and Christian Bale.

Obviously no serious talks are currently going on since "The Dark Knight Rises" won't hit theaters until July 20th, 2012. And it will probably be a few years after that before a reboot is considered.

Source: Examiner


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 53 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Wallace writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 6:11:44 AM

yeah, sure.
sc_kg writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 6:14:22 AM

Very bad idea.
flammablezombie writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 6:21:00 AM

no thanks.
JakeVermont writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 6:21:09 AM

wtf? compare this guy to bale?? and reboot? .. lots of reboots going on atm^^
trailertrash writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 6:34:40 AM

Never seen this guy in a movie but i see he is in Fred The Movie which is an instant fail in my book and he should never work in films again let alone play Batman...
trailertrash writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 6:35:07 AM

Here is the proof !!

http://www.imdb.com/video/imdb/vi1708263705/
Trip Maverick writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 6:35:52 AM

Yes and Lindsey Lohan is in talks for a gritty version of Wonder Woman. Where she has AIDs. From A parking garage Gangbang. Lindsey will bring a lot of her own personal stories to the roll obviously.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 7:08:03 AM

I JUST CHUNDERED... EVERYWHERE!!
supaflywill writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 7:25:21 AM

is this a f*cking joke ...
LeeMaca writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 7:32:40 AM

The script for the third one hasn't been delivered yet and the reboot talks have started already....god help us if he gets a role like this
pH0u57 writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 8:00:57 AM

OMFG ARE YOU SERIOUS?!
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 8:04:41 AM

John Cena to Take Over "Batman" Franchise?

Batman, the Steroids Years. * No acting required.
funseeker writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 8:31:02 AM

This is funny, it's such a bad idea that i am actually looking forward for it. Hollywood definitely needs to reboot executives and studio big shots, they are definitely without sense or ideas. Next big thing in movies will not be 3d but reboot of reboot of reboot.
AYT BALL writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 8:36:58 AM

oooh yeah! Uwe Boll to direct and Norm from cheers to take over as the joker please!
Phil writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 8:41:05 AM

so maybe the talk about 2012 is true if this dude might get the part
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 8:58:08 AM

Will the new Batman suit have a WWE title belt attached to it
pomme writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 9:39:18 AM

LOL
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 10:27:30 AM

Alex, my friend, your got your dates mixed up here. It's Dec 7, not April 1st. Nice try on trying to joke with us though.
batdump writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 10:36:39 AM

I seriously doubt they would want such a bad actor in the role... plus look at his f*cked up chin... nobody wants to see that in the famous cowl
rabid writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 12:08:49 PM

He's a terrible actor, but then Christian Bale is a fantastic actor and he still sucks as Bruce Wayne.
dissident187 writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 12:53:40 PM

Maybe in a porn parody.

Looks like the "Examiner" is the new "The Sun".
Lizardking515 writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 12:56:32 PM

Hey guys, I haven't had time or need to post lately, even with all the news in the past month....but really...come on. Like what the fu c k is wrong with hollywood. Who ever said it before was right, reboot the studio heads not the movies.

And as for a good thought, better than the disgrace of this article, get an unknown and jump foward in batmans live after the dark knight rises and something a little more supernatural than nolans, but still in that gritty realistic world Nolan has created for us.
And if there's need for the reboot go with Frank Millars The Dark Knight Returns. If u haven't heard of it then wiki search for it. Cuz it is nuts
Hell do something in the same way that batman the animated series did.
Just don't F u ck it up this time with neon lights everywhere like I'm tripping out on sum acid.
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 1:00:29 PM

Alright, so I hate to be a d*ck to all of you but you are all f*cking stupid. First of all, in the even slight chance this does happen, why do you think he's the wrong choice? Because he's a pro wrestler? Really? I'm tired of people bashing wrestlers who transition to acting. His acting has gotten incredibly better since his Marine debut. It's not like Oscar winning but whose to say it won't be 5-10 years from now, when this reboot may actually happen? Look at Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson. He's a Grade-A action star and maybe the studios are banking that in the next 5-10 years John Cena's ability will improve enough to carry a Batman reboot. It's not that crazy of idea after seeing what the Rock has done. If people would've said he'd be headlining major films 15 years ago, we'd all say your f*cking stupid too. But learn from history. He may have a chance...
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 1:07:53 PM

fadeddragon2469 writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 1:00:29 PM

Alright, so I hate to be a d*ck to all of you but you are all f*cking stupid. First of all, in the even slight chance this does happen, why do you think he's the wrong choice? Because he's a pro wrestler? Really? I'm tired of people bashing wrestlers who transition to acting. His acting has gotten incredibly better since his Marine debut. It's not like Oscar winning but whose to say it won't be 5-10 years from now, when this reboot may actually happen? Look at Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson. He's a Grade-A action star and maybe the studios are banking that in the next 5-10 years John Cena's ability will improve enough to carry a Batman reboot. It's not that crazy of idea after seeing what the Rock has done. If people would've said he'd be headlining major films 15 years ago, we'd all say your f*cking stupid too. But learn from history. He may have a chance...



@fadeddragon2469

As shown by those Criterion Collection nominees :


A. The Marine

B. 12 Rounds

C. Legendary



* crickets chirping *
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 1:23:44 PM

@ Max- but have you actually watched any of those movies? Honestly? Legendary was actually pretty good. I'm not saying he's at that level. But he's progressively getting better. I have yet to see 12 Rounds but from what the Marine was to what Legendary was there is a significant improvement. Again, I'm not saying he's at that level yet but we shouldn't just go and say "Oh hell f*ck no" when this movie, if it is ever made at all, won't be filmed for atleast 5 years. That's all I'm saying.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 1:24:14 PM

^^^

Nice one, Max.
TH3D4RKKN1GH7 writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 1:25:09 PM

No he's pretty cringe worthy in those films. He's no Dwayne Johnson, who does indeed have a bit of acting ability. There's a reason why he's taken off more so than the others.
Che 4 Prez writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 1:41:46 PM

hon cena iz stupd for batman they should get HHH hes a badass
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 3:29:05 PM

Look at Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson. He's a Grade-A action star

BWAHAHAHAAAHAHAHHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHHA!!
darthraige writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 3:34:04 PM

You gotta be either f*cking high or rutahded to even think of a WWE superstar to play a role in any film.
yatedogg writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 3:39:13 PM

Superman or Batman, he'd be terrrrrrrible at. And come on, how about we wait about 10 years before a reboot is needed. Unoriginal bastards.
Cybear86 writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 4:44:07 PM

No No No No No Noooooooooo John Cena must not be aloowed to make any movies ever please for the love of god please.
IHateR writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 5:04:53 PM

Worst f*cking idea EVER!!!
LEONCIO writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 5:24:12 PM

Tonight I had a dream/nightmare where Lohan won an Oscar (among other terrible unrelated things that scared the sh*t out of me), seriously, no joke. I blame this site, and news like these I'm sure will make my nightmares even worse.

PS: I'm completely serious about the Lohan nightmare, not kidding at all.
G Lantern writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 5:42:20 PM

Okay i'm not saying this because i believe wrestlers can't act because obviously they can ie Dwayne Johnson. But Cena is way too big to play batman. Granted batman is a pyhsical speciemen.....but if john cena takes over as batman....the franchise will be doomed!
mrstretch writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 5:50:43 PM

john cena is a loser
Max Rockatansky Junior writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 6:33:37 PM

fadeddragon2469 writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 1:23:44 PM
@ Max- but have you actually watched any of those movies? Honestly? Legendary was actually pretty good. I'm not saying he's at that level. But he's progressively getting better. I have yet to see 12 Rounds but from what the Marine was to what Legendary was there is a significant improvement. Again, I'm not saying he's at that level yet but we shouldn't just go and say "Oh hell f*ck no" when this movie, if it is ever made at all, won't be filmed for atleast 5 years. That's all I'm saying.

@fadeddragon2469

*face palm followed by deep, ardous and heartfelt sigh*

Okay.

John Cena cannot emote. He can 'entertain' and there is no doubt that he is going to be in the Hall of Fame of WWE (which is questionable at best, since a number of those who have been inducted have been subject to questionable steroid abuse, sordid stories or their connection to wife/son killer Chris Benoit, but that's a different subject for another time.), based on his popularity with the teenage to young adult demographic that Vince McMahon targets, based on WWE's exposure on Spike TV, the CW, UPN and other cable avenues. But the only former WWE alumni that has any variance of emotion that he can draw from or the charisma to either ALMOST become the next hot action hero to take the mantle held for years by guys like Stallone, Swartzenegger, Norris, Seagal and other 80s, early nineties action actors is Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson. Only thing is, Dwayne gets parts in roles for families (Tooth Fairy), comedic noirs (Be Cool) or exploitation (Faster), which do not help him in his establishment as an action actor, diverting his acting in genres.

But John's acting is like watching oatmeal cooling on the stove. Not to say he's not getting better (Yes, I saw a couple of scenes in 12 Rounds where he helped out the FBI in chasing down the 'villian' of the story in the hotel, where his character's girlfriend is ... but that scene of him pushing boat into the street to stop the villian's out of control car ? Who the f*ck thought that up ? Mark Calloway ? That was f*cking embarassing, even for a Renny Harlin movie (which is saying something, since Geena Davis' assassin is surfing on the side of an oil tanker down the highway, chasing the bad guy in "Long Kiss Goodnight") ... but I am not personally blaming John for this. I mean, if you watch WWE (which I stopped years ago after I just got tired of their 'let's throw a dart on the dartboard and write up the storyline based on whatever it lands on OR we can use recent newsworthy topics OR we can base storylines on used up B and C list celebrities we put on the show, so they can promote THEIR movie/music/television show, while 'managing' the show that night OR flash tits and ass at juvenile boys), he is just hired to run through the planned moves, read off his (few) lines and make sure he's in the gym the next morning for his next (steroid) shot and workout.

Now, if John was serious about being in the Batman universe, there is only one character he could play that would be believable, based on Batman's famous rogues row : Bane.

In Joel Schumacher's sh*tstorm of a movie, Batman & Robin, Bane was played by an ex-wrestler (who ironically died from a heart attack), groaning and grumbling, all the while flexing his muscles. Cena could do this.

Now .... if he wants to act as a 'heel' (to use wrestling termanology), he could also play one other character in the DC Universe : Guy Gardner. If he were to act like a complete *sshole, who has self interest (think if Triple H had that haircut the f*cking kid from Problem Child had and dressed like Hal Jordan) issues and arrogance ... oh yeah, you've got the guy.
fadeddragon2469 writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 7:49:59 PM

I wish I was high darth, but personally I think this guy has potential. And yes, I consider Johnson to be a Grade-A ACTION star. Not Grade A in terms of overall acting ability because that would be ridiculous, but in terms of what is required in an action movie he's gotten very good roles and hasn't had to come back to the wrestling world because of his inability to get a gig. And granted, I agree with what you say Max and appreciate the face palm and sigh comment to what I posted, but we are taking forgranted the fact that this is a ways-a-way. No reason to think he may not build on emoting and what not in the future. If this role was being talked about currently, for something to happen within the next year, I'd completely agree with all of you about this being a horrid idea. But acting is a skill and can be built upon based on the desire and character of the person. Personally, i don't think its the worst idea. If they were offering it up to someone, as you mentioned Mark Calloway, aka the Undertaker, then yes thats f*cking insane. But who knows, he has the drive to accomplish a lot. Believe me. I've been training for pro wrestling for the last 4 months. To disregard the abilities and dedication of someone just because they're a "wrassler" is a complete injustice to those who risk their lives soley for the entertainment of others. It's just part of the reason i rarely am I on this to comment on these things because I train 2-3 times a week, go to the gym, work at sh*tbuster, er Blockbuster, work as a sub when I have the time and I'm completing my degree in History. I'm side-tracking myself. But basically I think everyone is downplaying this guy's talent.

Btw, another side note, Max- not really sure what the Chris Benoit thing has to do with anything. Homie had the brain of a 85 year old suffering from Alzhiemer's due to the use of one of his signature moves and possible chairshots to the head which is now deemed illegal in the world of WWE. Steroid use was big in the early years of pro wrestling (60's-early 90's), as well as many other sports such as football and basketball. It's still used today but only to in treatment/rehabilitation for injuries in minor dosages. It's when its, as you put it, abused that is a problem. Luckily for the most part they've eradicated those issues and anyone who abuses any sort of drug (and even prescription sleeping aids are now banned in the WWE) will be suspended and subject to termination if they test positive for any of the illegal drugs in their system. Enjoyed this back and forth Max.
technoreaper writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 8:00:34 PM

April Fool's is 5 months away or so.

Nice try.
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 8:45:19 PM

No really

Bbwahahhahahahahaahahahaahahahhaaaaahhhaahhaaa
rabid writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 10:17:02 PM

maybe they can find a nonspeaking role for him.
TheMovieExpert writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 10:49:44 PM

All you people judge Cena because of his movies which are good if you ask me I would actually like to see Cena As Batman
Man in Black writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 12:35:02 AM

Ya? not gonna happen , directed by whom ? bryan singer ?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 3:35:30 AM

John Cena to Take Over "Batman" Franchise?


I go off line for two days and the whole world has gone full retard.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 8:03:35 AM

TheMovieExpert writes:
on December 7th, 2010 at 10:49:44 PM
All you people judge Cena because of his movies which are good if you ask me I would actually like to see Cena As Batman

The Movie Expert

Ask him to switch back to tights, back in the WWE. Then you can watch his junk all you like, with anticipatory delight, like a boy awaiting to unwrap gifts at Christmas.
Nihilistic Michael Maus writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 8:04:37 AM

Bet his nads and c*ck look like two dried up raisins on either side of a old, withered and short Slim Jim.
teuperman writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 10:32:55 AM

hasnt Superman suffered enough this guy would kill it very quick. He cant act let alone wipe is ass look at the marine sucked he Ruined that. As thanks to our soldiers that had to watch that piece of sh*t act as one of them!!
ROCKY writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 4:39:24 PM

John Cena?.....OOOOH MY GOD...RIP,BATMAN.
reaper113 writes:
on December 8th, 2010 at 5:51:31 PM

Wow, so they are finally getting a good actor to play batman, hopefully it will save this dying franchise before...oh wait.
Mudders writes:
on December 9th, 2010 at 5:45:28 PM

2 words come to mind.....HELL NO!!
ROCKY writes:
on December 14th, 2010 at 6:00:09 PM

OOOOOOOH NO NO MORE WRESTLERS PLEASE.....
struck21 writes:
on December 17th, 2010 at 2:07:31 AM

Both are horrid ideas. Hollywood will put anyone with a name in a role to sell it. Stop now please and let them both die if you refuse to do them right.
bandolero999 writes:
on September 2nd, 2012 at 11:15:48 AM

I see him more as Captain America.He would of put Evans scrawny ass to shame.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved